Re: Digicel LTE

Postby shem1996_ » June 20th, 2018, 2:01 pm

And the phone also has to be LTE Compatible

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » June 20th, 2018, 10:32 pm

So do I just go into any Digicel and ask for a swap to LTE sim? Do I have to sign a contract or anything different to the plan I would currently be on?

Postby adnj » June 21st, 2018, 10:53 am

novastar1 wrote:So do I just go into any Digicel and ask for a swap to LTE sim? Do I have to sign a contract or anything different to the plan I would currently be on?

You need only ask for one and pay for the swap (unless it's still free). Assuming that there are any available. You will need your PUK from the SIM that you currently have.

shem1996_ wrote:And the phone also has to be LTE Compatible

Your phone must not only be LTE compatible, it has to also use the bands that Digicel uses. My guess (only because of other islands that Digicel serves) is that Digicel is using Band 17 (700MHz) and/or Band 2 (1900MHz). Bmobile is using B7 (2600).

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » June 22nd, 2018, 12:58 pm

got lte in trincity yesterday. it was pretty fast. like 23-26mbps

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » June 22nd, 2018, 1:04 pm

adnj wrote:
novastar1 wrote:So do I just go into any Digicel and ask for a swap to LTE sim? Do I have to sign a contract or anything different to the plan I would currently be on?

You need only ask for one and pay for the swap (unless it's still free). Assuming that there are any available. You will need your PUK from the SIM that you currently have.

Your phone must not only be LTE compatible, it has to also use the bands that Digicel uses. My guess (only because of other islands that Digicel serves) is that Digicel is using Band 17 (700MHz) and/or Band 2 (1900MHz). Bmobile is using B7 (2600).

As far as I know, TATT hasn't allocated the 700MHz band for LTE yet.
Bmobile LTE on phones is currently using 1900MHz and awaiting allocation of 700MHz.

death365

Postby death365 » June 22nd, 2018, 1:54 pm

According to this screen shot it's band 2 - 1900
Screenshot_20180622-135308_LTE%20Discovery.jpeg

shem1996_

Postby shem1996_ » June 22nd, 2018, 2:23 pm

adnj wrote:

So what band does a phone use that isn't LTE compatible correct me if I'm wrong but doesn't all phone uses the same band but if it isn't LTE compatible you just won't get LTE idk I may be wrong

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 25th, 2018, 9:37 pm

Experienced it in POS yesterday....good speeds hopefully it will be consistent

Postby stev » June 28th, 2018, 12:32 pm

I see that my 'H' finally changed to 4G. lol

Pretty good speeds in the St. Joseph area:

Screenshot_20180628-114339.jpg

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » June 28th, 2018, 9:36 pm

Seems their losses are increasing.

Digicel Group to sell 450 cell towers across the Caribbean
Published:Wednesday | June 20, 2018 | 12:00 AMSteven Jackson/ Senior Business Reporter
Fernandez Barrett
The Digicel Regional Heaquarters forms a backthrop to the Festival MarketPlace on the Kingston waterfront.

Digicel Group Limited plans to sell hundreds of its Caribbean cell towers in a bid to reduce its leverage. Details are still emerging, but the company plans to finalise the deal in the second quarter of this financial year. The terms of the deal, the geography and purchaser were not disclosed.

"To clarify, we have signed a sale and leaseback agreement for 450 towers in the Caribbean and the deal is expected to close at the end of the second quarter of this fiscal year," said Antonia Graham, head of group communication at Digicel Group. "We will not be giving any other details at this time."

That timeline equates to roughly the end of September. Digicel further clarified that the towers within the deal represents "a fraction" of its total towers across the region, but did not specify the number of towers it owns.

The Financial Gleaner understands that the deal will reduce Digicel's leverage ratio from 6.7 times debt to equity to 5.7 times following the sale and lease of the towers.

Digicel also offloaded other cell towers last year. The telecoms is reported to have sold 202 communication towers in El Salvador to USA-based Phoenix Tower International in a multimillion-dollar deal.

Digicel Group operates in over 30 territories spanning the Caribbean, Central America and the Pacific Islands. The telecoms made a loss of US$217 million on revenues of US$2.4 billion for its financial year ending March 2018. That equated to a more - than - sixfold contraction, relative to US$34 million of annual losses at March 2017.

The operating level

However, at the operating level, Digicel's earnings before interest, tax, depreciation and amortisation, or EBITDA, remained positive at US$1 billion, albeit declining two per cent relative to the previous year. Its EBITDA margin remained at 43 per cent.

The group indicated that its full-year performance was in line with expectations. Revenues were down year-on-year due to a number of factors affecting different markets, including declining voice calls, hurricanes, and tariff changes.

