Floating the dollar will be our only hope!

Re: Floating the dollar will be our only hope!

Postby paid_influencer » November 27th, 2017, 9:47 pm

The strategy they use is to move the exchange rate by 2 cents every other week. Nobody takes notice until it has already moved a good bit.

Postby RedVEVO » November 27th, 2017, 9:47 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:Increase exports . Decrease taxes . Increase oil production. Seek new markets .
Eliminate ALL tax barriers . Govt should seek international investors with no tax incentives .
Follow thru with Manning's dream of a Financial Center like London etc.

Open up the economy and stop interfering with the private sector . Gov't joint venture - No.

What does TT have to export ?

What do we have that is in demand abroad ?

Increase what exports?

Increase oil production how?

Seek new markets like?

International investors/investment like Sandals that had multi year tax break?

What interfering in the private sector does the government currently do?

What does open up the economy mean?

You need to read a book :D

And stop stoning people cars on Beetham .. :?

Right so once it’s time for details you run and hide basically. Nice.

Ok I will keep it simple.

Never in this country we have had so much Taxes . So much bleakness in business & TT society

Even under PNM ANR with his draconian measures .

We have chased away investors and everyday PNM is destroying the financial sector.

The Gov't is sitting and doing absolutely nothing .

Are we better off today than we were 2 years ago ?

No need to keep it simple but not answer the easy questions I asked.

Rhetorical questions.

We ALL know the answers :( :(

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 27th, 2017, 9:48 pm

paid_influencer wrote:The strategy they use is to move the exchange rate by 2 cents every other week. Nobody takes notice until it has already moved a good bit.

People take notice. It was spoken about the last time it occurred.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 27th, 2017, 9:49 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:Increase exports . Decrease taxes . Increase oil production. Seek new markets .
Eliminate ALL tax barriers . Govt should seek international investors with no tax incentives .
Follow thru with Manning's dream of a Financial Center like London etc.

Open up the economy and stop interfering with the private sector . Gov't joint venture - No.

What does TT have to export ?

What do we have that is in demand abroad ?

Increase what exports?

Increase oil production how?

Seek new markets like?

International investors/investment like Sandals that had multi year tax break?

What interfering in the private sector does the government currently do?

What does open up the economy mean?

You need to read a book :D

And stop stoning people cars on Beetham .. :?

Right so once it’s time for details you run and hide basically. Nice.

Ok I will keep it simple.

Never in this country we have had so much Taxes . So much bleakness in business & TT society

We have chased away investors and everyday PNM is destroying the financial sector.

No need to keep it simple but not answer the easy questions I asked.

Rhetorical questions.

We ALL know the answers :( :(

So you say but it seems more like you’re unwilling to give or simply don’t actually know the answers.

abducted

Postby abducted » November 27th, 2017, 9:59 pm

He does not know the answer, RedVEVO wants everyone to think he is smart, he is clueless but insists on posting in every thread, such a nuisance.

Postby RedVEVO » November 27th, 2017, 10:12 pm

^^^^

Ok, I will give you a couple and the others will be for your research .

Investors :

Gov't should be actively seeking investors to come to T&T.
PNM Manning knew this and he was on track with his 2020 Vision.

You do this by incentives - e.g. Similar to Mital.
To have Mital in your country give other international investors confidence .

But we chased them away . The international community saw it .
So we have become "black listed" - so to speak.

The 35% tax structure we have - nobody coming to T&T . Nobody.

Oil:

PNM should have been able to convince and negotiate the building of Oil Platforms in T&T.
But PNM negotiators failed . Do you remember who were the negotiators ? Failure !

We should be increasing production and refining Guyana's oil . But PNM cannot do.
Seeking new markets and doing partnerships with e.g. China. But China snubbed us . Why you
think ? Manning and Kamla were buddies with China . Rowley has a failed history .

The current administration thinks like this " I am Prime Minster "

And then the mic drops . Nothing .

Postby paid_influencer » November 27th, 2017, 10:15 pm

paid_influencer wrote:The strategy they use is to move the exchange rate by 2 cents every other week. Nobody takes notice until it has already moved a good bit.

The idea is to stay out of the news cycle until the move has already happened. By the time the news reporters are on the scene to report a 3% devaluation, the move is already done and the new current rate will be maintained (at least for a few months).
Last edited by paid_influencer on November 27th, 2017, 10:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

abducted

Postby abducted » November 27th, 2017, 10:15 pm

VexXx Dogg was correct, RedVEVO really sounds like PEA, lots of posts with no answers.

Postby RedVEVO » November 27th, 2017, 10:18 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

The idea is to stay out of the news cycle until the move has already happened. By the time the news reporters are on the scene to report a 3% devaluation, the move is already done and the new current rate will be maintained (at least for a few months).

