Device to record and playback TV?

richardxsingh

Device to record and playback TV?

Postby richardxsingh » November 22nd, 2017, 2:26 pm

Hi Tuners.
Rather than pay TV provider I am looking for a standalone record and playback solution.

Device should:
    Record TV with ability to schedule and not just on the spot
    Playback recordings from device itself, rather than have to convert video or playback on computer.
    Record via HDMI input preferable

Has anyone used such?

Re: Device to record and playback TV?

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 22nd, 2017, 8:31 pm

A VCR does that well.

Postby RedVEVO » November 22nd, 2017, 8:36 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:A VCR does that well.

BetaMax version :D

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 22nd, 2017, 9:06 pm

richardxsingh wrote:Hi Tuners.
Rather than pay TV provider I am looking for a standalone record and playback solution.

Device should:
    Record TV with ability to schedule and not just on the spot
    Playback recordings from device itself, rather than have to convert video or playback on computer.
    Record via HDMI input preferable

Has anyone used such?

if you don't want to pay a TV provider, where are you recording it from?
Why not just get an android box?

Postby gastly369 » November 22nd, 2017, 10:54 pm

Ah wah backup meh scrunting for talent on tape wah ah go do

richardxsingh

Postby richardxsingh » November 23rd, 2017, 8:21 am

I am paying provider for TV service. I don't want to pay extra for limited and costly recording ability.
There are some android boxes that can record from hdmi but that is usually flaky.

Postby Rovin » November 24th, 2017, 10:42 am

why not live stream from a free online site or torrent what u want to see ....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 24th, 2017, 10:51 am

richardxsingh wrote:

I am paying provider for TV service. I don't want to pay extra for limited and costly recording ability.
There are some android boxes that can record from hdmi but that is usually flaky.

You may be over engineering here.

The Android Box option wasn’t to record your existing cable. It lets you use video on demand to watch what you want when you want without the hassle of recording, setting times etc.

Postby sMASH » November 24th, 2017, 11:31 am

There are capture card that gamers uses to intercept the hdmi signal going to the Monitor, and stream it to an online

So this card is inserted in between the pc and the monitor, and it just takes the hdmi signals andn,are it available for the gamer to send where he wants.

What u can do is insert it in between the cable box and the TV, and it should record what ever is sent to the TV

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » November 24th, 2017, 8:00 pm

Used to be a VCR but now they're called PVR or personal video recorder or DVR for digital video recorder. Read about them at https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_video_recorder.
When you ready to buy, check Amazon. For example, https://www.amazon.com/AVerMedia-EZRecorder-Definition-Subscription-ER310/dp/B01KWCFN3O

Kristophe9019

Postby Kristophe9019 » November 25th, 2017, 1:39 pm

The upgraded flow boxes has that feature

Postby wagonrunner » November 26th, 2017, 1:05 pm

sMASH wrote:There are capture card that gamers uses to intercept the hdmi signal going to the Monitor, and stream it to an online

So this card is inserted in between the pc and the monitor, and it just takes the hdmi signals andn,are it available for the gamer to send where he wants.

What u can do is insert it in between the cable box and the TV, and it should record what ever is sent to the TV

feature of the driver software. no additional hardware required.
https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/geforce/geforce-experience/shadowplay/
https://www.amd.com/en/technologies/radeon-relive

and loads of third party software for unsupported cards.
https://www.videohelp.com/software/sections/capture