New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit + Fixed Penalty System

computercentral

Re: Demerit points on your driver’s license

Postby computercentral » November 27th, 2018, 3:33 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:
computercentral wrote:And every point on license 20% increase in insurance premium

as if insurance is not already a Gigantic RIP off!

To tame the beast that drive on the roads it’s a start

Postby redmanjp » November 27th, 2018, 7:19 pm

computercentral wrote:And every point on license 20% increase in insurance premium

will insurance companies have access to the licensing database?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » November 28th, 2018, 12:12 am

Maybe not at first, but it will definitely come over time

Postby pete » November 28th, 2018, 12:42 pm

redmanjp wrote:

will insurance companies have access to the licensing database?

To access your demerits they only need your Permit Number and Date of Birth which they would have both of. So yeah, from introduction of the points system they will.

agent007

Re: New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit System (June 2017)

Postby agent007 » April 2nd, 2019, 6:51 am

Any one got a ticket yet?

Postby 88sins » April 4th, 2019, 6:48 am

fellas seem to be anxious this ticket by mail system. But unless other changes are made, tickets by mail for rta violations makes little sense. cuz ppl go still hadda waste hours going to court to pay it. Some might have to give up a whole day to go pay it. to eliminate the issue, ppl should be able to pay fines at any court or gov't revenue collection center. Even an online payment option could solve the issue.

Imagine yuh living in D'go & yuh went south to do business, & while in south you unknowingly committed a rta violation, & yuh get a ticket in d mail 2 weeks later. Still hadda go back south to pay it, so you have to sacrifice a day's productivity on top of the penalty that is the fine.
or worse yet, you only get the ticket in d mail weeks after the payment deadline passed.

All I saying is lot of other things need to be fixed & implemented before this ticket by mail system could work efficiently.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » April 4th, 2019, 7:05 am

^^^What if your ticket get lost in the post office?
They will send warrant for something you ain't even know you commit...

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » April 4th, 2019, 7:11 am

There is a section for demerit points on the license verification site of MOWT
https://apps.mowt.gov.tt/apps/dpv
It doesnt look active, still the sample image.

I would hope that if/when the mail system becomes active, we would be able to see the infractions here.

Postby sMASH » April 4th, 2019, 8:23 am

Problem with that is, how would u know u have infracted?
Ttpost isn't reliable, unless the make the tickets where the recipient has to sign to confirm receipt, when it loss or delayed, is warrant and additional fines in ur backside accruing.

U hadda be checking the site often and regularly to pick up when u get and infraction, provided the system automated to get updated when u get an infraction.

I can't even pay for a parking space in the airport, but u want to demerit people licence.

Postby 88sins » April 4th, 2019, 10:16 am

this is gonna be another bs 'system', planned and implemented in a half-assed manner by hole-assed political idiots and their minions, that will create nothing but problems for every driver on the nations roads. all because they want some more money to squander.
there is PLENTY that needs be considered and done before this thing gets implemented. Otherwise is more bs & chaos to come.

Postby j.o.e » April 4th, 2019, 3:08 pm

Follows laws while driving. Unbothered

Postby redmanjp » April 4th, 2019, 7:54 pm

sMASH wrote:Problem with that is, how would u know u have infracted?
Ttpost isn't reliable, unless the make the tickets where the recipient has to sign to confirm receipt, when it loss or delayed, is warrant and additional fines in ur backside accruing.

U hadda be checking the site often and regularly to pick up when u get and infraction, provided the system automated to get updated when u get an infraction.

I can't even pay for a parking space in the airport, but u want to demerit people licence.

perhaps they should have an email alert when it hits the system- so even though the snail mail now being sent which u might get weeks later u instantly get an email notifying u of the infraction and points

Postby sMASH » April 4th, 2019, 8:05 pm

next ting u want to renew passport and apply for birth, marriage, death certificate online, and pay via linx or paypal.
what ever u smoke, pass it round.

Postby redmanjp » January 6th, 2020, 10:32 am

another 6 months wait

https://news.power102fm.com/red-light-cameras-and-demerit-system-coming-to-tt-in-2020-74556

TTPS Road Safety Coordinator, Brent Batson says the red light cameras and speed cameras will come on stream by mid-2020.

