Rumour- govt looking to slap a 65% duty on cell phones

Postby Ben_spanna » November 17th, 2017, 8:07 am

Well look how no one will be able to afford a new phone soon.
Talks from the camps indicating that there may a slap in the face to Cell phone buyers as there may be a new duty of 65% on any new cell phone being imported.
WTF wrong with these MF'ers!

No new iphones for xmas... and btw this will include any phones being brought in via passengers at the airport as well.

Re: Rumour- govt looking to slap a 65% duty on.......

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 17th, 2017, 8:14 am

Wake me up when it's true.

boxy

Postby boxy » November 17th, 2017, 8:17 am

Ben_spanna wrote:Well look how no one will be able to afford a new phone soon.
Talks from the camps indicating that there may a slap in the face to Cell phone buyers as there may be a new duty of 65% on any new cell phone being imported.

No new iphones for xmas... and btw this will include any phones being brought in via passengers at the airport as well.
Lol I see you get your news from UNC Facebook Group and their affiliates.

moses_boss12
Location: The Beautiful Hills of.................... Hellshire!!

Postby moses_boss12 » November 17th, 2017, 8:30 am

Raw Sauce.jpg
Raw Sauce.jpg (6.07 KiB) Viewed 4463 times
Raw Sauce.jpg
Raw Sauce.jpg (6.07 KiB) Viewed 4463 times

Postby aaron17 » November 17th, 2017, 8:43 am

Rip

Average

Postby Average » November 17th, 2017, 9:11 am

So if you really buy a phone abroad and you come back they will charge you accordingly? Nah, like a blind man....I not seeing it.

Postby meccalli » November 17th, 2017, 9:12 am

Needs more sauce, Lamb sauce.

Postby redmanjp » November 17th, 2017, 9:18 am

The 65% duty is ridiculous by itself- u telling me dey go charge yuh duty when coming in from abroad as well? How they know you didn't buy it here?

Postby Dizzy28 » November 17th, 2017, 9:30 am

redmanjp wrote:The 65% duty is ridiculous by itself- u telling me dey go charge yuh duty when coming in from abroad as well? How they know you didn't buy it here?

If you come back with a phone in a box - suspicious. Onus is on you to prove it wasn't bought away and not customs AFAIK.
If there is no box and there is a phone with a sim in it I would think you fairly safe.

Postby Chimera » November 17th, 2017, 9:36 am

redmanjp wrote:The 65% duty is ridiculous by itself- u telling me dey go charge yuh duty when coming in from abroad as well? How they know you didn't buy it here?

if you have a new box in your suitcase or the phone is in a box....obviously they would wanna jam yuh

right now they moving dred and heartless in customs

if you have ANY alcohol at all and have travelled already for the year, they will "Assume" you have used your yearly limit already and tax you on whatever you have.

boxy

Postby boxy » November 17th, 2017, 9:38 am

I can't believe this is actually being discussed *facepalm*

Postby ismithx » November 17th, 2017, 11:05 am

they what????

madness yes

Postby Dizzy28 » November 17th, 2017, 11:10 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:

if you have a new box in your suitcase or the phone is in a box....obviously they would wanna jam yuh

right now they moving dred and heartless in customs

if you have ANY alcohol at all and have travelled already for the year, they will "Assume" you have used your yearly limit already and tax you on whatever you have.

Or travel with an infant!!!!
Came back last week Friday. Green line was a female customs officer who ended up talking with my son the entire time we were at the counter. Almost everyone in green line had to put their luggage in the scanner once you had more than carry on. She took our forms and sent us through with no questions asked except if we had anything from duty free. I say just three bottles which she didn't even ask to see.
I regret not taking more liquor - only took 1 rum and two wines (all 750ml)

cryotec

Postby cryotec » November 17th, 2017, 11:47 am

wa cc rating you need to get that 65% :D

Postby Chimera » November 17th, 2017, 11:49 am

they sending almost all locals through scanner these days

ive seen people get send through scanner with just a laptop bag or small backpack and no other luggage

Rumour- govt looking to slap a 65% duty on.......

