DAILY CRIME REPORTS THREAD ...

ADONI

Re: DAILY CRIME REPORTS THREAD ...

Postby ADONI » June 27th, 2018, 2:14 pm

sMASH wrote:While a speed trap exercise was being conducted, not even a good minute drive away, Massey was being robbed of 250k...

That was more important...

airuma

Postby airuma » June 27th, 2018, 2:36 pm

Well at least we know they not going to buy USD..... but guns and ammo? In fact, the way things are in Venezuela, the country that provides us with so much productive employees, Massy stores needs to invest alot in security since they sell alot of things that are in high demand in Venezuela!

Postby Gladiator » June 27th, 2018, 2:51 pm

K74T wrote:Image
The middle class buffer has disappeared.....

Postby K74T » June 27th, 2018, 2:52 pm

Could be an inside job like the PriceSmart incident, let’s see.

Postby pugboy » June 27th, 2018, 3:13 pm

Money gram and western union have traditionally been hot targets as they always have large amounts of cash
The Chinese restaurants and casinos became easier targets

airuma

Postby airuma » June 27th, 2018, 8:24 pm

Gladiator wrote:

It will reappear soon.... we might have a second language too!

Postby aaron17 » June 28th, 2018, 5:35 am

Wait so no alarm or anything?

Postby aaron17 » June 28th, 2018, 6:38 am

http://www.looptt.com/content/deyalsing ... eatment-tt

I jus quoting this. Terrance deyalsingh says this government is a caring government.....

He sounding as if the govt is God or something?

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » June 28th, 2018, 6:48 am

Gladiator wrote:
That so long time gone allyuh and secondly that wok put down since before 6am..as morning staff entering they tied them up and relived of valuables.i actually know someone who was in the ordeal...that's the same of the crime...bandits dressing as fake rastas and wearing fake security guard gear

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 28th, 2018, 6:58 am

we actually ranked higher than JAMAICA....my lord

Postby 16 cycles » June 28th, 2018, 8:51 am

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2018-06- ... up-kitchen

.....“People came because yesterday we had no opportunity to inform anybody and many children usually get lunch from this soup kitchen on Wednesdays. Many of them are without lunch today,” Lee Chong said.........

hope the persons who did this are caught

VII

Postby VII » June 28th, 2018, 9:08 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:we actually ranked higher than JAMAICA....my lord

That list a bit iffy,T&T's crime is joke to Jamaica wjere they kill everyone when they come to kill one including babies on the regular,multiple foreigner killings anf robberies are even more prevlant and violent,the ISIS thing is adding to the broader perception..

We know it bad guys but seriously that placing seems.a bit dodgy to me,we nothing like Brazil Honduras ,Mexico etc.

IMF still mad?

Postby Gladiator » June 28th, 2018, 9:33 am

VII wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:we actually ranked higher than JAMAICA....my lord

That list a bit iffy,T&T's crime is joke to Jamaica wjere they kill everyone when they come to kill one including babies on the regular,multiple foreigner killings anf robberies are even more prevlant and violent,the ISIS thing is adding to the broader perception..

We know it bad guys but seriously that placing seems.a bit dodgy to me,we nothing like Brazil Honduras ,Mexico etc.

IMF still mad?
I don't think they look at the specifics of the killing... It's just math.

Total annual murders divided by 100000 = rate

To them yuh dead yuh dead...

VII

Postby VII » June 28th, 2018, 9:54 am

Gladiator wrote:
VII wrote:

IMF still mad?

Lol by that metric alone Jamaica is way ahead,Their rate was over 50/100,000 on last tally..we high and still in the 30's...we were trending nicely in the 20's a coupe years ago,steups..

Oh there are also about 4 other caribbean islands higher or on par with us.. St Lucia,STKitts,USVI Bahamas etc

Any how we need to freaking get our country back and the so called freaking leaders are just a bunch of recycled ole jock straps and girdles!

Fed up.of all ah freaking dem,we could do freaking better man..

Steups one setta dotish lil jackass killing eachother and have we lil country looking so bad..and is dem same BUGWAANAAS doing all the robbing steups.

