Express article on The Great Vehicle Rip-off $$

Re: Express article on The Great Vehicle Rip-off $$

Postby pete » October 19th, 2017, 9:34 am

Where you getting the 30k USD to bring it yourself?

Postby RBphoto » October 19th, 2017, 12:59 pm

I don't see the problem here. You give an invoice. Told the customer that we reserve the right to change the price based on the budget. The company decides to raise the price (Let's say arbitrarily). Why is anyone vex here?

Postby dougla_boy » October 19th, 2017, 1:01 pm

dunno why people beating up..... i sure if people start to boycott them stealerships and FU dealers, prices bound to go down.

Postby Chimera » October 19th, 2017, 3:03 pm

pete wrote:Kia launched their NIRO 1.6hybrid crossover today for $225k

people hadda be dotish to buy anything from Southern Sales

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 19th, 2017, 3:06 pm

pete wrote:Where you getting the 30k USD to bring it yourself?

Easiest way...3 family members make ah trip farrin and yuh bring een 10k each...

15devils

Postby 15devils » October 20th, 2017, 6:59 am

Was put on a queue by the bank to get 35000usd to bring in a honda odessey hybrid , since before republic day. Budget come , prices raise , no usd to make downpayment , had to cancel everything and look at other options. With that new tax you cyar even bring in a nissan slphy good, costing way to much than it shld.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 20th, 2017, 9:07 am

15devils wrote:Was put on a queue by the bank to get 35000usd to bring in a honda odessey hybrid , since before republic day. Budget come , prices raise , no usd to make downpayment , had to cancel everything and look at other options. With that new tax you cyar even bring in a nissan slphy good, costing way to much than it shld.

I guess the intention of the tax working..............The local economy just saved 35k USD.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 20th, 2017, 9:52 am

15devils wrote:Was put on a queue by the bank to get 35000usd to bring in a honda odessey hybrid , since before republic day. Budget come , prices raise , no usd to make downpayment , had to cancel everything and look at other options. With that new tax you cyar even bring in a nissan slphy good, costing way to much than it shld.

Was looking at the Odyssey Hybrid myself. Plan now squashed.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 20th, 2017, 10:04 am

had my eyes on the gt86...would really like to know the cost now

15devils

Postby 15devils » October 20th, 2017, 10:04 am

Yea its a great family vehicle
But same here
Plans buss.

15devils

Postby 15devils » October 20th, 2017, 10:07 am

Gt86 was costing approx 175 for the gt model wit the better interior, now it costing like 210k, dats waaaay too much for a car like that i find.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 20th, 2017, 10:09 am

15devils wrote:Gt86 was costing approx 175 for the gt model wit the better interior, now it costing like 210k, dats waaaay too much for a car like that i find.

I seeing some quotes on trinicars for all kinda 250k :?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 20th, 2017, 10:18 am

Only choice now is to find 1.5, 1.4 and 1.2L turbo hybrids

Postby Dizzy28 » October 20th, 2017, 10:20 am

The twins too big for the Evo?

Postby *KRONIK* » October 20th, 2017, 10:24 am

The twins too big for the Evo?

Evo for sale?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 20th, 2017, 10:27 am

^ nah, no, nope

when the twins were born 4 yrs ago we bought a Toyota minivan, so was looking to change it with a hybrid minivan and the Honda Odyssey was looking like a great option since we got accustomed to minivan 3rd row seating with 3 kids.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 20th, 2017, 10:32 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ nah, no, nope

when the twins were born 4 yrs ago we bought a Toyota minivan, so was looking to change it with a hybrid minivan and the Honda Odyssey was looking like a great option since we got accustomed to minivan 3rd row seating with 3 kids.

That 3rd row seating is a best deal for kids. When my brother had his second kid this year they bought a Voxy Hybrid. Seats 2, 2, 3 which works pretty well for the 3rd row ppl.

Rented a Chrysler Pacifica earlier this year to do a Mia to Orl drive and if offered that in Trinidad at a reasonable price (if wishes were horses) I would sell my current car and get that. Most impressive 7 seater I ever used.

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » October 20th, 2017, 10:54 am

the amount increased by a lot

Postby eliteauto » October 20th, 2017, 11:02 am

Agreed the Pacifica is awesome. I was looking at the Voxy as a second van for business/family use. Like many other persons plans would have to be altered

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 20th, 2017, 12:33 pm

Chrysler Pacifica is awesome. the 2nd and 3rd row seats fold flat into the floor.

