WTF!- $43.00 a lb for food now!?

Postby Ben_spanna » March 15th, 2018, 11:56 am

Their food is usually always fresh and I have never had a problem so I continued to buy from them, just went in and as usual pick and chose 2 medium sized lunches and placed my containers on the scale, when the cashier told me $ 149.00 I was in absolute shock!
Then I saw the sign, from Today March 15th- its $ 43.00 per lb!

Well thank you for your great food over the years but I wont be paying that !

Re: WTF!- $43.00 a lb for food now!?

Postby wagonrunner » March 15th, 2018, 12:00 pm

Stopped buying when it went up to $35.
no reason to change.

Postby De Dragon » March 15th, 2018, 12:05 pm

Eat less, simple.

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » March 15th, 2018, 12:08 pm

Wat is food by de pong?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 15th, 2018, 12:21 pm

Never bought from them..I cook everyday...the amount I does eat I cyah pay by the lb

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » March 15th, 2018, 1:09 pm

Nobody forcing you to buy.
Eat 2 bread and cheese and drink a glass ah mauby and relax.

Postby 88sins » March 15th, 2018, 1:16 pm

Only creatures I know that are fed by the lb are captive reared livestock, & some rocket scientist decides to sell you food by the lb & you buy it.

Can you say "mooo"?

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » March 15th, 2018, 3:16 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:Their food is usually always fresh and I have never had a problem so I continued to buy from them, just went in and as usual pick and chose 2 medium sized lunches and placed my containers on the scale, when the cashier told me $ 149.00 I was in absolute shock!
Then I saw the sign, from Today March 15th- its $ 43.00 per lb!

Well thank you for your great food over the years but I wont be paying that !

lol lol. Yeah they over doing it long time with their typical petty excuse of "due to the increased cost of supplies which they can no longer absorb"

Bull chit. They increased from $35 to $40, introduced "environmentally safe" heavier containers and saw no complaints or decrease in customer flow.

Trinidadians like it so with our 7 day memory. We'd complain for a damn while, then go right back.

Then other food places that charge $40 by lb currently will adopt the same measures and say they increasing to $43.

Banana Republic forever.

Postby pugboy » March 15th, 2018, 3:57 pm

Avg person prob spends close to $70 there after buying a sugar fresh juice
I could never justify that

Postby Dizzy28 » March 15th, 2018, 4:10 pm

pugboy wrote:Avg person prob spends close to $70 there after buying a sugar fresh juice
I could never justify that

I buy food by the lb in Nicholas Tower (there are 2 food by the lb places). Typically average $32-34/purchase.
People get tie up and take one setta sides which cost much less than meat to buy but is the same price at the scale.

Postby pugboy » March 15th, 2018, 4:15 pm

U must be buying green salad only

Postby Dizzy28 » March 15th, 2018, 4:21 pm

pugboy wrote:U must be buying green salad only

Nah a mix of stuff (not overdone though).
However they are 34 and 36 a pound in Nicholas Tower and not the 40+ elsewhere.

olton

Postby olton » March 15th, 2018, 4:37 pm

The next part of the racket is that they changed from discounting the weight of the containers according to weight to using a standard $1 per box - before, even before today's increase, in January they changed the largest box from a discount of $3.35 to $1.00 - so you've been being robbed $2.35 per trip every time since then.
Now, I guess it's proportionally more!

Postby pugboy » March 15th, 2018, 4:48 pm

You only being robbed if they holding a gun to your head

Postby sMASH » March 15th, 2018, 5:28 pm

$20 for a box of food Duncan village. Big size probably a 2 lb weight.

Same place selling big chicken roti for $15,

North people does take dig out eye, jess for status.

Postby K74T » March 15th, 2018, 5:36 pm

DAI EL PECOS OR WAH

Postby bluefete » March 15th, 2018, 8:03 pm

sMASH wrote:$20 for a box of food Duncan village. Big size probably a 2 lb weight.

Nice City in Mt. Lambert - $20.00 - Fried rice, noodles, chow mein and chicken!!! Full container!

I could never understand people who buy cooked food by the lb.

Average

Postby Average » March 15th, 2018, 8:40 pm

This is simple, refrain from buying at those places. The worst thing is to buy food when you're extremely hungry.....end up choosing all kinda unnecessary ting!

Postby nervewrecker » March 15th, 2018, 9:00 pm

Smokey joes on frederick syreet is still be best..

*licks lips*

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » March 15th, 2018, 9:16 pm

The choice has been and will always be YOURS. Get a gyal/wife /man if you like zoomie who can cook tasty food. Simple as that. Or do like me and go in d back of me house and shoot a facking manicou and cook it

Postby paid_influencer » March 15th, 2018, 9:34 pm

if someone is providing a service you like, pay them.

paying them will encourage them (and others watching them) to provide the same service.

the end result is more choice for you.

snatman

Postby snatman » March 15th, 2018, 10:14 pm

ppl does still buy lunch and thing in this guava season?
Heavy rollers oui.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 16th, 2018, 5:21 am

snatman wrote:ppl does still buy lunch and thing in this guava season?
Heavy rollers oui.

I hear uptown mall does be ram out at lunch time

Postby nervewrecker » March 16th, 2018, 5:42 am

paid_influencer wrote:if someone is providing a service you like, pay them.

paying them will encourage them (and others watching them) to provide the same service.

the end result is more choice for you.
Yup, hope more like candy come along.

coltspeed

Postby coltspeed » March 16th, 2018, 6:31 am

K74T wrote:DAI EL PECOS OR WAH
I taught op was referring to here. I stopped buying there since early last year.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » March 16th, 2018, 7:17 am

sMASH wrote:$20 for a box of food Duncan village. Big size probably a 2 lb weight.

Hush.... dem eh need to know bout Good Eats, D place too popular as it is. (bes food and prices though) :mrgreen:

Postby Gem_in_i » March 16th, 2018, 5:10 pm

Good eats food dont taste good anymore. But it cheap...

Postby Gem_in_i » March 16th, 2018, 5:11 pm

Where sell food by pound? I never bought tht.

Postby meccalli » March 16th, 2018, 5:46 pm

Only place I've ever paid for food by the lb was a chinese buffet in Buffalo, something around $30ttd/lb.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » March 16th, 2018, 5:59 pm

Viaa in marabella sells for by the pound, I can't remember the price, but I think it was like 20 something a pound