Massy Stores to charge 50 cents for plastic bags from July 4...

Re: Massy Stores to charge 50 cents for plastic bags from July 4...

Postby zoom rader » August 14th, 2019, 1:12 pm

maj. tom wrote:nah boy support a local bakery and their workers. I found a place in Felicity that makes the softest, most amazing bread. Was just passing one day and saw the place and decided to try it. Can't really tell you where exactly, but it's going north on Cacandee Rd right near a grocery, on the right side. Close to the primary school.
I wish more folk do the same

We need to support local bussines especially family run establishments.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 14th, 2019, 1:15 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:
Rovin wrote:yep they wont admit d whole environment ting didnt work out in a banana republic like ours

i too buy their bread because of location & convenience here in chaguanas , its within walking distance from me & i rather it than kiss airfill bread ....

hoss, buy ah breakmaker- they not that expensive, easy to use and you know exactly whats going into your own bread, much less preservatives and it fresh all the time.

Seriously!
breadmaker is the flick. Even mixes dough for homemade pizza

Postby Rovin » August 14th, 2019, 2:01 pm

maj. tom wrote:nah boy support a local bakery and their workers. I found a place in Felicity that makes the softest, most amazing bread. Was just passing one day and saw the place and decided to try it. Can't really tell you where exactly, but it's going north on Cacandee Rd right near a grocery, on the right side. Close to the primary school.

yes i know that place , wud have to go out of my way to go there but i tried it a few times , maybe i went at a time when stocks were low since it didnt have much on display , it was arite

remember hilo have workers employed too eh so at least workers getting a lil wuk ....

Postby pugboy » August 14th, 2019, 3:08 pm

So what is the reason for going back to giving a plastic bag?
It would appear to be contrary to the original environmental reason to stop giving them out.

Postby Slartibartfast » August 14th, 2019, 3:10 pm

hydroep wrote:Free bag sharing today...50 cent coupon on bill. White, plastic - nice and thick too, reusable quality. Get 'em while they're hot..:lol:

Started charging people for plastic bags to help the environment

Start giving people free plastic bags to help the customer

Who was the genius that came up with this? They trying to eat their cake and have it too :lol:

Why not just use paper bags though? I think the technology exists. Even the massy employees know it's a cash grab when you talk to them.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 14th, 2019, 3:43 pm

I does miss da paper bag to put your fry chicken to soak up d oil

death365

Postby death365 » August 14th, 2019, 4:38 pm

It hard to determine but in my layman’s view ... much less people go now like bout 30%.

Again I don’t kno is the sales figures suggest the same

Postby MaxPower » August 14th, 2019, 4:53 pm

bluefete wrote:
bluefete wrote:Well boy, I almost collapse today when I saw them pull out a plastic bag to put my goods in.

I quickly had to ask the girl if they were charging me because I get used to walking out of Massy with my groceries in my hands.

She said "no". My bill did show a 0.50c free plastic bag promo.

When the promo done, I going back to walking out with meh groceries in meh hands!

hydroep wrote:Free bag sharing today...50 cent coupon on bill. White, plastic - nice and thick too, reusable quality. Get 'em while they're hot..:lol:

Why are you spending your money at 1% establishments?

Ah duz buy hops bread from dem!! :oops: :oops: :oops:

Please support local people nah. These 1% do not deserve your money

Local people service and products stink....most of it.

Its simple....sufferers STAY OUT of these establishments.

Postby bluefete » August 14th, 2019, 5:45 pm

pugboy wrote:So what is the reason for going back to giving a plastic bag?
It would appear to be contrary to the original environmental reason to stop giving them out.

death365 wrote:It hard to determine but in my layman’s view ... much less people go now like bout 30%.

Again I don’t kno is the sales figures suggest the same

h1tach1

Postby h1tach1 » August 14th, 2019, 8:22 pm

I like the 1 free bag, especially if you drop in to get some small items and don't have your reusable with you. This has happened to me more than once. However, if the bag is not biodegradable then it defeats the purpose of being environmentally friendly.

Postby zoom rader » August 14th, 2019, 8:46 pm

bluefete wrote:
bluefete wrote:Well boy, I almost collapse today when I saw them pull out a plastic bag to put my goods in.

I quickly had to ask the girl if they were charging me because I get used to walking out of Massy with my groceries in my hands.

When the promo done, I going back to walking out with meh groceries in meh hands!

hydroep wrote:Free bag sharing today...50 cent coupon on bill. White, plastic - nice and thick too, reusable quality. Get 'em while they're hot..

Well bro, buy your doubles and coconut in massy then

Postby paid_influencer » August 14th, 2019, 8:50 pm

massy's prices generally went up.

the 50c "free" bag not really free when you paying 10% more on groceries overall.

Postby pugboy » August 15th, 2019, 6:39 am

does anybody know what happens to the plastic collected by plastikeep and the other plastic recycler collection agencies ?

Postby zoom rader » August 15th, 2019, 8:25 am

pugboy wrote:does anybody know what happens to the plastic collected by plastikeep and the other plastic recycler collection agencies ?
Probably dumped in Beetham.

The plastic bag thing is a scam

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 15th, 2019, 12:02 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:

Started charging people for plastic bags to help the environment

Start giving people free plastic bags to help the customer

Who was the genius that came up with this? They trying to eat their cake and have it too :lol:

Why not just use paper bags though? I think the technology exists. Even the massy employees know it's a cash grab when you talk to them.

that jus like d .50 cent cold charge for drinks. yuh buy 3 items and is .50 x3 when it being cooled by the fridge one time and its one purchase. i does try to leave the fride open for spite yuh cost dem some money.

dogg

Postby dogg » August 15th, 2019, 12:17 pm

I find it terrible that Massy forces you to shop there, cuz, you know you don't have any other choices. :wink:

Postby zoom rader » August 15th, 2019, 12:22 pm

dogg wrote:I find it terrible that Massy forces you to shop there, cuz, you know you don't have any other choices. :wink:
Massy not forcing anyone.

Its your choice

Postby MaxPower » August 15th, 2019, 1:09 pm

bluefete wrote:

hydroep wrote:Free bag sharing today...50 cent coupon on bill. White, plastic - nice and thick too, reusable quality. Get 'em while they're hot..

Well bro, buy your doubles and coconut in massy then

Nun wrong with that at all.

Postby Ben_spanna » August 15th, 2019, 2:01 pm

whats the big issue in walking with your own bags? is it that hard to do?
they even gave out bags... they never said which bags you can use, you can carry any bag you want, so if youre just too damn lazy to walk with your own bag then STFU and pay for the bags... or go elsewhere for your groceries

dogg

Postby dogg » August 15th, 2019, 2:03 pm

dogg wrote:I find it terrible that Massy forces you to shop there, cuz, you know you don't have any other choices. :wink:

Its your choice

yeah, but the way ppl going on here, it seems that they haven't!

Anyways, I'm off to Massy tomorrow to do my shopping, with my reusable bags!
And I'll stick it to the man by using a TruValu reusable bag. harr harr harr :roll:

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 15th, 2019, 3:40 pm

dogg wrote:

Its your choice

yeah, but the way ppl going on here, it seems that they haven't!

Anyways, I'm off to Massy tomorrow to do my shopping, with my reusable bags!
And I'll stick it to the man by using a TruValu reusable bag. harr harr harr :roll:

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Rovin » August 15th, 2019, 6:09 pm

Its your choice

sheldon rader

we hadda send leonard & penny to explain dogg's sarcasm dey bai ............ :mrgreen:

Postby Slartibartfast » August 16th, 2019, 1:15 pm

screwbash wrote: that jus like d .50 cent cold charge for drinks. yuh buy 3 items and is .50 x3 when it being cooled by the fridge one time and its one purchase. i does try to leave the fride open for spite yuh cost dem some money.
That's real badmind thing jed.... idk why but that have me real gigglin :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby SMc » August 16th, 2019, 1:48 pm

Rovin wrote:

Its your choice

sheldon rader

we hadda send leonard & penny to explain dogg's sarcasm dey bai ............ :mrgreen:

Thought the same....but when ZR on an extended rant he do read properly and makes statements like that. no love lost to him though as he is consistent in his rhetoric and we take away something from what he posts.

on another note- i keep bags in the car and am so used to reusing them that i know haw many I have and where they are :( havent bought a bag in just over 3 years (i remember the last time as I still use it)

Postby pugboy » August 16th, 2019, 2:03 pm

You buy garbage bags?

SMc wrote:
Rovin wrote:

Its your choice

sheldon rader

Thought the same....but when ZR on an extended rant he do read properly and makes statements like that. no love lost to him though as he is consistent in his rhetoric and we take away something from what he posts.

on another note- i keep bags in the car and am so used to reusing them that i know haw many I have and where they are :( havent bought a bag in just over 3 years (i remember the last time as I still use it)

Postby SMc » August 16th, 2019, 2:15 pm

Yes I do/did- had a subscription where they were delivered every other week as an introductory offer as they were a start up company, after a year of delivery I ended up with too many bags so stopped the subscription- I still have loads of them as I only throw away 2 very small bags of garbage every week.

Postby Gem_in_i » August 16th, 2019, 6:12 pm

Got a free plastic bag today.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 17th, 2019, 5:30 pm

nick639v2 wrote:I does miss da paper bag to put your fry chicken to soak up d oil

lol true talk...is level paper towel man does have to use oui.
Thank God for that place on the h'way near Pasea, Tunapuna selling 10 rolls of paper towels for 40.00! PriceSmart begone with allyuh 80.00 generic paper towels.

Postby maj. tom » August 17th, 2019, 5:39 pm

Bounty is the best paper towel though. Tested.

Postby hydroep » August 17th, 2019, 5:47 pm

When this thing blew up Fazeer had a Massy Marketing fella on his show and asked about substituting paper bags for the plastic ones.

Mr. Man began fumbling his words but eventually declared paper bags can get wet and tear. Can't remember if he said because of the rain or condensation from cold items but whatever the reason they were not a good option.

Methinks they were too cheap to even offer them as an alternative...:|