UTT B.A.Sc / B. Eng / B. Tech a load of BS?

Motofreek

UTT B.A.Sc / B. Eng / B. Tech a load of BS?

Postby Motofreek » March 1st, 2018, 5:44 pm

Hi All,

I am sorry to resurrect an old subject but I just want to know:

What type of jobs are available for these so called UTT engineering degrees?

I want to hear from actual graduates or co-workers of graduates from such degrees.

As far as I know, none of the major companies in the oil and gas, power or manufacturing sectors recognize these degrees. So then, why are they allowed to continue running?

I think UTT is giving hundreds of students false hope. If I am wrong please share your story.

Re: UTT B.A.Sc / B. Eng / B. Tech a load of BS?

Postby skylinechild » March 1st, 2018, 5:59 pm

Motofreek wrote:Hi All,

I want to hear from actual graduates or co-workers of graduates from such degrees.

As far as I know, none of the major companies in the oil and gas, power or manufacturing sectors recognize these degrees. So then, why are they allowed to continue running?

I think UTT is giving hundreds of students false hope. If I am wrong please share your story.

not a degree holder but a friend is... she has degree from UTT in computer science -

...the funny part is she also employed with UTT and as an employer they STILL asking her for comptia A+ and network +
....glean from that what you will

xtech

Postby xtech » March 1st, 2018, 6:39 pm

That’s so you can’t hop on a plane an fly away with your educated self.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 1st, 2018, 6:59 pm

Quoting from people who in a recruiting department "them degree from utt, sams, costatt,sbcs etc etc" is pure failure...

Postby nervewrecker » March 1st, 2018, 7:19 pm

Degree aint getting you squat these days. Nowhere hiring...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 1st, 2018, 7:35 pm

And well what he said^....it have rel men with degree and masters joining prisons, police etc etc...so what does that say

Postby skylinechild » March 1st, 2018, 7:37 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Degree aint getting you squat these days. Nowhere hiring...

actually where i working they hiring...

questionnaire

1. do you have no common sense?
2 do you have a doh care attitude?
3. do you know where the next boat ride is even before they announce it ?
4. do you know other ppl business more than the ppl themselves?
5. are you stupid.?
6. are you unable to understand simple English and spell??

if you answered YES to all of the above questions them where i work is ideal for you.
pay is $5721 per mth ( less due to statutory taxes)

Postby nervewrecker » March 1st, 2018, 7:50 pm

skylinechild wrote:

questionnaire

5. are you stupid.?

if you answered YES to all of the above questions them where i work is ideal for you.

see, no degree needed...

Postby skylinechild » March 1st, 2018, 7:54 pm

skylinechild wrote:

questionnaire

5. are you stupid.?

see, no degree needed...

EXACTLY... no degree.... no common sense... .no spelling.... all yuh hadda do is sit...watch the clock...and then as soon as the time come..buss d red tape.

dumb f**ks spell "gasparilo" as "Gasperillo"
mosque >>> musk

they put directions incorrectly too

correct >>> "proceed in a southern direction"
incorrect >>> "proceed in a sudden direction"

and no eah.... i get my job there since inception (when the criteria was wayyy higher) and i have meh lil qualifications eah...

Motofreek

Postby Motofreek » March 1st, 2018, 10:44 pm

Lol, thanks for the replies but I would really like to hear from people who has completed the degree or know of someone who did.

It's amazing that these degrees are even being allowed to continue knowing very well that there is little to no opportunity for the grads.

Postby shogun » March 1st, 2018, 11:08 pm

xtech wrote:That’s so you can’t hop on a plane an fly away with your educated self.

Lmao.

Postby paid_influencer » March 1st, 2018, 11:27 pm

Motofreek wrote:It's amazing that these degrees are even being allowed to continue knowing very well that there is little to no opportunity for the grads.

it's not amazing. The only programs which give you a job at the end are vocational programs at trade schools.

If you are going to university to get a job at the end, you are misguided.

The degree is there to give you knowledge (only). Applying that knowledge in a useful, profitable real life way is completely on you.

Postby skylinechild » March 1st, 2018, 11:57 pm

shogun wrote:
xtech wrote:That’s so you can’t hop on a plane an fly away with your educated self.

Lmao.

AYYY !!! look shogun... !!!! :lol:

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 2nd, 2018, 1:19 am

All of them UTT, SAM, SBCS, CTS is a waste of time for anything science or Engineering. I mean where exactly hiring you with those degrees? who is hiring? most places sending home people. Companies will always hire from UWI first for anything science or engineering since UWI is a real university and right now I know someone with a BSc in Electrical and Computer Engineering from UWI who has been unemployed for 2 years and counting. So don't be fooled by those other schools advertising their degrees the market doesn't care what degree or skill you have the market only cares about the demand for current skills and degrees. Trinidad market is in a latrine

Even things like laborer work now getting hard to get with all the Spanish in this country doing the jobs Trinis won't do.

If you want to learn software development then you have to do it on your PC with the tons of free resources online. You don't even need a computer science degree for this since the desktop programming is pretty much dead, I mean if you actually want to get hired these days you better off with Webdev. For every 1 desktop app you have hundreds of requests for a mobile / web app. You can probably have a better chance finding work on freelancer or something.

If you want IT work, degrees kinda useless there, you need experience and more experience with certs.

