Vendors Kicked out - Maracas & Las Cuevas??

Postby bluefete » April 23rd, 2018, 2:55 pm

No more bake and shark for the immediate future?

Anyone has news on this.

It seems that the new Tourism Ministry kicked out all the bake and shark vendors from Maracas beach this morning and the small restaurant vendor in Las Cuevas was also kicked out on Friday gone.

Cantmis

Re: Vendors Kicked out - Maracas & Las Cuevas??

Postby Cantmis » April 23rd, 2018, 3:00 pm

Good job

Mark007

Postby Mark007 » April 23rd, 2018, 3:03 pm

You mean no more Richard's? :shock:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 23rd, 2018, 3:09 pm

Oh well

Postby pugboy » April 23rd, 2018, 3:12 pm

They should be locked up for fraud
The signs should say bake and catfish not shark

Postby K74T » April 23rd, 2018, 3:43 pm

Mark007 wrote:You mean no more Richard's? :shock:

Richard’s is and was always overrated.

Postby De Dragon » April 23rd, 2018, 3:48 pm

K74T wrote:
Mark007 wrote:You mean no more Richard's? :shock:

Richard’s is and was always overrated.

Maybe, but the draw to Maracas for the touristas is the beach and a bake and "shark"

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » April 23rd, 2018, 3:55 pm

Uncle Sam always have bake and shark. Plus I feel is to make the vendors pay to rent the newly built sheds instead of camping out on the sand

Postby skylinechild » April 23rd, 2018, 3:55 pm

why the removal of the vendors... they not paying rent ??? they not complying with the rules ????

Postby pugboy » April 23rd, 2018, 4:03 pm

why should they pay a rent ?

do the savannah food vendors pay a rent ?
they are doing us a favour by attracting tourists to eat the local fare

we should be paying them to be there

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 23rd, 2018, 4:14 pm

pugboy wrote:They should be locked up for fraud

I dunno others but i can talk for Richards. He's there weekly buying his shark at the seafood warehouse and processing plant in Freeport.

Postby skylinechild » April 23rd, 2018, 4:23 pm

pugboy wrote:why should they pay a rent ?

do the savannah food vendors put up a semi permanent fixure in the form of a building and such ?? not a foldable 10X 10 tent eah.
do they have a T&TEC connection and such ?? do they have running water and such .???

the vendors should pay a rent cause their fixture is of a permanent type... ie building etc
they dont own / maintain the building they use.
in addition they are using electricity and water & also have to dispose of unwanted waste.

electricity and water and waste removal costs money.... which has to be paid.

AFAIK they dont walk with their own generators or solar cells and they dont pay an electric bill on their own the ministry of tourism pays for it.

so while i agree they should pay a rent, the rent should be small and not an exorbitant amount as we want to attract business & tourism there and not prevent it.

Postby black start » April 23rd, 2018, 5:09 pm

rmrunner wrote:Uncle Sam always have bake and shark.

Basically...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 23rd, 2018, 5:12 pm

Blame tanty?

Daran

Postby Daran » April 23rd, 2018, 5:41 pm

Thanks pnm

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » April 23rd, 2018, 5:52 pm

Tax them!

Postby sMASH » April 23rd, 2018, 5:53 pm

Well. When they ready to cough up the rent they would go back..

Until then walk with Ur own refreshments

mragoobir

Postby mragoobir » April 23rd, 2018, 6:22 pm

Saucy paw!!affected?

screwbash

Postby screwbash » April 23rd, 2018, 6:32 pm

make way for the 1% brands - KEFFSEE, SUBWAZE,RICHUALS ETC.. and a TOTAL BAN on bringing your own food an drinks to the beach an making cook.

Postby hydroep » April 23rd, 2018, 6:40 pm

screwbash wrote:make way for the 1% brands - KEFFSEE, SUBWAZE,RICHUALS ETC.. and a TOTAL BAN on bringing your own food an drinks to the beach an making cook.

Was thinking the same thing but not so much with the brands unless they're adding shark and bake to their menus. They'll probably start up some new shark and bake/seafood "franchise" or get their own people to run traditional-type huts.

Expect to pay 1% prices too...:|

DTAC

Postby DTAC » April 23rd, 2018, 6:54 pm

hydroep wrote:
screwbash wrote:make way for the 1% brands - KEFFSEE, SUBWAZE,RICHUALS ETC.. and a TOTAL BAN on bringing your own food an drinks to the beach an making cook.

Was thinking the same thing but not so much with the brands unless they're adding shark and bake to their menus. They'll probably start up some new shark and bake/seafood "franchise" or get their own people to run traditional-type huts.

Which Trinis will do without a second thought.

Postby sMASH » April 23rd, 2018, 7:07 pm

trini- 'cyar eat de money, wygd'
1%- *chi ching!*

Postby pugboy » April 23rd, 2018, 7:22 pm

I think we were tested on sarcasm in school

skylinechild wrote:
pugboy wrote:why should they pay a rent ?

do the savannah food vendors put up a semi permanent fixure in the form of a building and such ?? not a foldable 10X 10 tent eah.
do they have a T&TEC connection and such ?? do they have running water and such .???

the vendors should pay a rent cause their fixture is of a permanent type... ie building etc
they dont own / maintain the building they use.
in addition they are using electricity and water & also have to dispose of unwanted waste.

electricity and water and waste removal costs money.... which has to be paid.

AFAIK they dont walk with their own generators or solar cells and they dont pay an electric bill on their own the ministry of tourism pays for it.

so while i agree they should pay a rent, the rent should be small and not an exorbitant amount as we want to attract business & tourism there and not prevent it.

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 23rd, 2018, 7:58 pm

I er believe trini's that dotish

I want to believe that they got kicked out because they want to construct better facilities for food so they demolishing the old infrastructure.

Maybe Im just naive

vtec-ghost

Postby vtec-ghost » April 23rd, 2018, 10:53 pm

nick639v2 wrote:
pugboy wrote:They should be locked up for fraud

I dunno others but i can talk for Richards. He's there weekly buying his shark at the seafood warehouse and processing plant in Freeport.

for real?
Last time, about a month ago, when i went and bought from Richards, it definitely was not shark. It was a rubbery type of fish and had a a different color - somewhat kind of a hint of brown.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 23rd, 2018, 11:00 pm

Who knows. When stocks low they prob selling sheit, but atleast i would faster trust his stall cuz i see him buying the shark meat

screwbash

Postby screwbash » April 24th, 2018, 5:07 am

nick639v2 wrote:Who knows. When stocks low they prob selling sheit, but atleast i would faster trust his stall cuz i see him buying the shark meat

the hammerhead shark you see richards order up by the fishing village and others is for the Richards (father) catering business, the son runs the richards on the beach, the shark you see doesnt reach the beach.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » April 24th, 2018, 5:17 am

hydroep wrote:

look at the infrastructure now, think about zanzeebar / lure now imagine a nice beach front area with deck serving drinks, food etc, a few hagin dass ice cream shops, a few gyro men. think about the night life that can be created up maracas and the $$$ generated for the 1%.
beach.jpg

Postby pugboy » April 24th, 2018, 5:44 am

i personally have asked and also friends have asked up front when buying and gotten a shakehead answer.................

Other can ask and see

faster the better

Postby faster the better » April 25th, 2018, 8:53 am

It was actually ministry of health officials that closed the stalls because of the condition. the stalls they occupy atm was supposed to be a temporary thing, it has been months already that tourism ministry has been putting off the giving out of the new sheds.

Sent from my E6653 using Tapatalk