**Official Trini Record/Vinyl Club**

TRM_deu

**Official Trini Record/Vinyl Club**

Postby TRM_deu » June 11th, 2018, 12:26 pm

You remember going to Jimmy's or Crosby's and buying records and cassettes? Times real change now with all this insta-gratification of youtube and apple music and now since there ain't no meet-up, we end up listening to the same mainstream crap *ok rant over*
Anyway, some people still like buying and collecting records and cassettes and CDs so if you got one of these formats and want to trade/talk some ole talk about music then here's spot.

Recommend some music, indie albums, ole school, jazz, etc

Shout out to them few shops still available dese days on d island.

Post records (with pics) you might want to swap with someone else on here.

Post pictures of rare finds, limited editions, colour pressings, vintage records stacks, decks/players, speakers etc...!

Rules:
No Haters.
Cassette and CD collectors welcomed.
Post example: Artist - Album - Year Release - Photo(s)
Record Swaps to be done via PM messages between seller and buyer.
No posting phone numbers, email addresses or personal contact methods.
This thread is to be used for entertainment only. Not for commercial use.

Album Art from Amazon Links, Descriptive from Discogs.

PM me your Phone # for WhatsApp Group Invitation

My recommendation today:
Jorja Smith ‎– Lost & Found
Format:
Vinyl, LP, Album, Gatefold
UK
Released:
08 Jun 2018
Genre:
Electronic, Funk / Soul
Style:
Contemporary R&B

Delvon Lamarr Organ Trio ‎– Close But No Cigar
Genre:
Funk / Soul, Blues
Style:
Funk, Soul
Year:
Last edited by TRM_deu on June 12th, 2018, 9:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

TRM_deu

Re: **Official Trini Record/Vinyl Club**

Postby TRM_deu » June 11th, 2018, 12:34 pm

Anybody using a record club subscription service like VNYL / Vinylmnky ????

KarbonFiber

Postby KarbonFiber » June 11th, 2018, 5:37 pm

I just bought that Jorja album in 24bit flac. Wonderful music with my AKG open back headphones.

Postby meccalli » June 11th, 2018, 6:23 pm

I've got a hard drive full of lossless vinyl rips, from pink floyd and Tommy Emmanuel to Bt and Justice.

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 11th, 2018, 7:34 pm

I have a setta disco records and no affordable way to play it.

I Wish they were reggae/dancehall/calypso/soca records tho.
If allyuh have any that you dont want, holla at me

TRM_deu

Postby TRM_deu » June 12th, 2018, 6:12 am

KarbonFiber wrote:I just bought that Jorja album in 24bit flac. Wonderful music with my AKG open back headphones.

Where do you get Flac from? I know of a few sites like HDTracks but still think buying records and ripping them/mp3 @ 320kbps is fine for travel.

What are you using to drive those open back AKG? I just started using a portable headphone amp (Fiio Q1 MK II) on a pair of RHA and it's awesome. Only I don't like the extra bulk.

TRM_deu

Postby TRM_deu » June 12th, 2018, 6:17 am

meccalli wrote:I've got a hard drive full of lossless vinyl rips, from pink floyd and Tommy Emmanuel to Bt and Justice.

I get that there is more detail in the lossless files but without a proper audio system (DAC) and components, do you really hear a difference between an mp3 and lossy file especially when you're travelling/listening on the go?

What sort of audio system you got meccalli?

TRM_deu

Postby TRM_deu » June 12th, 2018, 6:21 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:I have a setta disco records and no affordable way to play it.

I picked up a second hand Technics DD TT for TTD$300 about 6 months ago... but it was 45 yrs old and had to get a new cartridge which end up running me back USD$185

I usually check my boy from The Burg off of Ariapita Ave, he's got a Hugh selection of vintage records of all genres. Cheap too as they all second hand! He might even trade you some of those records if he don't have them.
Last edited by TRM_deu on June 12th, 2018, 8:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

TRM_deu

Postby TRM_deu » June 12th, 2018, 8:48 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:I have a setta disco records and no affordable way to play it.

You know, a couple years ago I was in dat situation. I wasn't listening to records but had two turntables for serato and so I give away a box of 45s, about 100 to a Plumber padnah who is one of them radio DJs brother in law... some promo only, maybe even rare ones. I wish i had them now tho.

TRM_deu

Postby TRM_deu » June 12th, 2018, 9:12 am

Today I'm playing Toots & the Maytals. Playing on yesterday's Delvon Lamarr and hearing talk about reggae.
I don't know how I ran into this one but its a real good balance between ska reggae and funk/Soul.

Toots & The Maytals ‎– Funky Kingston
Genre:
Reggae
Style:
Reggae, Rocksteady
Year:
Notes:
Initially released in 1973 by Dragon (2) with 2 different covers (one with drawing, the other with a photo). The photo version was later used by Trojan Records. In 1975, Mango released a revised version with the original drawn cover but kept only 3 tracks ("Funky Kingston", "Louie Louie" and "Pomp And Pride") and added 6 tracks from the In The Dark album (1974) (plus the 1970 single "Pressure Drop").

TRM_deu

Postby TRM_deu » June 12th, 2018, 9:52 am

For the indie selection today I'm going with this under-rated indie rock/slightly punk album. This would be one I'd grab and listen to just because of the album art.

Chastity Belt ‎– Time To Go Home
Label:
Hardly Art ‎– HAR-086
Format:
Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition, Clear
US
Released:
24 Mar 2015
Genre:
Rock
Style:
Indie Rock

Postby SR » June 12th, 2018, 9:53 am

Who still services and aligns and balances turntables locally?

Postby meccalli » June 12th, 2018, 4:41 pm

TRM_deu wrote:
meccalli wrote:I've got a hard drive full of lossless vinyl rips, from pink floyd and Tommy Emmanuel to Bt and Justice.

I get that there is more detail in the lossless files but without a proper audio system (DAC) and components, do you really hear a difference between an mp3 and lossy file especially when you're travelling/listening on the go?

What sort of audio system you got meccalli?

I've heard with and without DAC systems with headphones and stereo rigs and honestly didn't hear much of a difference. I run vintage cerwin vegas E series which aren't too revealing and can play metal and rock for extended periods without fatiguing you so I've never bothered to invest in one, would pretty much be marginal returns. Most of my files were acquired from an old demonoid poster who ripped vinyl through an extensive setup. It's a huge difference to my ear.

Ripping rig.
Ultrasonc Record Cleaner
Pioneer PLX-1000 Direct Drive Turntable, Leather Mat, KAB TD-1200 Fluid Tonearm Damper, Pro-Ject Wood-It Headshell.
Audio Technica ART9 Moving Coil Cartridge with Garrot Bros Ruby Cantilever/Micro Scanner 2 retip.
Fidelity Research FRT-3 MC Step Up.
834p 12ax7 Valve Phono Stage With Some Upgraded Takman Loading Resistors.
Tube Combo: > Amperex Holland > RCA Long Black Plate Square Getter > Telefunken Smooth Plate.
Van Damme Silver Plated Interconnects.
Schiit JIL USB Recording Interface.

Software Used:

Capture In Audacity 192000hz 24bit wav, Gain Set Using Schiit JIL.
Run Through Clickrepair: Reverse ON, Pitch Protection ON, Wavelet 2, Declick 20.
Run Through DeNoise With Low Settings To Clean Up Silence (Music Not Altered)
Open In Audacity, Split Tracks Saving As 24bit/192000hz Level 8 FLAC Files.

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 12th, 2018, 5:25 pm

TRM_deu wrote:

I picked up a second hand Technics DD TT for TTD$300 about 6 months ago... but it was 45 yrs old and had to get a new cartridge which end up running me back USD$185

I usually check my boy from The Burg off of Ariapita Ave, he's got a Hugh selection of vintage records of all genres. Cheap too as they all second hand! He might even trade you some of those records if he don't have them.

thanks man

I honestly considering getting an old Sharp stereo everyone's grandparents had
(you know the one)

Postby skylinechild » June 12th, 2018, 11:39 pm

I honestly considering getting an old Sharp stereo everyone's grandparents had
(you know the one)

i know the model you speakth of

Sharp SG-220

this is a pic of it

i MAY...and i say MAY.....be able to link you with one.

the turn table on top is called a BSR quanta MX 440...

If you really serious about owning a turn table i'll recommend a brand called VPi.
the turn tables is of modern design and materials.
full aluminum body carbon fiber feet with absorption pads
and its not too pricey either
theres tree levels entry enthusiast and audiophile
so you can decide which category you want to spend your money on.

for balancing the turntable arm theres a simple balance gauge sold on amazon

for enthusiasts like yourself this is what i'd recommend
http://www.vpiindustries.com/primesignature

SR wrote:