Postby MaxPower » November 17th, 2017, 11:52 am

Soldier it dont matter, if ppl want the phone they will do what they have to do to get it..

Just like carnival fete tickets..

These are need items for trinis..

Postby ismithx » November 17th, 2017, 12:03 pm

if Gov't wanna fix forex leakage they need to help fix the local market.

Postby hydroep » November 17th, 2017, 12:11 pm

It's probably fear mongering but an interesting topic nonetheless.

Phones are sort of a necessity in this modern age so they could conceivably tax them without seriously affecting sales.

Ah mean, if is business as usual after the hike in gas prices which at the very least a weekly expense for some what's the big deal for an infrequent purchase like a phone?

Anyways, as they say: "We like it so."...:|

Sōsuke Aizen

Postby Sōsuke Aizen » November 17th, 2017, 1:08 pm

I just had to do it...
nino.jpg

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » November 17th, 2017, 1:24 pm

boxy wrote:

Lol I see you get your news from UNC Facebook Group and their affiliates.

LOL!!! There self he probably get it.

Yes they getting on bad in Customs lately....some sort of new initiative they doing by sending everyone to be scanned and if you have piles of luggage, its automatic in the red line. But most times green line scans aren't that bad. If you over doing it like large packs of cigarettes and bottles upon bottles of alcohol, lots of jewelry and clothing for retail and large amounts of currency...then you looking for wood. But otherwise, they will scan, ask a few questions about your length of stay etc and send you on your way.

Last time i had 2 new phones in boxes in the green line, scanned and was allowed to pass.

Another time i had 2 new phones, a drone, a new dslr, a new lens, other electronics and lots of clothes and was in the red line. They made me pay like $1600-$2000 for everything. I paid my fee and ride out normal. The attitude was poor but one of the guy's said it could've been worst if they really adhered to the customs fees, which is true.

But all in all, that 65% is BS propaganda. End of talk.

lovescience1234

Postby lovescience1234 » November 17th, 2017, 1:25 pm

Quick somebody start a rumour on 65% tax on carnival fete and women beads.....because...I jess want to see d bikini

Postby pete » November 17th, 2017, 1:34 pm

People selling their phones "duty free" and they're looking to try to increase the duty? ha

Postby Chimera » November 17th, 2017, 1:37 pm

yeah even when they decide to tax you in customs at the airport. they don't tax you as much as they can legally tax you

they does real ease you up

boxy

Postby boxy » November 17th, 2017, 2:01 pm

The scans are a way of speeding up the process before those x-ray machines were operational u had to line up pretty long in green now they just scan u ask u two random questions when they see u have nothing to declare and send u on your way.
Always remember you have a $3000 exemption and two bottles of alcohol each year. It's not per trip. Is Christmas and customs looking for "donations" of alcohol to seize for their Christmas party.

Postby pete » November 17th, 2017, 2:12 pm

They won't seize it. They will just make you pay the duties and taxes on it.

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » November 17th, 2017, 2:12 pm

boxy wrote:The scans are a way of speeding up the process before those x-ray machines were operational u had to line up pretty long in green now they just scan u ask u two random questions when they see u have nothing to declare and send u on your way.
Always remember you have a $3000 exemption and two bottles of alcohol each year. It's not per trip. Is Christmas and customs looking for "donations" of alcohol to seize for their Christmas party.

Do they Seize or are you required to pay additional duties and vat??

Postby Chimera » November 17th, 2017, 2:17 pm

they make you pay additional duties

if its a very large amount of items that is obviously for commercial use, they will hold the items and tell you to come clear it with your invoices at the customs bond the next day

Postby Chimera » November 17th, 2017, 2:18 pm

in the case of cash that you didn't declare over $5000 usd equiv or $3000 i think...they can seize it

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » November 17th, 2017, 2:43 pm

well thats what i know...people real like to speed talk yes.

Postby sMASH » November 17th, 2017, 3:19 pm

Fear mongering...