Dhal and rice and smoke herring? you mad breds?

Re: Dhal and rice and smoke herring? you mad breds?

Postby rspann » March 20th, 2018, 1:30 pm

Curry sardine and sada roti that sakay real good.

ragzinc

Postby ragzinc » March 20th, 2018, 1:32 pm

meccalli wrote:Bonito makes good fish pelau

you not serious - my dogs eat that $2/lb bloody fish as well as using it for pag bait

snatman

Postby snatman » March 20th, 2018, 1:51 pm

my father loved curried goat intestines!

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 20th, 2018, 2:24 pm

snatman wrote:my father loved curried goat intestines!

Yeah goat guts is a good cutters. Chewy af.
You can get it imported it comes pre-cleaned. All you have to do is cook and chew.

Goes down good with a light paratha and a cup of pepper dhal.

Postby sMASH » March 20th, 2018, 2:36 pm

dhal, rice, tomatoes choka, smoke herring.

but u need a proper choka, and a properly chunkey dhal.

life complete.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 20th, 2018, 2:39 pm

sMASH wrote:dhal, rice, tomatoes choka, smoke herring.

life complete.

as a dhal connoisseur myself, dhal is not dhal unless it chunkay.

Postby 16 cycles » March 20th, 2018, 2:42 pm

'kichri' / khichdri

Postby sMASH » March 20th, 2018, 3:09 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
sMASH wrote:dhal, rice, tomatoes choka, smoke herring.

life complete.

as a dhal connoisseur myself, dhal is not dhal unless it chunkay.
Some people does do a real social kinda thing,, Lord alone know why.

That eh goh fly... Need to be chunkey proper to stand up to the choka

Postby SMc » March 20th, 2018, 3:27 pm

I now making rice (in a steamer) with coconut milk, cinnamon sticks, cardomom pods, star anis, cloves, bayleaf & squashed lemon grass stalks...yay for me

NR8

Postby NR8 » March 20th, 2018, 3:36 pm

lalloboy101 wrote:had a few times as well, curry cassava with peas and sada roti

how the diabetes treating you?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 20th, 2018, 3:46 pm

lalloboy101 wrote:dhal, rice & allo choka - Monday
dhal, rice & tomato choka - Tuesday
dhal, rice & fry bodi- Wednesday
dhal, rice & curry green papaya- Thursday
dhal, rice & fry saime/bodi- Thursday
rice & mackerel or Brunswick sardine - Saturday
rice and curry yard fowl - Sunday

had a few times as well, curry cassava with peas and sada roti

Curry green pawpaw?? Never hear bout da.

A real one is lagoon rice and pepper sauce jusso with the hot cup of rice mar after.. ting for d back

Postby gastly369 » March 20th, 2018, 3:48 pm

Dhal rice and ketchup...#phase

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 20th, 2018, 3:48 pm

Ulyuh have me feeling for a bhagi rice with some pigtail

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » March 20th, 2018, 3:53 pm

ragzinc wrote:
meccalli wrote:Bonito makes good fish pelau

you not serious - my dogs eat that $2/lb bloody fish as well as using it for pag bait
You pay for it ? Always get it free.

Postby meccalli » March 20th, 2018, 4:09 pm

ragzinc wrote:you not serious - my dogs eat that $2/lb bloody fish as well as using it for pag bait

Not only does it make good pelau, it's perfect for crusting in the pan and for those who like sushi, it's the classic choice for preparation of tataki katsuo.
https://www.thesushigeek.com/the-sushi- ... /11/katuso

What you're accustomed to is bonito that's been caught in nets, hauled in dead out of the water and sits all day cooking in the sun, not fish that's been line caught, bled and iced.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » March 20th, 2018, 5:11 pm

Not mentioned but ah nice young gyal meow does it for me. Other than that is yam and manicou.

Postby 88sins » March 20th, 2018, 5:31 pm

concrete wit saltfish

Postby 88sins » March 20th, 2018, 5:33 pm

randolphinshan wrote:Not mentioned but ah nice young gyal meow does it for me.

so tell me, how yuh likin dat babyjuice creampie flavor :lol:

Postby maj. tom » March 20th, 2018, 5:57 pm

Postby rspann » March 20th, 2018, 6:30 pm

I does eat my doubles between two slices of buttered bread. Don't say a word unless allyuh try it.

