selling on ebay?

Postby Ted_v2 » January 21st, 2018, 1:44 am

Hi, i am interested in selling some stuff on ebay. Items like brand new caterpillar filters ect. Interested in purchasing some used tools also.

can someone give me some advice how does the shipping work on getting the stuff out of the country? fedex?
and hows the safest way to do business on ebay, saw people posting about paypal. Years ago i believe i used money-gram or western union to purchase of ebay.

And whats the taxes like? i would be purchasing mostly used tools, how do they go about charging that? the invoice the seller sends?

hong kong phooey

Re: selling on ebay?

Postby hong kong phooey » January 21st, 2018, 2:23 am

Ted_v2 wrote:Hi, i am interested in selling some stuff on ebay. Items like brand new caterpillar filters ect. Interested in purchasing some used tools also.

can someone give me some advice how does the shipping work on getting the stuff out of the country? fedex?
and hows the safest way to do business on ebay, saw people posting about paypal. Years ago i believe i used money-gram or western union to purchase of ebay.

And whats the taxes like? i would be purchasing mostly used tools, how do they go about charging that? the invoice the seller sends?

Ted go into the coin and paper money section search trinidad there is a few people selling from trinidad in there, send them a message directly

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 21st, 2018, 2:40 pm

PayPal is still the safest option as it is built into the eBay platform.
PayPal became a subsidiary of eBay in 2002 and then into its own company in 2015.
PayPal will refund any payment via eBay if the item is not received as advertised.

You can have the seller ship to your skybox address. Works very well and is cheaper too.
The seller is still shipping to a US address, but you are receiving the item in T&T.

In T&T, hand tools carry no import duty, you only pay VAT.
https://shipwebsource.com/customs.php

Postby Ted_v2 » January 26th, 2018, 10:15 am

PayPal needs to attach to a credit card? Or can it be to a personal account?

cryotec

Postby cryotec » January 26th, 2018, 10:29 am

Ted_v2 wrote:PayPal needs to attach to a credit card? Or can it be to a personal account?
You need to set a payment source whether it is a credit card or funds from your bank account. Paypal is much more convenient than using your CC directly since you just need to login and authorize the payment rather than plugging in your payment info all the time.

brakefluid

Postby brakefluid » January 26th, 2018, 10:49 am

OP is looking for info in SELLING not buying

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 26th, 2018, 10:57 am

Ted_v2 wrote:PayPal needs to attach to a credit card? Or can it be to a personal account?

Yes and you can withdraw funds to your credit card.
Look at a Visa Travel Money card (VTM)
It's in US$ and you don't pay fees to withdraw money from PayPal. Your money stays as US$, not converted to TT$ as it would with a regular TT$ credit card.

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » January 26th, 2018, 1:25 pm

timemastee

Postby timemastee » January 27th, 2018, 12:56 pm

Quick run down.
You need a PayPal account that links to your credit card. Personal account is good. I sold item via ttpost shipping via ems cost 160 and take 7 days according to where it going and US customs.

Now to eBay and PayPal for everything you sell they take money. eBay take 1% and PayPal is about the same. If you don't wanna feel the fees adjust for em in that ur price

Zim

Postby Zim » January 30th, 2018, 12:05 pm

^Thanks for the input timemastee, how did u overcome the phone number issue?

timemastee

Postby timemastee » February 1st, 2018, 1:27 am

Zim wrote:^Thanks for the input timemastee, how did u overcome the phone number issue?

Just send it to your family in the us cell phone hoss. Or use one of them public text mumbers(it slight danagerous)

Zim

Postby Zim » February 14th, 2018, 12:58 pm

Ok and that works?
Awesome! Thanks buddy