Grocery Prices In T&T

boxy

Grocery Prices In T&T

Postby boxy » November 11th, 2017, 10:39 am

Ok guys this was a spur of the moment thing when i was getting some items in october month Also forgive the shitty shots i got as there were security and staff members around and i rather not have anyone tell me i taking unauthorized pics of them or their store.
I have necer uploaded these much pics and such big sizes before can anyone guide me as to how to reduce the pic sizes to fit the attachment there are over 50 pics with different food items from four different grocery stores
Also Duane is there a way to make this thread a wiki?

Meh too late i already started to list them on notepad this is how far i reach i will add the photos later via the app when i get chance this is painstaking
Food Masters Ltd
bLUE rIBBON iCE CREAM 3.78L $79.95
Haagen Daaz 1 pint $47.95
Ben & Jerry's $48.45
Fruta 1 Ltr $9.95
Matouks Concentrate Mauby $13.45
Orchard 1 Ltr $11.75
Moo Condensed Milk (soft pack) $9.95
Moo Evaporated Milk 250ml (Buy 5 Get 1 free) $24.95)
Moo Evaporated Milk 250ml $5.99
Moo Full Cream UHT $11.95
Nestle UHT Full Cream Milk $9.95
Nestle UHT Full Cream lOW Fat Milk $9.95
Nestle 100% Cows Cream Milk $11.75
Sunshine Corn Flakes 650 g $31.95
Sunshine Frosted Flakes 740g $33.95
Cafe Barista 100g $39.99
Cafe Barista 50g $24.95
Cheif Premium Coffee 450g 26.95
Hong Wing Coffee 375g $29.75
Cadbury Cocoa 125g $28.95
Folgers Cappuccino $41.40
Folgers Decaf $32.95
Folgers Classic $32.95
Kerrygold Unsalted Butter227g $24.75
Kerrygold Unsalted Butter454g $39.45
Kerrygold salted Butter 454g 48.95
Kerrygold salted Butter 227g $24.75
Golden Brand Margerine 227g $5.95
French Maid Margerine 227g $7.95
Marigold margerine $227g $6.95
Anchor unsalted butter 160z $39.95
Anchor unsalted Butter 8 oz $22.45
Anchor Cheddar Cheese 500g $49.95
Anchor Cheddar Cheese 250g $28.95
Anchor Cheddar Cheese 1kg $81.95
Mainland Cheese colby 250g $29.95
Mainland Cheese tasty 250g $27.95
Philly cream cheese $24.95
Milkana Austrailian Cheese 250g $23.95
Wing Dingz $33.95
Grace Corned Beef 340g $14.95
Brunswick Sardines $7.95
Brunswick Vienna Sausages $4.95
Brunswick in Tomato sauce/Chai sauce etc $8.15
Brunswick Pink Salmon 213g $20.95
Last edited by boxy on November 11th, 2017, 11:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Grocery Prices In T&T

Postby The_Honourable » November 11th, 2017, 10:53 am

Good idea Boxy.

I use windows paint to reduce the size of the photos. Open the pic on windows paint, click "resize" on the upper left and put in a value below 100 in the horizontal and vertical boxes. Values over 100 is enlarge, below 100 will reduce the photo size and file size. You will see the file size at the bottom of windows paint in the middle.

Pretty sure there are better options like doing all the files at once but windows paint can start you off. On tuner, keep the file size below 2mb each and you can add 8 photos per post. As you have 50 photos to upload, you posting 6-7 times.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 11th, 2017, 10:56 am

Yeah MS paint is a great and free option it works very well.

would love to see pics of grocery prices to compare, from what i hard low cost is the best place to shop their prices are much lower than most places. In the grocery on my side they want $12 for a pack of moo milk full cream, I was paying $9 earlier this year. Not sure the reason for such a huge increase, my neighbor told me he pays $7 for this same pack of Moo Milk in Low Cost can anyone confirm?

Postby maj. tom » November 11th, 2017, 11:01 am

upload pictures on imgur and label with date. Post album link?
Edit within imgur as needed.

Grocery Prices In T&T

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 11th, 2017, 11:11 am

Use the free TriniTuner mobile app. It lets you easily add photos from your phone.

http://www.trinituner.com/v4/about/trin ... obile-app/

boxy

Postby boxy » November 11th, 2017, 11:31 am

already began a list as i edited the op i will add the pics in a separate post for the lazy mofos who doh want to read i am hoping this can become a thread where we share info and not just men leeching.

boxy

Postby boxy » November 11th, 2017, 11:37 am

Xtra foods.

WP_20171028_17_36_12_Pro.jpg
WP_20171028_17_37_29_Pro.jpg
WP_20171028_17_37_25_Pro.jpg
WP_20171028_18_00_21_Pro.jpg
WP_20171028_17_58_41_Pro.jpg
WP_20171028_17_40_32_Pro.jpg
WP_20171028_18_00_28_Pro.jpg
WP_20171028_18_00_21_Pro.jpg

boxy

Postby boxy » November 11th, 2017, 11:46 am

WP_20171028_17_28_53_Pro.jpg
WP_20171028_17_34_37_Pro.jpg
WP_20171028_17_34_09_Pro.jpg
WP_20171028_17_34_27_Pro.jpg
WP_20171028_17_36_47_Pro.jpg
WP_20171028_17_36_40_Pro.jpg

boxy

Postby boxy » November 11th, 2017, 11:48 am

WP_20171028_17_21_49_Pro.jpg
WP_20171028_17_24_20_Pro.jpg
WP_20171028_17_24_11_Pro.jpg
WP_20171028_17_25_27_Pro.jpg
WP_20171028_17_25_09_Pro.jpg
WP_20171028_17_28_44_Pro.jpg
WP_20171028_17_34_14_Pro.jpg
WP_20171028_17_25_57_Pro.jpg

boxy

Postby boxy » November 11th, 2017, 11:50 am

WP_20171028_16_14_36_Pro.jpg
WP_20171028_17_19_32_Pro.jpg
WP_20171028_17_21_42_Pro.jpg
WP_20171028_17_19_40_Pro.jpg
WP_20171028_17_23_14_Pro.jpg

boxy

Postby boxy » November 11th, 2017, 11:54 am

Tru Valu
WP_20171028_16_11_37_Pro.jpg
WP_20171028_16_11_18_Pro.jpg
WP_20171028_16_12_43_Pro.jpg
WP_20171028_16_14_20_Pro.jpg
WP_20171028_16_13_46_Pro.jpg
WP_20171028_16_14_55_Pro.jpg
WP_20171028_16_14_41_Pro.jpg
WP_20171028_16_14_36_Pro.jpg

boxy

Postby boxy » November 11th, 2017, 11:56 am

im too lazy to continue i still have more tru valu the maharaj west side then food masters will edit later sorry for not flipping pics as well and i got caught up in shopping in some instances to not be consistent with some items across the board maybe other tuners can assist there.

Postby The_Honourable » November 11th, 2017, 5:20 pm

Wonder if someone can develop a Grocery Price app? Verified mods could enter prices for different products at different groceries. We can have historical data of price and percentage changes.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 11th, 2017, 6:52 pm

I know like if grocery is selling ice they pay $5 for a bag wholesale and they sell it back for $8.

Aeromart Supermarket in St Helena sells the 800G Kerrygold powdered milk for $52 where as K&G Mini Mart up El Carmen sell the same milk for $48. I check the Chinese grocery opposite madrass road and they sell stuff for about 50 cents more than Aeromart.

I do not think you are going to get any big difference for majority of items they are the same price in nearly every grocery.

airuma

Postby airuma » November 11th, 2017, 8:04 pm

Nice idea boxy! If it's not too much trouble, maybe you can create an excel spreadsheet and upload it to a file hosting site that allows you to update the file and post the link here.

urabus

Postby urabus » November 11th, 2017, 8:37 pm

The ministry of Trade has been producing this for some time now...it's the prices of selected food items at various supermarkets throughout out country

http://tradeind.gov.tt/supermarket-pric ... ober-2017/

boxy

Postby boxy » November 11th, 2017, 11:24 pm

Well sheit

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » November 12th, 2017, 9:06 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Wonder if someone can develop a Grocery Price app? Verified mods could enter prices for different products at different groceries. We can have historical data of price and percentage changes.

Already tried, launched and failed. Have a better chance if they developed one for market products etc.

So Moo 1 litre milk and Nestle milk basically the same price. The funny thing is that Moo! is imported so have to pay duties and taxes etc and add mark up in order to make a profit whilst Nestle paying farmers shite for their milk and still digging out people eyes. Wa really going on in this country bai

Postby hydroep » November 13th, 2017, 7:27 am

Honestly, some of the locally produced milk looks and tastes like extremely watered-down emulsion paint...:|

Moo is OK so is the Bajan produced Pinehill, the latter was $ 11.95 per litre at last check (JTA Supermarkets).

Kronik

Postby Kronik » November 13th, 2017, 8:15 am

boxy wrote:Well sheit

I started to record prices last month on a app named price cruncher when I went price club in Chaguanas, and two days later I came across the ministry list which has price club in it, and most of the prices I had were the same.

In another note, I compared my recorded shelf prices vs the process on the bill, that was interesting, because some items had cheaper shelf prices than on the bill and some items had cheaper prices on the bill vs the shelf prices, so it kinda of balanced off.

But you all should try it, record all listed prices of items you buy, and compare it with the bill, try it at least one time

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 13th, 2017, 9:05 am

Kronik wrote:

I started to record prices last month on a app named price cruncher when I went price club in Chaguanas, and two days later I came across the ministry list which has price club in it, and most of the prices I had were the same.

In another note, I compared my recorded shelf prices vs the process on the bill, that was interesting, because some items had cheaper shelf prices than on the bill and some items had cheaper prices on the bill vs the shelf prices, so it kinda of balanced off.

But you all should try it, record all listed prices of items you buy, and compare it with the bill, try it at least one time

Kronik
price on the shelf have the taxes on it already prices on your bill which is less does it have a (T) next to it ?
just before your total is there taxes charged?

Postby Dizzy28 » November 13th, 2017, 9:30 am

Redress10 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Wonder if someone can develop a Grocery Price app? Verified mods could enter prices for different products at different groceries. We can have historical data of price and percentage changes.

Already tried, launched and failed. Have a better chance if they developed one for market products etc.

So Moo 1 litre milk and Nestle milk basically the same price. The funny thing is that Moo! is imported so have to pay duties and taxes etc and add mark up in order to make a profit whilst Nestle paying farmers shite for their milk and still digging out people eyes. Wa really going on in this country bai

Milk is still zero rated for VAT IIRC so it would just be duties.

But this is where economies of scale applies. Even though we may be producing milk here, larger more technologically advanced nations are also producing milk and at prices that even with shipping and tariffs etc. is still cheaper. In this age of cheap oil, logistics costs would be much cheaper than a few years ago so that arbitrage on logistics is lessened.

As Jack Welch the former CEO of GE once said - "If you don't have a competitive advantage, don't compete"

Kronik

Postby Kronik » November 13th, 2017, 10:54 am

hong kong phooey wrote:
Kronik wrote:

Kronik
price on the shelf have the taxes on it already prices on your bill which is less does it have a (T) next to it ?
just before your total is there taxes charged?

The prices were the final prices, the variances were by a couple dollars both in a good and bad way

Postby X_Factor » November 13th, 2017, 1:16 pm

super quality in trincity is one of the better places to shop in that area
occasional deals, prices better than massy

boxy

Postby boxy » May 15th, 2018, 12:03 pm

X_Factor wrote:super quality in trincity is one of the better places to shop in that area
just seeing this
Everybody price is better than Massy. I don't know why they sell groceries particularly locally manufactured stuff at premium prices.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » May 15th, 2018, 8:45 pm

boxy wrote:
X_Factor wrote:super quality in trincity is one of the better places to shop in that area
just seeing this
Everybody price is better than Massy. I don't know why they sell groceries particularly locally manufactured stuff at premium prices.
I have a relative who works for Massy stores and he self say Massy too expensive..
Well I'm from south I usually shop at Anand low price or jta or even ms foods on debe..Massy is usually like a last resort

Postby pugboy » May 15th, 2018, 8:52 pm

hilo is noticeably more expensive but a business example that if you have a good brand, well organized store and generally clean environment you can still make money not on price alone