PS4, Xbox, Nintendo Switch, DUTY now 40% (up from 20%)

ingalook

Postby ingalook » November 19th, 2017, 2:11 am

Heard a rumor, called aeropost, first they said this was untrue... few minutes later they called back saying after some more digging they found that this was indeed the case

This is a bummer for anyone planning on getting one of these systems for themselves or a loved one this Christmas

This is how it was done in the budget

Gambling Industry
· the existing rate of duty on all mechanical games
of chance for gambling of 20 percent be increased
to 40 percent. This measure will take effect from
October 20th 2017;

As for how that applies to video game systems beats me, but to customs it apparently does

Numb3r4

Re: PS4, Xbox, Nintendo Switch, DUTY now 40% (up from 20%)

Postby Numb3r4 » November 19th, 2017, 2:33 am

Check out the recent articles on the Lootcrate system that EA games is using in StarWars Battlefront II, some seem to think that it constitutes gambling.

Maybe this is why they think it applies to all video games.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » November 19th, 2017, 2:54 am

I think they have always been classified in the same category as Slot machines etc. That lootcrate business is fairly recent

"mechanical games of chance for gambling"

Says "for gambling" not "may be used for gambling"

I could gamble on my toaster, on teacup and a ping pong ball - ANYTHING really if I wanted to, but it is not its intended purpose

Postby paid_influencer » November 19th, 2017, 8:40 am

The duty will be back down to 20% soon. it was an error on the original legislation, now corrected by the honorable Minister of Finance.

Imbert said the Government had adjusted one of the measures in the order, removing the increase in taxes on gaming consoles after the people who used consoles made representations.

"We always listen. The people in the industry made representation and showed that video game consoles were captured in the taxation. We decided we did not want a situation where a child’s toy would be subjected to taxes so we took that out. We listen to sense. We listen to intelligence, but we don't listen to nonsense."

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2017-11- ... -permanent

ingalook

Postby ingalook » November 19th, 2017, 10:44 am

Wow... props to Imbert here (don't know about the "always" listening however)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 19th, 2017, 2:04 pm

HOW did game consoles get classified with mechanical games of chance under gambling in the first place?!!!!!

Postby skylinechild » November 19th, 2017, 2:57 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:HOW did game consoles get classified with mechanical games of chance under gambling in the first place?!!!!!

this !!!!!

ingalook

Postby ingalook » November 19th, 2017, 7:40 pm

They aren't always the sharpest tools in the shed working for customs you know... i remember my padna had the little white gun shaped pieces of plastic for the "Wii-mote" seized because they looked like firearms :shock:

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 19th, 2017, 9:09 pm

The kid wanted a switch....is this a good console....I know it's new in the market and very expensive....also limited games....but if the tax is 40 % I would not even consider it.....so guys.......has the taxes on it gone back to 20%.....as yet.......anyone brought in any consoles recently

Postby Ben_spanna » November 20th, 2017, 9:51 am

ingalook wrote:They aren't always the sharpest tools in the shed working for customs you know... i remember my padna had the little white gun shaped pieces of plastic for the "Wii-mote" seized because they looked like firearms :shock:

one would like to think that a customs officer should have a certain level of intelligence and should have the ability to distinguish the difference between a toy and a firearm, yet when these cases come up it makes you realize how incredibly Stupid some of our officers really are. :roll:

Postby stev » November 21st, 2017, 12:01 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:HOW did game consoles get classified with mechanical games of chance under gambling in the first place?!!!!!

is this as a result of the Star Wars Battlefront Loot Box from EA?

u pay for a box which generates a random in-game item.....it's a 'chance' to win an item.

...i know there is bachanal right now with EA Games

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » November 21st, 2017, 12:30 pm

^i don't think it has anything to do with any of that. They used the blanket term "game console" to refer to these digital gambling machines, which was their intended target. Unfortunately it seems legit non gambling related consoles (ps, Xbox etc) got caught in the mix and as mentioned earlier, customs doesn't care to discern the difference. Hope it really is sorted out as imbert has indicated.

Postby teems1 » November 21st, 2017, 12:37 pm

I recommend to just unbox the Switch and walk with it normally in your carry on/purse if you don't want to risk being caught with it at customs.

websource

Postby websource » November 21st, 2017, 1:30 pm

Just an update. Web Source requested confirmation from Customs so we'll see what they say. While the Minister of Finance would have stated his intention to have the duties reverted to 20%, the actual process could take a while AND it must be properly communicated to Customs.

