Passport Appointment

HSA

Re: Passport Appointment

Postby HSA » February 2nd, 2018, 11:39 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
janfar wrote:Is how people struggling on this.

I walk into Grande office at 2pm and was out by 2:45. I requested an expedite but they told me that they are now so efficient that it takes only 7 days to receive.

Went back 3 weeks later and passport was ready: It was already there 2 weeks waiting for me. No strings, no contacts.

I made an appointment over the telephone for the interview at the Sangre Grande office for the renewal of my machine readable passport. The person on the phone told me to walk with a photo, despite people in this thread indicating otherwise for the renewal of machine readable passports.

The appointment was on October 19, 2017 and in the renewed passport it was indicated that it was issued on December 11, 2017, about eight weeks later.

According to the interviewing officer, they were supposed to call or text me to indicate when the passport was ready. They did neither. I tried calling the numbers that I found online and did not get through to anyone.

Went there in January 2018 not knowing if it was ready or not, and was able to collect it. I noticed that they used the photograph that I supplied rather than they taking a photograph as had been done with the machine readable passport that was being renewed.

Lots of conflicting information in this thread. I guess everyone has a different experience even if they renew at the same office.

if you getting your 1st machine readable passport - no picture needed

if you going to renew A machine readable passport- passport picture needed

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » February 2nd, 2018, 1:18 pm

HSA wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:
janfar wrote:Is how people struggling on this.

I walk into Grande office at 2pm and was out by 2:45. I requested an expedite but they told me that they are now so efficient that it takes only 7 days to receive.

Went back 3 weeks later and passport was ready: It was already there 2 weeks waiting for me. No strings, no contacts.

I made an appointment over the telephone for the interview at the Sangre Grande office for the renewal of my machine readable passport. The person on the phone told me to walk with a photo, despite people in this thread indicating otherwise for the renewal of machine readable passports.

The appointment was on October 19, 2017 and in the renewed passport it was indicated that it was issued on December 11, 2017, about eight weeks later.

According to the interviewing officer, they were supposed to call or text me to indicate when the passport was ready. They did neither. I tried calling the numbers that I found online and did not get through to anyone.

Went there in January 2018 not knowing if it was ready or not, and was able to collect it. I noticed that they used the photograph that I supplied rather than they taking a photograph as had been done with the machine readable passport that was being renewed.

Lots of conflicting information in this thread. I guess everyone has a different experience even if they renew at the same office.

if you getting your 1st machine readable passport - no picture needed

if you going to renew A machine readable passport- passport picture needed

I renewed machine readable passport yesterday morning. NO PICTURE REQUIRED.
They take a pic with there digital camera on site.
This was San Fernando.
2 month wait.
no expedition option was available.

Postby supercharged turbo » February 7th, 2018, 7:47 am

My parents went Chaguanas and before 7 they say that their quota for the day done fulfilled already(24).Idk why it so hard to renew a passport in this country.Anybody know how efficient Grande office is and what time you hadda go?

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » February 7th, 2018, 7:55 am

Workers wanna work in the morning and relax for the rest of the day...

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » February 7th, 2018, 8:04 am

My issue is why such a lengthy wait for a passport ....especially a renewal ???? Backward full speed are we ?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » February 7th, 2018, 8:53 am

Premchand1976 wrote:My issue is why such a lengthy wait for a passport ....especially a renewal ???? Backward full speed are we ?

went in sando this week , no business passports but they have the reg ones , getting the new one in 7 days
officers were very quick in dealing with it and experience very pleasant . was expecting a lot worse in terms of waiting etc .

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » February 7th, 2018, 9:09 am

I went Chaguanas end of Jan 2018.....6-8 weeks they said ????? Should have come to Sando yes.......sighs

Postby Dizzy28 » February 7th, 2018, 9:32 am

Going into PoS office lunch time today to see if my passport is ready. Was told to come back in 6-8 weeks (and also don't expect any calls from saying it is ready). This week makes 9 weeks as I felt an like giving them an extra week lagniappe.

Would post if I did get it.

Postby janfar » February 7th, 2018, 10:32 pm

Allyuh just sour.

Go Grande after lunch, make sure your linx have money to pay and walk with your photo copies of everything (birth cert, old pp info page). Walk with your passport pic even if they don't need it. Walk with your form already completed, don't go and sit there to fill it, they will kick you out.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 8th, 2018, 9:25 am

Got mine yesterday. Issue date was January 16 2018 so not sure how long it been sitting there.
So that just about means a 1 month turnaround (and I renewed during Christmas), so it probably even faster now.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 8th, 2018, 9:51 am

Applied on Oct 31st, 2017 for one new MR passport and one renewal.
Both were collected yesterday, the renewal was issued on Dec 12th, 2017 and the new one was issued on Jan 11th.
We didn't get any calls from the passport office (Chag) nor did they answer any calls.

