Massy Stores to charge 50 cents for plastic bags from July 4...

Re: Massy Stores to charge 50 cents for plastic bags from July 4...

Postby pugboy » August 18th, 2019, 7:34 am

we are really a nation of zero memory

after all the nationwide furore about massy taking this environmental stance which was viewed as a blow against customers
and now that they turn around on that environment principle
nobody saying anything

this is why kublalsingh could do a cheating hunger strike and nobody say anything
and just as well politicians will always take citizens for jackarses

Postby zoom rader » August 18th, 2019, 10:57 am

pugboy wrote:we are really a nation of zero memory

after all the nationwide furore about massy taking this environmental stance which was viewed as a blow against customers
and now that they turn around on that environment principle
nobody saying anything

this is why kublalsingh could do a cheating hunger strike and nobody say anything
and just as well politicians will always take citizens for jackarses
Its all about making money while citizens look like dumb arses getting played over and over .

Postby MaxPower » August 18th, 2019, 1:15 pm

zoom rader wrote:Its all about making money while citizens look like dumb arses getting played over and over .

Hahahah dummies for real eh.

Over and over and over....its like clock work.

Postby zoom rader » August 18th, 2019, 1:17 pm

zoom rader wrote:Its all about making money while citizens look like dumb arses getting played over and over .

Dont support these people.

Shop elsewhere

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » August 18th, 2019, 1:49 pm

Shop elsewhere

Get a life loser people free to shop where they want. If you cannot afford to shop at Massy then hard luck and move on.

Postby zoom rader » August 18th, 2019, 2:24 pm

randolphinshan wrote:

Shop elsewhere

Get a life loser people free to shop where they want. If you cannot afford to shop at Massy then hard luck and move on.
Only folks like you are being taken for a ride.

No point explaining to people like you who over pay and get conned daily.

The great eleit

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 19th, 2019, 1:29 pm

maj. tom wrote:Bounty is the best paper towel though. Tested.

cost ah bounty too

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 19th, 2019, 1:30 pm

randolphinshan wrote:

Shop elsewhere

The great eleit

I have a Food Basket, Xtra Foods, Rodneys nearby...massy barely getting any of my money.
They have a new thing now...if you say you don't want a bag during checkout but you do NOT have a bag, they will give you one free.

Postby Rovin » September 7th, 2019, 6:08 pm

so i jes went chaguanas hilo to buy meh lil bread & i hearing d door security\self appointed DJ playing a bunch of christmas songs , 1 cashier saying she feeling a christmas breeze next cashier say she too feeling it ...... um september now start :|

i buy raspberry tart & now realising how small it is , damn donut tasting like it was made yesterday ... :?

oh btw they put d tart & donut in a 10lb clear plastic bag ......

Postby MaxPower » September 7th, 2019, 7:20 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:
randolphinshan wrote:

Shop elsewhere

The great eleit

I have a Food Basket, Xtra Foods, Rodneys nearby...massy barely getting any of my money.
They have a new thing now...if you say you don't want a bag during checkout but you do NOT have a bag, they will give you one free.

Hello Christopherwilliams,

Im sorry but by you not shopping at Massy, it would not affect their sales. So saying “massy barely getting any of my money” goes unheard. Business booming bro.

Im happy you resorted to other establishments and can now stay in your lane.

Postby MaxPower » December 17th, 2019, 12:49 pm

I must say, i love the 6:30am opening hours for Massy Stores. But you sufferers would not have gotten the invitation in the mail did you?

GOOD.

Massy understands that there MUST be division and segregation between high paying customers and the typical regular/nuisance/high price complainers.

Now allyuh dont come and show up asking for a “bligh” to beat the rush later ok. Leave the special customers to shop in peace and not bring a uncomfortable feeling with allyuh presence....know allyuh place and WAIT till normal opening hours.

Postby eliteauto » December 17th, 2019, 12:56 pm

which Massy is opening at 6:30am? The hours are either opening at 8 or 7am and going as late as midnight with some opening 24hrs between the 23rd and 24th, you sure you're not working custodial staff to be rolling in at 6:30?

How special or high value one has to be to try coassing with a supermarket opening hours?

rebound

Postby rebound » December 17th, 2019, 1:04 pm

Sounds more like an inconvenience to me. Who would want to wake up so early to go for groceries?

Postby 16 cycles » December 17th, 2019, 1:05 pm

some ppl prefer to move early and leave rest of the day free for other things...

Postby pugboy » December 17th, 2019, 1:23 pm

i shop at xtra, massy and truvalu
lately xtra foods is not cheaper in general as they used to be
also lot of items at massy are often on sale and cheaper
massy is no longer high priced across the board

dogg

Postby dogg » December 17th, 2019, 1:38 pm

Say what you want about pricesmart, but they have unmatched deals. And with the RBL credit card, 4% cash back is win-win.

