The official tropical weather thread 2018

Re: The official tropical weather thread 2018

Postby sMASH » October 23rd, 2018, 10:10 am

If the people had littered and then before the rainy season, the courses were dredged, woukd the litter still have had an impact?

Postby aaron17 » October 23rd, 2018, 10:21 am

K74T wrote:Image

Can that pic be sent to the TTPS?

Postby aaron17 » October 23rd, 2018, 10:22 am

I just donated 5 cases of water to TraffikSpotters TT so far. I doing what I can help.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 23rd, 2018, 10:23 am

sMASH wrote:If the people had littered and then before the rainy season, the courses were dredged, woukd the litter still have had an impact?

from the amount of garbage seen in the flood I doubt all was dredged and removed

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 23rd, 2018, 10:26 am

Les Bain wrote:This "fake news" claiming bandwagon real annoying. You're categorically denying something because of your unjustifiable pride and ego. What's wrong with saying you find a particular thing or statement difficult to believe? You'll look and feel like less of an ass when you're proven wrong.

Or just say "no reports of X have come to the authorities as yet, but we will surely look into it"

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 23rd, 2018, 10:30 am

redmanjp wrote:
No_Name wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ the flood did a better job at collecting garbage than the Borough Corporation!

Well said Duane...!!!

Basically it's like nature collected the garbage from diff areas & placed it in one, for our dumb, lazy backsides Corp / County Council / Cepep humans that just can't seem to get it right...
(notice ah didn't say workers in all instances ah, cause if yuh cya perform yuh Job-D to d best of yr ability, yuh iz just a wasteful pleb)...

But we can't deny the root cause- the litter bugs themselves! I wish to tell them that they have contributed (not caused as the rain was plenty) to not just massive million dollar losses but this time the near loss of life! These ppl should be charged with manslaughter if anyone died! Also those who destroyed any levys along the rivers and those burning down the hills
yes these are the root causes, but unfortunately it will take a generation to change that mindset. Anyone dotish enough to litter has no chance of reforming, we have to hope they don't pass it on to their progeny.

rebound

Postby rebound » October 23rd, 2018, 10:44 am

aaron17 wrote:

Can that pic be sent to the TTPS?
I think litter wardens are authorized to track down people suspected of littering..I would call to comfirm and forward this pic..

Mr President

Postby Mr President » October 23rd, 2018, 11:53 am

littering is a major problem but the nation's waterways need to be upgraded to match the pace of construction and then there are areas that because of the topography water will simply settle and it will flood. these areas need to upgrade and maintain the network of pumps to divert the water elsewhere

kbb

Postby kbb » October 23rd, 2018, 12:03 pm

send those pics of littering to the TTPS. They can find that person and charge them

Postby Ben_spanna » October 23rd, 2018, 1:10 pm

Some Trinis really are not worthy of life or having a nice island to live on...…….. what a stupid piece of sh1t...……….. I hope HE doesn't not get ANY compensation.

Postby K74T » October 23rd, 2018, 1:32 pm

Postby K74T » October 23rd, 2018, 1:34 pm

Didn’t want to put those posts in this thread but it shows one of the main causes of flooding

Kish

Postby Kish » October 23rd, 2018, 1:45 pm

My word. The littering fines need to be scaled up drastically for anyone to take it seriously. Also we need to actively seek out and prosecute those guilty of littering. *wishful thinking*

rebound

Postby rebound » October 23rd, 2018, 1:55 pm

K74T wrote:Didn’t want to put those posts in this thread but it shows one of the main causes of flooding
Expose them bro...we have to do something..

Postby aaron17 » October 23rd, 2018, 1:56 pm

Did you give the pics to authorities yet?

"100 percent increase in litter penalties"

Postby K74T » October 23rd, 2018, 2:08 pm

Hoping those that made those FB posts did.

