555 Shenanigans: A Subaru GC8 Affair

stikid09

555 Shenanigans: A Subaru GC8 Affair

Postby stikid09 » February 15th, 2018, 7:30 am

CLICK HERE FOR THE FULL ARTICLE

Shirtless, barefoot and noisy backgrounds...

Hmm, I think I'd start by apologizing for the parrot and dogs making noise in the background. SORRY! :D :D :D

Welcome to 555 Shenanigans, in this inaugaral episode of my video series I do a quick and dirty build break down on my Impreza GC8 and discuss the nitty gritty bits of the outcome of the CARS Dyno Day.

Hope you all enjoy my jab at this type of content creation and if so- please do the thing where you like, share and maybe give me a follow.

Special thanks to Roger Hutcheon for the help and for letting me use his shop space at Eurogarage LTD to get this episode down.

Powered by: TriniTuner | GarageFresh Trinidad | Garage 61 | Liqui Moly Trinidad & Tobago |

CLICK HERE FOR THE FULL ARTICLE

Re: 555 Shenanigans: A Subaru GC8 Affair

Postby Dave » February 15th, 2018, 8:45 am

Very nice!

moti

Postby moti » February 15th, 2018, 10:40 am

TLDR!

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » February 16th, 2018, 10:34 am

Dave wrote:Very nice!

Thanks bud.

moti wrote:TLDR

TL? What you know about that?

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » February 16th, 2018, 11:38 am

Great video ... appreciated the write up even more ... all the best.

antlind

Postby antlind » February 16th, 2018, 12:04 pm

This was one of the best write-ups I’ve read in a long while.
Keep up the good work young man. It’s refreshing to see the passion and pride you have for this classic Subaru.

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » February 16th, 2018, 9:42 pm

timothymcdavid wrote:Great video ... appreciated the write up even more ... all the best.

Thanks bud!

antlind wrote:This was one of the best write-ups I’ve read in a long while.
Keep up the good work young man. It’s refreshing to see the passion and pride you have for this classic Subaru.

Awesome- thank you! :D

Trying to do one video per month, so you guys can look out for it.

Zetski

Postby Zetski » February 16th, 2018, 9:59 pm

Subarus are for kids.

Postby skylinechild » February 16th, 2018, 11:38 pm

good vid.... car looks good too...

things to note.
1. what direction are you going with your series ?? ie car building / racing / slapping performance parts on it or just talking what it can / cant do.

2. put on shirt... no one wants to see yet a nex indian wit he shirt orf... we does get that for free at the local rumshop... :lol: :lol:

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » February 17th, 2018, 12:20 am

Zetski wrote:Subarus are for kids.

Hey hey hey- that's my name!

skylinechild wrote:good vid.... car looks good too...

things to note.
1. what direction are you going with your series ?? ie car building / racing / slapping performance parts on it or just talking what it can / cant do.

2. put on shirt... no one wants to see yet a nex indian wit he shirt orf... we does get that for free at the local rumshop... :lol: :lol:

Thanks!

1. It's a daily driver/autocross thing- the entire series would be based on the autocross adventure- first car and learning experiences.

2. NEVER!!!!

Postby skylinechild » February 17th, 2018, 5:05 am

stikid09 wrote:
Zetski wrote:Subarus are for kids.

Hey hey hey- that's my name!

skylinechild wrote:good vid.... car looks good too...

things to note.

Thanks!

1. It's a daily driver/autocross thing- the entire series would be based on the autocross adventure- first car and learning experiences.