Xtra foods have had some crazy deals over the past year tho

Postby hydroep » December 17th, 2019, 2:47 pm

Thread title need to change...bag price drop from 50¢ to 25¢...:lol:

Postby pugboy » December 17th, 2019, 2:49 pm

Serious?

The free bag they give seems thicker material too.

hydroep wrote:Thread title need to change...bag price drop from 50¢ to 25¢...:lol:

Postby hydroep » December 17th, 2019, 2:53 pm

pugboy wrote:Serious?

hydroep wrote:Thread title need to change...bag price drop from 50¢ to 25¢...:lol:

Yup, a few weeks now. On some days they give them away free too.

Postby MaxPower » December 17th, 2019, 9:10 pm

eliteauto wrote:which Massy is opening at 6:30am? The hours are either opening at 8 or 7am and going as late as midnight with some opening 24hrs between the 23rd and 24th, you sure you're not working custodial staff to be rolling in at 6:30?

How special or high value one has to be to try coassing with a supermarket opening hours?

Adjustments.JPG

This sounds like custodial staff to you?

Note they specified “regular crowd”......which means you.....now go join the line.

Postby paid_influencer » December 17th, 2019, 9:57 pm

massy playing on people need for status... good business strategy here in Trinidad.

the downside of going 6:30am: they probably won't have that delicious fried chicken ready by that time. Only $20 and it tastes great. Crispy, well seasoned and moist without being at all oily.

Postby MaxPower » December 17th, 2019, 10:11 pm

paid_influencer wrote:massy playing on people need for status... good business strategy here in Trinidad.

the downside of going 6:30am: they probably won't have that delicious fried chicken ready by that time. Only $20 and it tastes great. Crispy, well seasoned and moist without being at all oily.

I put that in my Massy bag and I happy like papi. :drinking:

Its not a need for status, but more convenience. Its just like the average Narry that lines up at 5am at the license office...to be in and out. Only with this, its not anyone can jus feel they could come 6:30am and plant they out of timing self amongst selected customers.

So i agree its a good business strategy....and Btw some selected customers have already called about items e.g - fry chicken. You are right though, it wont be ready at that time, but within the hour...still before the regulars.

Postby Rovin » December 17th, 2019, 11:28 pm

hydroep wrote:

i didnt see that by d chaguanas branch , must be certain branches or only like a few days now , i go once a wk for only bread &\or a occasional small cake & i still hear ppl paying for bags 50c normel ...

Postby Rovin » December 17th, 2019, 11:33 pm

rebound wrote:Sounds more like an inconvenience to me. Who would want to wake up so early to go for groceries?

ent

d workers must be like L wtf they wa we come so early for boi , who TF coming to shop so early morning

yea i cud understand d late hrs , long time for chrsitmas was all kinda 12 midnight , now if opening after 8 or 9 u better have good security in place or pray not to get robbed ...

Postby hydroep » December 18th, 2019, 12:04 am

Rovin wrote:
hydroep wrote:

i didnt see that by d chaguanas branch , must be certain branches or only like a few days now , i go once a wk for only bread &\or a occasional small cake & i still hear ppl paying for bags 50c normel ...

Could be. According to meh records first bag at reduced price received 11/20/19 — Gulf View Branch...8-)

Postby adnj » December 18th, 2019, 9:06 am

paid_influencer wrote:massy playing on people need for status... good business strategy here in Trinidad.

I put that in my Massy bag and I happy like papi. :drinking:

Its not a need for status, but more convenience. Only with this, its not anyone can jus feel they could come 6:30am and plant they out of timing self amongst selected customers.

The private sale is a well known and typically effective technique for increasing foot traffic. Some come for convenience, some to feel special, others for the give-aways.

If I'm in the area of a HiLo at 6:30 am, I'll be stopping in.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » December 18th, 2019, 11:55 am

hydroep wrote:
Rovin wrote:
hydroep wrote:

Could be. According to meh records first bag at reduced price received 11/20/19 — Gulf View Branch...8-)

I went twice last week and I got my bags free. They charged the 25c to the bill then deducted it as a "promo"

Postby Dizzy28 » December 18th, 2019, 12:15 pm

Since the beginning of this year whenever I have cold items like cheese and butter they put in in a plastic bag and give it as promo.

Postby Rovin » December 20th, 2019, 9:06 pm

so went yesterday & buy bread & 2 small items , i have my bag in my pocket like normal so i say lemme see if is free bag or no , cashier put it in a bag & say we not charging u for d bag

look like this chaguanas branch now start this cause i recall up to last wk ppl were being charged for bags

honestly after a yr & a 1\2 i get accustomed to walking with my bags by them so i was jes testing to see what allyuh men on tuner was saying , i always reuse my bags for all kinda ting so i doing my environment part yrsss b hilo decide this bag ting

Postby Gem_in_i » December 21st, 2019, 5:27 am

Ytday I went Massy Gulf View. I see they have self serve check out. How long now that available?