Postby matr1x » October 23rd, 2018, 2:11 pm

Dem real nasty

antlind

Postby antlind » October 23rd, 2018, 2:11 pm

Let’s hope that the litter police have a better success rate than the regular police.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 23rd, 2018, 2:12 pm

I would like to know if the removal of that debris was part of a volunteer effort or if Kallco is being paid out of the emergency fund for the removal of debris and doing that to make some money quicker. I have worked with them before and I can neither confirm nor deny that they would do something like that.

zorced

Postby zorced » October 23rd, 2018, 2:25 pm

What is this reality Trinidad in? People mental out here :|
They just don't have any sense of consequence.
What would happen without cameras?

Postby hydroep » October 23rd, 2018, 2:35 pm

For wickedness some people should collect all the rubbish, find out where the perpetrators living and dump it in their front yard... :twisted:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 23rd, 2018, 2:36 pm

zorced wrote:What would happen without cameras?

they doing it with or without cameras!

Disgusting and stupid

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » October 23rd, 2018, 3:19 pm

Its sad cause when you think we’d learn from it, we continue to exhibit the same 5 day memory

Postby Dizzy28 » October 23rd, 2018, 3:34 pm

So there is a story on CNC 3 where they interviewed a Greenvale resident. His calls for government assistance go beyond the grants currently available and he even stated Government should assist with vehicles. I caught part of the interview where he said he would like Government to buy the damaged furniture and used his $10,000 bed as an example. There are a lot of comments on the video now as well both agreeing and disagreeing with the guy

What you all think should be a fair assistance package to citizens? [not using residents because I can only hope for equity's sake all the other areas are compensated - Kelly, Madras, St Helena, Sangre Grande, Mayaro etc.]

Postby toyolink » October 23rd, 2018, 3:52 pm

Look out the next stage after love, caring and a sense of humanity may very well be discontent, anger and greed.
Why must behavior be so negatively predictable.

Postby pugboy » October 23rd, 2018, 4:31 pm

Maybe one day the police or some authority will take litter reports seriously and go after perpetrators just like speeding tickets.
As it is now if you go to a police station with evidence you will be laughed out the door.

rebound

Postby rebound » October 23rd, 2018, 4:35 pm

The way things are now, if the littering can bring in more revenue than speeding, trust me litterers in trouble.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 23rd, 2018, 4:48 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:So there is a story on CNC 3 where they interviewed a Greenvale resident. His calls for government assistance go beyond the grants currently available and he even stated Government should assist with vehicles. I caught part of the interview where he said he would like Government to buy the damaged furniture and used his $10,000 bed as an example. There are a lot of comments on the video now as well both agreeing and disagreeing with the guy

What you all think should be a fair assistance package to citizens? [not using residents because I can only hope for equity's sake all the other areas are compensated - Kelly, Madras, St Helena, Sangre Grande, Mayaro etc.]

It would be great if they had a program where they could provide cheap but durable mas produced furniture. Treated ply bed frames with wooden bracing and bolted angle iron connections and a simple foam matress. Treated ply tables with a simple finish with 4x4 legs. Chairs could be plastic or different options depending on price plus a $10,000 to $15,000 one time payout to buy some basic appliances like fridge, stove and washing machine and use on what they see as fit. A taxi driver might use $5000 to fix his car while a doubles man might use the same $5000 to buy new cooking equipment. Surely some idiot will use $5000 to buy a fresh jordans but at the end of the day it's his choice.

The payout might end up equating to like $25,000 per household. It might sound like a lot but there are certain comforts that everyone deserves. A place to sleep, somewhere to make food and a place to eat. Those basic things should be restored at the very least.

I know there is a lot of room for improvement on those ideas (lots of room for corruption depending on who gets the contract to supply the goods) so take those suggestions with a pinch of salt. I would not mind my tax dollars going to help out flood victims.

aidan

Postby aidan » October 23rd, 2018, 4:48 pm

toyolink wrote:Look out the next stage after love, caring and a sense of humanity may very well be discontent, anger and greed.
Why must behavior be so negatively predictable.
Agree with you here

Postby Slartibartfast » October 23rd, 2018, 4:49 pm

rebound wrote:The way things are now, if the littering can bring in more revenue than speeding, trust me litterers in trouble.

Has anyone looked into setting up litter traps? :shock: :lol: