Cost of owning a malinois?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 30th, 2018, 10:05 am

UPDATE

I decided against the Shepherd because of the vet requirements etc that would be too expensive.

I have decided to purchase the next best thing a malinois, can anyone give some experiences with this breed and if they get sick and how expensive would they be to maintain?

What would be the cost of said pup and would they eat pet meat and rice etc?

Would like to know what is the average cost per year

Vet bills and food etc, what do they eat? can you boil rice and give them pet meat or it has to be puppy chow?

How much do you all spend on Vet and Food for the year?

Also cost of puppy
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on April 1st, 2018, 7:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

Miktay

Re: Cost of owning a german shepherd?

Postby Miktay » March 30th, 2018, 11:25 am

Depends on the dog. High breed Ali-stations require a lotta maintenance, exercise, and care.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 30th, 2018, 11:27 am

About 5k

matix

Postby matix » March 30th, 2018, 11:29 am

12-15k per year
That's food, vet visits, medication, vitamins, toys, shampoo.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 30th, 2018, 11:33 am

If you gotta ask.........you know the rest

Postby SMc » March 30th, 2018, 4:00 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Would like to know what is the average cost per year

Vet bills and food etc, what do they eat? can you boil rice and give them pet meat or it has to be puppy chow?

Also cost of puppy

Any dog of that size/class should have the same requirements for food etc. I have had pothounds & german shepherds at the same time and never spent less on either due to the breed.

Also if you asking them questions it sounds like you dont have much experiance with dogs- if you are serious about getting one please dont get something you cant handle as the animal will likely struggle more than you- they may then with purpose kill you in your sleep.(so I have heard)

Postby rspann » March 30th, 2018, 4:56 pm

ED doh study dem, they trying to discourage yuh from owning a best dog. You could feed it anything you have left over. Rice, dhal ,roti ,anything. I know you is a real KFC man ,so doggie going to like heself. Just make sure to tie him all the time , don't let him go next door by the UNC man and drink rum .

Postby 88sins » March 30th, 2018, 5:17 pm

[i]Also cost of puppy[/i]

More important question than whats d cost of a puppy is where you planning on getting said puppy

it have some shitbird breeders in T&T selling GSD pups that don't make it a year before they have to be put down because of severe hip dysplasia or patella luxation or spinal problems.
If a person selling pups & when you see the parents they look like their backsides dragging on the ground while they supposedly standing up, move along unless you want to buy problems.
Also, it's a good idea to go with someone experienced with dogs, or better yet the specific breed, if buying a GSD pup. That way you can get a better idea of what you'll likely end up with from the pup you select. Next ting u end up with a long mouth droopy eared weak nerved cowardly fear biter.

Reamos DC5

Cost of owning a german shepherd?

Postby Reamos DC5 » March 30th, 2018, 5:28 pm

Hey man, my pup was bought from Quartz Strasse kennel club, cost was $10k.

German shepherds are known for skin issues and allergies and therefore you need to take the time to find out the causes...usually food and environs etc. Paid about $1500 for an allergy test and discovered the pup was allergic to chicken, rice, tobacco lol, pine trees, stuff like that. Now those tests are not usually 100% accurate but a very good guide.

Anyways, i used a fish based hypoallergenic dog food (ProPac $350) 26kgs or so and i mix the food with tuna, sardines, salmon, sweet potato on different days.

Usual check up every 3 months you can cater $500...thas for basic worm out and additional shots etc.

If its a high line breed, id stay away from dog rice and pet meat. Get a good chow and u can also mix it with home cooked meats...

Shepherds SHED...so make sure you have the time and discipline to comb regular and get that coat shining. As you pass the brush you also increase your chances of realizing potential problems like cuts and bruises or any sort of discomfort.

Btw 3 month treatment for ticks and fleas is Bravecto! $300

As the chap above suggested, dont get a dog you cant handle, consider a low maintenance breed as well.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » March 30th, 2018, 5:50 pm

The only suggestion I can give is that if you do get a dog, care for him well.

Postby teems1 » March 30th, 2018, 6:30 pm

Get a Belgian Shepherd.

Same as a German, except the fur isn't as thick and doesn't shed as much.

Postby De Dragon » March 30th, 2018, 6:40 pm

Pure breds tend to be more delicate. If you can't deal with the stress, get a mixed breed. I have two Pit/Rott mixed and they are both eleven years old (human years eh!). Their diet is rice with chicken or fish. Fish oil and calcium tablets. Regent spray for pests.

Reamos DC5

Postby Reamos DC5 » March 30th, 2018, 7:36 pm

Regent works wonders...smell like bush bug tho

Postby 88sins » March 30th, 2018, 8:12 pm

teems1 wrote:Get a Belgian Shepherd.

Same as a German, except the fur isn't as thick and doesn't shed as much.