Shaquon

Postby Shaquon » March 1st, 2018, 10:07 am

anybody got the with a POS walk in?

fireworks

Postby fireworks » March 21st, 2018, 3:41 pm

Can anybody tell me if there is a form for kids under 16 to renew a machine readable passport.

Can’t seem to find any info on the ministry website. Do both parents need to go to the appointments?

Postby redmanjp » June 18th, 2018, 3:48 pm

are appointments still necessary to renew passports in POS or you can just go in to renew? i hear if u go before 7 u can join a line or something

ADONI

Postby ADONI » June 18th, 2018, 4:02 pm

redmanjp wrote:are appointments still necessary to renew passports in POS or you can just go in to renew? i hear if u go before 7 u can join a line or something

Yea, u can fill out the form and just walk in to renew.

Postby redmanjp » June 18th, 2018, 4:20 pm

ADONI wrote:
redmanjp wrote:are appointments still necessary to renew passports in POS or you can just go in to renew? i hear if u go before 7 u can join a line or something

ok, and how long do they take before the new one is ready to collect?

Postby De Dragon » June 18th, 2018, 4:33 pm

redmanjp wrote:
ADONI wrote:

Depends on the backlog. Get and fill out ALL the required docs before you get there. Get there very early. Don't have copies of your existing passport's data page that are too dark( :? ). Don't wear slippers/shorts( :? )/tank top. Walk with your LINX card as cash is not accepted.

Postby RedVEVO » June 18th, 2018, 5:43 pm

redmanjp wrote:
ADONI wrote:

Depends on the backlog. Get and fill out ALL the required docs before you get there. Get there very early. Don't have copies of your existing passport's data page that are too dark( :? ). Don't wear slippers/shorts( :? )/tank top. Walk with your LINX card as cash is not accepted.

1-3 months ..

Most people within 1 month .

Postby ronsin1 » June 19th, 2018, 8:12 am

I called and got my appointment in less than two weeks went in ready and my new passport with be ready in 6 weeks

Postby RedVEVO » June 19th, 2018, 8:37 am

ronsin1 wrote:I called and got my appointment in less than two weeks went in ready and my new passport with be ready in 6 weeks

After 2 weeks , go and check and check every week .

They will never call you .

Most of times ready in 3 weeks :D

Postby De Dragon » June 19th, 2018, 8:40 am

RedVEVO wrote:
ronsin1 wrote:I called and got my appointment in less than two weeks went in ready and my new passport with be ready in 6 weeks

Worse again, they will never answer when you call :? Do they still email you when your passport is ready?

Postby RedVEVO » June 19th, 2018, 9:01 am

RedVEVO wrote:

Worse again, they will never answer when you call :? Do they still email you when your passport is ready?

PNM Gov't know how to use email ?

Postby Gem_in_i » June 19th, 2018, 11:59 am

They told me I would get a txt when it was ready, never got one.

Postby redmanjp » June 20th, 2018, 1:42 am

Where in POS can I get passport pictures?

Postby redmanjp » June 20th, 2018, 10:20 am

redmanjp wrote:Where in POS can I get passport pictures?

anyone?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » June 20th, 2018, 10:39 am

redmanjp wrote:

anyone?

It have one close to where I work... Close to Mr Chows on Tragarete Road, heading West...

msg1

Postby msg1 » June 20th, 2018, 4:00 pm

redmanjp wrote:

anyone?

There's a studio opposite the immigration office and one a couple buildings (same side with immigration) heading north.

Postby De Dragon » June 20th, 2018, 10:40 pm

msg1 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

anyone?

There's a studio opposite the immigration office and one a couple buildings (same side with immigration) heading north.

There is a clothing/accessory store opposite the Immigration Office, as well as a snackette about two buildings before, same side.

Postby De Dragon » June 20th, 2018, 10:42 pm

msg1 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

anyone?

There is a clothing/accessory store opposite the Immigration Office, that takes passport pictures. They also do photocopying, but you really should try to get these before you go to apply.

Postby redmanjp » June 20th, 2018, 11:34 pm

ADONI wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

anyone?

It have one close to where I work... Close to Mr Chows on Tragarete Road, heading West...

Thanks I went there and got 2.

apparently the email address field on the form too small for my email (has 18 characters before the @sign) should I just leave it out?