Re: Black Panther movie

Postby timelapse » March 14th, 2018, 9:35 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
timelapse wrote:
*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:I dont really think its the wear too much...but the idea that some ppl dont realise its a fictional story and not a true story...

Which people really thinking it’s not fictional? Why do you even care if some truly enjoy the movie and wear whatever they want to wear to it? Some of y’all colours really come to light in this thread I must say. Especially Premchand.

Because its a racist movie.Chinese people were excluded from it and people vex with them for being upset.

Excluded? Lol. You not serious.

Damnit my sarcasm filter not working well

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » March 14th, 2018, 9:43 am

Premchand1976 wrote:Whether people see it as racist or not.....that's not my opinion. It's a movie......what I cannot understand is why dress up to see this movie when other, more meaningful movies, that would auger well with traditional garb whilst viewing .....wasn't done ???? It's like the carnival jammers, winning, grinding and feting Monday and Tuesday and then finding the Lord Wednesday morning.......all faiths included...... hypocrisy at the highest level ain't it ?

The only reason people dress up is because it’s the first movie that goes against the stereotypes about anything associated with black people. It’s the first time people feel comfortable because the general stereotype is blacks should not be proud of being black. This thread is testament to that.
https://youtu.be/asiPf6FgxUM

This is style!

From what I reading here, this song should be remade due to the overwhelming response that the movie garnered.

.... And Black Panther Movie make me proud to be black although the white man Tek way we money...

Sequel to follow cuz they Tek we for dummy...

Postby timelapse » March 14th, 2018, 12:23 pm

But really, how many asians are in this movie? In major roles?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 14th, 2018, 12:41 pm

Music from the movie and trailers

Postby mero » March 14th, 2018, 1:33 pm

Premchand1976 wrote:Colours you say ? It's a simple observation......quick question tho......did ANYONE wear traditional garb to see the movie Roots ?? Wasn't that movie more in tune with the trials and tribulations of the people ????? Clothing does nothing in determining who we are......it's what we are inside that counts......well, at least that's how I see myself.
How do you know no one dressed in traditional garb to go see roots?

Men itt dressing up like Princess Leia and Chewbacca to see Starwars but suddenly deeply perturbed about what bp wear to see Black Panther

Postby Dizzy28 » March 14th, 2018, 1:39 pm

mero wrote:
Premchand1976 wrote:Colours you say ? It's a simple observation......quick question tho......did ANYONE wear traditional garb to see the movie Roots ?? Wasn't that movie more in tune with the trials and tribulations of the people ????? Clothing does nothing in determining who we are......it's what we are inside that counts......well, at least that's how I see myself.

Men itt dressing up like Princess Leia and Chewbacca to see Starwars but suddenly deeply perturbed about what bp wear to see Black Panther

Because Roots was never in cinema. Its actually a TV series.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » March 14th, 2018, 1:43 pm

Lol.....see what I meant........dress up n see the movie and feeling all powerful and liberated and what not, sleep and woke up next day........and still the same in thought, word and deed.....that's the point......feel liberated for a lil 2 hours and returned to our regular lives.

abducted

Postby abducted » March 14th, 2018, 1:49 pm

Premchand1976 wrote:Lol.....see what I meant........dress up n see the movie and feeling all powerful and liberated and what not, sleep and woke up next day........and still the same in thought, word and deed.....that's the point......feel liberated for a lil 2 hours and returned to our regular lives.

2 weeks later it's still bothering you.

Postby mero » March 14th, 2018, 1:51 pm

mero wrote:

Because Roots was never in cinema. Its actually a TV series.
Missed the point dey fadda

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » March 14th, 2018, 2:42 pm

Premchand1976 wrote:Lol.....see what I meant........dress up n see the movie and feeling all powerful and liberated and what not, sleep and woke up next day........and still the same in thought, word and deed.....that's the point......feel liberated for a lil 2 hours and returned to our regular lives.
Prame.....yuh talking in vain bro

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » March 14th, 2018, 2:46 pm

Lol....tuner........freedom of expression

Kasey

Postby Kasey » March 15th, 2018, 8:10 am

But why the government paying for certain schools in NORTH ONLY to see it though?

not_a_monkey

Postby not_a_monkey » March 15th, 2018, 8:15 am

Kasey wrote:But why the government paying for certain schools in NORTH ONLY to see it though?
Wasn't it the mp who did it?

Postby Dizzy28 » March 15th, 2018, 9:17 am

not_a_monkey wrote:
Kasey wrote:But why the government paying for certain schools in NORTH ONLY to see it though?
Wasn't it the mp who did it?

Another Monkey name themed user??
Tuner has really gone to the apes!!!

Postby sMASH » March 15th, 2018, 9:20 am

Jai hanuman ?

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » March 15th, 2018, 10:21 am

Hee ba bop

Postby 16 cycles » March 15th, 2018, 10:53 am

props on trying to influence positive role models - even if it is a comic book hero for the youths.

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » March 15th, 2018, 10:57 am

so was in Trinidad last week and decided to see it. Movie wasn't bad. Theatre itself was really world class. a big leap from National days and refereeing two rats duke it out.
The crowd was into it. Quite a few people dressed up. I encouraged a neighbor to wear their kurta to go see their indian movie when they seemed a little miffed by that.
I also met Watson Duke by Rosie's bakery, he was dressed up too. Most of Tobago had a sense of pride, I can see why.
Some of the lines though are real kicks. 5/10 for me.

Postby Les Bain » March 15th, 2018, 11:16 am

Prize for best school fight videos, most likely.

racy lady

Postby racy lady » March 15th, 2018, 11:29 am

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:I dont really think its the wear too much...but the idea that some ppl dont realise its a fictional story and not a true story...

Which people really thinking it’s not fictional? Why do you even care if some truly enjoy the movie and wear whatever they want to wear to it? Some of y’all colours really come to light in this thread I must say. Especially Premchand.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 15th, 2018, 11:46 am

Americans are dumb. These are the people who pronounce country names like EyeRan (Iran) and Eyerack (Iraq).

Postby timelapse » March 15th, 2018, 1:08 pm

Then by logic Trinis dumber, because we want to copy every bad habit coming from murica

Postby sMASH » March 15th, 2018, 3:39 pm

16 cycles wrote:

props on trying to influence positive role models - even if it is a comic book hero for the youths.
Don't get vex when sat sponsor tickets to Padman

Postby Rovin » March 15th, 2018, 8:23 pm

so i see on beyond d tape this evening it seems like d police sponsored or had something to do with 350 school kids "from d north" they said getting free admission to see d movie ...... :| :| :|
Last edited by Rovin on March 15th, 2018, 10:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby eliteauto » March 15th, 2018, 10:05 pm

Postby wagonrunner » March 15th, 2018, 10:47 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Americans are dumb. These are the people who pronounce country names like EyeRan (Iran) and Eyerack (Iraq).

what about words live "ice", "iron", and "irate"?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 16th, 2018, 1:31 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Americans are dumb. These are the people who pronounce country names like EyeRan (Iran) and Eyerack (Iraq).

what about words live "ice", "iron", and "irate"?

tomayto tomahto?

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » March 16th, 2018, 2:09 pm

Latpatia ( lat-pay-sha )

Postby sMASH » March 16th, 2018, 5:05 pm

Wow... One way is Indian the next way is ghetto

rebound

Black Panther movie

Postby rebound » March 17th, 2018, 1:11 pm

Saw an entire family in african garb and painted faces in southpark yesterday.....interesting