Stuart ! Sum Ting Wong ?

Postby RedVEVO » November 16th, 2017, 5:40 am

So why you think China snub Rowley ?

Former diplomat Reginald Dumas says “it is highly unusual” for China to withdraw an invitation to a foreign leader, and it does “represent on the face of it a snub.”

He was commenting on China’s decision to withdraw an invitation to Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley to attend talks in Beijing later this month.

Dumas described the Chinese and Japanese as “sticklers for protocol... I have never heard of this, that you issue an invitation and then withdraw it. The Chinese don’t do that kind of thing without a background, whatever that background might me.”

The announcement that Rowley had been invited to China as part of a meeting with nine other world leaders was made last Thursday by Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister Stuart Young. On Tuesday, however, another announcement came via a statement from the Office of the Prime Minister indicating that “on November 14, 2017 Ambassador Song Yumin paid a visit to Minister Stuart Young at the Ministry of the Attorney General and Legal Affairs and officially discussed with Minister Young that the Chinese, attaching great importance to the development of the relations between China and Trinidad and Tobago, would like to invite the Honourable Prime Minister to pay an Official Visit to China next year, replacing the invitation of the High-Level meetings.”

Details of that visit are still to be worked out.

Speaking on the CNC3 Morning Brew yesterday, Dumas wondered , “Is it that there was no invitation? Is it that something was being considered? I don’t know, we will probably never get to the truth of the matter because the Chinese aren’t going to say anything, of course. But it is highly unusual and it does represent on the face of it a snub.”

He said normally in matters like these “there is a simultaneous announcement in both capitals” and there is also agreement on the text of what would be said.

“Was that done? I suspect we will not get to the bottom of this in a hurry.”

Naparima MP Rodney Charles also described the pulling back of the invitation as a “diplomatic snub.”

Charles said under the former government, Chinese President Xi Jinping visited this country in June 2013 mere weeks after his appointment.

“Such was the high esteem in which T&T was held. Today we are witness to essentially a major diplomatic snub where our PM’s visit to China was postponed to ‘a date to be announced.’”

He said the “diplomatic rebuff” comes in the wake of our country’s inexplicable absence from the 23rd Conference of Parties to the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change which opened on Monday in Bonn.

The meeting focuses on climate impacts on Small Island Developing States (SIDS). Charles said this country’s attendance was important if only because of recent countrywide floods, erosion of our seashores in places like Manzanilla and Icacos, and our second highest per capita carbon footprint in the world.

http://guardian.co.tt/news/2017-11-15/w ... ation-snub—dumas

Re: Stuart ! Sum Ting Wong ?

Postby RedVEVO » November 16th, 2017, 6:49 am

" ... The announcement that Rowley had been invited to China as part of a meeting with nine other world leaders was made last Thursday by Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister Stuart Young. On Tuesday, however, another announcement came ... China ... would like to invite the Honourable Prime Minister to pay an Official Visit to China next year, replacing the invitation of the High-Level meetings.

Maybe Chinese not like Golf :D

Postby hydroep » November 16th, 2017, 7:26 am

Talk about getting yuh backside cut down to size...:lol:

This is embarrassing for everyone in the Government but none more so than foot-in-mouth Young and of course Dr. Rowley who must be smarting as the reality of his cellar position in the Global pecking order finally hits home.

Poor fellas...

Postby RedVEVO » November 16th, 2017, 8:02 am

^^^^

Does China need Trinidad ? .. Hell No !

Does Trinidad need China ? Yes Sir !

The sooner THEY understand that the better :D

Postby De Dragon » November 16th, 2017, 11:52 pm

Even the Chinese know JUHN is ah kant...............

Postby 88sins » November 17th, 2017, 6:35 am

The simplest answer is usually the correct one
He was invited to a meeting of world leaders, then that invitation was revoked. So, simple answer, they realized after the invitation he doesn't make the cut as regards their definition of a leader.

hard luck dey boi keith, look at it as a learning experience

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 17th, 2017, 7:30 am

Tbh stuart getting real facking annoying yes....man does try to cover everything jed

BUSHMASTER

Postby BUSHMASTER » November 17th, 2017, 7:52 am

Wayy how dey go cut d man holidays boi...dw boi Row u will go next year

Postby rspann » November 17th, 2017, 8:03 am

88sins wrote:The simplest answer is usually the correct one
He was invited to a meeting of world leaders, then that invitation was revoked. So, simple answer, they realized after the invitation he doesn't make the cut as regards their definition of a leader.

