It glows in the dark found it on my zaboca tree
20180310_065316.jpg
20180310_065312.jpg
20180310_065303.jpg

Re: Anybody knows what this insect is?

Postby skylinechild » March 10th, 2018, 7:31 am

SR wrote:It glows in the dark found it on my zaboca tree20180310_065303.jpg20180310_065312.jpg20180310_065316.jpg

SR i will ask my neighbor.. shes an insect-ologist..... my fee... zaboca when the tree have on it.... :lol: :lol:

Postby *KRONIK* » March 10th, 2018, 7:40 am

In for zaboca

Postby maj. tom » March 10th, 2018, 7:45 am

Does not look like mealybug, which would look like cottony fungus on branches and leaves. You would know if it's mealybug because of how they live in clumps and clusters to feed.

But instead it looks like the mealybug destroyer larval stage, which is a good guy insect.
https://bugguide.net/node/view/7910
https://aggie-horticulture.tamu.edu/gal ... troyer.htm

If you really want to be sure though, you should email Ministry of Agriculture, or other similar institution.
Last edited by maj. tom on March 10th, 2018, 7:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby SR » March 10th, 2018, 7:47 am

Aye aye allyuh doh blight meh zaboca eh this is the first time this one reach this stage. Last 2 the mallnios wasnt happy with where they were planted....

Postby SR » March 11th, 2018, 8:46 am

Thanks tom. It seems thats what it is will wait a bit before doing any spraying to confirm.

Postby pugboy » March 11th, 2018, 9:09 am

if it was mealybug you would see deterioration in the affected plant very easily too
leaves curling up and a sticky black mess all over
real nasty

Average

Postby Average » March 11th, 2018, 1:32 pm

When provoked, do they jump? I encountered one many years ago and it did that. It DOES resemble the mealybug but "glows at night" ???? Hmm....X files business lol

Postby zoom rader » March 11th, 2018, 1:44 pm

skylinechild wrote:
SR wrote:It glows in the dark found it on my zaboca tree20180310_065303.jpg20180310_065312.jpg20180310_065316.jpg

SR i will ask my neighbor.. shes an insect-ologist..... my fee... zaboca when the tree have on it.... :lol: :lol:

Pics of neighbor

matix

Postby matix » March 11th, 2018, 2:21 pm

I have a good rod for picking zaboca.

dclone_1

Postby dclone_1 » March 11th, 2018, 2:31 pm

VII

Postby VII » March 11th, 2018, 2:35 pm

Great work on holding your hand op,lady bugs and all beetles are cool,like pets...had a nice big colourful one (big beetle) stay around for weeks in a plant and he would hop on my hand and literally go for walks and I'll just put him back after,lol....

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 11th, 2018, 9:56 pm

Nuclear beetle

Breed it and mine uranium from it