Bank witholding MY money.

Skanky

Bank witholding MY money.

Postby Skanky » April 10th, 2018, 7:59 am

So it goes like this.
I went to the bank the other day to withdraw some of my own money and what I did first was line up at the teller like all the other citizens.
On getting to the teller she asks me what I want my own money for and tells me that in order for me to withdraw money she has to send a request to some internal organization of theirs for permission to disburse funds.

After half hour wait she tells me that I cannot get my own money.All I can get is the TT$ equivalent, a bank draft or wire transfer.

I'm there like WTF you talking bout lady. This is MY money that I want. After begging and quarrelling for my own money for about five minutes I ask to speak to the manager.
After again asking what I want my own money for she proceeds to tell me some BS story about recession and all kinds of reasons why I can't get my own money in cash.

She did say however that the reason they won't give me my money is because I will take it and go change it elsewhere for a better rate and that's why " they won't give you it" in her words.

What allyuh think about this? How do I get my money out of there in cash?

Re: Bank witholding MY money.

Postby hydroep » April 10th, 2018, 8:13 am

Nah, dais BS. File a complaint with the Financial Services Ombudsman.

Other than that see if they're amiable to your withdrawing a little at time until you get what is yours.

1980s here we come...:|

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » April 10th, 2018, 8:13 am

As zoom would say - be careful who u vote for...

Postby pete » April 10th, 2018, 8:38 am

I assume it's a US account? The bank does not have US cash to give out in large quantities so that's why you got that answer.

steverandolph

Postby steverandolph » April 10th, 2018, 8:39 am

racedriverpro wrote:As zoom would say - be careful who u vote for...

Zoomie is a fool. How politics come into banking? You all brainwashed yea.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 10th, 2018, 8:50 am

pete wrote:I assume it's a US account? The bank does not have US cash to give out in large quantities so that's why you got that answer.

This started a long time ago with other financial institutions as well. I remember early in 2015 UTC reps came into work to do a session on our corporate savings plan. Afterwards I just asked them some questions about my personal US$ account and they indicated US withdrawals were capped. I'm sure the daily and weekly limits are much lower now as well. IMO it is rather unfair that having only made deposits in US$ to be told you can only withdraw amounts much smaller than any of the deposits you ever made. However the real question is wwgd??

Even Scotia which allowed you to withdraw US$200 (beginning of 2017) per day at Bank of America ATMs using your ScotiaCard decreased it to US$140/day by November last year. Not sure what they allowing anymore,.

Postby Gem_in_i » April 10th, 2018, 8:52 am

Even with TT dollars I could not get it when I wanted a large amt over the counter.
I was told I had to contact them a few days before I wanted it. So I emailed them through online banking and told them how much I wanted and when I was coming in.
The day I went in the teller had no idea what I was talking abt when I told her that I had emailed my request.
She went to the Manager and the Manager had a copy of my email printed. I then got my money.

Daran

Postby Daran » April 10th, 2018, 9:03 am

Skanky wrote:So it goes like this.
I went to the bank the other day to withdraw some of my own money and what I did First was line up at the teller like all the other Citizens.
On getting to the teller she asks me what I want my own money for and tells me that in order for me to withdraw money she has to send a request to some internal organization of theirs for permission to disburse funds.

After half hour wait she tells me that I cannot get my own money.All I can get is the TT$ equivalent, a bank draft or wire transfer.

I'm there like WTF you talking bout lady. This is MY money that I want. After begging and quarrelling for my own money for about five minutes I ask to speak to the manager.
After again asking what I want my own money for she proceeds to tell me some BS story about recession and all kinds of reasons why I can't get my own money in cash.

She did say however that the reason they won't give me my money is because I will take it and go change it elsewhere for a better rate and that's why " they won't give you it" in her words.

What allyuh think about this? How do I get my money out of there in cash?

US or TTD?

If US you’re out of luck

Skanky

Postby Skanky » April 10th, 2018, 9:15 am

It's a US account and the requested sum was just a few hundred.

Furthermore, they don't know when I may be able to get my money even if I call in and make a request.

They do have the money in house.

Why else would they have had to send the internal request for the disbursement? They would have just said no from the onset.

Postby MaxPower » April 10th, 2018, 9:22 am

I hope the Teller is okay. It really is tough dealing with irate “customers” on a daily basis.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » April 10th, 2018, 9:38 am

The banking cartel can do thiz to you anywhere in the Western world.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 10th, 2018, 10:14 am

As others said if is usd...you hada wait...with utc you have to give them notice that you coming for it...you can't just go and demand it like that..although is "yours"...

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 10th, 2018, 10:16 am

Ask them to kindly not withhold YOUR money

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » April 10th, 2018, 10:44 am

is not your money anymore is d bank money. they just letting you feel you own it :D

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » April 10th, 2018, 11:15 am

Op this is normal procedure now... rbc does want you to give them 2 weeks notice.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » April 10th, 2018, 12:00 pm

Clearly you all are missing the part where I said they HAVE the money but the teller asked for permission and I was denied.