Didn't Dumas say that it does not appear that there was any meeting?

boxy

Postby boxy » November 17th, 2017, 8:21 am

rspann wrote:

Isn't Dumas a retired public servant? How would he know?
Also what's the big deal about China changing the meeting to a later date? How is this news? I want to hear about the casinos that claim they closing down due to this new legislation when I seeing their car parks over full. What going to be done about the Immigration officers who shaft citizens over the weekend?

Postby Dizzy28 » November 17th, 2017, 9:28 am

Stuart Young went from being an okish attorney in private practice to the lapdog of the PNM who has to go bowl more spin than Murali every Thursday post Cabinet.

Politics really different, don't think I could live like that nah.

boxy

Postby boxy » November 17th, 2017, 9:34 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Stuart Young went from being an okish attorney in private practice to the lapdog of the PNM who has to go bowl more spin than Murali every Thursday post Cabinet.

Agreed but it's the sheit that gets passed as news that he has to go and defend as he doesn't simply go out and address the claims the reporters ask the questions. Giving a no comment is not being transparent. Andy Johnson as the "Press secretary" for the PP was a boss as he literally controlled the narrative and questioning and when he realise sheit going off track he would end it abruptly during their post cabinet meetings.

Postby noshownogo » November 17th, 2017, 9:50 am

Suppose for a second that Minister Stuart jumped out himself thinking PM Rowley was going to be invited and wanted to break the news before a confirmed list.

China drops the list which excludes our PM, and now they in this predicament.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 17th, 2017, 9:52 am

boxy wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Stuart Young went from being an okish attorney in private practice to the lapdog of the PNM who has to go bowl more spin than Murali every Thursday post Cabinet.

Agreed but it's the sheit that gets passed as news that he has to go and defend as he doesn't simply go out and address the claims the reporters ask the questions. Giving a no comment is not being transparent. Andy Johnson as the "Press secretary" for the PP was a boss as he literally controlled the narrative and questioning and when he realise sheit going off track he would end it abruptly during their post cabinet meetings.

But he really is a lap dog....Faris Gump gave Udecott specific instructions that in outfitting Legal Affairs Tower he wanted Young's office next to his. Most other Ministers get their choice in outfitting their office space and location particularly in brand new real estate.

Postby Redman » November 17th, 2017, 9:56 am

But Young handling himself-forget the content-he says what he is told.

Who allyuh prefer to deliver a 1 hr conference-Stuart Young...or Maxie Cuffie????

Postby rspann » November 17th, 2017, 1:07 pm

boxy wrote:
rspann wrote:

Also what's the big deal about China changing the meeting to a later date? How is this news? I want to hear about the casinos that claim they closing down due to this new legislation when I seeing their car parks over full. What going to be done about the Immigration officers who shaft citizens over the weekend?

Why you want to tell me what I must discuss and what is news ? It made headlines ,it is news. Anytime they get caught out , fanatics want to change the topic. Why musn't this topic be discussed ? Why can't we discuss what seems to be a cover up for trip that my money is to be spent for , that was never what is was purported to be? Orr , I forget is only Kamila use to travel and waste money , Growley only travelling where it benefits the country . My name is Issac Hunt.

boxy

Postby boxy » November 17th, 2017, 1:10 pm

rspann wrote:
boxy wrote:
rspann wrote:

Why you want to tell me what I must discuss and what is news ? It made headlines ,it is news. Anytime they get caught out , fanatics want to change the topic. Why musn't this topic be discussed ? Why can't we discuss what seems to be a cover up for trip that my money is to be spent for , that was never what is was purported to be? Orr , I forget is only Kamila use to travel and waste money , Growley only travelling where it benefits the country . My name is Issac Hunt.
I never told u to not discuss it I was stating that this is a non issue like the HDC houses for the tobago MP's but alas I am deemed a fanatic for being logical where apparently I must be critical carry on let's speak about a China trip that apparently was a cover up for Kaka Doc/Scary to hide another vacation inside. Get the itenary and se if he was taking he wife and children too.

Postby rspann » November 17th, 2017, 1:56 pm

Wife , no problem ,grown children married and have family, no.

Postby RedVEVO » November 17th, 2017, 5:58 pm

boxy wrote:
rspann wrote:

Assuming you never did business with China or do not know the Chinese Culture etc.
Chinese operate a different way .

If they make a plan - they will complete that plan.

So Sum Ting Wong with Stuart :D

Manning was a champion with the Chinese and international investors .

BaldyLUX is a complete utter failure when comes to international scenarios .

boxy

Postby boxy » November 17th, 2017, 7:46 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
boxy wrote:
rspann wrote:

Assuming you never did business with China or do not know the Chinese Culture etc.

