Restored Stollmeyer's Castle is Restored...

Re: Restored Stollmeyer's Castle is Restored...

Postby shogun » May 13th, 2018, 1:27 am

ProtonPowder wrote:Idk how benevolent you can seem when spending 48m to restore a building when its open market valuation is at 54m, and an insurance replacement value of just over 11m. If only the governments, past and present contracted transparently rather than layers of subcontracting.

The kind of nonsense I see years ago in waterfront complex when i was wukking there was astounding. If they did it right, things would cost fractions of what they do

Boy, thaz a whole separate ched right there. To be fair though, restoration of those old/historic structurers isn't like new construction, eh.... It's highly specialized work.

Postby RedVEVO » May 13th, 2018, 3:29 am

shogun wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:Is more of a local tourism potential imo

This would be perfect for a lil school field trip

Kids should take a LOCAL " field trip " to the " pitch lake " and show them how it is being wasted and not utilized via TT road maintenance .

Then take them to SmC and ask them what they think or how the $48 Million tax dollars should of been spent .

Kids may surprise you :D

A man actually typed this then hit submit, yes. Lmao.

Yeah, lets just have an entire government's vision (any gov't PNM/UNC) and prioritization of it's numerous goals with respect to the significance/preservation of cultural/heritage assets, decided by children. The more you type, is the more I understand why you're bad at this. No wonder you're looking to the "kids" for surprises?

So is that how you interpreted the statement ? :D

Maybe you should give us an analysis of this prioritization of the current ?

You seem to think $48 Million tax payers funds is a small amount of money.

Maybe it would of been more prudent to use "private funding" instead of $48 million tax payers dollars.

Maybe you could lead and finance the other 7 jewels inclusive of Mille Fleur ?

You do at least understand what is a deficit budget , recession , " we have no money " and tax tax tax :)

Postby Gladiator » May 13th, 2018, 10:55 am

Renovation Costs = $48M
Average 8 visitors per day (very heavy flow of tourists from the tourism hype by the PNMites in this thread)
$100 entrance fee = $800 per day (cant see anyone paying more than $100 each to tour this place)
248 available days per year (minus weekends and public holidays)
Tourism revenue per year = $198,400
Payback time = just under 242 years

Makes sense... by the time we make back the $48M from the steady flow of 8 tourists per day going to see this building over the next 242 years, the PNM and their "mites" can smile and say YES we did something that made sense....

Postby sMASH » May 13th, 2018, 11:14 am

EY, touruba Stadium single handedly saving the economy with profits!

Don't knock the restoration investments hoss.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 13th, 2018, 11:41 am

RedVEVO wrote:Kids should take a LOCAL " field trip " to the " pitch lake " and show them how it is being wasted and not utilized via TT road maintenance . . .

How is pitch from the pitch lake going to help with road maintenance, when the problem is not the binder being used in the asphalt (straight run refinery bitumen vs. TLA modified binder), but the lack of maintenance and poor maintenance practices?

Average

Postby Average » May 13th, 2018, 12:02 pm

zoom rader wrote:So this a HDC house now?

I lol'd. hahahahaha oh gosh hahahahaha

Postby rspann » May 13th, 2018, 12:07 pm

Gladiator wrote:Renovation Costs = $48M
Average 8 visitors per day (very heavy flow of tourists from the tourism hype by the PNMites in this thread)
$100 entrance fee = $800 per day (cant see anyone paying more than $100 each to tour this place)

Makes sense... by the time we make back the $48M from the steady flow of 8 tourists per day going to see this building over the next 242 years, the PNM and their "mites" can smile and say YES we did something that made sense....

You maths off. If 10000 people visit everyday ,then we would have $1,000,000. Per day. We paying back that in 48 days dawg!

Postby pugboy » May 13th, 2018, 12:27 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:Kids should take a LOCAL " field trip " to the " pitch lake " and show them how it is being wasted and not utilized via TT road maintenance . . .

How is pitch from the pitch lake going to help with road maintenance, when the problem is not the binder being used in the asphalt (straight run refinery bitumen vs. TLA modified binder), but the lack of maintenance and poor maintenance practices?

Postby sMASH » May 13th, 2018, 12:51 pm

On the one hand u have many roads with many holes, on the other hand u have the largest natural source of pitch in the world.

Particulars aside, once u have one u shouldn't have the other.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 13th, 2018, 1:06 pm

sMASH wrote:On the one hand u have many roads with many holes, on the other hand u have the largest natural source of pitch in the world.