2. NEVER!!!!

reason why i ask is there are alot of automotive type of channels on youtube - - eg . eric the car guy , mighty car mods, bad obsession motorsports (project binky) chris fix, engineering explained etc -

plus others that deal with several disciplines of automotive stuff from repairs to outlandish (and childish) customization

but very few that come locally and even the few thats out there they not really updated that often.

yes for valentines day last yr ( or was it the yr before) we get to see a guy slapping the ass ( bumper) of his toyota supra and giving it a ring... got to see some guy driving teknet performance evolution....and some other random eye candy.....not the mention the amount of garage fresh meet and greets....

so if you going to base it on ur first car and driving auto crossing and learning experiences kudos to you for going in front of the camera and doing it...

but maybe as a suggestion.... try to find out what your (potential) subscribers want.... and work from there...
doing that will ensure you make content that ppl want and it will take off from there.

things i want you to think about before creating a video:
1. what is you end goal - ie what do you want the video to say
2. does your content accurately show the necessary information
3.is the video clear and concise and to the point
4. delivery schedule.

take simple steps plan >>>>> execute & film>>>>> edit>>>>> upload online.

for example you could say ok today is the day i take the car down to barry to install a turbo....ok ever thought about hey - maybe the local gear heads may want to see this getting done..??
it doesnt need to be an entire 3+ hr of watchin a man unbolt a turbocharger but lil relevant 5/10 min segments of it being unbolted.. checked.. etc

introduce the world to your car.... your mech.. you problems (no not the woman eah :lol: ) and most importantly your solutions...

thing i want to you tink about from a potential subscriber view point:
1.what makes YOUR Subaru different from the other 2 /4/6/8 million other Subarus in the world...?
2. what can your car do that other subarus cant?
3. what puts you apart from the rest ?
4 why should we watch your video / car / channel ???

ohh and anything else i forget i'll add in later...

Powered by : food i ate last night
sent from my laptop keyboard using fingers 8-) :lol: :lol:

Postby black start » February 17th, 2018, 8:07 am

Nice work man...

Postby skylinechild » February 17th, 2018, 8:31 pm

black start wrote:Nice work man...

speaking of the true shirtless indian..... :lol: :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » February 17th, 2018, 9:42 pm

All I care about is Subaru.

Postby skylinechild » February 18th, 2018, 12:16 am

nervewrecker wrote:All I care about is Kitty cat.

FIXED.... for accuracy...and truthfulness :lol: :lol:

Postby janfar » February 18th, 2018, 2:55 am

Subaru is a nice car until you have to work on it... Then u realize how shitty it really is.

Lance

Postby Lance » February 18th, 2018, 7:08 am

I actually enjoy working on mine.

Nice production man. Looking forward to seeing more.

Postby nervewrecker » February 18th, 2018, 10:39 am

Same here. I kind of get accustomed to the engine bay.

Might sound funny but I don't know my way around the engine bay of the traditional inline but know my way around the dreaded Subaru boxer engine bay.

Postby shogun » February 19th, 2018, 12:29 am

nervewrecker wrote:Same here. I kind of get accustomed to the engine bay.

Nice GC8 and video OP.

In for updates.

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » February 19th, 2018, 7:52 pm

Aye fellas now read through the comments there- thanks for all the positive responses and suggestions. All noted!

Postby skylinechild » February 19th, 2018, 8:12 pm

stikid09 wrote:Aye fellas now read through the comments there- thanks for all the positive responses and suggestions. All noted!

no prob man... you now owe me a 10 second car.......

shogun wrote: Nice GC8 and video OP.

In for updates.

look trouble now self....OP why u gone and show ur plates in the vid for... you kno how much drama it go cause wit sho...... * internet cuts out....

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » February 24th, 2018, 1:39 pm

Stikid do your thing man.

Postby shogun » February 24th, 2018, 2:09 pm

skylinechild wrote:look trouble now self....OP why u gone and show ur plates in the vid for... you kno how much drama it go cause wit sho...... * internet cuts out....

Aye! LOL!!!!!

Boy, I trying to reach OP on 725-555 for DAYS now to ask if that intake manifold was powder-coated or repainted, yes. :oops:

Postby skylinechild » February 24th, 2018, 2:52 pm

shogun wrote:
skylinechild wrote:look trouble now self....OP why u gone and show ur plates in the vid for... you kno how much drama it go cause wit sho...... * internet cuts out....

