Another good Job TTPS: strict enforcement on decibel levels

hong kong phooey

Another good Job TTPS: strict enforcement on decibel levels

Postby hong kong phooey » January 15th, 2018, 1:48 am

I would like to thank the police service for another outstanding job on enforcing the law at fetes
Keep up the good work . hope this is done at all fetes

http://www.looptt.com/content/fete-orga ... bel-levels

Fete organisers protest strict enforcement on decibel levels
Carnival fete organisers Red Ants have taken issue with what it has described as the strict application of decibel levels at its cooler fete, Stumped, on Saturday.

This kind of action, it said, can only serve to kill the culture and Carnival in Trinidad and Tobago.

In an apology issued today, the promoters sought to offer an explanation to its patrons, sponsors, vendors and performers for the “very low audio levels” during the latter part of its event.

Red Ants said the situation was beyond their control as Police officers acting on behalf of the Environmental Management Authority (EMA) ordered the reduction in noise level, which resulted in a “severely compromised experience” for its patrons.

A negotiation with the authorities, it said, was futile.

Red Ants said while there must be respect of the law, the law in turn must support and respect the culture.

Below is the full statement from the event organisers.

"Red Ants sincerely apologises to all our patrons, sponsors, vendors and performers for the very low audio levels during the latter part of our event STUMPED on Saturday 13th January. This situation was beyond the control of both us and the sound company.

Police officers acting on behalf of the Environmental Management Authority (EMA) ordered the reduction in noise level, resulting in a severely compromised experience for our patrons. We attempted to negotiate a compromise, but to no avail.

Rest assured that artistes, DJs and promoters are meeting with the authorities, those affected by noise levels and other stakeholders to determine an approach moving forward as many other promoters and events have been affected in this way.

The strict application of decibel levels can effectively kill Trinidad and Tobago carnival and the culture. We take this opportunity to sincerely thank Machel Montano for showing true professionalism and rallying on through his performance last night despite the reduced sound levels.

Other countries in the region with developing Carnival industries have mandated their police, fire, environmental and other statutory bodies to work with and provide support to promoters and band leaders to ensure the success of their tourist industry.

Carnival is our National Festival and an income earner for our country, providing thousands of seasonal and permanent jobs from the promoter to the penman to the pieman, and even for those enforcing the laws. Tourism is a very necessary industry that must be developed as part of our nation's attempts to be economically diverse and our carnival is without question the single biggest tourism draw annually.

The time has indeed come for a review of the laws, even if it requires seasonal licences for the industry of carnival and what is our country's biggest celebration of culture. We stand ready to work with the authorities to make Carnival great again as occurrences such as these only serve to retard its growth and evolution.

We must all respect the law but the law in turn must support and respect the culture. Together we will find a solution! Red Ants thanks you for your support and understanding."

Re: Another good Job TTPS: strict enforcement on decibel levels

Postby DVSTT » January 15th, 2018, 5:00 am

This kind of action, it said, can only serve to kill the culture and Carnival in Trinidad and Tobago.

Ole noise is culture?

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » January 15th, 2018, 5:57 am

Red ants being stupid about the situation. There are others places that you could have rented to allow the patrons to enjoy the fete as intended. The variation to the law as applied by red ants allowed music to be played to 1am and no later. Red ants knew this but still insisted in hosting the fete till 4am.

Postby Kenjo » January 15th, 2018, 6:08 am

jhonnieblue wrote:Red ants being stupid about the situation. There are others places that you could have rented to allow the patrons to enjoy the fete as intended. The variation to the law as applied by red ants allowed music to be played to 1am and no later. Red ants knew this but still insisted in hosting the fete till 4am.

That’s what I’m confused with whether the time was up or the allowed noise levels were adhered to . Because if you book until 1 am and looking to have your fete until 4 am then you look for that . Could the party just go on still once no noise is being heard after the allowed time of 1 am?

Postby pugboy » January 15th, 2018, 6:10 am

"income earner" they say ?
wonder how much taxes they does declare ?
they learning from the same book as george singh and munro

tribe/red ants buys a couple woodbrook properties every year
but I am sure they don't sleep in them........

I live a few streets away from the oval and normally hear the music,
didn't hear any this weekend, now I know why.

Postby skylinechild » January 15th, 2018, 6:12 am

dont understand it thou... if the audio level was low....

why not set up additional speakers in an huge octagonal layout.... and have all your patrons inside that octagon ???
that way you can play the audio at a comfortable level without being too loud and everyone hears.

as an added bonus the patrons will act as sound dampeners and the level of audio leaving the octagon will be minimal.

instead everyone want to have just two big loud speakers on the stage pumping out 1000W to reach patrons in the back #trini logic 101.

i think they need to hire someone with a degree in audio engineering.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » January 15th, 2018, 6:27 am

They could have gone on till after 1am but it would be at a reduced decibel level which occurred. I believe when Machel was performing they had the sound level to a minimum.
The proximity of the hospital and residents means that for that area the deviation for decibel playing would be at 12-1 am. It's always been that way. Take for instance cic fete, they lock off at 12am knowing the regulations existing for said variation. Most promoters prefer to willingly ignore this fact as ema monitoring is difficult due to staffing issues.
Red ants simply could have shifted the fete earlier or more to an alternate venue.
Of course cash flow takes priority and as such they were looking for the cheapest venue

Postby sMASH » January 15th, 2018, 6:47 am

Good going.

The octagon thing is a good arrangement of they insist on getting deaf.

Now, how does one get in contact with those officers familiar with and willing to enforce those laws?