Postby maj. tom » March 20th, 2018, 7:03 pm

It's all about food nostalgia and comfort foods, i.e. the foods we grew up eating, the things our parents had to do to feed the family before we knew what life was about. I'm sure all families here had hard times and everyone has an unexplained, intense dislike for a particular food, as well and a comforting love for a very simple and poor meal that may seem weird to others. It was also what was available in the area and your parents fed you and you're alive and well today.

A fella I went to high school with told me once how he used to eat rice and ketchup and that was the best thing ever. To me at that age I just had a scorned look on my face. I had some tuna and macaroni casserole for lunch one day in school and some guys had never even heard or smelt of something like that and were disgusted by it. But I understand it now. Yall remember that flashback scene in the Pixar Ratatouille film after he tasted the food!? That's why I love watching Bizarre Foods! I wish I could enjoy all those kind of things like other people and cultures all over the world!

Zetski

Postby Zetski » March 20th, 2018, 9:35 pm

Boil some rice then fry it with saltfish and tomatoes... that hits the spot with some fruit punch.

Postby rspann » March 20th, 2018, 9:56 pm

Zetski wrote:Boil some rice then fry it with saltfish and tomatoes... that hits the spot with some fruit punch.

All that's missing is a few slices of zaboca. :onfire: :onfire:

Zetski

Postby Zetski » March 20th, 2018, 11:20 pm

rspann wrote:
Zetski wrote:Boil some rice then fry it with saltfish and tomatoes... that hits the spot with some fruit punch.

Last thing I want to see is zaboca on my plate :(

hondablood

Postby hondablood » March 20th, 2018, 11:32 pm

bread and ripe fig

Postby Chimera » March 21st, 2018, 12:51 am

but macaroni and ketchup is a bess lunch for school days
especially if the macaroni have a egg fry in it

wash that down with a $1 tampico and yuh gt

Postby rspann » March 21st, 2018, 5:20 am

Zetski wrote:
rspann wrote:

Last thing I want to see is zaboca on my plate :(

Well use avocado then.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 21st, 2018, 7:30 am

ZxZ wrote:
maj. tom wrote:It's all about food nostalgia and comfort foods, i.e. the foods we grew up eating, the things our parents had to do to feed the family before we knew what life was about. I'm sure all families here had hard times and everyone has an unexplained, intense dislike for a particular food, as well and a comforting love for a very simple and poor meal that may seem weird to others. It was also what was available in the area and your parents fed you and you're alive and well today.

A fella I went to high school with told me once how he used to eat rice and ketchup and that was the best thing ever. To me at that age I just had a scorned look on my face. I had some tuna and macaroni casserole for lunch one day in school and some guys had never even heard or smelt of something like that and were disgusted by it. But I understand it now. Yall remember that flashback scene in the Pixar Ratatouille film after he tasted the food!? That's why I love watching Bizarre Foods! I wish I could enjoy all those kind of things like other people and cultures all over the world!

bredda i remember going to primary school some days with just macaroni and ketchup. My parents catch rell hell but never let we go hungry

Macaroni an ketchup is a normal one yea. And when it done strain you put a lil piece of golden Ray... Boy real memories

Postby dougla_boy » March 21st, 2018, 10:55 am

pumpkin and pig tail or salt beef with sada roti..... making some tonight! go post a pic!

Postby Rovin » March 21st, 2018, 11:00 am

snatman wrote:my father loved curried goat intestines!

my 2 brothers loved this but not me nahhh hoss i rather eat plain bread & butter than eat dat , i eh putting dat in my mouth , in its raw form looks weird as hell like ah plastic bag with water , doh talk bout d inside of it .... :crazyeyes:

i am 1 of d few on d planet that does not eat zaboca , i never like it , i rather eat sada roti with butter n cheese than dat .... same with tomato choka :| yea i know i different when it comes to tomato & zaboca

alot of trinis dont eat wild meat , i have eaten probably all because i have relatives that hunt & now\then bring me a few pieces already cooked , will admit it tastes good but i prefer ppl leave d wild animals to live their natural lives

ppl does eat meat from d heads of cows , goats , pigs , i know long time ppl didnt want to waste anything but i rather d normal body meat instead ... :|