And a submarine is a boat, & a car is a plane

groenendael, lakenois, tervuren, malinois all belgian shepherd dogs, & all are very different from Alsatians

Postby nervewrecker » March 30th, 2018, 10:54 pm

Bout 3.50

Anyhow, meet jackImage

Growing fast

Postby SMc » March 31st, 2018, 2:55 am

That is nice looking pup- pure malinois or mixed?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 31st, 2018, 7:20 am

nice dog deh nerve...what was the price for him

Postby nervewrecker » March 31st, 2018, 8:48 am

Pure, my sister got him free.

rebound

Postby rebound » March 31st, 2018, 11:12 am

nervewrecker wrote:Bout 3.50

Anyhow, meet jackImage

Growing fast
Beautiful Mal there bro....my Mal is going on 12 years and they are very strong, no worries pets...loves the rain and loves exercise...never got sick etc....the only thing was tick fever once which caused his ear to drop..it was my fault there....they are also very hard working dogs..

rebound

Postby rebound » March 31st, 2018, 11:13 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:nice dog deh nerve...what was the price for him
I paid 3k for mine 12 years ago but, no big expenditure since.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 31st, 2018, 11:26 am

rspann wrote:ED doh study dem, they trying to discourage yuh from owning a best dog. You could feed it anything you have left over. Rice, dhal ,roti ,anything. I know you is a real KFC man ,so doggie going to like heself. Just make sure to tie him all the time , don't let him go next door by the UNC man and drink rum .

AHAHHAHAHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHAAH :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 31st, 2018, 11:30 am

[i]Also cost of puppy[/i]

More important question than whats d cost of a puppy is where you planning on getting said puppy

it have some shitbird breeders in T&T selling GSD pups that don't make it a year before they have to be put down because of severe hip dysplasia or patella luxation or spinal problems.
If a person selling pups & when you see the parents they look like their backsides dragging on the ground while they supposedly standing up, move along unless you want to buy problems.
Also, it's a good idea to go with someone experienced with dogs, or better yet the specific breed, if buying a GSD pup. That way you can get a better idea of what you'll likely end up with from the pup you select. Next ting u end up with a long mouth droopy eared weak nerved cowardly fear biter.

hey

It has a fella in Madrass road opposite the bar in a huge new green house he has pups for sale $3000 for a pup, I looked at the parents and they looked like the real deal.

But like you say I would have to find someone experienced in this, plus from the looks of it these breeds might be expensive to maintain.

I wonder if I could get one that looks just like a shepherd but is mixed and doesn't require vet and other maintenance and will just eat left overs? I want one mainly as a pet to hug up but i only like how Shepherds look, not a fan of other dogs. I saw some shepherds that looked like they might have been mixed they were a little smaller and blacker but looked very much like shepherds with the huge ears dunno if something like this would be better for me since I eh really looking to spend money on vet and thing.

I wonder if I go to them Animal Shelter if I could find something I like. hmmm

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 31st, 2018, 11:43 am

Ramco Gas Factory in Maloney has a security guard and he has a dog that looks very much like this

Some sort of Belgian I think or maybe its a mix breed German or something?

So yeah it doesn't have to be a pure breed but I would like on that LOOKS like this with very LOW maintenance cost. Its mainly to hug up and call him a good boy etc. Long ago My PNM neighbor used to have a Shepherd and I used to go over and help bathe him etc and in return I got to spend time with him without having to pay any money. But it dead and he chirren grew up and move out of the house and thing so those days are gone.

Postby 88sins » March 31st, 2018, 2:59 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Ramco Gas Factory in Maloney has a security guard and he has a dog that looks very much like this

Some sort of Belgian I think or maybe its a mix breed German or something?

So yeah it doesn't have to be a pure breed but I would like on that LOOKS like this with very LOW maintenance cost. Its mainly to hug up and call him a good boy etc. Long ago My PNM neighbor used to have a Shepherd and I used to go over and help bathe him etc and in return I got to spend time with him without having to pay any money. But it dead and he chirren grew up and move out of the house and thing so those days are gone.

u done gone dong d wrong road right there.
DO NOT be another statistic & get a puppy based primarily on how it supposed to look as an adult dog, because you might wind up with a dog that nice to look at that is too much for you with behavioral traits that you cannot handle.

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 31st, 2018, 4:02 pm

How bout you adopt a doggo in need of a home for free?

Visit the TTSPCA

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 31st, 2018, 4:12 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:How bout you adopt a doggo in need of a home for free?

Visit the TTSPCA

They have anything that resembles a shepherd there?

Or is only pot hound them have?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 31st, 2018, 10:28 pm

Idk why men does fight down the dustbin terriers

Postby nervewrecker » March 31st, 2018, 11:05 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Idk why men does fight down the dustbin terriers

some of the best around.

ChristianRD

Postby ChristianRD » March 31st, 2018, 11:20 pm

OP stay away from owning dogs.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » March 31st, 2018, 11:35 pm

ChristianRD wrote:OP stay away from owning dogs.
I think it might be the other way around