He says the installation of these, along with the demerit system, which will see people’s licenses revoked for committing repeated driving offences, will make a difference in the way people use the nation’s roads. Mr. Batson has been speaking on the Power Breakfast Show on Thursday morning.

He also warned persons who attempt to drive under the influence of marijuana that the offence carries a steep fine of $250,000 and 5 years imprisonment.

Mr. Batson however admitted that police have no way to test the levels of marijuana in a driver’s system and officers can request, but not order that a suspect accompany them to the hospital for a blood test.

so u doh have to comply with marijuana testing then

Postby pete » January 6th, 2020, 11:12 am

Hmm.. and at a seminar in October they said they were going to be putting this into operation in December.

One main thing is that they're decriminalizing most of the offences. Don't pay in the stipulated time frame, they increase the fine. Don't pay after that your license gets "cancelled" til you pay. Can't renew it til you pay your fines etc. Not sure if in a road block they'll check your license and take it away there too.

Also, with the spot speed and red light cameras, the tickets get assigned to the vehicle. No transactions can be conducted with the vehicle til those fines are paid. (No inspection or transfer, possible will be denied insurance renewal as well). No penalty points will be given for offences picked up by the cameras as well. Only tickets given to drivers by a police officer.

Postby redmanjp » January 6th, 2020, 12:45 pm

pete wrote:Hmm.. and at a seminar in October they said they were going to be putting this into operation in December.

One main thing is that they're decriminalizing most of the offences. Don't pay in the stipulated time frame, they increase the fine. Don't pay after that your license gets "cancelled" til you pay. Can't renew it til you pay your fines etc. Not sure if in a road block they'll check your license and take it away there too.

Also, with the spot speed and red light cameras, the tickets get assigned to the vehicle. No transactions can be conducted with the vehicle til those fines are paid. (No inspection or transfer, possible will be denied insurance renewal as well). No penalty points will be given for offences picked up by the cameras as well. Only tickets given to drivers by a police officer.

u sure about dat? cuz ppl who have money go just keep paying d fines and get away. and wit the cameras around how often a officer going to ticket u?

Postby pete » January 6th, 2020, 1:42 pm

They said that as the driver identity cannot be confirmed that's how it will work. This is only for the unmanned cameras.

Postby redmanjp » January 22nd, 2020, 8:25 pm

Time to start practising slowing down on yellow instead of trying to beat the light

Also RFID license plates coming

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/new-traffic-system-march-2

New traffic system from March 2
Date:
Wednesday, January 22, 2020 - 16:15

Some of the re­cent changes in the re­vised Mo­tor Ve­hi­cles and Road Traf­fic Act will "go live" in just over a month. These changes in­clude the Red-Light Cam­era En­force­ment Sys­tem and the De­mer­it Point Sys­tem which will be sup­port­ed by the new traf­fic tick­et­ing sys­tem.

Speak­ing at the launch at the Hy­att Re­gency Ball­room on Wednes­day, Works and Trans­port Min­is­ter Ro­han Sinanan said the sys­tems will go live on March 2. They are de­signed to help im­prove com­pli­ance on the na­tion's roads. The ma­jor­i­ty of ve­hic­u­lar ac­ci­dents and road fa­tal­i­ties in T&T are the re­sult of speed­ing.

Miss­ing from the launch, how­ev­er, was the Spot Speed Cam­era Sys­tem which will pick up on dri­vers who break the speed lim­it.

At­tor­ney Gen­er­al Faris Al-Rawi, who spoke at the launch, said leg­is­la­tion per­tain­ing to the new sys­tem is cur­rent­ly be­fore Par­lia­ment and should be fi­nalised with­in a month.

