Should Venezuelan refugees be allowed to live in T&T?

Yes
47%
No
53%

Total votes: 191

Re: Should Venezuelan refugees be allowed to live in T&T?

Postby toyolink » May 22nd, 2019, 5:14 pm

The only deportation method we can afford at this time would have to be transporting the migrants to our southern shoreline and hope they can swim across.
Well at least our TTMA has publicly expressed pleasure at the prospects of increased availability of workers for lower end manufacturing jobs.

Postby K74T » May 22nd, 2019, 5:29 pm

Down in de Flora boyyy

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 22nd, 2019, 5:30 pm

K74T wrote:Down in de Flora boyyy

They line up like that

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » May 22nd, 2019, 5:59 pm

I ain't think people realize that these Venezuelans not gonna stop coming here. After ID card done share out, they still coming to tnt. What gonna happen to this place in the future? Probably when they reach a couple million, then government might decide to do something.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 22nd, 2019, 6:12 pm

:| :|
IMG-20190522-WA0032.jpg

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » May 22nd, 2019, 6:55 pm

The 93 Venezuelan nationals who have been detained by police in Palo Seco, are being released.

The men, women and children were taken to Siparia where they were processed by Immigration officials.

They were given documents allowing them to stay in the country until the end of July.

Some of the officers even took the Venezuelan nationals to get doubles in Siparia.

They were also given soft drinks and sandwiches.

Most of them said they have not eaten since they came early this morning.

They say they are not sure where they will stay but are asking persons in the area to borrow phones to make phone calls.

The Venezuelans were held at a two-storey house in a forested area in Palo Seco.

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/rel ... BR4sAo2p88

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 22nd, 2019, 6:58 pm

Stuart young was thinking when he made that decision?

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » May 22nd, 2019, 7:28 pm

News say they find 12 more...
Maybe they might find 200 Tomorrow?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 22nd, 2019, 7:48 pm

Close to 100 Venezuelan nationals who were held at a house in a forested part of Palo Seco on Wednesday, have been released with documents allowing them to stay until the end of July. They were give doubles, sandwiches and soft drinks after they were released. Video by Guardian Media's Radhica De Silva.

Postby pugboy » May 22nd, 2019, 7:55 pm

so what happens when they apply for the amnesty next week?
Does that July date get waived to the 1 year ?

Postby zoom rader » May 22nd, 2019, 8:27 pm

pugboy wrote:so what happens when they apply for the amnesty next week?
Does that July date get waived to the 1 year ?
Yes then 5 years, then ID cards.

Postby paid_influencer » May 22nd, 2019, 8:39 pm

a decade ago, we had Offshore Patrol Vessels (OPVs) and 360 degree radar coming to lock down the border with Venezuela.

Certain interests were threatened, events set into motion and an early election was called. The new Government scrapped the OPVs almost immediately after coming into office.

The one issue that should unite all Trinidadians is that uncontrolled border.

vote nah. none of the politicians have the ability to close that border.
Last edited by paid_influencer on May 22nd, 2019, 8:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

VII

Postby VII » May 22nd, 2019, 8:39 pm

Say what you want about T&T we are a very warm and kind people,and as bad as it is with all our challenges we are actually not doing too badly in the circumstances,any other country with the amount of negative influences,guns drugs gangs etc would be hitting murder rates over 50/100,000 consistently.

People all is not lost,but yeah this Vene thing is scary af and is something we really gotta manage..

fireworks

Postby fireworks » May 22nd, 2019, 8:45 pm

Lol

xtech wrote:If I was prime minister I would take drastic action now before it gets out of hand.

Below is a few of my ideas

1. Ask the army to get of their collected butts and Set up a buffer zone around A huge compound near an isolated area with container based buildings to house these thousands of venes visitors. This will stop the free mixing in the local population and limit the bad seeds to mix with our bad seeds and prevent bloodshed. Have the army search each arrival for weapons and drugs. Medical screening is a must.

2. If they just want to come shop and go back fine. We will Allow locals to set up shop inside the compound to supply them with everything they need. Recommend that These businesses may hire Venezuelans to work for them inside the compound.

3. Those who want to stay Until things get better back in their country. No problem apply for and Pay for a work permit and pay to sponser your family on a visa. Anybody wanting to work outside the compound must demonstrate they know how to speak English. Wait for approval after we do as much background checks as we can. Alien IDs will then be issued.

4. They Must be willing to take any job no matter your skill set. If they are able to find work They would be allowed to leave the compound to work and must return after days work is over no matter how far away they find work.

5. If they don’t check back in and they are held outside the compound they will be deported back to Venezuela on a coast guard boat immediately.

6. Those that can’t find work or don’t qualify to work will be put to work on government run agriculture ventures. To grow food that we will all need that should bring food costs down.

7. Buisness men before hiring these people must show proof that they offered the same job to locals at the right wages and the locals refused to take the job.

8. Venezuelans who find work must pay their own accommodations, food, medical bills, education and pay taxes.

9. Any body who falls in love with a vene and wants to marry will have to apply for fiancé visa to be able to do background checks on the fiancé and they must also prove that they can speak Spanish and the partner must know or learn how to speak English. They have 90 days to submit proof.

10. Any local found helping a Venezuelan hide from legal authority will be charged $150,000 per person found.

11. Venezuelans with local relatives may ask resident relatives to sponser them to stay outside the compound. If this person can’t work The local relatives will be responsible to pay for everything from medical to schooling for the sponsored family.

12. Any Venezuelans born here will be not be automatically given citizenship. It also does not grant extra rights to the parents. If the child is has a trini parent then citizenship may be automatically granted. The local parent will be charged with taking care of their child once it’s proven to be their offspring.

Postby paid_influencer » May 22nd, 2019, 9:06 pm

how 93 venezuelans could fit in a two storey house

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 22nd, 2019, 9:27 pm

paid_influencer wrote:a decade ago, we had Offshore Patrol Vessels (OPVs) and 360 degree radar coming to lock down the border with Venezuela.

Certain interests were threatened, events set into motion and an early election was called. The new Government scrapped the OPVs almost immediately after coming into office.

Sh*t talk. I'm not a fan of Kamla but all this opv talk is rubbish. What stopping TTDF from conducting 24 hour patrols and searches in areas where illegal immigrants are suspected to be coming ashore. Whatever happened to reconnaisance and surveillance. What stopping the Police from having constant road blocks and searches in those same areas. What stopping the coast guard from increasing patrols?

The people coming in using pirogues and they have to beach at certain areas of Trinidad. This is not difficult to solve.

You honestly need an OPV to stop a pirogue? You believe that bs? Steupss

agent007

Postby agent007 » May 22nd, 2019, 9:40 pm

So T&T has an approx. population of 1,400,000.
Currently, there are over 200,000 illegal immigrants residing here and that number is increasing rapidly on a daily basis.

Some of the countries represented in this illegal immigrant count are:
Venezuela
Colombia
Dominican Republic
Cuba
Grenada
St Vincent & the Grenadines
Guyana
Nigeria
India
China
Lebanon
Syria
Etc

The biggest chunk are the Venez, Chinese and the Syrian/Lebanese.

Watch and see T&T would be more than just Indian, African and dougla. The mixing here would totally change the way we look in 20yrs. It could even attack the future of Islam and Hinduism here. Christianity might just grow.

Anyhow, apart from speculation, the situation is far more serious than is currently being portrayed.

Questions:
What exactly is the Immigration Divison doing about this situation?
How thousands can penetrate our sovereign borders and go unnoticed on a daily basis?
What exactly does the TTCG do?
Why are local business owners so unethical and dishonest to their own people and to the rule of law by hiring illegals to work for them so that they can reduce overheads?
Why are we turning a blind eye to the overall situation all because we getting the rent money and the trini men getting the sex?

Our hospitals offer free healthcare even to citizens who don't pay taxes and it isn't good enough for us. Imagine, these hospitals and health centres are dealing with non nationals and our jails and getting more packed. It will take more tax dollars from an already stressed population to deal with matters that should not have been what it is today in the first place.

The savings that the Govt is trying achieve will be erroded by an increased National security budget.

If we don't come together as a nation now and stop thinking who is indian and who is african and what is unc vs pnm shortcomings, we are going to be outnumbered and extinct.

Separate we climb, united we fall.

Postby zoom rader » May 22nd, 2019, 9:45 pm

agent007 wrote:So T&T has an approx. population of 1,400,000.
Currently, there are over 200,000 illegal immigrants residing here and that number is increasing rapidly on a daily basis.

Some of the countries represented in this illegal immigrant count are:
Venezuela
Colombia
Dominican Republic
Cuba
Grenada
St Vincent & the Grenadines
Guyana
Nigeria
India
China
Lebanon
Syria
Etc

The biggest chunk are the Venez, Chinese and the Syrian/Lebanese.

Watch and see T&T would be more than just Indian, African and dougla. The mixing here would totally change the way we look in 20yrs. It could even attack the future of Islam and Hinduism here. Christianity might just grow.

