Acceptable lifespan for average car battery!

Reez100

Re: Acceptable lifespan for average car battery!

Postby Reez100 » March 29th, 2018, 11:00 pm

who sells the optima?

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » March 29th, 2018, 11:47 pm

My battery lasted 2 years, before that... Just over a year, got a new one just this week, you ppl getting three years, probably don't drive much or just lucky.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 30th, 2018, 12:28 am

Daily diesel.. maintenance free track battery from Lange.. 3 years+

With 2 amps-
sound digital 3000 and 800 phoenix gold amp

I surprised it hold out so much so long but he still going.. next upgrade will be one of those Northstar greys

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » March 30th, 2018, 4:11 am

Reez100 wrote:who sells the optima?
Pricesmart usually has with 3 to 5 years warranty I believe.

Postby pugboy » March 30th, 2018, 6:20 am

the local mfg ones had this down to a science
mind you i did get a couple that died just within warranty so was able to get another year or two

an imported atlas just died on my dad's car the other day just in 16months

a friend had a little panasonic battery that came on their rover 400
lasted at least 4 years, everyday driving to arima

*KRONIK* wrote:
ADONI wrote:A month before or after the warranty....
This!

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 30th, 2018, 7:41 am

pugboy wrote:the local mfg ones had this down to a science
mind you i did get a couple that died just within warranty so was able to get another year or two

*KRONIK* wrote:
This!

ACL or now Massy has the science so good that they reduce the warranty period to 18 months as their batteries tend to die in 23.9 months.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 30th, 2018, 8:14 am

pugboy wrote:the local mfg ones had this down to a science

*KRONIK* wrote:
This!
Dammit
I buy atlas for the rav4 and the nv200.

nick639v2

Acceptable lifespan for average car battery!

Postby nick639v2 » March 30th, 2018, 9:58 am

LOL @ atlas batteries.. kronik just keep your receipt close, constantly monitoring of voltage spikes and swelling

lemme give u a lil insider info.

same people distributing Atlas and Alpha batteries is the same ones giving you the *German* high quality led bulbs that are typical Chinese bulk no branded just being rebranded by them. Trust me they really committed, even making a German website to push the product.

Stay away from it especially for diesel and high temp applications.

Postby X_Factor » March 30th, 2018, 10:07 am

recently changed an American superior that lasted 4.5yrs in my father's car

Postby *KRONIK* » March 30th, 2018, 10:22 am

nick639v2 wrote:LOL @ atlas batteries.. kronik just keep your receipt close, constantly monitoring of voltage spikes and swelling

same people distributing Atlas and Alpha batteries is the same ones giving you the *German* high quality led bulbs that are typical Chinese bulk no branded just being rebranded by them. Trust me they really committed, even making a German website to push the product.

Well....not much worries for me
Both vehicles were sold within the last month.

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » April 1st, 2018, 12:07 pm

Change batteries every 2 years. Crappy brands like diehard an others i use.

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 2nd, 2018, 1:47 pm

AC Delco currently 20 months old and showing no signs of quitting.

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 2nd, 2018, 8:46 pm

agent007 wrote:AC Delco currently 20 months old and showing no signs of quitting.

Right up to the day it quits. That company is also pressure for warranty.

Also saw firsthand, new stickers with higher CCA/AH ratings being placed on batteries in store. When i asked, i was told the manufacturer mislabeled the batteries. Seems like shady sheit to me.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 3rd, 2018, 8:43 am

nick639v2 wrote:Daily diesel.. maintenance free track battery from Lange.. 3 years+

With 2 amps-

I surprised it hold out so much so long but he still going.. next upgrade will be one of those Northstar greys

Track just died on the Hilux, 19 months... But is is a weekend vehicle...
Bought a Turbo. Steve's Electronics was closed, really wanted a Optima for it.
Thinking about getting a trickle charger doh...

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 3rd, 2018, 8:43 am

Steve Electronics as well. I paid $1,650 a lil over a year ago. One year warranty.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 3rd, 2018, 9:17 am

ADONI wrote:

Steve Electronics as well. I paid $1,650 a lil over a year ago. One year warranty.