RedVEVO wrote:
boxy wrote:
rspann wrote:

LMAO DAN save that BS for the mindless drones of the UNC Facebook Group.
If China makes a plan they will complete it really? Are the Chinese the master race for not following through with a plan that may have flaws?
The most recent and biggest plan they had they recently canceled.

https://mobile.nytimes.com/2017/01/18/w ... ution.html

I don't know wtf the meeting was for or if there was one for that matter this isn't something that can be found out via Google as alot of people tried to do but don't spew rubbish and parrot Chinese propaganda when we trying to have an intelligent conversation. I read alot of your posts in other topics which are sometimes intelligent in your remarks I know You are better than that.

Postby RedVEVO » November 17th, 2017, 8:05 pm

boxy wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
boxy wrote:
rspann wrote:

RedVEVO wrote:
boxy wrote:
rspann wrote:

If China makes a plan they will complete it really? Are the Chinese the master race for not following through with a plan that may have flaws?

I don't know wtf the meeting was for or if there was one for that matter this isn't something that can be found out via Google as alot of people tried to do but don't spew rubbish and parrot Chinese propaganda when we trying to have an intelligent conversation. I read alot of your posts in other topics which are sometimes intelligent in your remarks I know You are better than that.

Yes the Chinese are actually THE master race ..

They are the best at every thing they do ..

Economics ( Richest country ), technology ( Apple phones etc. ) and work ethics ( Business - Grocery and restaurant ) :)

Trini are excellent @ Fete and Crime and Gossip and Bacchanal .. and ..

boxy

Postby boxy » November 17th, 2017, 8:17 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
boxy wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
boxy wrote:
rspann wrote:

RedVEVO wrote:
boxy wrote:
rspann wrote:

Economics ( Richest country ), technology ( Apple phones etc. ) and work ethics ( Business - Grocery and restaurant ) :)

Economy The US Is the #1 economy and richest nation

Technology the Chinese are notorious for stealing intellectual property and almost all their milatary is a carbon copy of soviet and US tech. The IPhone is a US product made in China meaning labor is cheaper... That reconnects to why they are the second largest economy cheap labor and government subsidized manufacturing which allows them to dump all their mass produced items cheaply into third world nations like ours therefore putting competing companies in other nations out of business..... Where u think 80% of air condition units originate from?

Business Yes I give u that but only to the extent that the local grocery and restaurants you are referring to are established by acquiring loans from their own. (Chinese Association) To build from the ground up and they work like dogs near slave labor to pay it back out of fear of the concequences
They don't walk into Scotia bank or RBTT and ask for loans.

Postby RedVEVO » November 17th, 2017, 8:21 pm

boxy wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
boxy wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
boxy wrote:
rspann wrote:

RedVEVO wrote:
boxy wrote:
rspann wrote:

Economy The US Is the #1 economy and richest nation

Technology the Chinese are notorious for stealing intellectual property and almost all their ilatary is a carbon copy of soviet and US tech. The IPhone is a US product made in China meaning labor is cheaper... That's it

Business Yes I give u that but only to the extent that the local grocery and restaurants you are referring to are established by acquiring loans from their own. (Chinese Association) To build from the ground up and they work like dogs near slave labor to pay it back out of fear of the concequences
They don't walk into Scotia bank or RBTT and ask for loans.

China is the richest :D

When last China had a financial crisis ?

Who makes and clones ALL technology ?

Check around your cardboard box .

"Made in China "

boxy

Postby boxy » November 17th, 2017, 8:26 pm

China had a financial crisis along with the rest of the world bro. To the point where citizens began committing suicide due to loosing life savings in the stock market they heavily invested in. China had to bail out almost all its businesses just like the US did. China also pushes a false economy where they claim to be having growth when in fact the government is the one that is funding its own growth. This will eventually catch up with them.

Postby RedVEVO » November 17th, 2017, 8:32 pm

boxy wrote:China had a financial crisis along with the rest of the world bro. To the point where citizens began committing suicide due to loosing life savings in the stock market they heavily invested in. China had to bail out almost all its businesses just like the US did. China also pushes a false economy where they claim to be having growth when in fact the government is the one that is funding its own growth. This will eventually catch up with them.

China does not bail out any Business :D
That is a Capitalism trade mark .

China has no debt . They owe nobody $$ - zero.

They also have veto power at the UN.

And nuclear weapons .