Anyhow, apart from speculation, the situation is far more serious than is currently being portrayed.

Questions:
What exactly is the Immigration Divison doing about this situation?
How thousands can penetrate our sovereign borders and go unnoticed on a daily basis?
What exactly does the TTCG do?
Why are local business owners so unethical and dishonest to their own people and to the rule of law by hiring illegals to work for them so that they can reduce overheads?
Why are we turning a blind eye to the overall situation all because we getting the rent money and the trini men getting the sex?

Our hospitals offer free healthcare even to citizens who don't pay taxes and it isn't good enough for us. Imagine, these hospitals and health centres are dealing with non nationals and our jails and getting more packed. It will take more tax dollars from an already stressed population to deal with matters that should not have been what it is today in the first place.

The savings that the Govt is trying achieve will be erroded by an increased National security budget.

If we don't come together as a nation now and stop thinking who is indian and who is african and what is unc vs pnm shortcomings, we are going to be outnumbered and extinct.

Separate we climb, united we fall.
I explained all of this years ago and got banned because they mods said it was racist.

Postby paid_influencer » May 22nd, 2019, 10:15 pm

Redress10 wrote:This is not difficult to solve.

It is. There are interests that want drugs and guns to come through the border. Those interests will ensure the border stays open to illegal trade.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 22nd, 2019, 10:26 pm

^ That still not stopping us from having our troops patrol the shores near our coastlines etc.

What is the rell purpose of the regiment? South should be swarming with constant military activity. We done doh have helicopters.

Jokey government and jokey place.

Lou Screuz

Postby Lou Screuz » May 22nd, 2019, 10:31 pm

Redress10 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:a decade ago, we had Offshore Patrol Vessels (OPVs) and 360 degree radar coming to lock down the border with Venezuela.

Sh*t talk. I'm not a fan of Kamla but all this opv talk is rubbish. What stopping TTDF from conducting 24 hour patrols and searches in areas where illegal immigrants are suspected to be coming ashore. Whatever happened to reconnaisance and surveillance. What stopping the Police from having constant road blocks and searches in those same areas. What stopping the coast guard from increasing patrols?

The people coming in using pirogues and they have to beach at certain areas of Trinidad. This is not difficult to solve.

You honestly need an OPV to stop a pirogue? You believe that bs? Steupss

Agreed. The whole "Kemlah stop the o-pee-vee and dat iz y docta rowlee cyar do nutting" nonsense is a treasured pnm MYTH.
Say what you want about Kamla, but scrapping the OPV deal was a good move ( if you were actually following the story).

We did not/do not need billion $ (+ hundreds of millions of dollars in upkeep), performance specification failing, 92 meter long, 25mph ships with mechanical gun-sights - to stop small boats from offloading on the shore.

We need boots on the ground (yacht clubs included) and eyes on the horizon 24/7. This is very doable, but our leaders went with amnesty and "may the best man win".......and as a wise man once said - "Those who call for and create vast changes in our society, tend to be the ones least qualified to manage those changes".

Elections have consequences. :fist:

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 22nd, 2019, 11:01 pm

And is UNC that use Venezuela as a political football for cheap political points. Remember Kamla bringing venes up on stage during a UNC rally. Remember Rodney Charles only bringing up Venezuela in parliament and on news. Remember Rambachan asking that TnT play a bigger leadership role in this crisis. Oh yeah and the media only asking who Trinidad supporting, Guido or Maduro.

Oh and chupid Rowley and Stuart take chain up and offer asylum. The best thing was to keep their status illegal and keep them uneasy when they see police.

Imagine these people coming tnt to sleep on the streets. That right? Just now ya children can't even play outside cause they may be paedophiles or ya wife cyah go anywhere by herself cause some may be rapists. We don't know who they are.

That sounding right? Why we so backward. The chupid venezuela seer woman finally get she what she wanted. Open borders. All because trinis have no backbone.

agent007

Postby agent007 » May 22nd, 2019, 11:15 pm

Look what Merkel caused Germany and they are paying the price for that decision...but people chastise Trump on trying to secure his borders but carry on, we know best here and we will have it under control.

Postby shogun » May 23rd, 2019, 12:10 am

Trump's wall won't make the borders any more secure though. Most of the drugs enters through legal ports of entry anyways and most US illegal immigrants arrived legally and overstayed Visas. Not even mentioning that it's physically impossible to build a wall (fence, slats, or whatever the administration is calling it this week) across much of the terrain they'd have to, to make any difference.

