Video games bringing violence to homes

Sōsuke Aizen

Video games bringing violence to homes

Postby Sōsuke Aizen » April 22nd, 2018, 8:23 pm

Secretary of the Psychiatrists Association of Trinidad and Tobago Dr Varma Deyalsingh has observed that children are experiencing more emotional problems than previous generations and advises parents to learn when to seek help from trained social workers and counsellors.

http://newsday.co.tt/2018/04/22/video-g ... nto-homes/

No statistics, no references, no facts and this man just correlate violence to video games. I been playing violent video games for years and I turned out fine. What bullchit did I read?
Why don't they get rid of that garbage alkaline, popcaan, etc nonsense that encourage youths to live the thug lifestyle. Why don't they flush the chit hole communities of T&T? (beetham, maloney, la horquetta, edinburgh etc.) Maybe that would help the situation.
I hate ghetto people.

Re: Video games bringing violence to homes

Postby rspann » April 22nd, 2018, 8:40 pm

That headline is very misleading. If you read what he said ,its totally different. He says that nothing is wrong with the games itself ,and it wouldnt affect some, but the ones that are pte-disposed and who have issues, to them its a problem.

Agree with your position on the music and music videos though. Anybody ever notice that even a lot of the children tv shows ,disney etc, is only one set of hyper/ bad behaviour?

Sundar

Postby Sundar » April 23rd, 2018, 8:00 am

Spot on.

Daran

Postby Daran » April 23rd, 2018, 8:05 am

Don't blame the games. Blame poor parenting. Though there may be a correlation with escaping into games and those with emotional issues.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » April 23rd, 2018, 8:13 am

rspann wrote:That headline is very misleading. If you read what he said ,its totally different. He says that nothing is wrong with the games itself ,and it wouldnt affect some, but the ones that are pte-disposed and who have issues, to them its a problem.

Agree with your position on the music and music videos though. Anybody ever notice that even a lot of the children tv shows ,disney etc, is only one set of hyper/ bad behaviour?
Yea it's true..my daughter banned from tv for a while until she unlearns what we exposed her to. TV won't be introduced. I'll be downloading/buying learning material for her.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 23rd, 2018, 8:19 am

racedriverpro wrote:
rspann wrote:That headline is very misleading. If you read what he said ,its totally different. He says that nothing is wrong with the games itself ,and it wouldnt affect some, but the ones that are pte-disposed and who have issues, to them its a problem.

Yea it's true..my daughter banned from tv for a while until she unlearns what we exposed her to. TV won't be introduced. I'll be downloading/buying learning material for her.

How old is your daughter?

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » April 23rd, 2018, 8:24 am

Mark007

Postby Mark007 » April 23rd, 2018, 8:53 am

From GTA we learn that respect is everything..

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 23rd, 2018, 10:52 am

racedriverpro wrote:4

So are mine

So no screen at all for your daughter?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 23rd, 2018, 11:22 am

Proper parenting is the only solution ....doh place blame on anything else...

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » April 23rd, 2018, 11:41 am

racedriverpro wrote:4

So are mine

So no screen at all for your daughter?
Not right now...she is on punishment. Have to learn that their are consequences for bad behavior, which is our fault since we are responsible for what she is exposed to via tv at home.

When she is allowed to watch TV next it will be more controlled.

Children these days get really addicted to to these media so it must be monitored and addressed from as early as possible. Alot of negatives in those cartoons and shows exposing children to certain material prematurely.

abbow

Postby abbow » April 23rd, 2018, 11:44 am

bad parenting, yes but shite like Walking Dead and all these super-violent shows......its helping us become even more violent...and yes some of the shows are available as games too

Postby Redman » April 23rd, 2018, 12:24 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Proper parenting is the only solution ....doh place blame on anything else...

x1000

My 8 yo son is well aware of most of the 4 letter words, is fully engaged into Call of Duty, WWE,Uncharted and whatever is the gangster game he plays by his cousins...for a couple years now.....he is yet to act out any violence or use any of the language that is used in these games.

We watched Fastest Car together....and whatever movies we can get away with when the mother aint listening.

ENGAGED parenting is the key.Contextualizing all the stuff in the way kids are exposed to...
He knows time and place.

Parents develop issues when they use the gadgets as babysitters and foster parents.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 23rd, 2018, 12:39 pm

I still doh get how parents these days have children from 3-5 addicted to ipads etc etc...waeva happen to go outside and play...there are so many negative health effects associated to that exposure at that age

Postby Morpheus » April 23rd, 2018, 12:48 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I still doh get how parents these days have children from 3-5 addicted to ipads etc etc...waeva happen to go outside and play...there are so many negative health effects associated to that exposure at that age
Yeah I agree but also nowadays they need even more supervision outside as well. You can't go inside and cook and leave your children outside like before nah, is either somebody touch them or they go missing entirely. Times have changed in that respect unfortunately

Moobs

Postby Moobs » April 23rd, 2018, 1:56 pm

Hopefully Imbert increase taxes on video games, so the children can be protected from these "negative influences"...
Last edited by Moobs on April 23rd, 2018, 1:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby timelapse » April 23rd, 2018, 1:57 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I still doh get how parents these days have children from 3-5 addicted to ipads etc etc...waeva happen to go outside and play...there are so many negative health effects associated to that exposure at that age

They want to encourage eye problems and sleeping disorders when they get older.Best parents ever

Postby 88sins » April 23rd, 2018, 2:09 pm

ppl discovered a kid would sit down, shut up & bug his parents less if he has something interesting to look at & play with.
the digital display is the new babysitter.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 23rd, 2018, 3:14 pm

ppl discovered a kid would sit down, shut up & bug his parents less if he has something interesting to look at & play with.