Postby zoom rader » October 20th, 2017, 3:44 pm

Moral of the story you got what you voted for.
PNM did not put measures in place to control these dealers

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » October 20th, 2017, 4:30 pm

Don't beat up, hopefully soon imbert will allow gas stations to sent their own fuel price so you'll get fcuked both ways... And for those thinking that allowing gas station operators to set their own price will make fuel cheaper, just remember is trinidad we living in...

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » October 20th, 2017, 5:58 pm

RBphoto wrote:I don't see the problem here. You give an invoice. Told the customer that we reserve the right to change the price based on the budget. The company decides to raise the price (Let's say arbitrarily). Why is anyone vex here?

It’s simple inno, padnas gone een maska & got a good price, went by Darren got a price but it was higher by a lot(dais why Darren could maintain the price) , then run back by maska for the invoice on the bess price but decide to be a germ to wait to see if it could beat the already good price down

car

Postby car » October 20th, 2017, 6:12 pm

vaiostation wrote:Don't beat up, hopefully soon imbert will allow gas stations to sent their own fuel price so you'll get fcuked both ways... And for those thinking that allowing gas station operators to set their own price will make fuel cheaper, just remember is trinidad we living in...

Damn right

boxy

Postby boxy » October 20th, 2017, 6:41 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:
RBphoto wrote:I don't see the problem here. You give an invoice. Told the customer that we reserve the right to change the price based on the budget. The company decides to raise the price (Let's say arbitrarily). Why is anyone vex here?

It’s simple inno, padnas gone een maska & got a good price, went by Darren got a price but it was higher by a lot(dais why Darren could maintain the price) , then run back by maska for the invoice on the bess price but decide to be a germ to wait to see if it could beat the already good price down

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 20th, 2017, 7:25 pm

Hey guys, I mean absolutely no disrespect to anyone who wishes to purchase a compact crossover SUV from now but most models available now IMO are not worth the exorbitant prices that the dealers are calling whether it’s the authorized franchise distributor or the alternative dealerships.

A brand new 2017 Xtrail Hybrid costed dealers as much as $200k landed and they sold them from as low as $220k to as high as $255k for the 2wd non Autech model.

For prices of these 2017 models to increase to $275k and for the refreshed 2018 model to be around $305-310k is borderline ridiculous! I understand from January 1st, these 2018 refresh Xtrails will be as high as $410k.

Meanwhile, Massy has increased the price of the fully loaded 2017 Xtrail 5 seater to $399k and the 7 seater to over $420k. The basic 2wd model use to be $263-270k now its $285k. Massy just got the 2018 refresh basic model which is now $339k. It is expected that the fully loaded 5 and 7 seater 2018 Xtrails would now cost $429k and $449k respectively.

So about the disrespect part, and please don’t take this the wrong way but there is absolutely no way anyone should pay over $400k for such a vehicle! If the Hybrid goes to the proposed $410k and the Massy version goes to the proposed $429k then I would stick to the Hybrid so I can avoid Massy at all costs.

In an unprecedented move, typically the Honda CRV was always a pricier vehicle than the Xtrail. Well look how we’ve lived to see that times have indeed changed. The 2018 Honda CRV RVSi 1.5T 2WD fully loaded is $359k (special intro price) where first customers will enjoy this price until it goes up to $379k. Buying the CRV over an Xtrail is now worth it.

Postby RBphoto » October 20th, 2017, 8:43 pm

We are not living in a communist state. Price controls only lead to disaster. Let the market decide the price of the goods. Don't like a price increase? Go somewhere else cheaper. Or save it for a while to get what you want. There is still the option to bring it in yourself.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 20th, 2017, 8:53 pm

RBphoto wrote:We are not living in a communist state. Price controls only lead to disaster. Let the market decide the price of the goods. Don't like a price increase? Go somewhere else cheaper. Or save it for a while to get what you want. There is still the option to bring it in yourself.

I think you're missing the point. Price fixing is exactly what the consumers don't want. The complaint is about price gouging from a cartel. There is little to no alternative.

xtech

Postby xtech » October 20th, 2017, 8:55 pm

all this free market knows to do well is price fixing. While out there in the real world it’s dog eat dog to get consumers money.

Postby A172 » October 20th, 2017, 9:53 pm

lol@ entitlement froth
sure is 100% financing he was banking on too