Postby RedVEVO » May 23rd, 2019, 1:17 am

agent007 wrote:Look what Merkel caused Germany and they are paying the price for that decision...but people chastise Trump on trying to secure his borders but carry on, we know best here and we will have it under control.

You serious ?

You comparing Germany to Trinidad ?

Trinidad has ALWAYS been " anti-immigrant "

Trini are a negative people, moving fast with no progress but it has moved to being vindictive.

Why ?

Postby matr1x » May 23rd, 2019, 3:23 am

RedVEVO wrote:
agent007 wrote:Look what Merkel caused Germany and they are paying the price for that decision...but people chastise Trump on trying to secure his borders but carry on, we know best here and we will have it under control.

You serious ?

You comparing Germany to Trinidad ?

Trinidad has ALWAYS been " anti-immigrant "

Trini are a negative people, moving fast with no progress but it has moved to being vindictive.

Why ?

And trini haven't been proven wrong yet about the evils of illegal immigration. What's your point?

Postby Dizzy28 » May 23rd, 2019, 12:13 pm

Three OPVs were replaced with 12 Damen vessels.
Not patrolling our seas is a bigger issue than the cancellation of just three ships.

Postby hydroep » May 23rd, 2019, 5:48 pm

PM: TT not the solution for millions of Venezuelan migrants
Julien Neaves

THE PRIME Minister says the migrant policy towards Venezuela will have to be adjusted as TT can only provide limited help.

"As a government we have a responsibility to protect the interest of he people of TT first and foremost. Whatever we feel about the people of Venezuela and their circumstance our first and primary responsibility is to protect the interests of the people of TT."

He was speaking Thursday at the post-Cabinet media briefing at the Diplomatic Centre, Port of Spain.

Rowley said Venezuela is a huge space while TT is a tiny dot on the mouth of the Orinoco River. He noted TT has 1.3 million people while Venezuela has 33 million.

"It doesn't matter whose fault it is; Venezuelan problem is for Venezuelans. We are humanitarian, we are caring, we help. But the help TT can give has to be limited. This little island cannot be the solution to millions or hundreds of thousands of migrants leaving Venezuela. And secondly international agencies, many of them with different agendas to our interests in TT, will not encourage us into converting TT, this little island State...into any refugee camp for the larger Venezuelan public."

He continued: "To protect the interests of the people of TT we will have to limit our exposure to the fallout from Venezuela."

He said initially TT allowed the doors to remain open and Venezuelans came and could spend 90 days and return.

"As things got a little worse more of them came and we kept our doors open. But there comes a time when the volume and the presence of these economic migrants in TT will threaten the quality of life of the people of TT. And it falls to us to protect ourselves from that."

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/05/23/pm-tt-not-the-solution-for-millions-of-venezuelan-migrants/

Postby gastly369 » May 23rd, 2019, 5:56 pm

Heard 3 more boats came in this morning .....

Postby zoom rader » May 23rd, 2019, 5:58 pm

hydroep wrote:
PM: TT not the solution for millions of Venezuelan migrants
Julien Neaves

THE PRIME Minister says the migrant policy towards Venezuela will have to be adjusted as TT can only provide limited help.

"As a government we have a responsibility to protect the interest of he people of TT first and foremost. Whatever we feel about the people of Venezuela and their circumstance our first and primary responsibility is to protect the interests of the people of TT."

He was speaking Thursday at the post-Cabinet media briefing at the Diplomatic Centre, Port of Spain.

Rowley said Venezuela is a huge space while TT is a tiny dot on the mouth of the Orinoco River. He noted TT has 1.3 million people while Venezuela has 33 million.

"It doesn't matter whose fault it is; Venezuelan problem is for Venezuelans. We are humanitarian, we are caring, we help. But the help TT can give has to be limited. This little island cannot be the solution to millions or hundreds of thousands of migrants leaving Venezuela. And secondly international agencies, many of them with different agendas to our interests in TT, will not encourage us into converting TT, this little island State...into any refugee camp for the larger Venezuelan public."

He continued: "To protect the interests of the people of TT we will have to limit our exposure to the fallout from Venezuela."

He said initially TT allowed the doors to remain open and Venezuelans came and could spend 90 days and return.

"As things got a little worse more of them came and we kept our doors open. But there comes a time when the volume and the presence of these economic migrants in TT will threaten the quality of life of the people of TT. And it falls to us to protect ourselves from that."

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/05/23/pm-tt-not-the-solution-for-millions-of-venezuelan-migrants/
Bullchit,

In trini the PNM voter bank of Grenada and St Vincent get preferential treatment and access to top services that true trinis can't get access to.