New parking penalty being considered in San Fernando .......the barnacle

wickedtuna

New parking penalty being considered in San Fernando .......the barnacle

Postby wickedtuna » March 29th, 2018, 1:05 pm

AN ALTERNATIVE to the towing service is being considered for the City of San Fernando.

Instead of returning and being unable to find their cars, drivers may now find a yellow object over their windshield. This object obscures the driver’s vision and he or she will have to pay to have it removed

wickedtuna

Re: New parking penalty being considered in San Fernando .......the barnacle

Postby wickedtuna » March 29th, 2018, 1:06 pm

5abcf079bf2e7.image.jpg

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » March 29th, 2018, 1:08 pm

We ready ....y mc
download%20(3).jpeg
download%20(3).jpeg (11.21 KiB) Viewed 1935 times

Postby Dizzy28 » March 29th, 2018, 1:21 pm

So why this over wheel clamps which is already in effect in a few private places?

Postby skylinechild » March 29th, 2018, 1:41 pm

knowing us Trinidadians

i will await the day when someone installs it on a slightly cracked screen.... motorist tries to remove it....damages the screen.....and then pays to have it removed.....and then claims the unit damages his windscreen..

who is going to prove the screen was damaged before application...??
some sensor on the actual unit

men go apply rain X to their screen or want to coat their glass with liquipel

it comes with siren and ting and a tracker to track it in case someone goes ace ventura style....
1 Year Warranty from date of receipt on:

Outside Housing
Suction Cups
Suction Cup Safety Rings
Carrying Handle
Hinge Links
Rubber Edge Guard
Locks

90 Day Warranty from date of receipt on:

Electronics
Main PCB Assembly
GPS/GSM
Keypad
Vacuum Pump
Siren
Solenoid Valve
Manual Override Switch
Battery and Cable
Battery Charger
Hoses and plumbing

Postby j.o.e » March 29th, 2018, 1:47 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:So why this over wheel clamps which is already in effect in a few private places?

Because someone got a nice contract to procure

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » March 29th, 2018, 2:12 pm

Junior Giuliani the mayor keeps changing all kinda vehicular related stuff from parking ....one way is now 2 way ...taxi stand ...vending .....he bomcy does rel scratch him

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » March 29th, 2018, 2:22 pm

Wouldn't want that heavy looking piece of sheit sitting on my windscreen. Clamps is the better option, wtf them really thinking.

Postby skylinechild » March 29th, 2018, 3:25 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:Wouldn't want that heavy looking piece of sheit sitting on my windscreen. Clamps is the better option, wtf them really thinking.

its attached via suction cups...

some industrial strength acid on it should take care of the electronics.

OR
if ur windscreen have to replace feel free to kick out ur windscreen and leave it there wit the barnacle for them to pic up...

i cud just imagine this scenario playin out with a ole mamoo and he 120Y.... :lol:

Postby Morpheus » March 29th, 2018, 3:26 pm

wickedtuna wrote:We ready ....y mc
download%20(3).jpeg
ent

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » March 29th, 2018, 3:33 pm

skylinechild wrote:
iM@st@1 wrote:Wouldn't want that heavy looking piece of sheit sitting on my windscreen. Clamps is the better option, wtf them really thinking.

its attached via suction cups...

some industrial strength acid on it should take care of the electronics.

OR
if ur windscreen have to replace feel free to kick out ur windscreen and leave it there wit the barnacle for them to pic up...

i cud just imagine this scenario playin out with a ole mamoo and he 120Y....
It have something to stick on them windscreen .....1 clue it brown ...texture varies by meals

Postby Redman » March 29th, 2018, 3:49 pm

Or Allyuh could jus park where you supposed to...

I say try it...Sando people does park dotish

Postby pete » March 30th, 2018, 9:34 am

Towing has the advantage of removing obstructing cars from the location though.

Postby Redman » March 30th, 2018, 10:07 am

THis gives them an option where suitable.....also its faster....and probably cheaper....so the city retains more of the intake...

Postby maj. tom » March 30th, 2018, 10:45 am

According to several Googled articles on the Barnacle, the driver is supposed to pay the fine right there on the device by swiping a LINX/Credit card (lol @ wireless payment system in Trinidad), and then return the device to the authorities at some location (LOL you mean the garbage dump). This is going to be a failure even in USA, because you can still drive the vehicle when the Barnacle is on the screen. People will find a way to remove it, it's 2x 700lbs suction cups.

But somebody family have to get that contract right?

Postby sMASH » March 30th, 2018, 11:05 am

that is more suited for places with parking meters. dedicated parking spots, where u are only entitled for a specific time to be there. so it would be quite alright if the vehicle remains in the spot. the advantage is that the car isnt subject to damage by the wrecker, and with the electronics, the city can get payment quicker.

in sando, the problem is that parking whether legal or not, tends to congest the roadways, there just isnt enough space in in some places to drive and park. most times, the vehicles are obstructions, so leaving it there isnt acceptable.

the vehicles need to be removed.... and i have been wrecked before in sando.. but i thought i wasnt obstructing, but the wrecker men thought differently.

sando needs a parkade... build one of those, and then there should be no reason to get wrecked.

Postby pugboy » March 30th, 2018, 11:19 am

Ding ding

j.o.e wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:So why this over wheel clamps which is already in effect in a few private places?

Because someone got a nice contract to procure