Massy Stores to charge 50 cents for plastic bags from July 4...

Re: Massy Stores to charge 50 cents for plastic bags from July 4...

Postby De Dragon » July 5th, 2018, 5:10 pm

TurboSingh12 wrote:I went Massy La Romaine yesterday and they are giving bags as usual :lol: I ask if i have to pay and she said no....

Thank them fellas who rob the place, dem was pro-plastic bag

Postby RedVEVO » July 5th, 2018, 5:41 pm

Massy in West still bagging in plastic.

Which Massy not have plastic bags ?

If it's in Central , I understand .

Postby redmanjp » July 5th, 2018, 10:19 pm

They not charging the 50c yet?

Postby SR » July 6th, 2018, 6:01 am

Alyuh could afford to shop at massy..??

Postby Dizzy28 » July 6th, 2018, 8:52 am

SR wrote:Alyuh could afford to shop at massy..??

From around the end of last year to present time Massy has had some massive increases in prices across the board. Before that I found them to be cheaper than Xtra Foods and Tru Valu on the basket of goods that I would typically purchase.

For example they raised Smuckers Jam by $6 recently now bringing them in line with Xtra Foods.
Motts Apple Juice was raised by $3 on the 2nd sized bottle (think its the 2l) also bringing them in line with Xtra Foods. This holds true for a lot of items.

For items that a general grocery would have I just use Royal Foods in Pasea as they cheaper than the big chains on a lot of items.

Postby aaron17 » July 6th, 2018, 10:17 pm

What is the price of bhodi in massy now dread?

Postby De Dragon » July 8th, 2018, 6:31 am

aaron17 wrote:What is the price of bhodi in massy now dread?

Aye, its called string beans in dem 1% kinda stores eh!

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 8th, 2018, 4:09 pm

i'm wheeling out my own groceries in the trolley and i eh paying no 5 dollars.

Postby Rovin » July 8th, 2018, 6:54 pm

yesterday i buy bread & 2 packs of juice , good thing i walk with meh plastic bag in my pocket cause when i done cash d cashier said i forgot to tell u that we dont have bags ....

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 18th, 2018, 10:12 pm

so...i could admit that I have not purchased anything in Massy since July 4th...xTra Foods and Tru Valu fuh it now.

Postby SMc » July 19th, 2018, 2:30 am

^^because of the 50 cents per bag fee?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » July 19th, 2018, 7:58 am

I bought a 5 bag yesterday.... Was running low on garbage bags for home...
Cashier had the bags hidden under d counter....

snypaz

Postby snypaz » July 19th, 2018, 8:44 am

Went last Sunday to the French Street branch. Was told it had no bags. I grabbed up my cereal, my butter, my Moo Milk and my bacon and left with them in my hand.

Postby hydroep » July 19th, 2018, 9:05 am

Security once stopped me for carrying a loaf of bread in my hand...because it wasn't in a bag I had to produce the bill. Wonder if that policy has changed?...:?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 19th, 2018, 1:31 pm

SMc wrote:^^because of the 50 cents per bag fee?

yes and they barely got bags to sell anyway.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 19th, 2018, 1:34 pm

ADONI wrote:I bought a 5 bag yesterday.... Was running low on garbage bags for home...
Cashier had the bags hidden under d counter....

But a roll of garbage bags would work out to like 10cents or less per bag (the blue ones small size)

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 19th, 2018, 7:27 pm

too many other options for me to study Massy and that 'promotion'

Postby Ben_spanna » July 20th, 2018, 8:03 am

As expected- everyone boil down like baggie! no one protesting or boycotting them- they just walking with their own bags!
bunch of HOT AIR Trini balloons again!

Postby maj. tom » July 20th, 2018, 9:01 am

I don't think that's the issue. There's no injustice done in customers using less plastic bags. The real injustice is that Massy has made no real attempt reducing plastic and styrofoam in their goods. The consumer still has to purchase these items by forced choice and then discard the waste the same way as before.

Massy did absolutely nothing. Zero effort, 100 PR and the environment still the same way.

Postby Gladiator » July 20th, 2018, 6:23 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:As expected- everyone boil down like baggie! no one protesting or boycotting them- they just walking with their own bags!

Actually I know a lot of people who have switched supermarkets. I personally start to shop at another supermarket, when I would have made 3 trips to Massey for the week it is now one every 2 weeks just for the stuff I don't want to buy elsewhere.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 20th, 2018, 6:40 pm

Oh hai guize

Chinee grocery crew checking in

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 21st, 2018, 10:24 am

Ben_spanna wrote:As expected- everyone boil down like baggie! no one protesting or boycotting them- they just walking with their own bags!

I have certainly switched...i used to do
70% Massy
10% Rodney's
20 Xtra Foods

now it is
90% Xtra Foods
10% Rodney's
0% Massy Stores

Postby redmanjp » July 21st, 2018, 10:58 am

aaron17 wrote:What is the price of bhodi in massy now dread?

A dollar extra if double bagged

Postby Gem_in_i » July 21st, 2018, 11:02 am

I have noticed fewer people shopping at Massy Gulf View.

Postby Rovin » July 21st, 2018, 11:13 am

here in chaguanas too ^^^ they still have their customers who will buy no matter what but this bag ting back fired badly on them

meanwhile in price club it always have ppl , better prices , more variety , wider isles - whole store is about 4-5 times bigger , plenty parking , discount card etc .... ah sounding like a free ad for them but its d truth
Last edited by Rovin on July 21st, 2018, 11:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby bluefete » July 21st, 2018, 11:14 am

Massy's problem is their DISHONESTY and their failure to realize that Trinbagonians today are not the like the PNM and UNC supporters their parents were.

If you are doing away with plastic bags, no problem. But do not tell your customers that you are selling same plastic bags for .50c each.

They never gave their customers the alternative to use boxes like PriceSmart.

Unfortunately, I went Massy yesterday without any bags and just like snypaz, I put everything in the trolley and then put in car "jusso."

The bag boy told me it was the first time he ever saw a customer do that.

Massy is learning to their cost that many more people are taking a stand today. I also noticed much less people in St. Augustine branch. That would not have happened in another era (thus the PNM and UNC link for those of you who don't get it).

Skanky

Postby Skanky » July 21st, 2018, 11:24 am

I went to the big store in Trincity last night and it was empty. Three cahiers or so and two occupied with one person each cashing. Lanes were empty.I saw five people in the store while I was there.
Massy must have known this would happen so this seems very fishy.
Maybe their real business making so much money the grocery business not needed anymore and they looking to get out of it.

Postby bluefete » July 21st, 2018, 11:27 am

^^ Interesting point.

That would put hundreds of people out of employment, including many I know.

Postby aaron17 » July 21st, 2018, 11:52 am

I learn something day....put sizable laundry basket in trunk to fit items and prevent from much moving.

Postby De Dragon » July 21st, 2018, 12:11 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Oh hai guize

Chinee grocery crew checking in

I only use Xtra and JTA for items that Chin doesn't carry. Massy when feeling for a convenient piece of Angus steak, or at Christmas time when I get vouchers.