It's not whether they have the money or not(because they do), it's that suddenly after over a decade I don't fit the criteria to get it.

I am clearly being discriminated against with the excuse being recession and US shortage.

I know others who get paid in US and every week walk into other banks and get medium and large quantities of their own money.

Postby Redman » April 10th, 2018, 12:12 pm

wait till you put some USD on fixed deposit-and the expenses are more than the Interest rate.

So you lose 2% per annum.

For giving them USD cash to hold...smh

Postby tr1ad » April 10th, 2018, 12:25 pm

lol...
usd, what you expect

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » April 10th, 2018, 12:35 pm

Is it really your money if the Bank is using it for their investments and loans?
The issue is currency and not money. You can get your money, just not in the currency you prefer.

The stuff about the "better rate elsewhere" is BS and I don't even see how that's relevant.

Postby MaxPower » April 10th, 2018, 12:37 pm

Skanky wrote:Clearly you all are missing the part where I said they HAVE the money but the teller asked for permission and I was denied.

It's not whether they have the money or not(because they do), it's that suddenly after over a decade I don't fit the criteria to get it.

I am clearly being discriminated against with the excuse being recession and US shortage.

I know others who get paid in US and every week walk into other banks and get medium and large quantities of their own money.

Lmao @ locals crying discrimination when they dont get their way.

And remember you a Sufferer, so u cant expect to walk in the bank, rough up the staff and get the usd you want. Take it down a tad and get with the times na.

Real business clients get treated differently by banks based on the arrangements they have. It appears you have a citizen status jealousy....Stop counting their salaries and withdrawals and focus on where you stand in society and what you can do to improve yourself.

Postby Chimera » April 10th, 2018, 12:43 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:Even with TT dollars I could not get it when I wanted a large amt over the counter.
I was told I had to contact them a few days before I wanted it. So I emailed them through online banking and told them how much I wanted and when I was coming in.
The day I went in the teller had no idea what I was talking abt when I told her that I had emailed my request.
She went to the Manager and the Manager had a copy of my email printed. I then got my money.

think of the danger with that

ever so often bank employees including managers are caught stealing funds from customers accounts

so..you email someone a few days in advance to tell them you coming so and so day for that cash

they then tell their bandit friends or family who know that sometime during that day you leaving the bank with a chunk of cash

Postby Chimera » April 10th, 2018, 12:45 pm

MaxPower wrote:Real business clients get treated differently by banks based on the arrangements they have. It appears you have a citizen status jealousy....Stop counting their salaries and withdrawals and focus on where you stand in society and what you can do to improve yourself.

lol you eh see how much BIG companies closing down because they cant get usd?

i know a company that supplying TSTT with products and have to refuse contracts because they cant get USD to pay their suppliers

everyone besides pricesmart and the 1% suffering

Postby Gem_in_i » April 10th, 2018, 1:10 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
Gem_in_i wrote:Even with TT dollars I could not get it when I wanted a large amt over the counter.

think of the danger with that

ever so often bank employees including managers are caught stealing funds from customers accounts

so..you email someone a few days in advance to tell them you coming so and so day for that cash

they then tell their bandit friends or family who know that sometime during that day you leaving the bank with a chunk of cash

Exactly.

They also offer to go behind the counter to check the money and give it to me and offer security to escort to vehicle.

But when you leave after no telling who was tipped off and going follow you or who was lurking around and seeing you go with security and follow you after.

Postby Gladiator » April 10th, 2018, 3:01 pm

Skanky wrote:Clearly you all are missing the part where I said they HAVE the money but the teller asked for permission and I was denied.

Lmao @ locals crying discrimination when they dont get their way.

And remember you a Sufferer, so u cant expect to walk in the bank, rough up the staff and get the usd you want. Take it down a tad and get with the times na.

Real business clients get treated differently by banks based on the arrangements they have. It appears you have a citizen status jealousy....Stop counting their salaries and withdrawals and focus on where you stand in society and what you can do to improve yourself.

LOL if you only knew who you talking to eh....

Postby SR » April 10th, 2018, 8:00 pm

Somthing not adding up with this
US savings account your money is yours to do as you please. Large sum withdrawals you need to make a request in advance so that the branch can have the amount put aside for you or you can go to the main branch that distributes foreign cash to all its branches and conduct your buisness

Postby paid_influencer » April 10th, 2018, 8:04 pm

Gladiator wrote:
LOL if you only knew who you talking to eh....

LOL, tell him nah lol

Postby toyolink » April 10th, 2018, 8:11 pm

SR wrote:Somthing not adding up with this
US savings account your money is yours to do as you please. Large sum withdrawals you need to make a request in advance so that the branch can have the amount put aside for you or you can go to the main branch that distributes foreign cash to all its branches and conduct your buisness

Agreed, but then again banks in T&T keep moving the goal post on their customers and have CSRs blame central bank.
No wonder he who has US$ best keep it home.

Postby SR » April 10th, 2018, 8:21 pm

No has nothing to do with central bank