95.1 sends home jean ambrose

uncle sam

Re: 95.1 sends home jean ambrose

Postby uncle sam » November 27th, 2017, 3:01 pm

the pair this morning was horrible. Not sure of their names but it seemed like they had no plan and just winged it.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 27th, 2017, 6:12 pm

uncle sam wrote:the pair this morning was horrible. Not sure of their names but it seemed like they had no plan and just winged it.

which station?

Postby Rovin » November 27th, 2017, 7:07 pm

so today from 4pm-6pm i tuned into to 95.1 while doing some work , i dunno who are these 2 ppl but they shud keep d lame chatter down & just play music

like it going even more urban cause i only heard 2 non urban songs during that 2hrs - 1 from pink iirc & another from imagine dragons , not a single older good song , felt like 94.7 ..... it getting like d unc : digging a even deeper hole for itself .... :|

Postby matr1x » November 27th, 2017, 7:20 pm

Morning show was some gayman Val and a Boring lady. They were terrible

Postby aaron17 » November 27th, 2017, 8:04 pm

Rovin's Audio wrote:so today from 4pm-6pm i tuned into to 95.1 while doing some work , i dunno who are these 2 ppl but they shud keep d lame chatter down & just play music

like it going even more urban cause i only heard 2 non urban songs during that 2hrs - 1 from pink iirc & another from imagine dragons , not a single older good song , felt like 94.7 ..... it getting like d unc : digging a even deeper hole for itself .... :|

I turn off one time when that was d scene day.

Postby eliteauto » November 27th, 2017, 9:46 pm

Now called 95.1 remix the response is overwhelming on FB

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_ ... 642346997#

Postby pugboy » November 27th, 2017, 9:48 pm

This is almost a carbon copy of when Coca Cola bring out “new coke”

agent007

Postby agent007 » November 27th, 2017, 10:57 pm

After today, my car radio resigned from ever playing 95.1fm. Horrible!

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 27th, 2017, 11:30 pm

The tears of 95.1 listeners tastes so good. I hope this thread never gets deleted.

Postby skylinechild » November 28th, 2017, 1:19 am

who ever is the station manager / brand manager / product advisor / product cooordinator needs to be fired.

from the voracious comments on their FB and other social media... it seems that they have angered their grassroots ppl and have lost and will continue to loose their traditional / demographic listener base.

if i wanted to listen to Jamaican crap and R&B i wud tune into 93.5 / 94.1/ 94.7/ 96.7

i want to listen alternative / rock so where does that put me now??

in all fairness i will take a listen in tomorrow and evaluate the quality of programming ...

but to be honest it looks like crap...even the poster has mike ross like the odd man out...everyone looking so urban and modern with the fake hair color and tight shirt and tight pants..only thing missing is the Jamaican accent.

Postby nervewrecker » November 28th, 2017, 5:37 am

I listen last night, had mike ross. But had to keep my eyes on the road so couldn't blast out

Postby maj. tom » November 28th, 2017, 5:40 am

They should have branded the station into a full Classic Rock station because there are a LOT of people who would constantly listen knowing that good music will be playing all the time. It's a model that all radio company brands do in USA and Canada, where at least one of the family of station networks play a specific genre to cover their listeners and avoid them from switching the station.

Then create a very popular morning show with a popular personality who understands the music, add some contests to get people involved, and you just raking in the money with ads on a high subscriber list. Classic Rock will definitely make it big here because just look at how Wednesdays used to be, except it was the same playlist over and over. There are much more Classic Rock hits to play.

I taking all these inferences as a regular daily listener of Q107 Toronto and the Corus Brand of Entertainment. They have employed this model and it sure as hell works! e.g. http://www.corusent.com/about/our-brands/radio/ Look at what they cover, The entire market!

Just a 2 cents. Really gave up on local radio a long time ago.

Postby SR » November 28th, 2017, 6:23 am

Well its now the morning poo

Postby pugboy » November 28th, 2017, 6:27 am

they have certainly gotten rid of staff who were very knowledgeable about the music industry in general
as well as the local music industry.

Syberfraggle

Postby Syberfraggle » November 28th, 2017, 6:44 am

News cast this morning @ 6am was done while 'Layla' was playing loudly in the background...someone was asleep in the studio.

Postby mero » November 28th, 2017, 7:22 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:The tears of 95.1 listeners tastes so good. I hope this thread never gets deleted.
You urban music lovers don't know real music so you won't understand. Stick to 94.1 you urban music lover

Postby Les Bain » November 28th, 2017, 7:38 am

Rethink your playlist...
Invest in a USB deck.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 28th, 2017, 7:53 am

mero wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:The tears of 95.1 listeners tastes so good. I hope this thread never gets deleted.
You urban music lovers don't know real music so you won't understand. Stick to 94.1 you urban music lover

If the station was so good it wouldn’t have had to switch so out of the blue on you 43 to 47 listeners.

Paw Patrol

Postby Paw Patrol » November 28th, 2017, 8:01 am

These ole farts here need to realize its all about $$. Not what you like or what you rather have.

Its the numbers that do the talking.

Postby mero » November 28th, 2017, 8:46 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
mero wrote:

If the station was so good it wouldn’t have had to switch so out of the blue on you 43 to 47 listeners.