Aye! LOL!!!!!

Boy, I trying to reach OP on 725-555 for DAYS now to ask if that intake manifold was powder-coated or repainted, yes. :oops:

did you try whatsapp ??? :lol: :lol: but i think for a phone number connoisseur such as yourself... you a digit short....

* you prob hear that from the girls all the time.... "youre a lil short" :lol: :lol: * snickers

Postby gt4tified » March 2nd, 2018, 11:58 am

Approved.

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » March 5th, 2018, 11:18 am

skylinechild wrote:
shogun wrote:

Aye! LOL!!!!!

did you try whatsapp ??? :lol: :lol: but i think for a phone number connoisseur such as yourself... you a digit short....

* you prob hear that from the girls all the time.... "youre a lil short" :lol: :lol: * snickers

LMAO wtf, repainted with VHT flame proof primer and then VHT wrinkle plus

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » March 5th, 2018, 11:23 am

CARS Autocross BYCC

In retrospect I should have worn an open face helmet to see the dumb grin I had for everytime the back stepped out.

Yesterday was such an amazing experience at Cars Autocross BYCC 1, I remember ~10 years (October 2008) ago attending my first CARS event and begging for ride along- and now finally I'm doing it myself...thrilling!

Started off slowly practicing some basic manuevers like a 90deg corner at "speed" and slaloms- initially struggled with handling the steering properly and then simply knowing where my wheels were at any given point in time, but by the end of the day progress was made.

Eventually I moved onto the bigger head to head course and got some really awesome runs in trying out different braking points and entry speeds in both wet and dry condition. Fumbled a lot with the start as I was initially apprehensive with launching on this older 5 speed box, but eventually said screw it and began playing around with ~4500RPM launches- some of which were pretty good...some may have been stalls lol!

Really wished I could have gotten more seat time in the rain, but all action stopped after the moonsoon made it's presence felt and conditions were deemed unsuitable...think hydroplaning.

The NS2Rs held up pretty well too tbh, expected a lot more wear on them but they survived! I can't exactly compare them to anything since it's the only tire I've had on the car- but I felt pretty confident on them.

All in all I had so much fun and I am properly stoked for the next event on April 8th.

Thanks to Bishen, Arif, Daniel and Devi for the pointers during the day, and thanks to Chester of LiquiMoly TT for coming out and supporting and for the products...holy sheit those Octane Plus and Speedtec made the world of the difference- exhaust note even sounded different with the products running through the system- so good!

Shout out to Barry and Topez of Garage 61 for putting up with me 4 days of the past week to sort out the little bugs here and there and get 555 running good for this weekend.

Thanks for the photos Zeus!!!

Didn't get a whole lot of video content as I was more focused on getting as much seat time as possible, would see to make an episode out of what I got this coming week.

Thanks for reading!!!

TriniTuner | Liqui Moly Trinidad & Tobago| GarageFresh Trinidad | Garage 61 | Unlimited Tyres |

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 5th, 2018, 12:26 pm

Nice!

can't wait to see the videos!

Postby crazybalhead » March 5th, 2018, 1:07 pm

Why yuh fritten so on the dyno bai? :mrgreen:

Postby skylinechild » March 5th, 2018, 7:38 pm

stikid09 wrote:
skylinechild wrote:
shogun wrote:

Aye! LOL!!!!!

LMAO wtf, repainted with VHT flame proof primer and then VHT wrinkle plus

theres actually two jokes there but u only got one.... i cud explain the basis of the other joke to you but shogun wont allow meh.... he go chase meh down in he car....

VHT paint is good.... i used it.... on my rear car seat reinforcement :lol: ...it was actually VHT engine primer and color ( blue) ...and yes.... i said car seat.

OP props to you man... i always wanted to join autocross but due to my job i am unable to....i work shift and well i dont hav a life cause of it..... :oops: