Refrigerator repair

Postby nemisis » March 3rd, 2018, 6:56 am

Morning tuners any one have a contact for a fridge repair man San Fernando environs that does house calls on weekends? Fridge stop freezing suddenly looking.

Re: Refrigerator repair

Postby nervewrecker » March 3rd, 2018, 8:07 am

Send me a pm with the info and a contact number.
Fridge type (inverter or non inverter) and location.

I supposed to head sando this morning. Not sure where the hell I put my leads for my dmm though :roll:

Postby skylinechild » March 3rd, 2018, 10:38 am

nemisis wrote:Morning tuners any one have a contact for a feign repair man San Fernando environs that does house calls on weekends? Fridge stop freezing suddenly looking.

Me : calls nemisis - bruh is ur fridge running ?
Nemesis: yes
Me...well then you better run after it.... :lol: :lol: :lol:

*buh dum tiss.

thank you folks...i'll be here all day... :lol: :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » March 3rd, 2018, 2:21 pm

Have to do some research on where his timer is. Doing some troubleshooting meanwhile.

Could use the experience around refrigerators so I handling him for free.
Have a deep freeze home that might hit the dump cuz i fed up of it and fed up of local parts. Bought a whole board to wire up and bypass everything the fridge has!

Postby skylinechild » March 3rd, 2018, 3:10 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Have to do some research on where his timer is. Doing some troubleshooting meanwhile.

Could use the experience around refrigerators so I handling him for free.
Have a deep freeze home that might hit the dump cuz i fed up of it and fed up of local parts. Bought a whole board to wire up and bypass everything the fridge has!

but nerve.... since you already cud do ac work...and u cud build boxes....and u cud fiberglass....

i thought u woulda put all 3 together and build yuh own freezer / fridge by now... and bypass all them store bought thing

#homegrown

Postby nervewrecker » March 3rd, 2018, 3:23 pm

Well I thought the compressor was a goner in the fridge home. Changed it and it wasn't the problem. So I have changed everything in that deep freeze at home and it still dont work. I gut it and bought a board (already programmed) to run it. Local parts are luck and chance.

So I have a working compressor and an extra board. What you think gunna happen? Beer cooler for recreational use by TTPS and customs :twisted: :mrgreen: :drinking: 0X

Some of those ice machines you see all over have a flaw (if it is built by the same guy whose machines I worked on). I building one for free to give away and see if it has the same flaw. :angel:

Postby skylinechild » March 3rd, 2018, 9:44 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Well I thought the compressor was a goner in the fridge home. Changed it and it wasn't the problem. So I have changed everything in that deep freeze at home and it still dont work. I gut it and bought a board (already programmed) to run it. Local parts are luck and chance.

So I have a working compressor and an extra board. What you think gunna happen? Beer cooler for recreational use by TTPS and customs :twisted: :mrgreen: :drinking: 0X

Some of those ice machines you see all over have a flaw (if it is built by the same guy whose machines I worked on). I building one for free to give away and see if it has the same flaw. :angel:

willing to accept free ice machine from u... all in the name of science.... :lol:

rambo22

Postby rambo22 » March 3rd, 2018, 10:07 pm

Hi good night i also have a Frigidaire not cooling, located in Central.....Any tech in area.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 3rd, 2018, 11:23 pm

rambo22 wrote:Hi good night i also have a Frigidaire not cooling, located in Central.....Any tech in area.
Therw is a guy ...Bess Cool is his buisness name...will get a number in a few

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » March 3rd, 2018, 11:43 pm

Dump in nearest river !
Problem solved!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 4th, 2018, 6:39 am

low-profile

Postby low-profile » April 18th, 2018, 7:22 pm

looking for a refrigerator repair man , princes town / ste. madeline area
fridge not cooling as it should. Admiral 2 door

Postby SR » April 18th, 2018, 8:07 pm

Inside for a knowledgeable frigidaire tech....

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » April 18th, 2018, 10:07 pm

Curtms wrote:Dump in nearest river !
Problem solved!

And we have the winner of the kant of the year award. That causes flooding.

Postby nervewrecker » April 19th, 2018, 5:31 am

I gave a guy op number but he so watless op end up getting spmeone else.
Guy is good but he busy as furk..

heroyuy

Postby heroyuy » August 12th, 2018, 11:57 pm

nervewrecker wrote:I gave a guy op number but he so watless op end up getting spmeone else.
What was the number? My frigidaire playing up. I need a tech

Postby nervewrecker » August 13th, 2018, 7:48 am

heroyuy wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:I gave a guy op number but he so watless op end up getting spmeone else.
6833313, Bruce. Tell him you get the number from paris hilton.

heroyuy

Postby heroyuy » August 21st, 2018, 10:16 am

heroyuy wrote:
Smh hes a smart man yes. Ended up doing the repair myself.

airuma

Postby airuma » August 21st, 2018, 10:44 am

heroyuy wrote:
Smh hes a smart man yes. Ended up doing the repair myself.

This statement really makes things difficult for people who are actually smart....... I prefer to call them schemers. Thumbs up on doing the repair yourself..... that's the best way to deal with them IMHO!

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 22nd, 2018, 7:24 am

as we on this topic...anyone has a contact of someone who repaints or repairs the outside of the fridge. Mine working good but outside of it need some help.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » April 21st, 2020, 4:49 am

anywhere open that selling a fridge? top freezing bottom hardly cooling i not able so looking to buy a new one. I would think appliance such as this is essential.

MicroSMD Lab

Postby MicroSMD Lab » April 21st, 2020, 5:41 am

daring dragoon wrote:anywhere open that selling a fridge? top freezing bottom hardly cooling i not able so looking to buy a new one. I would think appliance such as this is essential.

This should be a simple repair, YouTube is your friend, no need to buy another fridge unless it has other issues or you just want another fridge.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » April 21st, 2020, 5:46 am

i tried youtube. i opened the freezer and the coil iced up so it could be the heater or some sensor. i "washed" out the coil with some warm to hot water to quickly melt the ice an plugged it back in, now i waiting to see what will happen. its a consol fridge about 12 years old. where would have parts for this in the event i have to change the sensor ?

swil

Postby swil » April 21st, 2020, 9:41 am

Last edited by swil on April 25th, 2020, 6:37 pm, edited 3 times in total.

swil

Postby swil » April 21st, 2020, 9:42 am

Last edited by swil on January 23rd, 2021, 4:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby teems1 » April 21st, 2020, 11:10 am

daring dragoon wrote:anywhere open that selling a fridge? top freezing bottom hardly cooling i not able so looking to buy a new one. I would think appliance such as this is essential.

Pricesmart sells fridges if I recall correctly.

Also isn't Courts is offering online shopping.

NR8

Postby NR8 » April 21st, 2020, 11:53 am

Courts is taking orders but not delivering until COVID-19 restrictions are lifted.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » April 21st, 2020, 4:08 pm

swil wrote:re. 12 yr. consol fridge,if freezer coils blocked with ice,first make sure freezer fan working properly,then check defrost heater(located near evaporator coils),if heater has continuity(use ohm meter),heater is good,make sure all air channels not blocked,if all previously mentioned good,change fridge timer and defrost thermostat,defrost thermostat located on freezer coils.timer can only be plugged in to electrical connecter one way,and don't get a timer for korean or sharp fridges,they may look similar but operate differently.fridge should work now.after melting ice in freezer as you did,fridge would work properly until freezer coils get blocked again(about1wk.).so check it out properly.these checks for fridges without electronic printed circuit boards.

it cool somewhat but still not properly. i will leave it overnight to see how cold it will be in the morning. thanks for the info above but it sounds like a lot of work. i didnt see much when i melted the ice. if it ice up again i will take a pic an post it. hopefully the quarantine is lifted on the 31st.

swil

Postby swil » April 21st, 2020, 8:52 pm

Last edited by swil on April 25th, 2020, 6:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

MicroSMD Lab

Postby MicroSMD Lab » April 21st, 2020, 9:40 pm

No frost fridges have a defrost cycle which consists mainly a heating element controlled by a timer and a thermostat. In your case you most likely have a mechanical timer. You will need a multimeter to check the element. The defrost thermostat is a little bit harder since you need to put it in ice cold water to check it. There are universal thermostats for about $75 so getting that part is not a problem, I would just get one and change it and see if things get better, you would only lose $75 and some time.