Banks make money on the devaluation process .

Each day you purchase any Forex the Bank fills it's coffers .

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 27th, 2017, 10:21 pm

RedVEVO wrote:^^^^

Investors :

Oil:

PNM should have been able to convince and negotiate the building of Oil Platforms in T&T.
But PNM negotiators failed . Do you remember who were the negotiators ? Failure !

We should be increasing production and refining Guyana's oil . But PNM cannot do.
Seeking new markets and doing partnerships with e.g. China. But China snubbed us . Why you
think ? Manning and Kamla were buddies with China . Rowley has a failed history .

The answers are always easy to come up with when sitting in your armchair.

The only facts are that oil and gas revenues have been down and the country was not diversified to cope, oil production has been on its way down before and during Manning and Kamla era, Guyana isn’t producing oil yet.

As for the other stuff you wrote it’s rum shop talk.

Postby RedVEVO » November 27th, 2017, 10:23 pm

Investors :

Oil:

The last administration was similar to the Manning administration .

You spend and activate the economy . Yes you borrow and borrow .

But while you borrow you are developing and investors will have confidence .

Today we are stagnant with economic policies that are destroying the financial sector .

If you connect the dots it will lead back to Forex . Exports have to more than Imports .
Last edited by RedVEVO on November 27th, 2017, 10:24 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 27th, 2017, 10:23 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

You make it seem like news reporters could influence things otherwise. It’s not a conspiracy. Easier to let things drift slowly too so as to not cause price shock I would think. Would you rather they went from 6.8 to 7.5 overnight?

Postby RedVEVO » November 27th, 2017, 10:25 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

You make it seem like news reporters could influence things otherwise. It’s not a conspiracy. Easier to let things drift slowly too so as to not cause price shock I would think. Would you rather they went from 6.8 to 7.5 overnight?

Reports can influence markets .

They can do it with Fake News.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 27th, 2017, 10:26 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

Investors :

Oil:

The last administration was similar to the Manning administration .

You spend and activate the economy . Yes you borrow and borrow .

But while you borrow you are developing and investors will have confidence .

Today we are stagnant with economic policies that us destroying the financial sector .

If you connect the dots it will lead back to Forex . Exports have to more than Imports .

Yeah the last administration spent so much we should be going great all now according to your logic. We were stagnant even before this current administration took office. What new foreign direct investment was there under the previous administration that led to economic diversification?

The only thing that has worked in our favor before was high energy prices. Certainly not any special skills exhibited by past administrations.

Postby paid_influencer » November 27th, 2017, 10:36 pm

i actually agree with the moves by the Government. I am not in favor of any devaluation.

Reduce the amount of Forex available, and you will see substitute goods taking hold in the market. Not necessarily locally produced goods, but still goods imported at a cheaper cost. The market will balance.

As an aside, Jamaica's dollar started at 1:1 to a USD at the time of their independence. Today, it is J$131 : 1USD. Do you think this change was good for Jamaicans?

Postby The_Honourable » November 27th, 2017, 10:38 pm

RedVEVO wrote: Ok I will keep it simple.

Never in this country we have had so much Taxes. So much bleakness in business & TT society

Rowley doing crap but we are not near the draconian measures as in the Robinson days since the country did went to the IMF. This is what PNM trying to get away from politically because that would be political death as what happened with the NAR.

If things happened today as in Robinson days, most state entities will be forced to shut down or be privatized, public servants would loose about 1/2 dey salary, a currency devaluation, and many retail chains and businesses would go into receivership/bankruptcy. We are about an inch away from that.

agent007

Postby agent007 » November 27th, 2017, 10:41 pm

Guys, I’m not sure how many of us know this but the govt is borrowing money to pay bills right now, we can’t sustain this and sooner or later we’re going to collapse.

Postby RedVEVO » November 27th, 2017, 10:44 pm

agent007 wrote:Guys, I’m not sure how many of us know this but the govt is borrowing money to pay bills right now, we can’t sustain this and sooner or later we’re going to collapse.

This is a big propaganda .

If you borrowing money to pay bills , well you should not be in Gov't.

You borrow for investment purposes .

Same with private citizens :D :D

Postby sMASH » November 27th, 2017, 10:45 pm

paid_influencer wrote:i actually agree with the moves by the Government. I am not in favor of any devaluation.

Reduce the amount of Forex available, and you will see substitute goods taking hold in the market. Not necessarily locally produced goods, but still goods imported at a cheaper cost. The market will balance.

As an aside, Jamaica's dollar started at 1:1 to a USD at the time of their independence. Today, it is J$131 : 1USD. Do you think this change was good for Jamaicans?