Need to go head on at all crime sectors..wtf they waiting for ..

Postby Gladiator » June 28th, 2018, 11:17 am

VII wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
VII wrote:

IMF still mad?

Lol by that metric alone Jamaica is way ahead,Their rate was over 50/100,000 on last tally..we high and still in the 30's...we were trending nicely in the 20's a coupe years ago,steups..

Oh there are also about 4 other caribbean islands higher or on par with us.. St Lucia,STKitts,USVI Bahamas etc

Any how we need to freaking get our country back and the so called freaking leaders are just a bunch of recycled ole jock straps and girdles!

Steups one setta dotish lil jackass killing eachother and have we lil country looking so bad..and is dem same BUGWAANAAS doing all the robbing steups.

Sorry bro my Math was wrong. The formula is actually:

(Number of Crimes / Population) x 100,000 = Crime Rate Per 100,000

Postby Gladiator » June 28th, 2018, 11:37 am

Gladiator wrote:
VII wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
VII wrote:

IMF still mad?

There are some very serious murders/crime (rob and kill) against normal citizens too. This makes the entire population live in fear. A couple recent ones...

The double murder in londenville - Mother and daughter throats slit
Murder in Tamana - Shopkeeper and wife throats slit
Lawyer's Secretary throat slit
Uber driver shot and killed
Mac Donalds Man shot and killed

Society has broken down when the criminals have no respect for authority (police), the legal system or incarceration. Because the Govt cannot get these systems to work the criminals become brave and step up their crime.

What speaks miles about Trinidad is that the population is violent and lawless. If no police authority exists, a high percentage of Trinidadians will execute criminal behavior. I guess that's why as soon as the Coup start in 1990 the looting start as well.

Postby Ben_spanna » June 28th, 2018, 1:09 pm

The current police force cannot efficiently police everywhere all the time, these criminals that are plaguing the country have no respect for anyone or their property, they know they can do what they want to and a majority of the population cannot defend themselves. What makes this even worse is that any time an innocent citizen stands up for themselves and turnsa the tables on these criminals- the families and friends of these same criminals want justice.

Time for All citizens to have rights to bear some form of weapon, make all the pepper sprays, expanding batons, mace and Tazer guns LEgal for us. And of course simply allow these weapins to have similar punishments that any misuse should carry.

Those who think that fighting crime with citizens fighting back will not work - to hell with you all, sit and wait to be the next victim and hope that police will protect or save you.

Postby sMASH » June 28th, 2018, 1:41 pm

^^Duane is against that

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 28th, 2018, 2:52 pm

reading that royal castle in St. Helena was robbed earlier today

Postby aaron17 » June 28th, 2018, 5:04 pm

Well the 'justice' is to allow criminals to breed.

Postby aaron17 » June 29th, 2018, 2:15 pm

So about the soup kitchen theft, a supermarket donated the appliances to them. That is good but does not solve the problem. I believe 100 percent they will steal it again....make papers ...cause baccanal ....etc

VII

Postby VII » June 29th, 2018, 2:43 pm

Gladiator wrote:
VII wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
VII wrote:

IMF still mad?

I've tried to ration in many ways how T&T could be ranked higher than Jamaica,general crime and murder of foreigners or expats are much more prevalent to boot.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/jun/29/retirees-returning-to-jamaica-face-extreme-risk-say-police

Jamaican expats who retire there after decades in the UK face an “extreme risk” of murder, a former police chief on the Caribbean island has said, as official figures revealed that at least 85 Britons, Americans and Canadians have been killed in the country since 2012.

Good.luck to us both and all other islands facing these growing pains

Postby hydroep » July 1st, 2018, 7:36 am

Love thy neighour...:|

Bandits strike twice
Freeport couple in robbery ordeal

Sharlene Rampersad

A FREEPORT couple are in high praise of police who managed to arrest six bandits who robbed them in two separate incidents one day apart.

The couple, who will not be identified as they fear for their safety, were first robbed at gunpoint on Wednesday.

In an interview with the Sunday Newsday, the woman related the first terrifying robbery.

“It was around 11.15 am and I was cooking lunch and my husband was watching a movie, when I went into the bedroom for my pressure tablet,” she recounted. “While I was there I heard my husband say “Babe, it have people,” and then a second later I saw a man come into the room with a gun and he told me ,’If you only move I will shoot you’.”

She said the gunman was wearing a mask and ordered her to hand over her money.

“I gave him my wallet and he kept asking me for more money and telling me I was lying when I said I didn’t have any.”

The gunman spotted her son’s laptop and took it. He then asked her for the laptop charger.

“I told him it was in the other room and he told me to go get it, when I went into the living room, I saw my husband lying face-down on the floor and the other bandit was tying him up.”

The second bandit was armed with a cutlass.

The gunman then demanded jewellery and when the woman said she only had the gold ring she was wearing, he took it off her finger.

“He kept threatening to shoot us and telling me don’t lie about having money.”

Next, he demanded a glass of cold water and a drink of rum.

“I told him we didn’t have any rum or water in the fridge but he could get cold water from the dispenser on the door, he took a glass and was drinking water while his partner was tying me up.”

She said the gunman then stood over her husband and told him he wanted his salary.

“My husband was telling him he didn’t have any money and he started to beat him in his head with the gun, I was crying and begging him to stop cause the lash was sounding like he was chopping him.”

The men left a short while later, warning the couple to wait 20 minutes before trying to get up from the floor. They took the woman’s gold ring, cash, a DVD player, a laptop and charger, a phone and a bull finch.

The woman said she managed to wriggle her hands free from the belt that had been used to bind them.

“They had left the front door open and as soon as I got up, I closed it and called the police, I could see them running down the hill still.”

Minutes later, she saw a neighbour’s son walking past her home and alerted him.

“He say ‘Moms doh say that nah, I cyar believe they do you that,” and he come and stay with us till the police reach. He told the police of the car he had seen the men getting into.”

Freeport police were able to quickly track and capture the men as the getaway vehicle belonged to one of the couple’s neighbours.

“I can’t believe he would do that to us, I have always been nice and helpful to him, his house was burned down about six weeks ago, I gave him an extension for electricity so he could cut wood and ply to build back a house.”

Police recovered all the items except the DVD player and the bull finch and arrested the three men involved.

But the woman’s worries were not over.

The next day, when she and her husband went to the Freeport police station to give official statements, someone broke into their house.

“My son came home from school, saw the front door open and the TV missing, he called me and asked where I was and I told him we would come home in a little while, then he told me we had been robbed again.”

This time the thieves stole a 43-inch smart TV, a gas tank, a spray can, the woman’s pressure testing machine, an extension cord and groceries.

“They climbed in through the toilet and carried the things through the front door.”

But what hurt the woman even more is that another of her neighbour’s’s was responsible.

“They held three of them on Thursday, the same boy who told me what car the men had left in was involved, I can’t believe that either and I always treated him like a son.”

Police were able to recover all of the stolen items from the second robbery and all six men will appear before a Chaguanas magistrate tomorrow.

http://newsday.co.tt/2018/06/30/bandits-strike-twice/

Postby hydroep » July 1st, 2018, 7:52 am

Things are out of control. Good thing the Government is moving with haste against those nasty criminals who've failed to get their vehicles inspected...:|

Hell in St Helena

Bandits ran rampant in St Helena last week, striking three business places over a four-day period and making off with thousands of dollars in cash and other valuables.

However, business owners and residents admitted yesterday that these attacks by bandits are not a new trend. Rather, they say recent development within the community has attracted the criminal element, who have been targeting business places and random individuals alike.

St Helena has moved from being a sleepy village to a bustling business area in recent years. With this development have come the criminals. Residents and business owners are now calling on the police to also increase their strength in the area to match the influx.

During the recent spate of robberies last week, the first to take place on the mile-long stretch was on Monday at 11.15 am. Two gunmen entered Pro Digital Wholesalers and tied up the male staff member on duty before they stole telephones and other electronic items. The haul was valued at $40,000.

Yesterday, Pro Digital owner Richard Le Maitre said the situation in St Helena has become “scary”. This is the second time his business place has been robbed since it recently relocated.

It was previously located at the St Helena junction but was relocated because they were robbed several times there.

Le Maitre said he had put several security measures in place to try and thwart would-be criminals, including installing security cameras. There is also a sign on the door advising that persons wearing caps would not be allowed entry in.

Following the attack on Pro Digital, on Wednesday night three bandits robbed the nearby Royal Castle outlet, which is obliquely opposite Pro Digital. According to reports, around 7 pm the gunmen announced a hold-up at the fast food outlet, took the cash register drawer and escaped with an undisclosed sum of money. The following night (Thursday), the Kentucky Fried Chicken outlet located at the St Helena junction was targeted. Around 9.05 pm, two gunmen entered the restaurant, jumped over the counter, pointed a firearm at the cashier and announced a robbery. They escaped with a quantity of cash from the vault and the cash register.

All three business places are on the major road servicing the community.

Business owner Lorna Nurse, 76, who operates a Bmobile outlet in the area, is no stranger to the rising crime there. Nurse said she has been operating there for the past 14 years but crime really started to rise in the last five years.

Around 2 am one day in February was the last time Nurse experienced a break-in. Bandits are so emboldened they are not even using stealth any more, she said.

“They used a pickaxe to break in the front door. When we came in the morning all that was left were the tiles on the floor,” Nurse said.

Nurse has alarm systems and sensors installed. Yesterday, she spoke to the Sunday Guardian from behind a heavily burglar- proofed, cage-like structure.

The entire establishment is now fortified because of the robberies.

Nurse said she runs has been robbed four times and like Le Maitre, she changed location within the area because she was being robbed regularly. The worst attack was when one of her female workers was alone and gunmen entered and tied her up while they ransacked the place.

“That really rocked me because she is just a young woman trying to make ends meet, coming to work and being placed in this kind of situation. It is not right,” Nurse said.

Nurse believes the only reason she was spared last week was because she was out of stock of new phones.

“It’s really bad. I’m sure every business in this area has been affected by crime in one way or another,” she said.

All of the businesses the Sunday Guardian spoke to had their own tales about the criminal element.

Nurse was in praise of the Las Lomas police who she said has always responded in a timely fashion to her plights. She, however, called for more police patrols in the community.

One of the things that makes St Helena such an easy target for the criminals is that they have several escape routes to several parts of the country.

Vinny Mohammed, of M&M Poultry, said while his business has only been targeted by shoplifters he knows other businesses have been affected by gun-toting bandits.

“We have cameras in place and still they just steal without any care,” he said.

But the crime is not limited to the businesses.

Visham Khodai said he walked out of his home to get something from a nearby store one evening about three years ago and was greeted by a gunman on the major road.

“It was an early evening after work and I walked out and this man pointed a gun in my face asking for money,” Khodai said.

Khodai said when he saw the gun he fell backwards and somehow the gunman ran off. Khodai thanked God for that.

“I see life-changing here, it was a quiet community and now it has become a target for thieves. This place is becoming hell,” he said adding he is now sceptical about leaving his house after dark.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2018-06-30/hell-st-helena

Postby aaron17 » July 1st, 2018, 9:26 am

T&T, the next Brazil...:( (sad face)

Postby Gladiator » July 1st, 2018, 9:30 am

aaron17 wrote:T&T, the next Brazil...:( (sad face)
It have PNM there too or what?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 1st, 2018, 12:20 pm

hydroep wrote:Things are out of control. Good thing the Government is moving with haste against those nasty criminals who've failed to get their vehicles inspected...:|

Hell in St Helena

Bandits ran rampant in St Helena last week, striking three business places over a four-day period and making off with thousands of dollars in cash and other valuables.

However, business owners and residents admitted yesterday that these attacks by bandits are not a new trend. Rather, they say recent development within the community has attracted the criminal element, who have been targeting business places and random individuals alike.

St Helena has moved from being a sleepy village to a bustling business area in recent years. With this development have come the criminals. Residents and business owners are now calling on the police to also increase their strength in the area to match the influx.

During the recent spate of robberies last week, the first to take place on the mile-long stretch was on Monday at 11.15 am. Two gunmen entered Pro Digital Wholesalers and tied up the male staff member on duty before they stole telephones and other electronic items. The haul was valued at $40,000.

Yesterday, Pro Digital owner Richard Le Maitre said the situation in St Helena has become “scary”. This is the second time his business place has been robbed since it recently relocated.

It was previously located at the St Helena junction but was relocated because they were robbed several times there.

Le Maitre said he had put several security measures in place to try and thwart would-be criminals, including installing security cameras. There is also a sign on the door advising that persons wearing caps would not be allowed entry in.

Following the attack on Pro Digital, on Wednesday night three bandits robbed the nearby Royal Castle outlet, which is obliquely opposite Pro Digital. According to reports, around 7 pm the gunmen announced a hold-up at the fast food outlet, took the cash register drawer and escaped with an undisclosed sum of money. The following night (Thursday), the Kentucky Fried Chicken outlet located at the St Helena junction was targeted. Around 9.05 pm, two gunmen entered the restaurant, jumped over the counter, pointed a firearm at the cashier and announced a robbery. They escaped with a quantity of cash from the vault and the cash register.

Business owner Lorna Nurse, 76, who operates a Bmobile outlet in the area, is no stranger to the rising crime there. Nurse said she has been operating there for the past 14 years but crime really started to rise in the last five years.

Around 2 am one day in February was the last time Nurse experienced a break-in. Bandits are so emboldened they are not even using stealth any more, she said.

“They used a pickaxe to break in the front door. When we came in the morning all that was left were the tiles on the floor,” Nurse said.

Nurse has alarm systems and sensors installed. Yesterday, she spoke to the Sunday Guardian from behind a heavily burglar- proofed, cage-like structure.

Nurse said she runs has been robbed four times and like Le Maitre, she changed location within the area because she was being robbed regularly. The worst attack was when one of her female workers was alone and gunmen entered and tied her up while they ransacked the place.

“That really rocked me because she is just a young woman trying to make ends meet, coming to work and being placed in this kind of situation. It is not right,” Nurse said.

Nurse believes the only reason she was spared last week was because she was out of stock of new phones.

“It’s really bad. I’m sure every business in this area has been affected by crime in one way or another,” she said.

All of the businesses the Sunday Guardian spoke to had their own tales about the criminal element.

Nurse was in praise of the Las Lomas police who she said has always responded in a timely fashion to her plights. She, however, called for more police patrols in the community.

One of the things that makes St Helena such an easy target for the criminals is that they have several escape routes to several parts of the country.

Vinny Mohammed, of M&M Poultry, said while his business has only been targeted by shoplifters he knows other businesses have been affected by gun-toting bandits.

Visham Khodai said he walked out of his home to get something from a nearby store one evening about three years ago and was greeted by a gunman on the major road.

“It was an early evening after work and I walked out and this man pointed a gun in my face asking for money,” Khodai said.

Khodai said when he saw the gun he fell backwards and somehow the gunman ran off. Khodai thanked God for that.

“I see life-changing here, it was a quiet community and now it has become a target for thieves. This place is becoming hell,” he said adding he is now sceptical about leaving his house after dark.

No inspection is a serious crime bai....must do everything to tend to the situation

Postby aaron17 » July 1st, 2018, 12:46 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
hydroep wrote:Things are out of control. Good thing the Government is moving with haste against those nasty criminals who've failed to get their vehicles inspected...:|

Hell in St Helena

No inspection is a serious crime bai....must do everything to tend to the situation
Kill and murder to ent?

Postby rspann » July 1st, 2018, 1:11 pm

Nah , speeding tickets and inspection stickers have profit to give the favoured ones payment for contracts and Kay Donna. Murders and robberies have no profit.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 1st, 2018, 7:06 pm

What he said^