Online jobs?

ranissan

Online jobs?

Postby ranissan » February 22nd, 2018, 10:33 pm

Any tuners ever try an online job? If so let’s share our opinions and thoughts on this topic. Heard of Americans living off this kinda thing. What companies and is it spam or legit!

Re: Online jobs?

Postby skylinechild » February 23rd, 2018, 2:58 am

ranissan wrote:Any tuners ever try an online job? If so let’s share our opinions and thoughts on this topic. Heard of Americans living off this kinda thing. What companies and is it spam or legit!

depends on the type of job and the employer.

for example most call center type jobs can be done at home however we as trini ppl dont have the discipline and mentality to get up off the bed... log in a pc..and do the actual work.

we still believe we need to have a manager / supervisor / someone in authority over us like slave massa in order to do the work.

in stark contrast some jobs in the usa is actually done at home . employer pays for phone and internet (which is dirt cheap there) and you do the work and send it in and collect payslip via email / bank deposit.
never leave home.

Postby janfar » February 23rd, 2018, 4:15 am

I heard Duane will soon have an open position for a Moderator after a certain Tuner get deported.

ranissan

Postby ranissan » February 23rd, 2018, 7:11 am

It’s true we as Trinis don’t have the discipline. Besides that, the pay may somewhat be much smaller than a typical 8-4 job. Basically surveys are the only option I think in Trinidad, but rarely any sites allows Trinidad plus it’s very limited.

death365

Postby death365 » February 23rd, 2018, 8:56 am

d bess online job is watching porn all day :). yuh jus doh get paid for it

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 23rd, 2018, 9:21 am

From an IT perspective, A lot of organizations are completely virtual and require you to work outside of formal 8-4 in order to facilitate meeting/deadlines/projects.

I've been involved with organizations that function this way (professional volunteerism); and remote job offers from the US have come my way. It requires a great amout of flexibility, drive and self-motivation.

It's not for everyone and if you're the 8-4 rat race contender accustomed to working in a cubicle and clocking out at exactly 4, it may not be the type of job for you.

Postby tr1ad » February 23rd, 2018, 9:24 am

janfar wrote:I heard Duane will soon have an open position for a Moderator after a certain Tuner get deported.

it's called repatriation

Postby paid_influencer » February 23rd, 2018, 9:38 am

there are a number of ‘gig’ type jobs available, where you can offer services like graphics designs, writing services, voice overs, raps, etc. You can set your own price, but too expensive and people don’t buy. Typical prices are like $5 USD for basic jobs, up to $10 US and $20US for more complicated jobs (longer voice overs etc)

eg, you offer “authentic Trini voice overs”

$5 USD for a 30 second recording
$10 USD for 1 minute recording, etc
$20 USD for a better mic, higher resultion file, etc