Re: Tax on Doubles ?

Postby RedVEVO » May 17th, 2018, 10:37 am

mitch1980 wrote:
Premchand1976 wrote:Why do we pay taxes ???? Reflect on the quality of life of lately in tnt then answer k

ent.
no need for things like traffic lights, gas stations, schools, airports, etc.
go sort and collect yuh own mail
be your own security.
get your own gasoline at one or two locations
create your own electricity
dispose of your own garbage,
etc.
don't pay taxes and enjoy it all on your own terms.

this selfishness is ingrained in so many, yet it's conveniently forgotten when there is a need.

In full Agreement here.
ple believe they entitled to basic needs without their fair contribution.

& when you pay your fair share & then some & don't get Jack Squat for it, ie, same shiddy roads & potholes all over the place , bed & medicine shortages in hospitals, same skyrocketing crime rates, same flooding leaving you stranded & half drowned when 3 drops of rain fall, or our lovely porous borders that allow the passage of arms & narcotics despite spending billions on all these things annually for decades, then what? Be happy & pay more taxes, to the same fruitless end? nope, start over

ppl doh mind paying taxes cuzo, the problem is ppl fedup paying taxes & not getting or even seeing any tangible returns.
yuh actually supposed to benefit from your tax dollars, but trini politicians find that to be an alien concept borne out of a sci-fi flick.

Total agreement here 88sins :D

Government busy buying exotic paintings and taking exotic trips :shock:

Postby The_Honourable » May 17th, 2018, 11:19 am

Doubles tax a distraction from the main issues?

Postby RedVEVO » May 17th, 2018, 11:23 am

Thanks ya Honor :)

Postby pugboy » May 17th, 2018, 11:42 am

dont Forget non tax paying folks get old age pension which is all funded by taxpayers

Postby De Dragon » May 17th, 2018, 11:50 am

The logic of the posters saying that the doubles man pays indirect taxes like VAT and shouldn't pay PAYE, then those of us who have our PAYE taken out shouldn't pay VAT?

Postby 88sins » May 17th, 2018, 12:03 pm

mitch1980 wrote:Don't they still get those services free all their life.

We ALL pay, daily, multiple taxes with EVERY TRANSACTION of a sale, purchase & gift we make. Buy a sneakers, or anything that was imported & you pay VAT, import duty, etc on the import & sale. Work for a salary, & you pay PAYE, H/S & NIS that you pay before you even get your salary. Inherit a house from some family member, pay VAT on legal fees, as well as stamp duty & registration fees. NOTHING is free in this place, & not just because if you get something you didn't pay for, that don't mean it free, it just means you didn't pay for it but many others did before you got it & will pay for it after too.

mitch1980 wrote: Perhaps if they pay their PAYE the extra 10plus billion per year the economists says can go towards public good as health and education and also amenities.

Son, yuh really need to lay of d Kool-Aid.
There is absolutely zero way anybody could skew any amount of raw data to convince me that the taxi drivers & other self employed persons of this nation make 40 billion TTD in revenue annually to then pay 10 billion TTD in PAYE taxes, if those taxes were enforced & collected from them. To make that, we'd need to have about a half million taxi drivers & other self employed ppl, which we don't.

It have easier ways to find that 10 billion, one of which is these well dressed nitwits need somebody to enlighten them as to precisely what a budget truly is, as well as how to efficiently & effectively manage expenditure and all revenue generated. but nah, to dem, dat involves too much wuk, they might actually have to think to accomplish that. dem eh come out for all dat hard wuk. easiest thing to do as a alternative, tax d phuk out of everything & everyone that exists. do hadda actually do nuttn for this to wuk, just tell everybody they owing you a tax, & let the varous arms of revenue collection hold them to ransom till they pay. One example, spend money on what NEEDS be done for the good of the people not just as a bribe to garner votes & ensure the cost:benefit is at least balanced if not benefit outweighing cost. But our practice here has always been the opposite, the state has a habit of entering into arrangements & processes where cost has always exceeded the benefit, sometimes with only cost & absolutely no benefit to the public whatsoever. Classic instance of this is all dem blasted useless "commission of Inquiry" proceedings, wher old farts are cherry picked to sit & ask dotish questions into someone perceived of ill doing, & at the end, nothin is done. Often times the findings of the inquiry are kept as guarded secrets.
to put it simply, if yuh spend all yuh money on perfume & clothes, yuh go end up a sweet smelling, well dressed, hungry vagrant., & it ain't nobody fault but yuh own.

mitch1980 wrote:not only double vendors , all vendors, taxi drivers and professionals should be registered and file income tax.

No issue with this, but I know plenty taxi drivers that remit their PAYE.
But even if you started collecting PAYE from unemployed children & deceased persons, it's still the wrong way to go & will never be enough with the way these asses manage a nations resources.

Postby RedVEVO » May 17th, 2018, 12:05 pm

De Dragon wrote:The logic of the posters saying that the doubles man pays indirect taxes like VAT and shouldn't pay PAYE, then those of us who have our PAYE taken out shouldn't pay VAT?

Certain items are VAT free

Postby 88sins » May 17th, 2018, 12:12 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
De Dragon wrote:The logic of the posters saying that the doubles man pays indirect taxes like VAT and shouldn't pay PAYE, then those of us who have our PAYE taken out shouldn't pay VAT?

Certain items are VAT free

not even looking at it from a how much VAT they pay perspective.
PAYE & NIS & H/S should be paid by all self employed persons based on their net profits, not the revenue they generated.

Postby RedVEVO » May 17th, 2018, 12:27 pm

Ok some peeps need a lil learning today ..

Some types of businesses or "hustles" are not taxed . The authorities usually turn a blind eye.
There are jobs or types of employment that keep people off the poverty line etc.

Examples:

Housewife Melania may have some mangoes and plums to sell in the market to sustain her expenses.

Granny Cudjoe may make some homemade pumpkin and carrot wine to sell in the school bazaar.

Levante and Nakisha may have a Sunday car wash for some extra spending money.

Should we chase these people down and ask then to pay tax etc. ?

The reality is no .

Again no, no , no .

Postby RedVEVO » May 17th, 2018, 7:46 pm

Today had a marvelous before dinner snack.

Doubles @ Grand Bazaar.

Cold juice and hot doubles $10

Is PNM Gov't going to take this away ?

Postby pugboy » May 17th, 2018, 7:53 pm

Just don't get sick and go to a private doc then
If docs start paying taxes they might double prices lol

Postby 88sins » May 17th, 2018, 8:15 pm

If left to their own devices, yes

Postby sMASH » May 17th, 2018, 8:24 pm

Street vending will be stopped, speed trap all over, wrecker prowling looking for any ting, and tax in the doubles man waist.

Postby pugboy » May 17th, 2018, 8:37 pm

yet nobody show up at a casino and audit the take as yet....1% power

sMASH wrote:Street vending will be stopped, speed trap all over, wrecker prowling looking for any ting, and tax in the doubles man waist.

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » May 17th, 2018, 9:05 pm

Lil bit off topic, bit idk how ppl can eat doubles, smells like a dirty baby diaper, plus just like KFC the majority of ppl who line up for it overweight and look terrible #YouAreWhatYouEat

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » May 17th, 2018, 10:49 pm

eurotuner wrote:Lil bit off topic, bit idk how ppl can eat doubles, smells like a dirty baby diaper, plus just like KFC the majority of ppl who line up for it overweight and look terrible #YouAreWhatYouEat

And it have men eating ass from dem mampee ting. Lloww me eh

Postby meccalli » May 17th, 2018, 11:09 pm

eurotuner wrote:Lil bit off topic, bit idk how ppl can eat doubles, smells like a dirty baby diaper, plus just like KFC the majority of ppl who line up for it overweight and look terrible #YouAreWhatYouEat

Chickpeas are one of the keystone foods in most blue zones. They make channabombs which smell terrible and being a member of Fabaceae family, their resistant starch is broken down in the gut, the waste products which comes out your rear doesn't smell particularly good.
I don't follow your logic.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » May 17th, 2018, 11:17 pm

Why is it with a personal pension, if the person dies within a period after maturity, their beneficiary gets the balance of the benefit period payments BUT, with government pension, if yuh start collecting today and die a really months later, nothing else is paid out to beneficiaries???? You pay taxes for 33 plus years, collect 2-3 months govt pension after retirement, die and nothing else for surviving spouse or family members ????? Why ?

Postby RedVEVO » May 18th, 2018, 3:27 am

Chick peas (channa) is healthy .

It's the greasy fry "bara" that is the killer .

The "heavy pepper" is for alcoholics.

Postby 88sins » May 18th, 2018, 6:19 am

Premchand1976 wrote:Why is it with a personal pension, if the person dies within a period after maturity, their beneficiary gets the balance of the benefit period payments BUT, with government pension, if yuh start collecting today and die a really months later, nothing else is paid out to beneficiaries???? You pay taxes for 33 plus years, collect 2-3 months govt pension after retirement, die and nothing else for surviving spouse or family members ????? Why ?

Who tell u that? I'm afraid you've been misinformed.

There is a survivors benefit that the spouse of the insured can claim for in the event of the passing of the insured that was the sole bread winner. & there are also allowances for children too

http://www.nibtt.net/benefits_09/ben_survivors.html

Postby Dizzy28 » May 18th, 2018, 9:10 am

Premchand1976 wrote:Why is it with a personal pension, if the person dies within a period after maturity, their beneficiary gets the balance of the benefit period payments BUT, with government pension, if yuh start collecting today and die a really months later, nothing else is paid out to beneficiaries???? You pay taxes for 33 plus years, collect 2-3 months govt pension after retirement, die and nothing else for surviving spouse or family members ????? Why ?

There is a survivors benefit that the spouse of the insured can claim for in the event of the passing of the insured that was the sole bread winner. & there are also allowances for children too

I believe he's referring to the Government pension and not the NIS pension.

Postby RedVEVO » May 18th, 2018, 10:34 am

I believe he's referring to the Government pension and not the NIS pension.

People kindly leave my thread alone :!:

Focus . Or Start your own .

It's about Tax and Doubles .

Double Tax .

Postby streetbeastINC. » May 18th, 2018, 10:36 am

Mauduro like regime

Postby RedVEVO » May 18th, 2018, 10:41 am

streetbeastINC. wrote:Mauduro like regime

Maduro ..

PNM education scholarship winner again :roll:

Postby De Dragon » May 18th, 2018, 12:09 pm

RedVEVO wrote:Ok some peeps need a lil learning today ..

Some types of businesses or "hustles" are not taxed . The authorities usually turn a blind eye.
There are jobs or types of employment that keep people off the poverty line etc.

Examples:

Housewife Melania may have some mangoes and plums to sell in the market to sustain her expenses.

Granny Cudjoe may make some homemade pumpkin and carrot wine to sell in the school bazaar.

Levante and Nakisha may have a Sunday car wash for some extra spending money.

Should we chase these people down and ask then to pay tax etc. ?

The reality is no .

Again no, no , no .

Unless the income earned on the amount of mangoes, homemade wine exceeds the minimum for taxes, why should the GORTT "chase these people down'?

Average

Postby Average » May 18th, 2018, 2:15 pm

Alright hear dis one.....ent allyuh know the 1% doh like Indian? They like the Africans because they could control dem easy. Check out the gold lords who running the place.

This doubles tax come from ah big meeting with the 1% and the little dwarf who suffering form some kinda liver disease.

Feel ah lie? Rem when indians was the only type being kidnapped and they sold all their properties and fly out? Who yuh think buy them? The 1%%%%%% !!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby Dizzy28 » May 18th, 2018, 2:50 pm

Average wrote:Alright hear dis one.....ent allyuh know the 1% doh like Indian? They like the Africans because they could control dem easy. Check out the gold lords who running the place.

This doubles tax come from ah big meeting with the 1% and the little dwarf who suffering form some kinda liver disease.

Feel ah lie? Rem when indians was the only type being kidnapped and they sold all their properties and fly out? Who yuh think buy them? The 1%%%%%% !!!!!!!!!!!!
Boysie tell you that in some rum shop??

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » May 18th, 2018, 3:31 pm

I think the main issue is here that all small-business owners should be paying PAYE, once your monthly income exceeds a certain amount ($6000 I think). Once you making over that, it's no longer a 'hustle'.

Why should vendors be exempt just because they're 'vendors'?

The problem is...how do you track these earnings when there's no accounting?

Postby pugboy » May 18th, 2018, 4:51 pm

Nah
Once you paying vat etc on whatever goods you purchased you don’t need to pay paye taxes
According to op

Postby toyolink » May 18th, 2018, 5:38 pm

Everytime the Govt is confronted with recession this sort of talk gets traction.
When money start to flow, the talk dies.
The crazy thing is if more taxes are placed on the people then things get tighter on the poor man and collection inefficiency gets worse.
It could be argued that the value of achieving acceptable levels of productivity and efficiency would far exceed the prospects of fighting up with taxing individuals on the fringes.