Postby skylinechild » January 15th, 2018, 7:05 am

sMASH wrote:Good going.

The octagon thing is a good arrangement of they insist on getting deaf.

Now, how does one get in contact with those officers familiar with and willing to enforce those laws?

very much so... the octagon is simple and easy to do...

side note - you can also do a dodecagon - 12 sided polygon if you REALLY wanna be deaf.

side note #2 - this is how u draw it. (learned something today)

Postby ismithx » January 15th, 2018, 7:20 am

skylinechild wrote:dont understand it thou... if the audio level was low....

why not set up additional speakers in an huge octagonal layout.... and have all your patrons inside that octagon ???
that way you can play the audio at a comfortable level without being too loud and everyone hears.

as an added bonus the patrons will act as sound dampeners and the level of audio leaving the octagon will be minimal.

instead everyone want to have just two big loud speakers on the stage pumping out 1000W to reach patrons in the back #trini logic 101.

strong second

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 15th, 2018, 7:27 am

skylinechild wrote:
very much so. the octagon is simple and easy to do...

side note - you can also do a dodecagon - 12 sided polygon if you REALLY wanna be deaf.

side note #2 - this is how u draw it. (learned something today)

Science ftw

Postby Dizzy28 » January 15th, 2018, 10:06 am

I remember going a fete in the Oval back in the year when Machel won Road March with Band of the Year. He performed last at or around 3am and because Police/EMA instructed the sound men to lower the volumes twice (as EMA had sound meters set up) the Monk stormed off the stage having only performed for around 5 mins. Never came back on and the fete ended early.

WRT to the hospital and this goes for all of Trinidad with our poor planning, why put a hospital next to a sport venue? The Oval there 120 years now but the hospital is a Johnny Come Lately.

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 15th, 2018, 11:18 am

WRT the octagon thing skylinechild, Having two large stacks of speakers is just cheaper and simpler than having it arranged in a surround sound manner. Not trying to justify the practice, just helping you to understand why. It might be a good idea doh, sheit you could even couple it with line array technology to really focus the sound to inside the venue, but that's a separate rigging tower + speakers + cabling you need. aka C O S T

But good job to the EMA, I really fed up of this loudness culture myself, and Isse a man into sound eh.
Next stop, bars and cars.

Trinis gonna beat up because third world people can't handle first world laws. Trinidad might be finally moving on up you know.

Specialist Baboons

Postby Specialist Baboons » January 15th, 2018, 12:42 pm

Wait yuh mean to say you expected them to use their brain rather than break the law...
Come nah man

Postby Redman » January 15th, 2018, 12:54 pm

Like Red Ants really upset about anything.
Not like they offering refunds

Postby MaxPower » January 15th, 2018, 2:06 pm

Ban Carnival on the whole..

Too much pests

Postby zoom rader » January 15th, 2018, 2:09 pm

MaxPower wrote:Ban Carnival on the whole..

Too much pests
Nah fete have fi go on

nismoid

Postby nismoid » January 15th, 2018, 6:44 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:I remember going a fete in the Oval back in the year when Machel won Road March with Band of the Year. He performed last at or around 3am and because Police/EMA instructed the sound men to lower the volumes twice (as EMA had sound meters set up) the Monk stormed off the stage having only performed for around 5 mins. Never came back on and the fete ended early.

WRT to the hospital and this goes for all of Trinidad with our poor planning, why put a hospital next to a sport venue? The Oval there 120 years now but the hospital is a Johnny Come Lately.

First of all it's called the Queen's Park OVAL, not the Queen's Park Entertainment Center, the oval was never supposed to be used for fetes but the committee saw an avenue in the past to "make a lil change" and since then everyone "overlooked" the law.

Postby SR » January 15th, 2018, 8:33 pm

Good job ttps and ema time to enforce the laws

Postby De Dragon » January 17th, 2018, 1:04 pm

Loling at the "de culture go dead'! argument!

TriP

Postby TriP » January 17th, 2018, 2:01 pm

A 'decibel level' is a unit used to measure the intensity of a sound or the power level of an electrical signal by comparing it with a given level on a logarithmic scale.

Overexposure to high decibel levels can have negative effects on both human and animal health.
26841176_10156001747776171_6545884758684540720_o.jpg

zorced

Postby zorced » January 17th, 2018, 2:28 pm

Does this signal that for the next lineup of fetes the law will be enforced or money be passed? Stay tuned for either result.

airuma

Postby airuma » January 17th, 2018, 2:51 pm

Not sure if this would work well taking into consideration interference (constructive and destructive) and the speed of sound (standing at different distances from the sources will produce all sorts of echoes/ distortion). Might be a better idea to apply noise cancellation.

Postby pugboy » January 17th, 2018, 3:22 pm

I do not think that the 1% are involved or much in the business of fetes,
so it would take a little more than a phone call to muzzle the EMA
but who knows maybe the entire EMA may get free costumes in Tribe/Bliss

Postby De Dragon » January 17th, 2018, 4:08 pm

Jackarses seriously arguing for levels of noise that can cause PERMANENT hearing loss? Only in T&T yes!

Postby pete » January 17th, 2018, 4:12 pm

We have to feel the music man. What else we have it for? Lyrical content?

Postby paid_influencer » January 17th, 2018, 4:16 pm

De Dragon wrote:Jackarses seriously arguing for levels of noise that can cause PERMANENT hearing loss? Only in T&T yes!

they already have hearing loss.

the hearing loss makes them turn the volume louder. Which in turn gives them more hearing loss.