First legal medicinal cannabis dispensary in Jamaica

brainchild

First legal medicinal cannabis dispensary in Jamaica

Postby brainchild » March 12th, 2018, 10:40 pm

Source- Loop. Over in Jamaica, the island’s first legal medicinal cannabis dispensary is one week away from its grand opening on Saturday.

Kaya Farms will have its official ribbon cutting ceremony at Drax Hall, St Ann with a ceremony and concert featuring some of Jamaica’s favourite reggae artists.

The Grand opening of Kaya is considered to be a momentous occasion for Jamaica and the economy. 

Antigua and Barbuda also moving to decriminalize while St. Vincent and the Grenadines establishing medicinal.

No offense but it sad to know we lagging behind these small islands.

Soul Collector

Re: Trinidad lagging...

Postby Soul Collector » March 12th, 2018, 10:47 pm

When it's the govt self bringing in all our weed here in Trinidad you feel they really going to legalize? We that progressive? Think they care about the health of our people? Our healthcare system is a joke. It will be a fantasy to even think about this happening in this place we call home.

When we reach the lowest of lows, whoever in power then will still be blaming the opposition :drinking:

brainchild

Re: First legal medicinal cannabis dispensary in Jamaica

Postby brainchild » March 12th, 2018, 10:49 pm

What gets me is even our activists groups seem weak and closeminded.

wagonon20's

Postby wagonon20's » March 13th, 2018, 6:33 am

No fcuks given for the International herb

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 13th, 2018, 6:57 am

If only womantra would dedicate their time to something useful for once, like legalizing marijuana.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » March 13th, 2018, 11:05 am

why do something as progressive as this ? If small quantities of weed is legalised and regulated, then half of the polieece will have nothing to do.

Postby crazybalhead » March 13th, 2018, 11:41 am

Small islands? Errrr. Jamaica is much bigger than trini.

Postby pete » March 13th, 2018, 12:10 pm

randolphinshan wrote:why do something as progressive as this ? If small quantities of weed is legalised and regulated, then half of the polieece will have nothing to do.

You mean they could start to look for something useful to do.

Postby Monk BANzai » March 13th, 2018, 12:12 pm

brainchild wrote:What gets me is even our activists groups seem weak and closeminded.

This.

Postby De Dragon » March 14th, 2018, 1:06 pm

As long as "Christian"JUHN Scarfy and his minions in charge, it'll never happen. Didn't Faris jump outta heself with ah legalize talk before JUHN Scarfy beat him out?

zorced

Postby zorced » March 14th, 2018, 2:15 pm

Monk BANzai wrote:
brainchild wrote:What gets me is even our activists groups seem weak and closeminded.

This.

What you all mean?

brainchild

Postby brainchild » March 15th, 2018, 1:36 pm

Just ask yourself what major change in policy has any activism group ever accomplished...fixin tnt, womantra etc.

zorced

Postby zorced » March 15th, 2018, 2:06 pm

brainchild wrote:Just ask yourself what major change in policy has any activism group ever accomplished...fixin tnt, womantra etc.

Ah...you were just generalizing. Check out this group, they're around a while and showed a good effort in the usual:
Law reform, education, addressing stigmas etc.

https://www.facebook.com/cannandyou/

Postby desifemlove » March 17th, 2018, 7:53 am

all drugs should be legal.

Postby desifemlove » March 17th, 2018, 7:55 am

activist groups are bouught into the political system. ideally, any pressure group should be independent of how tings does shake.

most groups though talk serious sheit, or have no grounding of the topic they promote. like there are drivers' groups who talk about increasing speed limit. Why? there are safer cars, but the state of roads, driver training, and other sheit is not up to scratch.

Postby rspann » March 17th, 2018, 5:04 pm

desifemlove wrote:all drugs should be legal.

I agree ,Lorazepam and Viagra should be also put on CDAP.

brainchild

Postby brainchild » April 23rd, 2018, 7:35 pm

Petition going around fellas...the movement has begun!
https://www.change.org/p/legalise-ganja ... r-the-herb

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 23rd, 2018, 7:40 pm

Marijuana makes you feel okay with being average. It makes a boring life feel better.

Trinis are already lazy and complacent. Mix that with increased weed sales and usage and we will see the downfall of a country.

If you want to conquer a country, weaken the population.

brainchild

Postby brainchild » April 23rd, 2018, 7:44 pm

Sigh...alyuh just don't get it. All who wanna smoke already smoking, decriminalization would just mean that the productive folks who do smoke will no longer have to worry about jail for using something that does less harm than alcohol and possesses a variety of medical applications.
Do research outside of church and stereotypical viewpoints before coming to a conclusion.

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 23rd, 2018, 7:52 pm

Yes, the amount of people who already smoke will remain the same, but there will be an increase of people who smoke as well.

I doh wanna sound like I'm totally against weed eh, I just saying Trinidadians not ready for legal weed.

I know driven people who smoke, but the majority of weed smokers in trinidad are pacified by it. They need it to unwind, their lives revolve around it. They aren't addicted but they're dependent.

brainchild

Postby brainchild » April 23rd, 2018, 8:00 pm

Yea, but the ppl you talking about are in the minority when compared to those who can put it to good use. It will decrease the number of incarcerated persons, decrease the abuse of prescription pain meds, shut down quite a few blocks...saving some lives in the process, create a new legal revenue stream eventually through dispensaries, tourism, paper, clothing, rope...even bricks for eco friendly construction. Now compare that with the few career underachievers who partake.

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 23rd, 2018, 8:28 pm

Fair enough, I had a one track mind for a moment there.

The CBD component is actually very useful and I think it's still illegal, and I forgot about the criminal cases clogging up the justice system yes

But I'm still worried about trinidad becoming an even bigger hub for weed since we're so close to venezuela, or will the local production cause less shipments to come in?

brainchild

Postby brainchild » April 23rd, 2018, 9:01 pm

Well yea, usually with decriminalization comes the right to grow at least two to five trees privately, so the amount of large scale growers may decrease as less money to be made.

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 23rd, 2018, 10:05 pm

I used to always joke and say "stop the importation of drugs by supporting your local ganja farmer"

Maybe it's not a joke after all. Maybe we should

Postby 88sins » April 24th, 2018, 10:32 am

d way these money demons allyuh call a gorvament moving so tusty for a dollar, they will NEVER legalize marijuana here. If they did the state would lose out on an opportunity to make millions of dollars.

As an example
Let's say a man is caught with a funk, & it's not his first offense, so he gets a $10000 fine, that is 10K the state gets from one man for doing nothing.
man hadda take a lawyer, lawyer fees is say about 8K, & if the law office is VAT reg'd the lawyer tacks on an additional $1000 in VAT for the state, & the attorney pays $500 of his $8K fee in PAYE. Directly one man makes the state over $11500 every time he's charged with possession unless he get's incarcerated. & is plenty ppl does get charged with possession.
Notice I eh say nuttn about the US aid for fighting the war on illegal drugs that we get from uncle sam every now & then. dat go dwindle downwards & get even smaller.

allyuh really feel clong in butt trying to have less to mismanage?

brainchild

Postby brainchild » April 24th, 2018, 10:38 am

Nice...now factor in the $25000 monthly avg to keep him in jail if he is remanded or opts to serve the time. Who wins now?

brainchild

Postby brainchild » April 24th, 2018, 10:41 am

The system needs to be adjusted, addiction is a disease not a crime. We need to set up court ordered rehab centres to see after these ppl, sending them thru the system over n over again not solving any problems. Jus further slowing things down.

Postby 88sins » April 24th, 2018, 10:51 am

brainchild wrote:Nice...now factor in the $25000 monthly avg to keep him in jail if he is remanded or opts to serve the time. Who wins now?

key word there being "if"
& reality is that most 1st & 2nd time possession offenders can get off with a fine, unless they literally don't have the resources to pay it.

brainchild

Postby brainchild » April 24th, 2018, 11:00 am

When u compare those who can afford to pay with those who can't, the state still loses. Also most weed related arrests aren't for "funk" (which is the cig after the weed done btw, can't hold a man for that), but usually for possession for the purpose of trafficking. For that charge you just have to be within 1/2 mile of a school...which is almost everywhere.

Postby redmanjp » April 25th, 2018, 9:44 pm

Wouldn't it have to be a sizable amount to qualify for trafficking?