First Car

Chynee25

First Car

Postby Chynee25 » February 9th, 2018, 10:06 pm

What was your first car?

What do you think is the best first vehicle for new drivers?

What advice would you give new drivers(Driving tips/Maintenance/Advice)?

Re: First Car

Postby nervewrecker » February 9th, 2018, 10:06 pm

zabo.

Postby gastly369 » February 9th, 2018, 10:16 pm

legion l20

Zetski

Postby Zetski » February 9th, 2018, 11:36 pm

ke70 wagon

Doh buy ah van as yuh first vehicle..

Learn to use a mc roundabout so yuh doh kill people on d road and buy a car that yuh could get parts for and it reasonably priced.. like ah Nissan.. stay away from Hondas tho.. the price could be tempting for d inexperienced but it actually costly to get parts for those ek and eg.

Postby zoom rader » February 10th, 2018, 3:26 am

Land Rover

khal_drogo

Postby khal_drogo » February 10th, 2018, 5:10 am

Chynee25 wrote:What was your first car?

What do you think is the best first vehicle for new drivers?

What advice would you give new drivers(Driving tips/Maintenance/Advice)?

Depends on your price range. I would recommend Nissan, and my personal preference is an Almera - It's a modern car, affordable, and parts can be sourced easily.
In terms of advice, the road can be a mad, mad place. You need to drive for yourself as well as others in order to avoid accidents. Most important thing is to drive regularly and keep getting experience.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » February 10th, 2018, 7:40 am

If ya average not too good then get a Suzuki Swift or Nissan March...

Chynee25

Postby Chynee25 » February 10th, 2018, 8:44 am

What's the best price range for a first vehicle 20-30k?

Postby Ted_v2 » February 10th, 2018, 8:45 am

Buy ah almera or a b15

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » February 10th, 2018, 8:53 am

1. Charmant (ke70 variant) mags with no power steering (3 point turn was a nightmare)
2. Any nissan (more parts available for when they bounce or rubdown or mash up the side mirror etc)
Preferably a car not too small like a march, when you move up to a tiida or a bigger ride, new drivers have a hard time adjusting to size difference.
3. Learn to do basic stuff like change a tire and know what tools you have in vehicle if any at all. All car batteries are not the same (pole orientation) and size.
Also learn to do things safely, like changing a tire off the major road, not with your back facing traffic in the dark.
I drove on flats over 1km so i could change it safely on a side street off the highway. Your rims will be still good.
Listening for weird noises and vibrations.
Knowing how to read guages, and warning lights on dash.
Looking at gauges occasionally while driving like speed, gas, temperature (some new cars have warning lights) etc

Postby 88sins » February 10th, 2018, 9:48 am

Coppershot wrote:Also learn to do things safely, like changing a tire off the major road, not with your back facing traffic in the dark.
I drove on flats over 1km so i could change it safely on a side street off the highway. Your rims will be still good.
Listening for weird

rims might survive it, but I doubt the tyre would :lol:

airuma

Postby airuma » February 10th, 2018, 9:55 am

Coppershot wrote:Also learn to do things safely, like changing a tire off the major road, not with your back facing traffic in the dark.
Listening for weird

rims might survive it, but I doubt the tyre would :lol:

If it's a front wheel, then the damage could extend to the ball joints, ends etc.

Postby Rovin » February 10th, 2018, 11:08 am

1st car u own is a topic that has been posted a few times b4 - do a search

as for buying used car nowadays : unless u get a well kept very original never paint over , not beat out car for a fair price , then i suggest once u have d $ buy a RORO cause i find too many ppl selling cars that say valued 40k but need a paint job , has terrible paint job\aka flash over , high mileage , need stuff fixing but they still calling full price , then u have additional $3000-4500 govt transfer fees .... it all adds up fast so better u put d extra $ & get something that doesnt need anything fixed , walk with a mechanic or somebody who knows cars

i prefer toyota but parts expensive for whatever d reasons , look at anything nissan , local saying "u can get nissan parts by any parlor" , its cheap & easily available .....

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 10th, 2018, 12:18 pm

My first car y11 wingroad. Regret selling it last year. 14 years strong, parts cheap and easy to come by. 250k on the odo with no major parts change.

For a new owner car right now ot depends on ure budget.

