Ministry introduces "Notice to contest" for traffic tickets

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 9th, 2017, 2:44 pm

The Legislative Amendments to the Motor Vehicle and Road Traffic Act will introduce a system whereby ticketed offenders are given the opportunity to file a Notice to contest the ticket.

f7c2401f-d9f1-46bd-b0ef-8b96592a631b.jpg

https://www.facebook.com/24447243565449 ... =3&theater

Re: Ministry introduces "Notice to contest" for traffic tickets

Postby skylinechild » November 9th, 2017, 2:55 pm

interesting.....

Postby SMc » November 9th, 2017, 2:56 pm

Good plan!!

But without a non-corrupt LO, proper database of who owns what car & a way of revoking a drivers licence that actually works it cant work.

Postby 16 cycles » November 9th, 2017, 2:56 pm

supply the officers with a 'linx' machine....with a lower penalty if person pays one time....

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 9th, 2017, 3:19 pm

I wonder if this ties in with supposed speed cameras and traffic light cameras.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 9th, 2017, 4:30 pm

16 cycles wrote:supply the officers with a 'linx' machine....with a lower penalty if person pays one time....

People will speed even more knowing it's easy to pay and get away.

Postby RedVEVO » November 9th, 2017, 4:40 pm

16 cycles wrote:supply the officers with a 'linx' machine....with a lower penalty if person pays one time....

Do de cash system stop working :D ?

Postby skylinechild » November 9th, 2017, 7:00 pm

in my opinion lowering the fine if paid on spot isnt a good idea.

its Not easy to pay Duane.. the method of payment will be easier.....but the fine will still be the same..

$1500 paid via linx on spot when your ticket is handed to you is the same $1500 to be paid at the relevant court office.

and no they not getting away....

the good thing that can be said about this is....you speed...get caught....pay the $1500 fine up front....go you merry way....get caught speeding again next 15 mins......another ticket another $1500 to be paid now via new linx method ....or later via the regular method.

Postby Redman » November 9th, 2017, 8:06 pm

What about fines for police not showing up in court..that is a fine I would like in place

Postby streetbeastINC. » November 9th, 2017, 10:29 pm

Public Extortion..lol

Postby *KRONIK* » November 10th, 2017, 7:01 am

Redman wrote:What about fines for police not showing up in court..that is a fine I would like in place

Nah....
Them too busy solving crime, finding murderers and rapists and drug lords.
Them eh need to face no repurcussions for wasting time. [/sarcasm]

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » November 10th, 2017, 7:30 am

^^^So if you do get a ticket and you decide to contest it, however the police officer doesn't show up for court, what happens then?
Does it get thrown out, since the burden of proof is on the state?

Postby redmanjp » November 10th, 2017, 11:58 am

Redman wrote:What about fines for police not showing up in court..that is a fine I would like in place

Ent dat in your favour? As in the case getting thrown out?

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » November 10th, 2017, 2:10 pm

So the police officer is responsible for filing the Notice to Contest and if not filed the driver has to pay the ticket in full or in default risk other penalities?
They left that responsibility up to the police???

looks like plenty thought went into this...

TriP

Postby TriP » November 24th, 2017, 6:10 pm

yes or no

the end of story

air wick

Postby air wick » April 21st, 2018, 11:55 am

So I got a speeding ticket and forgot to pay within the stipulated 14 days in fine print, I honestly didn’t know I had 14 days to pay. I plan to go on Monday. Is there any consequences for late payment?

Postby rspann » April 21st, 2018, 4:55 pm

That not going on already? But without the linx machine?

firehead..

Re: Ministry introduces

Postby firehead.. » April 21st, 2018, 7:36 pm

air wick wrote:So I got a speeding ticket and forgot to pay within the stipulated 14 days in fine print, I honestly didn’t know I had 14 days to pay. I plan to go on Monday. Is there any consequences for late payment?

Just pay it before the court date on the ticket....i just paid mine this week. Once is before the court date yuh good. Paid mine 2 days before the date.

air wick

Postby air wick » April 21st, 2018, 7:47 pm

firehead.. wrote:
air wick wrote:So I got a speeding ticket and forgot to pay within the stipulated 14 days in fine print, I honestly didn’t know I had 14 days to pay. I plan to go on Monday. Is there any consequences for late payment?

Just pay it before the court date on the ticket....i just paid mine this week. Once is before the court date yuh good. Paid mine 2 days before the date.

Thanks, I was thinking the same until I saw the fine print.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » April 22nd, 2018, 10:47 pm

As mentioned you have until the court date to pay.Learn your lesson and slow the fcuk down man, speeding kills

air wick

Postby air wick » April 22nd, 2018, 11:16 pm

randolphinshan wrote:

As mentioned you have until the court date to pay.Learn your lesson and slow the fcuk down man, speeding kills

I was doing 70 kmph in a 50 kmph zone

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 22nd, 2018, 11:26 pm

air wick wrote:
randolphinshan wrote:

You would be surprised at how much this sheit causes accidents

Postby sMASH » April 23rd, 2018, 6:05 am

this was circulated before, with many other proposed changes to the system. what this one didnt say is that if u do contest the ticket and loss ur side, u have to pay a higher fine than the original ticket. in other words, pay more money for wasting the judge time.

i would also like that the situation of if mr ocifer doesnt show up, to be clarified.

air wick

Postby air wick » April 23rd, 2018, 6:18 pm

Paid the ticket today, it took approximately 2hrs to do so.
14 days from the date of issue is not correct. There is a sign by the cashier that states tickets can be paid up to 10am on the court date or adjourned court date.

TrinbagoMan

Re: Ministry introduces

Postby TrinbagoMan » April 23rd, 2018, 6:23 pm

air wick wrote:
randolphinshan wrote:

Where?

zorced

Postby zorced » April 23rd, 2018, 6:37 pm

Was it by the Caroni bridge? They set up 50kmph traps regularly since March. Made probably a hundred grand a week with the amount of drivers you notice held.

Postby Redman » April 23rd, 2018, 6:44 pm

Co.worker got $1000 ticket for 105 kph.

He blue

air wick

Postby air wick » April 23rd, 2018, 7:02 pm

TrinbagoMan wrote:
air wick wrote:
randolphinshan wrote:

Where?

They were timing in front Rig on the South Trunk Road La Romain.

Postby sMASH » April 23rd, 2018, 7:16 pm

^^ fleck. they have a bright blue led sign that makes it look like popo cars there, from a distance.

50k on that stretch.. might as well pull out a cane and take a stroll

skygod

Postby skygod » April 23rd, 2018, 7:26 pm

TriP wrote:yes or no

the end of story