Jamaica contributed about 16 per cent to group revenues and showed improved results, particularly in the final quarter. Digicel also reported a 68,000 rise in subscribers for Jamaica.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/busi ... -caribbean

DevBaptiste

Postby DevBaptiste » June 29th, 2018, 9:26 pm

LTE is working on my corporate plan phone but not on my personal prepaid. Anyone else similar ?

Postby adnj » June 30th, 2018, 10:10 am

shem1996_ wrote:So what band does a phone use that isn't LTE compatible correct me if I'm wrong but doesn't all phone uses the same band but if it isn't LTE compatible you just won't get LTE idk I may be wrong

LTE is a type of connection. Even if your phone works on the same frequency and is LTE compatible on other bands, you still need the codecs and hardware for that particular signal frequency and technology.

The are universal LTE routers but I can't think of any phone that works on all mobile frequencies and technologies.

death365

Postby death365 » July 2nd, 2018, 6:56 pm

I know that they have not officially launched but since I switch over to LTE ah getting more bad connection an drop calls. Anybody else experiencing that ???

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » July 3rd, 2018, 2:38 pm

death365 wrote:I know that they have not officially launched but since I switch over to LTE ah getting more bad connection an drop calls. Anybody else experiencing that ???

In full agreement here.
I have the LTE sim a few months now and the service on POS is EXCELLENT. However Outside of that this is the worst service ever.
the amount of dropped calls is ridiculous now.
Chaguanas and la Romain i barely get a bar for mobile calls and Edge for data
have to Admit TSTT LTE is very reliable throughout TNT

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 3rd, 2018, 2:51 pm

Not sure if previously posted.
they have a device/sim support check
https://www.digicelgroup.com/tt/en/mobi ... ecker.html

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » July 3rd, 2018, 10:25 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Not sure if previously posted.

That was pretty cool actually

death365

Postby death365 » July 4th, 2018, 12:26 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Not sure if previously posted.

i like the implementation of it ... simple an nice :idea:

shady23

Postby shady23 » July 4th, 2018, 3:39 pm

Weird. It's saying my iphone 6 isn't LTE compatible, but it is :| :|

Postby gastly369 » July 7th, 2018, 9:11 pm

Switched to bmobile LTE....
I was paying for utter crap from Digi yes

And good friend who works Digi said "tbh dont waste your $ switch over"

Feels good to just click and instantly watch a HD video or download a few 100mb files in mins

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 7th, 2018, 10:15 pm

i buy a whole iphone 7 plus and still not ready for their network???

lovescience1234

Postby lovescience1234 » July 8th, 2018, 8:39 am

C3 in south tell me head quarters ent tell them when they will launch in south
But north get

derrick1993

Postby derrick1993 » July 9th, 2018, 7:59 pm

Getting LTE on my iphone 7+ in town

Postby gastly369 » July 9th, 2018, 8:00 pm

derrick1993 wrote:Getting LTE on my iphone 7+ in town
Good luck anywhere else

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 9th, 2018, 9:52 pm

good, so i have to go to POS to get LTE...
arima might be next year den :|

Postby pugboy » July 9th, 2018, 10:18 pm

They under serious financial pressure and looking for a buyer
They presently owe more than 6 times what they earn and in two years big bond payments will be due...

Postby gastly369 » July 9th, 2018, 10:48 pm

Enjoying BMO in the bush
Screenshot_20180709-135744.jpeg

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 9th, 2018, 11:51 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:

Arima getting LTE a while now....android tho

Postby adnj » July 10th, 2018, 8:12 am

Your OS won't keep you from getting LTE.
hustla_ambition101 wrote:

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 10th, 2018, 8:22 am

adnj wrote:Your OS won't keep you from getting LTE.
hustla_ambition101 wrote:

Apple had to certify Digi lte network hence why iphones which run on the OS platform did not work

Postby adnj » July 10th, 2018, 10:26 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Apple had to certify Digi lte network hence why iphones which run on the OS platform did not work

Perhaps Digicel had to "provision" some or all iOS (Apple's operating system or OS) devices to allow them to use their LTE services. This is where a list of device ID numbers (IMEIs) are stored for reference by the service to grant or deny a client access.

Certification for your phone is when it is checked for interoperability in meeting the specifications of the LTE, HSPA or GSM standards. TATT is responsible for that locally but relies on certification by the FCC, EC and RoHS, in the US, the EU and Asia.

Certification is an expensive process that takes months to complete.
Last edited by adnj on July 10th, 2018, 10:26 am, edited 1 time in total.