Dhal and rice and smoke herring? you mad breds?

Re: Dhal and rice and smoke herring? you mad breds?

Postby hydroep » March 21st, 2018, 11:10 am

Yeah, they does call that curried goat intestines thing "Pachounie". Tried it once, tasted pretty good. Texture kinda reminded me of thinly sliced lambie, only not as rubbery.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 21st, 2018, 11:32 am

Haven't had goat belly in maybe 25-30 years at least.
My father was the real meat mouth and when he turned vegan in 1994 my meat choices diminished then as well.

I remember him bringing home goat belly once and tasting it but can't remember how it tastes.

I do remember eating curried egg bag and egg from breeders (big white chickens that lay eggs for hatchlings). That used to lash.

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » March 21st, 2018, 11:47 am

fry bake/sada, fry plantain and cheese...like I alone like dat orrr

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 21st, 2018, 12:39 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Haven't had goat belly in maybe 25-30 years at least.
My father was the real meat mouth and when he turned vegan in 1994 my meat choices diminished then as well.

I remember him bringing home goat belly once and tasting it but can't remember how it tastes.

I do remember eating curried egg bag and egg from breeders (big white chickens that lay eggs for hatchlings). That used to lash.

Boy yesss when yuh get a good layers on a Sunday an u get d egg bag.. curry down dry..
still a weekly dish home here

Postby skylinechild » March 21st, 2018, 2:42 pm

i just ate a pk ah big foot (spicy ) an drink a vitamalt.....da go qualify ?????

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » March 21st, 2018, 6:04 pm

Dhal rice and coconut chutney

Postby meccalli » March 21st, 2018, 6:20 pm

The Paleontologist wrote:Dhal rice and coconut chutney

YUP! I usually do the kitchri with coconut milk instead of dhal and rice separately whenever we make coconut chutney.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » March 22nd, 2018, 12:01 pm

Most of our local delicacies are, by global standards, weird...manicou, lappe, gouti, etc.

A lot of our local cuisine is based on making do with what you have or with what was available to you, e.g. ox tail, cow heel, pig foot souse, pachounie, goat head etc...so they are inherently uncommon and weird.

My weird food when growing up:
Bread and butter and jam (not peanut butter)
Rice and salt, onion and pepper
Roti and dhal
Curry (boil) egg and aloo
Rice and baigan and aloo
Jingi and saltfish
Pumpkin and small shrimp

snatman

Postby snatman » March 22nd, 2018, 1:33 pm

silent_riot wrote:My weird food when growing up:
Bread and butter and jam (not peanut butter)
Rice and salt, onion and pepper
Roti and dhal
Curry (boil) egg and aloo
Rice and baigan and aloo
Jingi and saltfish
Pumpkin and small shrimp

where's the weird part?

Postby RBphoto » March 22nd, 2018, 3:16 pm

Do you eat DR&SH with a fork, a spoon or your hand?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 22nd, 2018, 3:26 pm

fry bake, saltfish buljol (not cooked) and zaboca - yummmm!!!!

Postby De Dragon » March 22nd, 2018, 4:03 pm

Fig talkari aka jacket button with shredded salt fish.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 22nd, 2018, 4:03 pm

RBphoto wrote:Do you eat DR&SH with a fork, a spoon or your hand?

Sanay if it firm.
I like my DR* soupy af, so I need a spoon
like 3:1 ratio of D:R

philliprock

Postby philliprock » March 22nd, 2018, 5:06 pm

curry boiled eggs an aloo and rice, my favorite :)

antlind

Postby antlind » March 22nd, 2018, 7:24 pm

I does eat it with my mouth.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 22nd, 2018, 9:15 pm

De Dragon wrote:Fig talkari aka jacket button with shredded salt fish.

Waysss u bring back some real memories dere. Had an aunt make that by the river and swell a roti on the fire and stone yes..

30hz

Postby 30hz » March 22nd, 2018, 11:19 pm

anything with kaloungie!!

Postby 16 cycles » March 23rd, 2018, 6:28 am

SOLDIERS at four Battalions in Trinidad and those at a camp in Tobago yesterday described as frustrating the meals they are being fed daily because of a drastic cutback in funding by government. They are fed-up of dhal and rice, smoked herring

^Army Food !!!!

http://newsday.co.tt/2018/03/23/soldier ... over-diet/

Postby sMASH » March 23rd, 2018, 7:07 am

'an army marches on its stomach'

but our army doesnt really march and go anywhere..

if i was them, i would take some of that land and plant up some provisions and fig and ting. take back the $80 and buy what ever they can't plant...

Postby dougla_boy » March 23rd, 2018, 7:55 am

dougla_boy wrote:pumpkin and pig tail or salt beef with sada roti..... making some tonight! go post a pic!
Wife buss it up, didn't think this would ah taste good nah
IMG_20180322_210501_477.jpg

snatman

Postby snatman » March 23rd, 2018, 8:31 am

uh yeah, my oldest brother regularly has deep fried (til crunchy) shrimp heads

snatman

Postby snatman » March 23rd, 2018, 8:33 am

dougla_boy wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:pumpkin and pig tail or salt beef with sada roti..... making some tonight! go post a pic!
Wife buss it up, didn't think this would ah taste good nah

lookin good! Pig tail makes everything good oui

Postby dougla_boy » March 23rd, 2018, 8:34 am

Boy I feel that same thing yes

Postby RBphoto » March 23rd, 2018, 8:52 am

antlind wrote:

I does eat it with my mouth.

A bold move

Postby Dizzy28 » March 23rd, 2018, 9:01 am

snatman wrote:uh yeah, my oldest brother regularly has deep fried (til crunchy) shrimp heads

My father in law loves a dry curry shrimp feet.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » March 23rd, 2018, 9:11 am

Oh yeah...my parents used to eat curry shrimp head too.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 23rd, 2018, 9:21 am

snatman wrote:uh yeah, my oldest brother regularly has deep fried (til crunchy) shrimp heads

Saw that.
Can't bring myself to eat it, although I'll use the shrimp heads to make stock.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 23rd, 2018, 9:35 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Saw that.
Can't bring myself to eat it, although I'll use the shrimp heads to make stock.

After watching nuff Bourdains and Zimmerns I decided to try the shrimp head once in a Korean Restaurant . They used to always go on and about how all the flavour in the head.
Felt to vomit. :D

Maybe curried wouldn't be bad though.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » March 23rd, 2018, 10:24 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Sanay if it firm.
I like my DR* soupy af, so I need a spoon
like 3:1 ratio of D:R

Same here. Enamel plate, 1 spoon of rice, flood with dhal.

Heaven

Postby gastly369 » March 23rd, 2018, 10:31 am

Curry cow brains with hot sada