Postby zoom rader » January 22nd, 2020, 8:49 pm

PNM money winner

Policing for profit

Postby pugboy » January 22nd, 2020, 9:23 pm

The biggest money spinner is to go after the shoulder drivers
But they seem to refuse to give them the heavy hand
All the pull bull tiidas does drive on shoulder

Postby sMASH » January 22nd, 2020, 9:42 pm

redmanjp wrote:Time to start practising slowing down on yellow instead of trying to beat the light

i tried that yesterday... i felt weird, like if i was gonna cause the guy behind me to rear end me.

and u see that yellow box ting, that is a trap. cause when u driving wiht the flow of traffic, some fool will decide to come out onto the road and halt ur line, while ur in the box. that will take some time to resolve, while ur in the box, yellow, red, smile.
i see that regularly at the rushworth street/bypass intersection, where people dont care about who need to leave the yellow box, but they NEEEEED to slow to enter the gas station, leave the gas station,, cross across into the gas station..

and people who say 'wait till ur lane empty, then go through the yellow box' would have had lobotomies in their past. that will cause so much back up.

Postby sMASH » January 22nd, 2020, 9:44 pm

pugboy wrote:The biggest money spinner is to go after the shoulder drivers
highly hypocritical to charge for using shoulder to bypass traffic, when u use blue lights to blow through in between the traffic.

Postby zoom rader » January 22nd, 2020, 11:06 pm

pugboy wrote:The biggest money spinner is to go after the shoulder drivers
Most shoulder drivers are cops

screwbash

Postby screwbash » January 23rd, 2020, 4:30 am

dis good in built up areas like pos or the EMR or even the hiway east to west but what about the arse hole driving from grand bazar to south, only one camera by central and daz it. we need more cams for the arse hold driver that go south like the taxi men and van men. also would the camera alert for arsehole driving like cutting in front a next car, no indicator or driving dong d shoulder and want to cut in especially when it have traffic. or is this just for speeders ? would the COP be reviewing the tickets to see any marked vehicles that break the light, that drive on the shoulder, that speed for no reason especially the unmarked suv that transport the senior men from south and central. also the CG vehicles, the TTDF vehicles, and the govt pradao that feel they daddy make d road for them alone to drive, would they also be getting tickets in the mail r is this just for the poor man with he lil AD wagon or TIDA

Postby j.o.e » January 23rd, 2020, 9:53 am

zoom rader wrote:PNM money winner

Policing for profit

Politics aside, if it makes roads safer, changes driving culture that’s a good thing. Not saying it will but we will see how it is implemented

Postby pete » January 23rd, 2020, 9:54 am

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/morning-brew/ful ... ras-coming

Lots of information available in this video.

Postby Monk BANzai » January 23rd, 2020, 10:21 am

screwbash wrote:dis good in built up areas like pos or the EMR or even the hiway east to west but what about the arse hole driving from grand bazar to south, only one camera by central and daz it. we need more cams for the arse hold driver that go south like the taxi men and van men. also would the camera alert for arsehole driving like cutting in front a next car, no indicator or driving dong d shoulder and want to cut in especially when it have traffic. or is this just for speeders ? would the COP be reviewing the tickets to see any marked vehicles that break the light, that drive on the shoulder, that speed for no reason especially the unmarked suv that transport the senior men from south and central. also the CG vehicles, the TTDF vehicles, and the govt pradao that feel they daddy make d road for them alone to drive, would they also be getting tickets in the mail r is this just for the poor man with he lil AD wagon or TIDA

reading this was painful.

Postby zoom rader » January 23rd, 2020, 10:21 am

j.o.e wrote:
zoom rader wrote:PNM money winner

Policing for profit

Politics aside, if it makes roads safer, changes driving culture that’s a good thing. Not saying it will but we will see how it is implemented
Yes it's done in the UK especially with parking and going in to towns.

Downside was s lot of bussiness had to close up cause folks rather buy on online than face a ticket.

timothymcdavid

Re: New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit System Comes alive March 2nd!

Postby timothymcdavid » January 23rd, 2020, 4:13 pm

Honestly I dont see how this thing is supposed to work for company cars and rented cars ... How can they fine someone remotely if they cant ID the driver I can see this going to court real fast and losing as well.

Re: New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit System Comes alive March 2nd!

Postby pugboy » January 23rd, 2020, 4:45 pm

it’s the only way it can be done because that is what the number plate is tied to
owner which is either a person or company.

it will have some impact on the folks who have a fleet of wetmans rented out daily to pull bull