Re: WTF!- $43.00 a lb for food now!?

Postby SMc » March 18th, 2018, 11:59 am

^^Yet to see wild animals run a restaurant- oh wait never mind

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » March 19th, 2018, 7:00 am

Has buying food become a flams thing just like the car one drives or the clothes one wears?
Maybe people feel shame to pull out a foil/butter pan and eat a roti or rice and chicken in front of others.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 19th, 2018, 7:03 am

silent_riot wrote:Has buying food become a flams thing just like the car one drives or the clothes one wears?
Maybe people feel shame to pull out a foil/butter pan and eat a roti or rice and chicken in front of others.

I does pull out meh dhal rice n curry chicken normal normal...heat it in the microwave to smell up the place too...while men who driving sportage drinking nesquik(provided by the organization) and a club social

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » March 19th, 2018, 7:11 am

Hear nah...town is the worst place to buy curry.
North people rating up all kinda roti/curry places yet never pass the lighthouse.

Nothing like a home cooked meal oui...is dhal rice and smoke herring later this week.

gencon

Postby gencon » March 19th, 2018, 7:17 am

Well I bring fried rice pineapple chicken and potato salad. Tomorrow is back to my usual lentils

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 19th, 2018, 9:22 am

silent_riot wrote:Hear nah...town is the worst place to buy curry.
North people rating up all kinda roti/curry places yet never pass the lighthouse.

Nothing like a home cooked meal oui...is dhal rice and smoke herring later this week.

I does hear men talking about doubles on the promenade...some rasta man selling it...shrugs shoulders

Postby dougla_boy » March 19th, 2018, 11:36 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

I does hear men talking about doubles on the promenade...some rasta man selling it...shrugs shoulders

geed dat rasta the worst

but allyuh does be talking bout bess doubles down south, i had one or 2, it eh all that.... and it have places selling decent curry in north.....

to each his own yes....

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 19th, 2018, 11:42 am

only doubles man I could rate is "red cap" by the old airport

Postby 88sins » March 19th, 2018, 11:44 am

buh wha d hell :lol:
yuh coulda say cascadoo, I woulda unnastan dat. buh smoke herring dan?

what d hell, i go try it & see how d flavors jam. only live once u does curry d herring too or nah?

snatman

Postby snatman » March 19th, 2018, 12:08 pm

Today I learned that there are locals who haven't eaten the common dish of dhal and rice and smoke herring.

I wonder if they also never ate the equally common dish of roti and tomato chokah with saltfish.

and no, the smoke herring isn't curried.

what d hell, i go try it & see how d flavors jam. only live once u does curry d herring too or nah?

Postby dougla_boy » March 19th, 2018, 12:20 pm

an a lil kuchela eh, doh forget that

Postby dougla_boy » March 19th, 2018, 12:23 pm

better we turn this into a weird sounding but tasty dish kinda ched?

making pumpkin and pigtail this week with sada roti.... allyuh ever try that?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 19th, 2018, 12:49 pm

Sins yuh shock meh deh...that meal does lash...

Boil herring for ah 10-15mins to remove salt...fry it up in tomatoes pimento garlic onion pepper...pot done

gencon

Postby gencon » March 19th, 2018, 12:59 pm

Strange

Postby eliteauto » March 19th, 2018, 1:16 pm

Dhal, rice and smoked herring is the healing

Mark007

Postby Mark007 » March 19th, 2018, 1:44 pm

Red Peppers in Cipero also sells by the pound, can't remember the exact price but ik it was a bit pricey

Postby rspann » March 19th, 2018, 2:38 pm

snatman wrote:Today I learned that there are locals who haven't eaten the common dish of dhal and rice and smoke herring.

I wonder if they also never ate the equally common dish of roti and tomato chokah with saltfish.

and no, the smoke herring isn't curried.

Any smoke herring remain. eat it with a fry bake in the evening.

JF.K

Postby JF.K » March 19th, 2018, 2:46 pm

Kronik wrote:Viaa in marabella sells for by the pound, I can't remember the price, but I think it was like 20 something a pound
Food is not bad actualky.

I still find smokey joes is the best
This smokey place is one of the worst.
Prob the best if u buying Fries and Chicken.

Just a few days ago I decided to try them to see of there were improvements... still crap... salad was grinding teeth with sand.

JF.K

Postby JF.K » March 19th, 2018, 2:51 pm

eliteauto wrote:Dhal, rice and smoked herring is the healing
Some people may wonder about this because from what I see... many people actually don't know how to put together the smoke herring properly.

Postby sMASH » March 19th, 2018, 3:04 pm

went in the back, cut a hand of green fig, done boil up and buss up..
mmmmmmmmmmmmm.

Postby K74T » March 19th, 2018, 5:48 pm

Fried bake with pumpkin and smoked herring, and a cup of Ovaltine.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 19th, 2018, 6:32 pm

JF.K wrote:
Some people may wonder about this because from what I see... many people actually don't know how to put together the smoke herring properly.

Enlighten us

Postby rspann » March 19th, 2018, 7:27 pm

Put some grated carrots , tomatoes and chop up some pepper fine and add to it.

Well I know what I eating tomorrow.

Postby pugboy » March 19th, 2018, 9:08 pm

and a good egg bawl to go with it

Postby rspann » March 19th, 2018, 9:17 pm

When the egg in the egg barl not cooked properly , I does get turned aff.

Postby 88sins » March 20th, 2018, 5:42 am

rspann wrote:

Put some grated carrots , tomatoes and chop up some pepper fine and add to it.

Well I know what I eating tomorrow.

doh forget d pimento & onions

Postby 88sins » March 20th, 2018, 5:44 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Sins yuh shock meh deh...that meal does lash...

Boil herring for ah 10-15mins to remove salt...fry it up in tomatoes pimento garlic onion pepper...pot done

is d dhal & smoke herring combo dat ketch meh.
I eat smoke herring wit all kinda ting already. But never wit dhal :lol:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 20th, 2018, 6:15 am

Yuh hada try it...is like somebody who say deh never eat ah good cascadoo

Postby 88sins » March 20th, 2018, 6:48 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Yuh hada try it...is like somebody who say deh never eat ah good cascadoo

if a person never eat a good curry cascadoo is a reason fuh dat

dey ain't a true Trini :lol: