Should Ministers get personal vehicle tax exemptions?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 4th, 2017, 9:36 am

This group is calling for the removal of vehicle tax exemptions for Ministers

Should Ministers get vehicle tax exemptions?

Can anyone confirm the image is true?

Re: Should Ministers get vehicle tax exemptions?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 4th, 2017, 9:37 am

In austere times like now........ . No!!

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » October 4th, 2017, 9:44 am

if the times are so hard, they too should make a sacrifice

i mean people losing their entire jobs right now. and its not like Ministers are sufferahs..... well most of them.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » October 4th, 2017, 9:57 am

No they should not. Also their allowances should be reduced if not removed.

Postby K74T » October 4th, 2017, 9:59 am

Not at all

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » October 4th, 2017, 10:02 am

Agreed with the views so far. These allowances are a perk of office, and cutting these out will assist with sharing the load of cutbacks across the board.

Postby toyolink » October 4th, 2017, 10:27 am

I have always felt that this particular facility extended to various office holder must be conditional eg
-Vehicles must be limited by engine size, fuel type, match to purpose, and value of exemption capped by office.
In addition the availability of this facility must be limited by time (eg once every 5 years).
I do believe there are some conditionalities at present but generally they are quite slack and its actually viewed by many office holders as a very significant financial benefit.
If the MOF used the facility to buy a Mustang as described, he really doesn't believe his own rhetoric.

snypaz

Postby snypaz » October 4th, 2017, 10:31 am

I agree. They should share the burden and their personal vehicles taxed like everyone else. Also didn't know short man bought a Mustang.

Postby 88sins » October 4th, 2017, 11:26 am

when the talk of exemptions from them getting a salary on the whole start, then we go talk

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » October 4th, 2017, 11:46 am

hell no. anyone no if dey paying they 5% to a charity or organisation of there choice?

Can Earnest and nut so old audit dis for me please?

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 4th, 2017, 11:58 am

Is this really true guys, that Minister Imbert owns and drives a 2017 Ford Mustang GT purchased from ANSA Automotive?

Postby 16 cycles » October 4th, 2017, 12:05 pm

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2017-10-03/ministers-take-five-cent-pay-cut

“There is something that we have not publicised. The Cabinet took a five per cent pay cut last year because we were mandated by the Prime Minister to take five per cent of our salaries and give it to charity. We have all been doing that but we did not publicised it. Perhaps we should have.”

Every month, Imbert said he gives $2,000 from his salary.

“And that is on gross. That is not after tax….that is before tax. I give $2,000 a month in various charities to my constituency and all of us were mandated to do that. So we have been sacrificing for quite a while.”

excerpt^

Postby The_Honourable » October 4th, 2017, 12:09 pm

agent007 wrote:Is this really true guys, that Minister Imbert owns and drives a 2017 Ford Mustang GT purchased from ANSA Automotive?

It is a rumor circulating on facebook UNC pages but no pics of this car locally or any confirmation as yet.

But i would not doubt it.

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 4th, 2017, 12:10 pm

Hmm okay thanks

Postby Rovin » October 4th, 2017, 12:13 pm

massa cyar be jivin arong in tiida like us commoners

they doing a excellent job so yes give them it free too ........ :|

Playerz

Postby Playerz » October 4th, 2017, 12:20 pm

Ah feel imps want us to be like India and tote we family in a rickskaw and drive scooters..purely backward thinking cuz they doh want people the middle class people driving luxury vehicles like them :roll:

Postby 88sins » October 4th, 2017, 12:28 pm

donating 5% of your income to a charity is NOT a pay cut. but that selfish burro would think it is would't he
anyway, time to remove the other 95%

SSSavage

Postby SSSavage » October 4th, 2017, 12:30 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:This group is calling for the removal of vehicle tax exemptions for Ministers

Can anyone confirm the image is true?

The last people in this country who should get text exemption is the rich ministers..

SSSavage

Postby SSSavage » October 4th, 2017, 12:31 pm

One word. No.

Postby RedVEVO » October 4th, 2017, 12:35 pm

agent007 wrote:Is this really true guys, that Minister Imbert owns and drives a 2017 Ford Mustang GT purchased from ANSA Automotive?

Will check for you later .. :D

Do you need photos as well ?

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 4th, 2017, 12:38 pm

Hi RedVEVO, actually I have an update on this as a visual check of one of his main properties revealed nothing. Perhaps he is driving it today hence the reason why it wasn’t there at the time. If you do manage to get a photo, by all means share it, thanks.

Postby *KRONIK* » October 4th, 2017, 12:39 pm

Inside....to say "NO"

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » October 4th, 2017, 12:40 pm

I'm pretty sure both kamla and Rowley would hold hands together in agreeing with these tax exemptions, in fact they would go so far as to call for greater exemptions.

If I recall correctly, the only time the unc and pnm agreed on anything under the last government was when it came to an increase in salaries and benefits for themselves.
Don't know if they gt with it though...

Postby Morpheus » October 4th, 2017, 12:43 pm

The higher your position/salary the more perks you get. Never made sense to me. The poor people need help, not the rich.

BTW, no!

cryotec

Postby cryotec » October 4th, 2017, 1:27 pm

the mustang gt is only 35kusd ... that is about the price of a ioniq down here. am i missing something?

Postby skylinechild » October 4th, 2017, 1:32 pm

minister should pay his taxes.... it's his personal vehicle...let him pay it..

if it was for official office use...then ok...np.

Postby 16 cycles » October 4th, 2017, 1:34 pm

political fall out might be too much.....better to keep it under a cover or 'rent' to a friend...

at least he didn't buy a car from Dole

if he bought a nismo gtr - I'd have no problem with him escaping the tax / srs

Postby skylinechild » October 4th, 2017, 1:38 pm

all this talk...why he didnt buy a hybrid .???...or talk to the manufacturer association and buy a local car ???

why the forex drain.????

Postby Ben_spanna » October 4th, 2017, 2:03 pm

All exemptions should be put on HOLD and their allowances for transport and communication should be restricted to less than half of what they would normally be able to claim,

Postby RBphoto » October 4th, 2017, 2:27 pm

I do believe they need a vehicle. Either they get the allowance or don't get to use the black SUV's to cut through traffic and leave their car sitting down home. One or the other. Also, limit their exemption to the tax to be borne on engines less than 1600CC displacement. They should pay the stipulated amount per CC of displacement just as we are. They have used this tax to keep the Population away from luxury vehicles. We should not have to pay for them to have "luxury" vehicles.