Not me nah...back in the day children got by just fine without it...I doh see the complication these days...

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » April 23rd, 2018, 3:22 pm

i think addiction to these devices is a genuine issue. people think only drug addiction is a problem but any form of addiction is an issue. when you take away these things from kids they behave as if they are in withdrawal. the arguement that video games begets violence is absolute nonsense as was the concern when tv was first intruduced and before that fantasy novels and so on and so on. parents need to stop relying on these things to keep their children quiet and actually do things with them.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » April 23rd, 2018, 3:30 pm

cueball1990 wrote:

i think addiction to these devices is a genuine issue. people think only drug addiction is a problem but any form of addiction is an issue. when you take away these things from kids they behave as if they are in withdrawal. the arguement that video games begets violence is absolute nonsense as was the concern when tv was first intruduced and before that fantasy novels and so on and so on. parents need to stop relying on these things to keep their children quiet and actually do things with them.
Basically...

Postby 88sins » April 23rd, 2018, 5:57 pm

making kite with cocoyea & flour paste & climbing trees & playing pitch, etc, dem ting done.
Little boys these days don't have boy days anymore.

Postby Les Bain » April 23rd, 2018, 7:06 pm

Times have changed. In my teens there were many low or no tech activities in just going somewhere. See the cousins, go arcade, meet up with the fellas and just take a walk somewhere. There were many green spaces in arima to go: take in a river, lime by the velodrome and watch chicks, find a bushy spot to smoke the cigarettes that weren't yet prohibited being sold to minors since they assumed your parent sent you...

And I sure the cool kids or the ones with more money to knock about had something way better to do. Place was definitely safer. Place also wasnt densely populated so there were lots of areas to explore.

Now as an adult I look at the neighborhood and there isn't much apparent opportunity for the boy day experience of past days. Neighborhood is an off location so picking yourself up and going anywhere is out of the question. Its also a new community so a lot of things established communities enjoy are not in place yet. The youngsters mainly into football and small pockets of children ride their bikes. The teenagers congregate in front somebody's house. Lord knows what the odd kids are into. Probably eff around on the internet on some digital device.

Can't just throw general blame at devices for replacing the fun activities the older generation used to enjoy. This isn't the Trinidad of your childhood.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 23rd, 2018, 10:34 pm

The whole video games causes violence myth has been proven false since the early 90's

Sundar

Postby Sundar » April 24th, 2018, 7:25 am

Sometimes it's cause the parents themselves are nose deep in their devices and ignore the child to the point that they just buy one for them and everyone zone off

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » April 24th, 2018, 5:47 pm

But it is true.
Video games have historically always been the cause of violence in home/school/etc.

Columbus and Alexander the great and Cortes and them boys them used to real pong COD/Battlefield/Dark Souls/Doom/Age of Empires/Need for Speed and watch chit like Game of Thrones/Vikings/etc

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 24th, 2018, 6:01 pm

Remember back in the 90's when Mortal Kombat first came out in the Arcades all the dip sh!t psychologists out of nowhere came and said that Mortal Kombat was the cause of violence among kids even though the same violence existed even before Mortal Kombat came out? For no other reason than their 15 minute of fame all the dip sh!ts came out from under their rock and claimed video games is the cause of all our problems.

And before that they blamed violence on movies. And before that? who even knows they probably blamed it on Lions and Crocodiles. All the failed parents and dip sh!t experts could never seem to know where to put the blame, too afriad to admit their failed parenting

Zetski

Postby Zetski » April 24th, 2018, 7:22 pm

Pretty sure kids learn more from video games than they do at school.. it improves your thinking, ability to multitask, reaction time, concentration and teaches street knowledge.

For example you have a child that watches TV vs a child who plays video games:
Child who watches TV is just absorbing information.
Child who plays video games always have to be on edge cuz they always looking around for the enemy and their hand/eye co-ordination have to be on point if they want to execute the mission.

Child who watches TV more likely to be violent than child who plays video games since said child will throw a fit and rage every time they die to the enemy and will work to be better so the mistake does not happen again thus releasing their tendency to become violent.

Video games relieves stress.

Postby rspann » April 24th, 2018, 7:48 pm

Actually , I beg to differ. My second son ,when he was younger, began having breathing problems. He used to gasp suddenly and his heart would race and his stomach muscles twitch uncontrollably. We took him to a paediatric specialist who found nothing wrong. She did many tests and reassured that he was ok,but it didn't stop. After two visits, she asked if he played videogames. Actually that was his middle name. She advised that we make him take a break from it. He returned to normal after a few weeks. She said that the anticipation, the flashing lights and excitement of the games cause hyperventilating and in some cases epileptic fits or seizures. He never had further problems.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 24th, 2018, 8:13 pm

^ Well that case is very much different a very tiny percentage of the population suffers from a disorder like that.