Years ago when the then Minister indicated in a Budget that taxes would be removed from DVRs, it took about 9 months for Customs to be given the official instructions that allowed them to implement the change. I doubt this change will take that long but we'll see what Customs says.

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 21st, 2017, 9:27 pm

P C
M A S T E R
R A C E

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 21st, 2017, 9:29 pm

ganeshlalchan

Postby ganeshlalchan » November 22nd, 2017, 3:35 am

So my ps4 coming in will be at 40% duty?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 22nd, 2017, 3:41 am

ganeshlalchan wrote:So my ps4 coming in will be at 40% duty?

Please update us when u do receive it as to what the taxes were on it
Thanks bro....

Postby gastly369 » November 22nd, 2017, 8:52 am

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:The kid wanted a switch....is this a good console....I know it's new in the market and very expensive....also limited games....but if the tax is 40 % I would not even consider it.....so guys.......has the taxes on it gone back to 20%.....as yet.......anyone brought in any consoles recently

Switch decent want one for myself

KM23

Postby KM23 » November 22nd, 2017, 10:01 am

I wanted to buy a ps4 this wk but I wil cancel

websource

Postby websource » November 22nd, 2017, 2:55 pm

websource wrote:Just an update. Web Source requested confirmation from Customs so we'll see what they say. While the Minister of Finance would have stated his intention to have the duties reverted to 20%, the actual process could take a while AND it must be properly communicated to Customs.

Years ago when the then Minister indicated in a Budget that taxes would be removed from DVRs, it took about 9 months for Customs to be given the official instructions that allowed them to implement the change. I doubt this change will take that long but we'll see what Customs says.

Web Source ended up not receiving any cargo yesterday due to two flights being delayed, so we're expecting confirmation on the duties today when we do receive our shipments.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 22nd, 2017, 3:31 pm

Ok great awaiting your response as to whether its 20 or 40 %

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 22nd, 2017, 5:51 pm

KM23 wrote:I wanted to buy a ps4 this wk but I wil cancel

just buy a PC

You won't have to worry about this scam of paying nearly $70 TT a month for free online.
It is like paying for internet twice, like who even does that? why you feel they give you "free" games for only $10 US a month?

Now you could pay the full $60 USD upfront for the whole year but who pays for free online? they tried that scam on PC and the PC Gamers told microsoft to go fck themselves.

websource

Postby websource » November 23rd, 2017, 5:08 am

Okay, confirmed. All Video Game Consoles we imported were taxed 40% by Customs.

Even with the online discounts from Black Friday sales, it's still a lot to pay in taxes.

Postby gastly369 » November 23rd, 2017, 5:48 am

websource wrote:Okay, confirmed. All Video Game Consoles we imported were taxed 40% by Customs.

Even with the online discounts from Black Friday sales, it's still a lot to pay in taxes.

Smh

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 23rd, 2017, 4:42 pm

Wda....those kids gonna be real disappointed this rounds
Rowley and imbert killing xmas even for the kids....
Reminds me of scrooge...

fallen18

Postby fallen18 » November 23rd, 2017, 4:47 pm

Was looking to buy a switch tomm, now might have to hold off. Ridiculous to say the least. How long would it take to adjust it, certainly didnt take them long to raise it. Pretty sure nothing will be done till after the holidays, by which time they would have made all their extra mula.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 24th, 2017, 11:29 pm

fallen18 wrote:Was looking to buy a switch tomm, now might have to hold off. Ridiculous to say the least. How long would it take to adjust it, certainly didnt take them long to raise it. Pretty sure nothing will be done till after the holidays, by which time they would have made all their extra mula.

Exactly this will take at least six months or more....
They taking advantage of the lol kids now for Xmas....
This gov't and invert is real stress boy...can't wait for him to leave politics..

Postby teems1 » November 25th, 2017, 12:53 am

gastly369 wrote:
*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:The kid wanted a switch....is this a good console....I know it's new in the market and very expensive....also limited games....but if the tax is 40 % I would not even consider it.....so guys.......has the taxes on it gone back to 20%.....as yet.......anyone brought in any consoles recently

Switch decent want one for myself

Super Mario Odyssey was amazing.

I took a week to beat it and there is a buttload of gameplay unlocked after the game is beaten.

Weeks upon weeks of gameplay to get all the power moons.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 26th, 2017, 11:58 pm

Anyone imported any recently least week to know if it's still.is going at 40%