Particulars aside, once u have one u shouldn't have the other.

Road aggregate though. If you basically using sharp sand and small pebbles then it go act more like somebody oilsand driveway

Countries import aggregate for major highways and airport runways. Not feasible to do for regular roads, and the contractors dont care to stick to the standards for aggregates in road building with local aggregate

Postby RedVEVO » May 13th, 2018, 9:37 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

PNM education at it's best ! :D

Scholarship winner indeed :lol:

Education is where the $48 Million was needed or maybe not ?
Last edited by RedVEVO on May 13th, 2018, 9:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shogun » May 13th, 2018, 9:38 pm

RedVEVO wrote:So is that how you interpreted the statement ? :D

Lmao. Interpreted? Dude, if you're not going to read your own posts, why should I?

All the emoticons in the cosmos can't help you.

Another dummy....

Obviously the renovations are part of the larger picture of positioning and better marketing ourselves in the wider Caribbean tourism sector? Yuh think? Not to mention Stollmeyer's will also be used to host art and culture events and exhibitions? Last figures I saw had us hovering around the $90-100 Million in revenue annually. Or maybe we could wait a few more years to renovate and with the continual degradation THEN have to spend in the mid 50's to 60 Million the renovate? Yeah, that makes more sense.

T&T has achieved the highest percentage increase in cruise passenger visits in the Caribbean for 2015, the Caribbean Tourism Organisation (CTO) reported yesterday.

In its State of the Industry Report 2015, the regional body said this country recorded an increase of 104 per cent and was ahead of Bonaire with 74.2 per cent and British Virgin Islands, 43.1 per cent.

The CTO said T&T was also among the destinations with the highest growth rates in arrivals from the United States market, with an increase of 14.9 per cent, behind Barbados (27.6 per cent) and Curaçao (15.3 per cent).

CTO secretary general Hugh Riley, speaking at a media briefing where the findings of the latest report were announced, said for the first time ever the pace of growth of Caribbean tourism had outperformed every major tourism region in the world.

“Our region has set new arrival and spend records in 2015, far surpassing expectations,” he said.

The report shows that Caribbean tourism grew by an estimated seven per cent to 28.7 million visits, much higher than the projected four to five per cent and above the global rate of growth, which the World Tourism Organization puts at 4.4 per cent.

Visitors to the region spent over a billion dollars more than they did in 2014, contributing approximately US$30 billion to Caribbean economies—4.2 per cent higher than the US$28.8 billion spent the previous year.

Tourism in the Caribbean increased, hitting a new record both in terms of visitors and expenditure.

This was revealed by Head of Research, Caribbean Tourism Organisation (CTO), Ryan Skeete during yesterday's Tourism Industry Performance Review and Press Briefing

He said along with the 30.1 million stay-over visits, visitor expenditure had been estimated at US $37 billion.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/business/2016 ... rism-grows

What's funny is that there is massive beatup in the Diversification ched, yet when the powers-that-be, decide to invest in that strategy, is still more idiot chatter. Must be nice to have it both ways. Now, If only Rows could figure out how to power the economy with gum friction. We sure to have surplus to export by fiscal year 2019.

Postby RedVEVO » May 13th, 2018, 9:41 pm

shogun wrote:

Lmao. Interpreted? Dude, if you're not going to read your own posts, why should I?

Another dummy....

Obviously the renovations are part of the larger picture of positioning and better marketing ourselves in the wider Caribbean tourism sector? Yuh think? Not to mention Stollmeyer's will also be used to host art and culture events and exhibitions? Last figures I saw had us hovering around the $90-100 Million in revenue annually. Or maybe we could wait a few more years to renovate and with the continual degradation THEN have to spend in the mid 50's to 60 Million the renovate? Yeah, that makes more sense.

T&T has achieved the highest percentage increase in cruise passenger visits in the Caribbean for 2015, the Caribbean Tourism Organisation (CTO) reported yesterday.

In its State of the Industry Report 2015, the regional body said this country recorded an increase of 104 per cent and was ahead of Bonaire with 74.2 per cent and British Virgin Islands, 43.1 per cent.

The CTO said T&T was also among the destinations with the highest growth rates in arrivals from the United States market, with an increase of 14.9 per cent, behind Barbados (27.6 per cent) and Curaçao (15.3 per cent).

CTO secretary general Hugh Riley, speaking at a media briefing where the findings of the latest report were announced, said for the first time ever the pace of growth of Caribbean tourism had outperformed every major tourism region in the world.

“Our region has set new arrival and spend records in 2015, far surpassing expectations,” he said.

The report shows that Caribbean tourism grew by an estimated seven per cent to 28.7 million visits, much higher than the projected four to five per cent and above the global rate of growth, which the World Tourism Organization puts at 4.4 per cent.

Visitors to the region spent over a billion dollars more than they did in 2014, contributing approximately US$30 billion to Caribbean economies—4.2 per cent higher than the US$28.8 billion spent the previous year.

Tourism in the Caribbean increased, hitting a new record both in terms of visitors and expenditure.

This was revealed by Head of Research, Caribbean Tourism Organisation (CTO), Ryan Skeete during yesterday's Tourism Industry Performance Review and Press Briefing

He said along with the 30.1 million stay-over visits, visitor expenditure had been estimated at US $37 billion.

What's funny is that there is massive beatup in the Diversification ched, yet when the powers-that-be, decide to invest in that strategy, is still more idiot chatter. Must be nice to have it both ways. Now, If only Rows could figure out how to power the economy with gum friction. We sure to have surplus to export by fiscal year 2019.

Another Scholarship winner !

Postby shogun » May 13th, 2018, 9:45 pm

Don't go replying so quickly....

We have to ask the "kids" what they think, first. :wink:

Postby RedVEVO » May 13th, 2018, 9:55 pm

shogun wrote:Don't go replying so quickly....

Maybe we should ask the "kids" what they think, first?

Your search for intelligent conversation is amazing :D

Lets's review :

$48 Million was used to renovate uno useless House used by Colonials who most likely imprisoned your great grand uncle.

Postby shogun » May 13th, 2018, 10:03 pm

LOL!

Now you're just triggered. Adorable.

Postby Gladiator » May 13th, 2018, 10:04 pm

shogun wrote:

Another dummy....

The truth hurt so bad you hadda resort to name calling.... typical PNM behavior.... carry on fellow citizen defend your masters. When the country reach sheit street ... hope you put a chair inside this castle and call yourself king.

Postby shogun » May 13th, 2018, 10:11 pm

If your feelings were hurt by "Dummy" then i'm sure to make you Court Jester in said castle, if i'm King.

It's clear the gum-bump crew has run out of arguments and are now resorting to slinging sh!t. It's not that deep, bruh.

Postby RedVEVO » May 13th, 2018, 10:15 pm

Gladiator wrote:
shogun wrote:

Another dummy....

The truth hurt so bad you hadda resort to name calling.... typical PNM behavior.... carry on fellow citizen defend your masters. When the country reach sheit street ... hope you put a chair inside this castle and call yourself king.

:D

PNM education at the free scholarship level :roll:

There is a special secret class where they are taught this behavior, located behind the Castle.

It's Civics 101.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 13th, 2018, 11:26 pm

Vevo goes in every thread, calling men PNM left right and centre, talking down like he is some kind of smartman. He get happy when he see the word dummy because now he could disregard everything else in the post!

This is an article in today's Express, try again when you say the Stollmeyers owned slaves.

Postby RedVEVO » May 14th, 2018, 12:00 am

ProtonPowder wrote:Vevo goes in every thread, calling men PNM left right and centre, talking down like he is some kind of smartman. He get happy when he see the word dummy because now he could disregard everything else in the post!

This is an article in today's Express, try again when you say the Stollmeyers owned slaves.

So who is now quoting a PNM archangel ?

Protein Head is 100% PNM.

To each his own.

Just do not hide in a closet.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 14th, 2018, 6:51 am

RedVEVO wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:Vevo goes in every thread, calling men PNM left right and centre, talking down like he is some kind of smartman. He get happy when he see the word dummy because now he could disregard everything else in the post!

To each his own.

Anything to say about the facts in the article? Or no

Postby RedVEVO » May 14th, 2018, 7:16 am

ProtonPowder wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

To each his own.

Anything to say about the facts in the article? Or no

Fact:

$48 Million TT was spent to renovate 1 (just one) bourgeoisie castle .

Tax payers $48 Million dollars by Gov't with a deficit budget .

Supporter Protein Head , how much more PNM can you be ?

* mic drop *

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 14th, 2018, 4:36 pm

RedVEVO wrote:Fact:

* mic drop *

Anything new or useful to add, mister parrot?

Postby RedVEVO » May 14th, 2018, 5:17 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:Fact:

* mic drop *

Anything new or useful to add, mister parrot?

http://www.trinidadandtobagonews.com/blog/?p=11086

Dr Selwyn R. Cudjoe writes:

" ...While I was growing up in Trinidad, the Stollmeyers were always seen in a negative light. Many citizens saw them as members of the bourgeoisie who bought all the land in the Santa Cruz Valley and virtually enslaved Africans and Indians in the process. The average Trinidadian believes the Stollmeyers owned slaves although the patriarch got to Trinidad after slavery ended .. "

So who really worked on those plantation lands ?

Can you really believe Dr Cudjoe's analysis ?

But why then use the "average Trinidadian" $48 Million tax dollars to renovate ?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 14th, 2018, 6:53 pm

RedVEVO wrote:http://www.trinidadandtobagonews.com/blog/?p=11086

" ...While I was growing up in Trinidad, the Stollmeyers were always seen in a negative light. Many citizens saw them as members of the bourgeoisie who bought all the land in the Santa Cruz Valley and virtually enslaved Africans and Indians in the process. The average Trinidadian believes the Stollmeyers owned slaves although the patriarch got to Trinidad after slavery ended .. "

But why then use the "average Trinidadian" $48 Million tax dollars to renovate ?

First of all, Dr Cudjoes article is an exposition, not an analysis. Absolutely no one disputes that african slaves and indentured indians worked the fields when Stollmeyer came to trinidad. He did not use the enslaved to build his asphalt empire, rather exploited and cheating hired workers. While reprehensible, there is a difference, with the latter being more akin to what happens now in modern democratic capitalist societies.

On your last point, the castle is a part of our heritage; for better or worse. Before this year very few people would have known about the story behind that castle. Heritage is a hard thing to turn into a profit. If all these things were left without any sort of government input, Best village, carnival, almost all nationwide religious events would disappear or shrink to nothing.

Go ahead and call me a pnm again though, if that is what gets you off

DTAC

Postby DTAC » May 14th, 2018, 8:34 pm

Just quietly waiting for a 1%er to open a restaurant there.

Postby RedVEVO » May 15th, 2018, 1:45 am

ProtonPowder wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:http://www.trinidadandtobagonews.com/blog/?p=11086

First of all, Dr Cudjoes article is an exposition, not an analysis. Absolutely no one disputes that african slaves and indentured indians worked the fields when Stollmeyer came to trinidad. He did not use the enslaved to build his asphalt empire, rather exploited and cheating hired workers. While reprehensible, there is a difference, with the latter being more akin to what happens now in modern democratic capitalist societies.

On your last point, the castle is a part of our heritage; for better or worse. Before this year very few people would have known about the story behind that castle. Heritage is a hard thing to turn into a profit. If all these things were left without any sort of government input, Best village, carnival, almost all nationwide religious events would disappear or shrink to nothing.

Go ahead and call me a pnm again though, if that is what gets you off

You supporting slavery now and calling it Heritage ? :!: :!:

You support a $48 Million tax dollars expenditure on a Castle renovations owned by a German who "exploited" labor for profit ?

There are people like you who will believe anything per Politicians per their logic.

Again to each his/her own - some like and are happy in ignorance :D

Daran

Postby Daran » May 15th, 2018, 3:36 am

The stollmyers today are perhaps done of the richest and biggest land owners in Trinidad.

That said, you all are wrong about not prioritizing this. The building is beautiful and you can't put a simple metric like rental costs per year to workout it's ROI. This building will be used as an attraction to be bring tourists to the island. Have visitors see us in a more positive light and generally be a source of upliftment when you see it. Many benefits to projects like these that aren't easily quantifiable.

Postby RedVEVO » May 15th, 2018, 6:47 am

Daran wrote:The stollmyers today are perhaps done of the richest and biggest land owners in Trinidad.

That said, you all are wrong about not prioritizing this. The building is beautiful and you can't put a simple metric like rental costs per year to workout it's ROI. This building will be used as an attraction to be bring tourists to the island. Have visitors see us in a more positive light and generally be a source of upliftment when you see it. Many benefits to projects like these that aren't easily quantifiable.

ROI works for business .

PNM ROI ? Where are the Cazabon paintings ?

"Private Funding" works for projects like these not tax money.