1. Doh choose a van/diesel engine as your first.
2. Buy nissan or toyota.
3. Dont try to be exclusive, stick to whats plentiful on the road.

Tiida / Wingroad would be my pick again for my first car regardless

Chynee25

Postby Chynee25 » February 10th, 2018, 1:23 pm

What are your opinions on a p12?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » February 10th, 2018, 3:02 pm

Buy a 111 corolla OP
You won't regret it.

Postby toyolink » February 10th, 2018, 3:43 pm

Vauxhall 102, 2000 slant engine, auto.
Paid $1700 used.
Actually misplaced this car a carnival sunday-nite, I may have been more financially secure if I didn't 'find-it-back'.
I never laugh at vehicles gathering dust in the savannah on ash-Wednesday.

Zetski

Postby Zetski » February 10th, 2018, 4:39 pm

Chynee25 wrote:What are your opinions on a p12?

Nah OP a p11 is the best choice for primeras.. I have never owned a Nissan vehicle so not much i could tell you on reliability of the rest of them.

But I had Toyotas in the past and they are very reliable.. an AE111 or 110 is a great buy for first car yuh really cant go wrong with Toyota 8-)

I bought a civic brand new in 2007(still have it) and it have never had to fix anything in it till this day.. only changed the fluids, plugs and tires etc yuh know d usual servicing.. car drives way better than most of those new cars on the road.

So if yuh want to keep yuh car working great yuh need to take care of it!!! Any car will fail if yuh doh take care of it.. regardless of brand.

brainchild

Postby brainchild » February 10th, 2018, 5:45 pm

A Honda anything. If you buy anything else you will start believing that it's normal to have to do repairs so often. When it definitely isn't!

Nissan12

First Car

Postby Nissan12 » February 10th, 2018, 6:19 pm

Chynee25 wrote:What are your opinions on a p12?

First time I sat in one (N&M showroom) loved it. The curve of the dash and front doors, the centre console and the space. Bought one some years after foreign used ($100k less than showroom) and still have it...
But with a 6 forward manual and 205 horses under the hood . In storage 7 months now. Can't wait to take it out month end when I get home and hear those cams change at 5600 rpm!!!

Postby Ted_v2 » February 11th, 2018, 7:49 am

doh buy no kia or Hyundai. dai too-too after 150k unless is a kia k2700

Postby Gem_in_i » February 11th, 2018, 8:06 am

My first car was a B14.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » February 11th, 2018, 10:10 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:My first car was a B14.

Mine as well Gemini. I think we were meant for each other, my horoscope us Gemini also. Pm me your number dear.. and pics.

Postby Gem_in_i » February 12th, 2018, 12:16 am

randolphinshan wrote:
Gem_in_i wrote:My first car was a B14.

Mine as well Gemini. I think we were meant for each other, my horoscope us Gemini also. Pm me your number dear.. and pics.

:drinking:

ADONI

Postby ADONI » February 14th, 2018, 9:46 am

Ted_v2 wrote:doh buy no kia or Hyundai. dai too-too after 150k unless is a kia k2700

Endorsed!!!

L'Audi

Postby L'Audi » February 14th, 2018, 10:40 am

My first car was an AE91

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » February 21st, 2018, 10:51 am

my first car was an ae101 dx wagon.

older model toyotas like the ae101 or 111 or any of the b nissans are pretty good first cars and alot can be learned from fixing and taking care of an older vehicle and parts tend to not be too expensive for those models.

best advice i can give is learn about your vehicle. look at youtube videos and learn to do basic maintenance (change oil, coolant, check tyre pressure) on your own. get used to handling your vehicle and learn how it drives. you can tell plenty by listening.

also google is your best friend to find out issues or trouble shooting problems

rdeonarine

Postby rdeonarine » February 21st, 2018, 11:08 am

ADONI wrote:
Ted_v2 wrote:doh buy no kia or Hyundai. dai too-too after 150k unless is a kia k2700

Endorsed!!!

What are your thoughts on the new Tucson?, looks nice

Mark007

Postby Mark007 » February 21st, 2018, 11:39 am

rdeonarine wrote:
ADONI wrote:

Endorsed!!!

What are your thoughts on the new Tucson?, looks nice

Yea it will def make a sweet ride. Probably the only Hyundai I'd actually buy :|

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 21st, 2018, 11:55 am

280C no post.