weird problem need suggestions/fixes

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » February 20th, 2018, 9:59 pm

ok so i got a strange one for you guys.
so i got a motorola g(4) 2016 bought directly from motorola for the past 2 years running android nougat. never had a issue with it until now. so last month i got an update and suddenly it cannot connect/or stay connected to my wifi at work (offshore) but connects to all other wifi networks and mobile networks with no problem. i tried resetting the phone and forgetting the network with no change. PLEASE HELP!

Re: weird problem need suggestions/fixes

Postby stev » February 20th, 2018, 10:15 pm

how's the WiFi quality at work? Sounds like the phone is trying to avoid a bad WiFi connection.

turn off the 'Avoid bad Wi-Fi connections' from settings - wifi - advanced menu

Postby ismithx » February 20th, 2018, 10:23 pm

run this in work https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... yzer&hl=en

see how congested the area is

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » February 20th, 2018, 11:34 pm

stev wrote:how's the WiFi quality at work? Sounds like the phone is trying to avoid a bad WiFi connection.

i cant find that setting

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » February 20th, 2018, 11:36 pm

ismithx wrote:run this in work https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... yzer&hl=en

i cant get this on the phone because im at work presently

Postby stev » February 21st, 2018, 12:08 am

trinidrift wrote:
stev wrote:how's the WiFi quality at work? Sounds like the phone is trying to avoid a bad WiFi connection.

i cant find that setting

Capture.JPG

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » February 21st, 2018, 12:08 am

Look for D apk file and download it den copy it to your phone na bai

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » February 21st, 2018, 12:29 am

stev wrote:
trinidrift wrote:

i cant find that setting

The attachment Capture.JPG is no longer available

These are the items in my WiFi menu
IMG_0057.JPG
u
IMG_0058.JPG

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » February 21st, 2018, 4:10 am

trinidrift wrote:
ismithx wrote:run this in work https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... yzer&hl=en

i cant get this on the phone because im at work presently

Got through to try the program and still not connecting. What to do next?

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » February 21st, 2018, 8:52 am

could be a firmware issue. try searching on google for any info on problems with the phone. not the first time updates have messed up a phone

abbow

Postby abbow » February 21st, 2018, 8:53 am

you could restore the phone.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » February 21st, 2018, 2:15 pm

abbow wrote:you could restore the phone.

Was the first thing I did

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » February 21st, 2018, 2:42 pm

apparently its a known bug from what i saw on google. will probably have to wait until they make a hotfix or a new update for the problem. apparently its mainly affects WiFi networks utilizing the WEP/PEAP security protocol.

Change the WiFi router's security protocol setting to WPA/WPA2 and see if it connects still.

if not may have to consider doing a rollback with the os for now until the bugs are sorted

Postby crazybalhead » February 21st, 2018, 3:15 pm

BP don't want yuh on dey systim bai.

Postby tr1ad » February 21st, 2018, 3:17 pm

don't be a victim of the system