Problems running Kodi on Fire Stick

Postby dougla_boy » April 29th, 2018, 8:35 pm

So i am running Kodi 17.6 on meh fire stick, but of late I am getting rel issues with buffering and finding a source. I have exodus, placenta, Neptune rising and covenant... And is still issues on all....any body else experiencing such problems? How allyuh sort it out?

Re: Problems running Kodi on Fire Stick

Postby 88sins » May 1st, 2018, 9:47 am

I getting dem same issues for a couple months now. lately Kodi real unreliable jed, since the update from Jarvis to Krypton & nuttn seems to resolve the issues. which repository u using? xmbc or smash?

I write off Kodi a while now, because of this nonsense & I using a couple streaming apps on d android tv with good results so far. I don't use Netflix often, only every now & again.

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » May 1st, 2018, 9:54 am

you can use mobdro , showbox and terrarium to replace kodi. personally i find that it does be too slow

Postby redmanjp » May 1st, 2018, 7:07 pm

Mobdro could run on the Fire stick?

Postby wagonrunner » May 2nd, 2018, 2:07 am

https://kodi.wiki/view/HOW-TO%3AModify_the_video_cache

happy with these settings on my15mb and 60mb connections.
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<advancedsettings>
<network>
<cachemembuffersize>60971520</cachemembuffersize>
<readbufferfactor>2</readbufferfactor>
<buffermode>1</buffermode>
<memorysize>60971520</memorysize>
<readfactor>2</readfactor>
</network>
</advancedsettings>

brickman

Postby brickman » May 2nd, 2018, 2:34 am

Use an external player (mx player works best) ,the built in kodi video player is poorly coded since kodi was originally made for pc then adapted for android,either that or use the apk mentioned above instead of kodi.You will have to have a file manager installed (X-plore) & the custom player xml file installed for it to work.
Be also aware that alot of these sources are limited in bandwidth usage e.g you may watch episodes 1 of your show fine but episode 2 might buffer like mad.

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » May 2nd, 2018, 7:18 am

redmanjp wrote:Mobdro could run on the Fire stick?

yes

shiva_0001

Postby shiva_0001 » May 2nd, 2018, 8:48 am

some of those addons you have are no longer maintained (covenant and exodus are dead now), try installing incursion and gaia; you can usually get great info on what works on reddit.com (subreddit - addons4kodi)

Postby dougla_boy » May 2nd, 2018, 9:32 am

88sins wrote:I getting dem same issues for a couple months now. lately Kodi real unreliable jed, since the update from Jarvis to Krypton & nuttn seems to resolve the issues. which repository u using? xmbc or smash?

I write off Kodi a while now, because of this nonsense & I using a couple streaming apps on d android tv with good results so far. I don't use Netflix often, only every now & again.

yup same exact problem i have, i ended up using Terranium TV and delete Kodi on the whole... and netflix is good for me, i just want something when I cant find wah ah wah watch on netflix....

and i think the repository was xmbc... i think

Postby 88sins » May 2nd, 2018, 9:46 am

u need to dl & install smash repository zip file & set up the source directory for 3rd party addons like covenant to run on Kodi, but even then is friggin problems. like you will see the list of movies, but no sources for any of them.

livewireconcepts

Postby livewireconcepts » May 2nd, 2018, 6:38 pm

Try stremio it works great on the firestick..... kodi does not have the same builds like before..

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » May 3rd, 2018, 8:35 am

yeah mobdro works on the firestick but lately the streams have been giving trouble. terrarium works great though

Postby Country_Bookie » May 3rd, 2018, 10:35 am

Exodus & Covenant have been dead some time now as the Developers no longer support those apps. I use Incursion and it works great.....usually brings up a few 1080p and lots of 720p sources for tv shows and movies. I streamed Westworld on Sunday about 15 mins after it aired.

https://seo-michael.co.uk/how-to-instal ... sion-kodi/

With kodi, the same apps won't keep working for eternity. Remember this is a free app you are downloading, and the developers will move on to another project after some time, or especially if they get served with legal action that their app is facilitating piracy. U can to keep up with the latest apps on reddit:

https://www.reddit.com/r/Addons4Kodi/