And who will be getting the USd?

The reduced availability already has an effect on many smaller businesses, where they have to contract their operations, cut costs.
Then a lot of big businesses bring in a lot of foreign stuff.

By having it this way, u can pick and choose who gets and who doesn't, and that is maximum corruption.

Float the dollar, and who wants it more will pay more.

Postby RedVEVO » November 27th, 2017, 10:47 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
RedVEVO wrote: Ok I will keep it simple.

Never in this country we have had so much Taxes. So much bleakness in business & TT society

Rowley doing crap but we are not near the draconian measures as in the Robinson days since the country did went to the IMF. This is what PNM trying to get away from politically because that would be political death as what happened with the NAR.

If things happened today as in Robinson days, most state entities will be forced to shut down or be privatized, public servants would loose about 1/2 dey salary, a currency devaluation, and many retail chains and businesses would go into receivership/bankruptcy. We are about an inch away from that.

Apparently Tobago born PMs bring chaos :D

We need PMs with Leadership and Vision.

Postby RedVEVO » November 27th, 2017, 10:51 pm

sMASH wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:i actually agree with the moves by the Government. I am not in favor of any devaluation.

And who will be getting the USd?

The reduced availability already has an effect on many smaller businesses, where they have to contract their operations, cut costs.
Then a lot of big businesses bring in a lot of foreign stuff.

By having it this way, u can pick and choose who gets and who doesn't, and that is maximum corruption.

Float the dollar, and who wants it more will pay more.

No, no, no ... and hell no

It is NOT that simple .

What you suggest is already happening .

You do not eliminate a fire by throwing premium gas as a substitute for water :D

Postby RedVEVO » November 27th, 2017, 10:55 pm

^^^^

What we have in the Forex Market is an allocation problem .

It will create an imbalance and then a thriving black market .

The situation will then lead to elimination of the "middle class" business .

The PNM wants to eliminate the small business man .

Postby zoom rader » November 28th, 2017, 8:14 am

What we have in the Forex Market is an allocation problem .

It will create an imbalance and then a thriving black market .

The situation will then lead to elimination of the "middle class" business .

The PNM wants to eliminate the small business man .

Non PNM governments placed economic power in the hands of citizens.

With a PNM government they take that right away and leave you in slave mode.

Postby RBphoto » November 28th, 2017, 8:57 am

Yes, an immediate float would be beneficial. It will crush the black market and free up USD for trade. It will only work if they also remove the caps on how much an individual can acquire and the ridiculous waiting period.

airuma

Postby airuma » November 28th, 2017, 10:45 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Wait nah, RedVEVO is a PEPper or wah? That sounds like PEA almost verbatim

I share this opinion.

Postby eliteauto » November 28th, 2017, 11:07 am

RBphoto wrote:Yes, an immediate float would be beneficial. It will crush the black market and free up USD for trade. It will only work if they also remove the caps on how much an individual can acquire and the ridiculous waiting period.

where the $US gonna come from?

moses_boss12
Location: The Beautiful Hills of.................... Hellshire!!

Postby moses_boss12 » November 28th, 2017, 11:11 am

Investors :

Oil:

The only facts are that oil and gas revenues have been down and the country was not diversified to cope, oil production has been on its way down before and during Manning and Kamla era, Guyana isn’t producing oil yet.

98% of what he speaks is rum shop talk

Postby RedVEVO » November 28th, 2017, 12:47 pm

moses_boss12 wrote:

Investors :

Oil:

98% of what he speaks is rum shop talk

Current PNM Gov't clueless . They drinking bush rum .

Did we not lose the BP Platform contracts ? Jobs for everybody EXCEPT in T&T

Were we not snubbed by the Chinese ? Investing everywhere EXCEPT in T&T

Where are the international investors ? Sandals say no, no, no.

Whose supporters always protesting with violent intent ?

Yes, yes, yes . What rum shop talk ?

Postby zoom rader » November 28th, 2017, 1:20 pm

airuma wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:Wait nah, RedVEVO is a PEPper or wah? That sounds like PEA almost verbatim

I share this opinion.

From the very same ppl that hoarding the US.
eliteauto wrote:
RBphoto wrote:Yes, an immediate float would be beneficial. It will crush the black market and free up USD for trade. It will only work if they also remove the caps on how much an individual can acquire and the ridiculous waiting period.

where the $US gonna come from?

car

Postby car » November 29th, 2017, 2:35 am

agent007 wrote:Guys, I’m not sure how many of us know this but the govt is borrowing money to pay bills right now, we can’t sustain this and sooner or later we’re going to collapse.

Gubberment invested in many speed cameras/guns to solve this problem.

Man say tax break and reduce tax. Allyuh cussing the gubberment.