Such an expensive battery with such a small warranty?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 3rd, 2018, 9:49 am

ADONI wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:Daily diesel.. maintenance free track battery from Lange.. 3 years+

With 2 amps-

I find since i installed music in my vehicles and doing the big 3 wiring etc my batteries actually last longer, i have no idea why.

My guess is that the extra depletion and recharging somehow benefits the battery over the regular topping up charge??? Who knows.

Anyone running Bosch batteries? They offer one of the longest warranty periods ent?

Postby *KRONIK* » April 3rd, 2018, 9:53 am

nick639v2 wrote:
ADONI wrote:

With 2 amps-

I find since i installed music in my vehicles and doing the big 3 wiring etc my batteries actually last longer, i have no idea why.

My guess is that the extra depletion and recharging somehow benefits the battery over the regular topping up charge??? Who knows.

Anyone running Bosch batteries? They offer one of the longest warranty periods ent?
I used to run bosch in all my vehicles.
Good experience with them so far

They usually konk-out about 2-3months before warranty up but because it pro-rated, they wont give you much on the rebate at 2-3months before warranty expires, so i never fight up with it.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 3rd, 2018, 9:54 am

nick639v2 wrote:
ADONI wrote:

With 2 amps-

Could be!!!
Bosch Gas is 3 years and diesel is 18 months.
Had both Gas and Diesel Bosch batteries. They usually go in a month before or after the warranty for me....

Postby 16 cycles » April 3rd, 2018, 10:28 am

ADONI wrote:

saw optima red top in PriceSmart /Arima side on Sunday - fyi

Postby adnj » April 3rd, 2018, 6:27 pm

nick639v2 wrote:My guess is that the extra depletion and recharging somehow benefits the battery over the regular topping up charge?

Cycling a lead/acid battery doesn't help it at all. What does help is to maintain the charge level as close to full without overcharging.

Deep-cycling, overcharging and extreme temperatures are usually what contribute to premature failure.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 3rd, 2018, 7:47 pm

^^ huh good info. Guess i just got a lucky buck one

agent007

Postby agent007 » August 27th, 2018, 7:59 pm

AC Delco 24months old today guys.

Postby eliteauto » August 27th, 2018, 8:17 pm

nick639v2 wrote:LOL @ atlas batteries.. kronik just keep your receipt close, constantly monitoring of voltage spikes and swelling

Funny enough I have Atlas in 4 vehicles one almost 2 years, two a year and a half and one 6 months 3 gas one diesel, zero complaints

Postby gastly369 » August 27th, 2018, 8:59 pm

eliteauto wrote:

Funny enough I have Atlas in 4 vehicles one almost 2 years, two a year and a half and one 6 months 3 gas one diesel, zero complaints
Ah feel yuh jinks yuhself with that statement dey

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 28th, 2018, 12:10 am

26 mths from experiences

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 28th, 2018, 10:03 am

I prob real lucky then.
the XS power on 5 1/2 years, and that was everday use.
Since i got the hybrid a couple months ago, the sportero only being used on weekends; so after 4 days it giving a lazy tumble. It reaches about 12.1 volts by this time. (measured with meter)

I got a used battery tender device to smart charge, clean and maintain. May extend the life some more. We'll see.

Postby SR » August 28th, 2018, 10:23 am

Lengthen the life span of your batteries
viewtopic.php?t=731497

konartis

Postby konartis » August 28th, 2018, 11:23 am

agent007 wrote:AC Delco 24months old today guys.

You brave, lol next thing it cut off....but that battery lasts really long, I have the same.

agent007

Postby agent007 » August 28th, 2018, 1:16 pm

^^^you think it makes a difference if I said that the vehicle only did 18,000kms in the 24months since? I'm thinking, regular usage with more exposure to heat will affect lifespan and at the same time, little usage can also affect lifespan too. It's like where do we draw that line of ideal parameters for extending battery life. Then you read through SR's link above lol.