Rats under hood

eitech

Rats under hood

Postby eitech » March 17th, 2018, 5:49 pm

Yeah saw some nibbling on the fuel hose, rat shat, piss, the whole works like dey had a fete. Any experiences, solutions? Tnx.

fatboy slim

Re: Rats under hood

Postby fatboy slim » March 17th, 2018, 6:41 pm

buy some rat poison

Postby rspann » March 17th, 2018, 6:48 pm

Op ,so I have to tell you to get two cats and tie them to the intake manifold?

Seriously thought this thread was about cars with big block chevy engines ,that's what they are called, rat motors

Postby j.o.e » March 17th, 2018, 6:57 pm

fatboy slim wrote:buy some rat poison

/thread

Postby shogun » March 17th, 2018, 8:06 pm

Either you have that car parked up for LONG stretches, or you have some bold-faced rats?

Postby nervewrecker » March 17th, 2018, 8:10 pm

Cats for rent. Pm for details

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 17th, 2018, 8:15 pm

BTW just a heads up when you go to the grocery and not just grocery but ANYWHERE and you see sugar in no name bags or off brand sugar do yourself a favor and do not buy it because you would be shocked at what has pissed and sh!t and eaten in those sugar they full in those bags.

eitech

Postby eitech » March 17th, 2018, 9:04 pm

shogun wrote:Either you have that car parked up for LONG stretches, or you have some bold-faced rats?

Those dam rats bold. The cars are used daily.

Sōsuke Aizen

Postby Sōsuke Aizen » March 17th, 2018, 9:10 pm

Those rats are zoomie and friends. Throw some balisier

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » March 17th, 2018, 9:27 pm

^^ :fist: :fist: :fist: ^^

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 17th, 2018, 10:17 pm

ugh, that blows.
you have a rat problem and need to tackle it all over the yard.
rat poison like MF napalm.

I've had good results with the storm wax type baits. put it close to where you park, and all over the yard. my dog never really went around the bait, but if you have pets be warned.

Postby SMc » March 18th, 2018, 4:27 am

Thought is was a tread about Honda and OP mistook the hamsters for rats.

oh well

Postby De Dragon » March 18th, 2018, 5:52 am

SMc wrote:Thought is was a tread about Honda and OP mistook the hamsters for rats.

oh well

I thought it was about hood rats from Laventille, Beetham, Sea Lots etc.

Postby Gem_in_i » March 18th, 2018, 6:20 am

I used to have a cat under my hood. It used to sh!t on the engine.

nivek

Postby nivek » March 18th, 2018, 12:18 pm

Black pepper or cayenne pepper...will burn their airway and deter them

Postby *KRONIK* » March 18th, 2018, 12:26 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:ugh, that blows.
you have a rat problem and need to tackle it all over the yard.
rat poison like MF napalm.

I've had good results with the storm wax type baits. put it close to where you park, and all over the yard. my dog never really went around the bait, but if you have pets be warned.
Endorsed

Storm works great
To make it even more enticing..buy some of that cheap peanut butter and add a dollop with the storm bait.

Postby X2 » March 18th, 2018, 12:44 pm

They can hide in the car itself.... They tend to like the warmth of the engine but can nest anywhere from inside bumpers and wheel wells to behind the dash where they can chew on harness wires!

They mess where they eat so there is a food source close by? There is never ever ever one rat so you have a nest nearby :? Rat traps if you have pets or kids.... Poison if you don't.

killercow

Postby killercow » March 18th, 2018, 12:51 pm

Op doh waste your time with rat poison. I had this same problem a few years ago and the very few rats that actually ate the poison died in places I couldn't reach and got stuck with a very bad rotting smell. What worked for me was :
I washed the entire engine bay and purple blastered it down. When that was done I threw a sh!tload of black pepper, cayenne pepper and camphor all over the engine bay. Never saw a rat nor evidence of one in there again. Keep in mind rats have the second best sense of smell after elephants in the world so if a lil bit of black pepper, purple blaster or cayenne bothers your nose, imagine what all three together will do to a rat.

pimppp

Postby pimppp » March 18th, 2018, 9:33 pm

Had dis problem also. Started seeing food (roti and chicken bones) on my engine bay from time to time. Scatter som poison and a couple days afta, washed down my engine. Bout a week lata started getting a dead rat smell every time my car warmed up. Searched entire engine bay for days but nothing. Bout a week lata went by my mechanic for repairs. Wen he dropped d shield under my engine....tuners...rat guts/ bones and worms!!!
Mechanic run meh from he garage!
Had to under wash and return bout a week lata.
BTW...stil get d smell for a couple days after under washing.

Postby Ben_spanna » March 19th, 2018, 7:56 am

When yuh livin in ah pee N emme area that's understood, dem fking rats in everything

Rats under hood

Postby K74T » March 19th, 2018, 8:02 am

Yeah this happened to me as well in Haleland Park, those nasty PNM rats!

Postby timelapse » March 19th, 2018, 9:55 am

Any Honda man could tell you.Get a CAT back exhaust

Zetski

Postby Zetski » March 19th, 2018, 10:30 am

That is what does happen when you wash your engine bay often... Leave d oil/grease it is a natural repellent for any creature.. plus many of them engine washers doh know what d ass they doing.. they does get water in a place where it not supposed to be and screw up your car. I heard many complaints about this.

I never wash an engine bay before. No problems with it no need to.

Postby mero » March 19th, 2018, 11:11 am

pimppp wrote:Had dis problem also. Started seeing food (roti and chicken bones) on my engine bay from time to time. Scatter som poison and a couple days afta, washed down my engine. Bout a week lata started getting a dead rat smell every time my car warmed up. Searched entire engine bay for days but nothing. Bout a week lata went by my mechanic for repairs. Wen he dropped d shield under my engine....tuners...rat guts/ bones and worms!!!
Mechanic run meh from he garage!
Had to under wash and return bout a week lata.
BTW...stil get d smell for a couple days after under washing.
O geeeeeed

eitech

Postby eitech » March 19th, 2018, 11:23 am

Zetski wrote:That is what does happen when you wash your engine bay often... Leave d oil/grease it is a natural repellent for any creature.. plus many of them engine washers doh know what d ass they doing.. they does get water in a place where it not supposed to be and screw up your car. I heard many complaints about this.

I never wash an engine bay before. No problems with it no need to.

Well i guess it’s unfortunate that i got a 3 month roro vehicle with a clean engine bay.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 19th, 2018, 11:27 am

OP: Get a bucket ah warder....

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » March 20th, 2018, 11:15 am

go to an agri store and buy bromine rat poison. it does be in a white and blue pack. looks like pink bread. you can cut a hole in a 4 litre bottle and put the poison and some chicken feed or stale bread and mix it up inside . works wonders on the rats as they eat all of it. i does usually crush up the poison and mix it.