Yesterday China give BaldyLUX so much clout and tap,
Little Stuart had to rub Tiger Balm on his boo boo :D
Last edited by RedVEVO on November 17th, 2017, 8:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

boxy

Postby boxy » November 17th, 2017, 8:34 pm

Lmao ok I done brother.

bess almera

Postby bess almera » November 17th, 2017, 8:56 pm

boxy wrote:Lmao ok I done brother.

Find you took long to realize you wasting your time and effort.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » November 17th, 2017, 10:57 pm

Vet Sing Wong wid young chow mein I presume.

he boss ent world and other people leading he boss

SidZ

Postby SidZ » November 17th, 2017, 11:49 pm

https://youtu.be/bIGrPZdU5Ok

Worth another look!

Postby Monk BANzai » November 18th, 2017, 1:13 am

Mariano Browne's response:

2017 November 17,

The Chinese Visit:

My 7 lines of commentary yesterday indicated that on the face of it, the facts suggested that TT was snubbed by China. MP Stuart Young's response at yesterday’s post Cabinet Briefing to my comments and those of Reginald Dumas prompted me to delve a bit further. I am aware of the meticulous protocol followed by the Chinese and none of the explanations given by Mr. Young made sense.

I did not intend to enter a controversy with Mr. Young. As a young Minister in his first serious managerial appointment, it is important to him to establish his reputation. He has many years ahead of him; if he makes a name for himself, he would have both a political future and a good law practice. There is life after politics.

His comments at the Post Cabinet Press briefing of November 16th were unfortunate and demonstrated his lack of experience and misunderstanding of how to handles a difficult situation.

I understand now that China's Ambassador has been trying to put the best spin on a bad situation made worse by the unforced errors that lie somewhere between the Prime Minister's Office, the Foreign Affairs Ministry and the Ministry of legal affairs. Mr. Young connect them all.

By way of background, China is TT’s largest creditor. And our management of this debt has not been exemplary. Indeed, our records are in a mess. In addition, the previous administration did create a difficult situation by reneging on the aluminum smelter project after it had been built to our specifications. I was made aware of this in a private briefing in 2012 when the then Leader of the opposition spoke inappropriately about the relationship with China. This is compounded by disparaging remarks about Chinese contractors, many of which are state enterprises.

Fast forward to 2015. PM Rowley indicated early in his term of office that he would pay an official visit to China to deal with matters in the Spring of 2016. This visit, although agreed, was postponed at the request of the GORTT as it was ill prepared. The new date was Spring 2017. This visit also did not come off and was postponed at China’s request to Spring 2018.

It is normal that agenda topics and the text of outline communiques are agreed well in advance by the technical representatives of both countries and well-rehearsed. This is to avoid embarrassment and misinterpretation by the domestic public and by other countries who monitor these situations. The reasons why the visits were postponed is that we have not settled on an agenda or the issues on which we wish to agree with the Chinese representatives.

There was an invitation issued to PM Rowley to visit China in late October. This was neither a state visit as erroneously stated by Mr. Young, nor was it an official visit. That official visit is still set for Spring 2018. It was an invitation to visit “The Communist Party of China with World Political Parties High Level Meeting” as clearly set out in the China’s Ambassador’s Press release. In other words, this was a meeting of political party leaders of other countries and was never an Official Visit. This is the equivalent of “fam tour” where the host country would show case the considerable talents and achievements of China.

This visit was never intended to replace the Spring 2018 meeting. What happened was that someone attempted to lift the status of the invitation to that of an “official visit”. There could be many reasons for this. I will not enumerate them as they are too embarrassing to recount. Suffice it to say that the Chinese representative politely, but firmly replied indicating that an official visit was not possible given that President Xi had other commitments.

What is clear that the GORTT, erred. The Chinese have been graciously helping us to save face by not disclosing the full nature of the facts. In addition, PM Rowley is not empowered to represent CARICOM. The current Chair of CARICOM is the President of Guyana. PM Rowley’s turn does not come until 2020 or thereabouts. So “representing” CARICOM was never on the cards.

In short, the GORTT of TT put itself in a compromising and embarrassing situation by announcing an “official visit” when there was never an official visit. The Chinese were left with no choice but to politely refuse and try to put the best spin on in.

Perhaps Mr. Young may learn from this episode though I doubt it. He certainly ought not to disrespect or demean Mr. Reginald Dumas, his senior in years’ experience knowledge particularly in diplomacy.\, protocol and foreign affairs. Mr. Young may yet make a good attorney: right now, he is a poor witness and I sincerely hope that this does not affect his other utterances

Mariano Browne