Recommended brand sneakers for running

Premchand1976

Recommended brand sneakers for running

Postby Premchand1976 » May 21st, 2018, 6:05 pm

I've had Nike, Adidas, Saucony, reebok, Asics and other brands ......

With the variety in these shoes of recent....what brand would be best suited for threadmill running ( high interval ) and road / Savannah jogging / sprinting etc

Doh tell me no wash e Kong kinda ting eh .

nick639v2

Re: Recommended brand sneakers for running

Postby nick639v2 » May 21st, 2018, 6:52 pm

Nike free RN Flyknits. (Original)

Dead serious the sketchers runs are friggin comfy as hell also

Postby RedVEVO » May 21st, 2018, 6:57 pm

New Balance V4

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » May 21st, 2018, 7:12 pm

Thanks, which stores locally carry New Balance and Sketchers ????

Postby mero » May 21st, 2018, 7:15 pm

Adidas ultra boost

Postby maj. tom » May 21st, 2018, 7:21 pm

Each brand makes shoes targeted with a lot of research and development for all sorts of sports and activities. And they are all good. It's up to you and what works for you with some testing. It's all subjective, but the websites of the brands try to help you select based on the activity and your pronation.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 21st, 2018, 8:23 pm

bought a couple Reeboks on amazon over the years, have not found a really good fit. Couple were decent to get me started in running and I still use 'em to date.

Next time I travel to the US, I'm going for a proper fit/assessment.
My feet are killing me by the time I hit 10k and the pain slows me down.

PB on a 10k is 65min. average is 70min.

I think a lot of things would factor into a proper running shoe. Weight, gait, pronation, feet width, terrain, etc.

For some reason, I've had better comfort with Reeboks rather than Nikes.

Postby MaxPower » May 21st, 2018, 9:19 pm

Allyuh know bout Brooks??

Bosss

dineshb316

Postby dineshb316 » May 22nd, 2018, 7:13 am

http://www.brooksrunning.com/en_us/brooks-pureflow-7-mens-running-shoe/110275.html

Brooks PureFlow - best running shoes i have invested in.

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » May 22nd, 2018, 8:26 am

buy a champion =)

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » May 22nd, 2018, 8:32 am

dineshb316 wrote:http://www.brooksrunning.com/en_us/brooks-pureflow-7-mens-running-shoe/110275.html

Brooks PureFlow - best running shoes i have invested in.

Cant get better than this!, I have a pair going on 5 years now, a pair before that for 6. Comfortable, lightweight and designed for optimum performance running or jogging.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » May 22nd, 2018, 9:17 am

Any local sellers ???

Postby Dizzy28 » May 22nd, 2018, 9:28 am

Nikes have always fitted me best out of the alternatives. My feet hurt with Adidas and I have tried the Kanadia 2 and 3.
The Nike whilst best fit is still not perfect.
Eyeing a Puma next time I buying a running shoe.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 22nd, 2018, 10:36 am

I like the brooks selection tool.

Any local sellers? Won't mind trying it on for fit first.

Postby crazybalhead » May 22nd, 2018, 11:10 am

I have a pair of brooks and a pair of saucony's that I alternate. When you run a lot and use one shoe, your body get's accustomed and can be more prone to injury. Micro changes between the shoes forces some adaptation and flexibility.

That being said, you need to determine WHAT you want the shoe for rather than the brand. You already know, so i would say try on a few and see how they feel. Take a lil jog in the store too. Even after all that and owning several pairs of saucony's, I still got blisters for the first two runs on my current pair.

Plenty stores in TT have decent shoes, like Sports and Games and Sport outlet. Some even have knowledgeable people (but don't count on it).

Enjoy, and happy shopping.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 2nd, 2018, 9:25 pm

Amazon sale on Brooks Launch 4.
$54, which is a steal.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01GE ... th=1&psc=1

Just picked one up

Postby Dizzy28 » June 2nd, 2018, 11:12 pm

Picked me up a RBX this week. Good fit for the price.

Postby RedVEVO » June 3rd, 2018, 1:35 am

Balance V4 is the rage .

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 3rd, 2018, 12:28 pm

How far do you guys run?

I'm comfortable at 10K. Pushed hard to 14 once or twice, but I felt like sheit after. I hope to make the UWI half one day, but that's double my comfort zone!

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 3rd, 2018, 12:37 pm

I does run in a steel toe Red Wing

In case I bonks my toe nah boy, safety first

Postby Dizzy28 » June 3rd, 2018, 1:17 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:How far do you guys run?

I'm comfortable at 10K. Pushed hard to 14 once or twice, but I felt like sheit after. I hope to make the UWI half one day, but that's double my comfort zone!
I walk. Running is for the pros.

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » June 3rd, 2018, 2:33 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:I does run in a steel toe Red Wing

Wolverine lighter so more speed with less effort.

As for running from police..... Champion is the way. Comfort and plenty traction

jackal

Postby jackal » June 3rd, 2018, 8:17 pm

Premchand1976 wrote:Thanks, which stores locally carry New Balance and Sketchers ????

Amazon.com :D

I haven't seen anything good at the malls. Best bet get it online.

Amit

Postby Amit » June 3rd, 2018, 9:28 pm

https://www.runnersworld.com

check out this site everything you need to know about running and shoes

Postby RedVEVO » June 4th, 2018, 12:43 am

jackal wrote:
Premchand1976 wrote:Thanks, which stores locally carry New Balance and Sketchers ????

Amazon.com :D

I haven't seen anything good at the malls. Best bet get it online.

Prem forget Sketchers :shock:

Balance V4

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 4th, 2018, 10:04 am

rmrunner wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:I does run in a steel toe Red Wing

Wolverine lighter so more speed with less effort.

As for running from police..... Champion is the way. Comfort and plenty traction

On a reals boy, champion is the flick boy.

I rockin a $100 champs 4 years now. The sole started separating recently but that's after HArD jamming.
If I glue it up it might last another year.

Values for yuh money yes

Postby crazybalhead » June 4th, 2018, 1:56 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Amazon sale on Brooks Launch 4.
$54, which is a steal.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01GE ... th=1&psc=1

Just picked one up

I have one, almost a year now. It's great.

Postby crazybalhead » June 4th, 2018, 1:58 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:How far do you guys run?

Exact same condition.

My 10k is snail slow though. But I try to do a 10k once a week at least and a couple 5's in between.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 4th, 2018, 3:44 pm

How slow we talking. I feel like a snail sometimes when I watch marathoners' pace.
My absolute best 10k was at 1hr 3 min. I try to keep it below 1:10.
Best 5K was 30 flat.

I usually run once per week at 10k, and ride on a sunday about 60k, but I want to include a midweek 5k to mix things up

Postby crazybalhead » June 4th, 2018, 3:52 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:How slow we talking. I feel like a snail sometimes when I watch marathoners' pace.
My absolute best 10k was at 1hr 3 min. I try to keep it below 1:10.
Best 5K was 30 flat.

I usually run once per week at 10k, and ride on a sunday about 60k, but I want to include a midweek 5k to mix things up

My bestest 10 was 1 hr. 15 mins. bestest evar 5 was 32, and these days is more like 35. Them pros does make me feel shame yes. But I guess what I doing better than nothing.