Even driving work won't be safe for long, one day there will be self driving trucks etc and many office staff will be replaced by AI while at the same time the population of the planet increases drastically. This is the reality we live in..

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » March 2nd, 2018, 4:53 am

Sad but true my cousin graduates from uwi with his chemical engineering degree and is actually teaching a private school and if is electrical uwi does be the preferred degree as even tntec does mostly take this level for their engineer in training programmes

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 2nd, 2018, 5:08 am

I'd preach this : learn a second language...forget masters etc etc........it have real men out deh with degree and masters and they dumb like that

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » March 2nd, 2018, 5:13 am

Two guys I work with both has UTT engineering degrees and both hold senior positions in the company, the others with their UWI degrees says its on par.

Motofreek

Postby Motofreek » March 2nd, 2018, 5:25 am

lalloboy101 wrote:Two guys I work with both has UTT engineering degrees and both hold senior positions in the company, the others with their UWI degrees says its on par.

Really? Which company?

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » March 2nd, 2018, 5:53 am

Yes, that's exactly the way they come up. There no easy way OP, you need to pay your dues for the first few years. Degree or not

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 2nd, 2018, 6:06 am

Op I hope you a hoping to land a job paying ah 15k as soon as you graduate eh...for that to happen make sure big people know you

Postby bluefete » March 2nd, 2018, 6:14 am

skylinechild wrote:they put directions incorrectly too

Actually, the correct instruction is :

"proceed in a southerly direction."

Motofreek

Postby Motofreek » March 2nd, 2018, 6:30 am

Rickgees wrote:
Motofreek wrote:
lalloboy101 wrote:Two guys I work with both has UTT engineering degrees and both hold senior positions in the company, the others with their UWI degrees says its on par.

Really? Which company?
They get hired mostly on Pt Lisas estates. But most Of them came up through the ranks as technicians and then got utt engineering degrees.

I disagree. You don't need a UTT degree to be a Senior Technician in Pt. Lisas. Furthermore, having a UTT degree doesn't give you any leverage for the position. That Senior position comes with an NEC diploma and years of experience.

Postby skylinechild » March 2nd, 2018, 6:53 am

bluefete wrote:
skylinechild wrote:they put directions incorrectly too

Actually, the correct instruction is :

"proceed in a southerly direction."

umm.... yes and no.. the sentence i gave is part of a larger sentence and paragraph and while yes it can work as "southernly", but when being used as the rest of the sentence and paragraph... it lil off.

besides... you cant defend "gasperillo" :lol:

Postby black start » March 2nd, 2018, 7:06 am

^you spell "gasparillo" wrong too in your first reference.....

Postby tr1ad » March 2nd, 2018, 8:16 am

skylinechild wrote:

questionnaire

5. are you stupid.?

where to send meh CV?

PapaC

Postby PapaC » March 2nd, 2018, 9:13 am

There are people getting jobs with the accreditation.
The whole purpose of the university was to meet a need for qualified industry relevant people.
I know people who got jobs, and i know people who fighting to get a job. That's because of the climate and has less to do with the relevance of the program.

Different companies have different HR cultures, i work at a place where the last HR manager doesn't view the UTT program on par with UWI, but people are considered and hired with it.
In fact, a couple people get hired on contract with the stipulation that they start and complete the program to progress in the company.

Main problem the university has still is the international accreditation. But the school is still young, how long did it take UWI to get full accreditation?
If you have the time and resources, then go ahead.
Also look into UWI as they trying to start the B.Tech in Mechanical and Electrical i think, and it is going to be offered part time.
They started last year, but when men realize they not getting full GATE pass, they drop out.

livinloud12

Postby livinloud12 » March 2nd, 2018, 10:30 am

Motofreek wrote:Hi All,

I'm a past graduate of UTT. From diploma straight to Masters. I'm employed in the oil and gas industry. All my friends who completed their degrees and masters are employed at various positions (engineers, supervisors straight to managers). UTT students are always put down no matter what. More than a decade now people are still fighting down the system. Their courses are accredited both locally and internationally. The reality is that they actually outperform UWI graduates because of their theoretical and practical skills. There is a broad spectrum of jobs a graduate can apply for. However due to the harsh economy employment is somewhat difficult. 0X

Postby MaxPower » March 2nd, 2018, 11:00 am

Jeezus crice Loloboy, the men and them now talk about this..

Its “Two guys I work with both have” not has..

Doh beat up

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » March 2nd, 2018, 11:18 am

PapaC wrote:There are people getting jobs with the accreditation.
The whole purpose of the university was to meet a need for qualified industry relevant people.
I know people who got jobs, and i know people who fighting to get a job. That's because of the climate and has less to do with the relevance of the program.

Different companies have different HR cultures, i work at a place where the last HR manager doesn't view the UTT program on par with UWI, but people are considered and hired with it.
In fact, a couple people get hired on contract with the stipulation that they start and complete the program to progress in the company.

Main problem the university has still is the international accreditation. But the school is still young, how long did it take UWI to get full accreditation?
If you have the time and resources, then go ahead.
Also look into UWI as they trying to start the B.Tech in Mechanical and Electrical i think, and it is going to be offered part time.
They started last year, but when men realize they not getting full GATE pass, they drop out.
Thanks op I didn't know it have a btech too...I now reading an I see it online on uwi site

Postby RBphoto » March 2nd, 2018, 12:52 pm

UTT aight with me.