Don't be upset you're not cultured enough to know real music like the rest of us in here bro.

I bet you also listen to soca, popcorn and vibes cartel, go fetes and socialise with people . I feel so sorry for u

Postby skylinechild » November 28th, 2017, 9:21 am

nervewrecker wrote:I listen last night, had mike ross. But had to keep my eyes on the road so couldn't blast out

the deck remote doh work anymore oar..???

maj. tom wrote:They should have branded the station into a full Classic Rock station because there are a LOT of people who would constantly listen knowing that good music will be playing all the time. It's a model that all radio company brands do in USA and Canada, where at least one of the family of station networks play a specific genre to cover their listeners and avoid them from switching the station.

Then create a very popular morning show with a popular personality who understands the music, add some contests to get people involved, and you just raking in the money with ads on a high subscriber list. Classic Rock will definitely make it big here because just look at how Wednesdays used to be, except it was the same playlist over and over. There are much more Classic Rock hits to play.

I taking all these inferences as a regular daily listener of Q107 Toronto and the Corus Brand of Entertainment. They have employed this model and it sure as hell works! e.g. http://www.corusent.com/about/our-brands/radio/ Look at what they cover, The entire market!

Just a 2 cents. Really gave up on local radio a long time ago.

classical rock , new age, heavy metal ( on friday late nights) alternative / pop in the early mornings. 12 mid nite -6 am a simple thing like CCA ( credence clear water revival) you dont hear at all :|

i would love to actually hear disturbed / mudvayne and other less known bands on a daylight as opposed to hearing the crap they playing now...

now is level urban EDM i await to see if they play selections from vybes cartel and such...if so...time to switch...

SR wrote:Well its now the morning poo

SR speakeath the TRUTH

pugboy wrote:they have certainly gotten rid of staff who were very knowledgeable about the music industry in general
as well as the local music industry.

YUP....i grew up with Jb and J ambrose...and others... now these new persons eah have one clue in a sheit storm of what they doing.

Les Bain wrote:Rethink your playlist...
Invest in a USB deck.

already done. time to invest in a laptop SSD and load music on it...and let the deck do the mix-tracx thing.

so its now 9 am and at least Dana is there.....lets she whats she (is forced to) play.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 28th, 2017, 9:24 am

mero wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
mero wrote:

Don't be upset you're not cultured enough to know real music like the rest of us in here bro.

I bet you also listen to soca, popcorn and vibes cartel, go fetes and socialise with people . I feel so sorry for u

Lmao @ socialize with people.

airuma

Postby airuma » November 28th, 2017, 9:51 am

Paw Patrol wrote:These ole farts here need to realize its all about $$. Not what you like or what you rather have.

What numbers you talking about?
IIRC, 95.1, 100.1 and 105 are the oldest FM radio stations I know. IMHO if any radio stations can capitalize on older loyal listeners then these are the ones.
95.1 is part of the TBC radio network [95.1, 99.5, 100.5, 105, 106.1, 106.5 and 90.1 (Guyana)] which is part of the Guardian Media Limited. They clearly have enough stations to keep 95.1 as an alternative/ mainstream/ 80's/ classics radio station and maintain that market share.
To me it looks like they just threw the older/ loyal listeners under the bus.

BTW anyone knows where Luis will be next? He did say he is going to a higher frequency. Maybe Emmet gave him a call?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 28th, 2017, 9:57 am

Luis said he was doing a podcast?

Postby Dizzy28 » November 28th, 2017, 10:00 am

airuma wrote:
Paw Patrol wrote:These ole farts here need to realize its all about $$. Not what you like or what you rather have.

What numbers you talking about?
IIRC, 95.1, 100.1 and 105 are the oldest FM radio stations I know. IMHO if any radio stations can capitalize on older loyal listeners then these are the ones.
95.1 is part of the TBC radio network [95.1, 99.5, 100.5, 105, 106.1, 106.5 and 90.1 (Guyana)] which is part of the Guardian Media Limited. They clearly have enough stations to keep 95.1 as an alternative/ mainstream/ 80's/ classics radio station and maintain that market share.
To me it looks like they just threw the older/ loyal listeners under the bus.

BTW anyone knows where Luis will be next? He did say he is going to a higher frequency. Maybe Emmet gave him a call?

Rumour has it he is the new host of Chutney Train on 103.1!!

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » November 28th, 2017, 10:01 am

any links to the podcasts?
last week his last few days Luis kept saying he will be uncensored so he can speak his mind.

Postby SR » November 28th, 2017, 10:02 am

Luis in an uncensored podcast will be epic

Postby skylinechild » November 28th, 2017, 10:03 am

mitch1980 wrote:any links to the podcasts?
last week his last few days Luis kept saying he will be uncensored so he can speak his mind.

if it is a podcast... would love to tune in need more details on alleged podcast...

Postby Country_Bookie » November 28th, 2017, 10:05 am

Music is overrated. BBC World Service for it!

Average

Postby Average » November 28th, 2017, 10:11 am

I never really had any reason to listen to the radio on mornings, I work shift but I did choose 95.1 to get a particular type of music when I was in that mood. So what you all are saying is that 95.1 has begun to morph into 96.1?