Massy Stores to charge 50 cents for plastic bags from July 4...

Re: Massy Stores to charge 50 cents for plastic bags from July 4...

Postby Gem_in_i » July 21st, 2018, 4:51 pm

aaron17 wrote:I learn something day....put sizable laundry basket in trunk to fit items and prevent from much moving.

I used a basket for my work books etc too.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 21st, 2018, 7:18 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Oh hai guize

Chinee grocery crew checking in

I only use Xtra and JTA for items that Chin doesn't carry. Massy when feeling for a convenient piece of Angus steak, or at Christmas time when I get vouchers.
Same here

I would pass in thr chinee grocery for the basics. It have 2 walking distance and 7 total in my area.

They have all the main stuff.

I may pass in massy/xtra/tru for the hard to get item or specialty item that isnt available in my area.

Tbh

I havent visited any of those big grocery in months....

Contemplating to start using hub box

Postby Rovin » July 21st, 2018, 7:29 pm

so i went in this evening at chaguanas branch to buy bread only [i walk with my bag] & i see over d cashiers have a big tv with a video showing ocean plastic islands in d world

so i guess dise what massy trying to convince d public they trying to their part to save d world ....

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 23rd, 2018, 2:00 pm

Rovin's Audio wrote:here in chaguanas too ^^^ they still have their customers who will buy no matter what but this bag ting back fired badly on them

meanwhile in price club it always have ppl , better prices , more variety , wider isles - whole store is about 4-5 times bigger , plenty parking , discount card etc .... ah sounding like a free ad for them but its d truth

price club need to come up north.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 23rd, 2018, 2:03 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Oh hai guize

Chinee grocery crew checking in

I only use Xtra and JTA for items that Chin doesn't carry. Massy when feeling for a convenient piece of Angus steak, or at Christmas time when I get vouchers.

as yuh talking bout vouchers...let me go an cash in mine quickly. Now if xTra Foods could only start a points programme...

Postby Rovin » August 4th, 2018, 11:01 am

well well .......

Postby hydroep » August 4th, 2018, 3:05 pm

^Froggy is lagniappe gyul...:lol:

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » August 4th, 2018, 5:05 pm

Rovin's Audio wrote:well well .......

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 5th, 2018, 5:49 am

Really that is not massy fault. that could happen anywhere

Postby sMASH » August 5th, 2018, 8:33 am

sashimi forg.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 7th, 2018, 7:37 am

hong kong phooey wrote:Really that is not massy fault. that could happen anywhere

I have bought water cress in Tunapuna Market that had an entire frog egg mass (the one in the jelly like blob) within the water cress. With fresh veges anything can happen.

Postby sMASH » March 31st, 2019, 8:40 pm

Mind numbing, what the massey shopper encourages
IMG-20190331-WA0000.jpeg

Postby Rovin » March 31st, 2019, 9:22 pm

ahh boi tuners on d ball , i come to see if anybody posted it up .... ^^^^

Postby pugboy » March 31st, 2019, 9:52 pm

Ent it have men selling peeled orange on roadside in plastic bags too ?

Postby Gladiator » March 31st, 2019, 10:02 pm

pugboy wrote:Ent it have men selling peeled orange on roadside in plastic bags too ?

You missing the point ... they not holding a false marketing campaign and telling people they care about the environment so they now have to pay for plastic and reusable bags!!!

Postby pugboy » March 31st, 2019, 10:17 pm

So you are saying that by claiming to care about the environment and stopping the cashier bags
They are being hypocritical by still having stuff utilizing plastics?

If they had done like pricesmart and simply said that no plastic bags gonna be provided would the public sentiments be the same?

Gladiator wrote:
pugboy wrote:Ent it have men selling peeled orange on roadside in plastic bags too ?

You missing the point ... they not holding a false marketing campaign and telling people they care about the environment so they now have to pay for plastic and reusable bags!!!

Postby Gladiator » March 31st, 2019, 10:45 pm

pugboy wrote:So you are saying that by claiming to care about the environment and stopping the cashier bags
They are being hypocritical by still having stuff utilizing plastics?

If they had done like pricesmart and simply said that no plastic bags gonna be provided would the public sentiments be the same?

Gladiator wrote:

The answer is no...the public would have been less critical... They would have held their credibility and maintain customer confidence in their brand if they did it like pricesmart.

Postby pugboy » April 1st, 2019, 6:05 am

so it was a pr problem really then that pissed off ppl
because I am sure the guy selling oranges or shrimps more than factors a 50c bag in his sales price at the end of theday.

Postby MaxPower » April 1st, 2019, 6:20 am

Hmmmm Massy always full with customers though.

Is only sufferers beating up and crying.

Postby Les Bain » April 1st, 2019, 6:55 am

This not as ridiculous as when Massy was selling one sliced salad tomato in a shrinkwrapped package but guess what? They not jamming it in your cart and if they notice it remaining on the shelves, is a failed product that won't sell again.

And people still frothy about the bags? I get so much free bags off the points since this initiative start, it eh funny.

Postby teems1 » April 1st, 2019, 11:01 am

sMASH wrote:Mind numbing, what the massey shopper encourages IMG-20190331-WA0000.jpeg

Could be catering for the customer with severe Parkinson's or Rheumatoid arthritis?

zorced

Postby zorced » April 1st, 2019, 5:10 pm

SMH
Not too long ago I saw them selling HALF a Zaboca like that too.

Postby pugboy » April 1st, 2019, 5:32 pm

it have plenty ppl who dont cook or have limited food prep time/skills or just dont eat much in quantity

Postby paid_influencer » April 1st, 2019, 5:34 pm

teems1 get it correct. having pre-cut items for sale helps many elderly people's quality of life in a very real way.

just because you personally doh need it, doh mean it doh have a use.

Postby sMASH » April 1st, 2019, 6:26 pm

real parkinsons people need the zaboca cut in half.

Postby adnj » April 1st, 2019, 8:10 pm

Prepped food is also a means to sell damaged or near expiration items.
Old delicatessen meat and cheese - deli sandwiches
Old chicken - roast chicken
Bruised fruits - fruit salads
Old bread - soup stock
Old beverages -free samples

Postby maj. tom » April 1st, 2019, 8:45 pm

I like how everybody missing the point how Massy on one hand talking about environment, but on the other hand changed absolutely nothing to reduce pollution with respect styrofoam and plastics that they use in their own products. Who arguing about the old people product? So it doesn't have biodegradable paper and resin packaging alternatives? They push the plastic bag thing and then created 10 times more pollution with their in-store policies. They can't package the 3 currants roll in a blasted paper bag, instead of a polystyrene tray wrapped in clear plastic? Your great, great 1000 times great grandchildren going to be finding that sheit still in the drinking water when they make children.

The world of corporate BS that everyone does fall for eh. Massy ain't give 2 sewer pipe about the environment. And trust me, they're really not catering for the very tiny percentage of the population that has Parkinson's and arthritis. You searched until you could find a moral and ethical excuse for that pollution, thinking that no corporation would do something so stink... but you know it's also the furthest from the truth. All for the $$$$ that they could save by marketing expired products to lazy, stupid people.

Postby pugboy » April 1st, 2019, 9:02 pm

so should have gone totally plastic free all in one shot ?

Postby pugboy » April 1st, 2019, 9:05 pm

the "banded" 2 for 1 stuff is always close expiry
but its the supplier company who usually handles that and reimburses the supermarket accordingly.

adnj wrote:Prepped food is also a means to sell damaged or near expiration items.
Old delicatessen meat and cheese - deli sandwiches
Old chicken - roast chicken
Bruised fruits - fruit salads
Old bread - soup stock
Old beverages -free samples

Postby maj. tom » April 1st, 2019, 9:09 pm

But here's a question...have they done anything at all actually besides make you pay more for plastic bags? They announced any plans to phase out the garbage they're producing in stages? They even made an attempt 6 months or a year later and said that they're cutting out styrofoam from their in-house packaging and introducing better eco-friendly alternatives? And then they'll announce plastic wrapping in another 6 months?

The ridiculous stuff that you see packed like the clementines and avocados... and soon bananas, are simply because the skin turned and didn't look appealing to the consumer. So the manager "invented" a new way to sell something that they have to discard very soon and lose money. This is common is many groceries abroad. Google "pre-peeled bananas grocery." They're not going to get refunded from the supplier for unsold organic products like that, but it's different with expired packaged products like Kiss bread and juices, etc.

It's always about $$$ and profits. Nothing else. They really do not care about the environment. That was just another marketing ploy and they increased their profits.
Last edited by maj. tom on April 1st, 2019, 9:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.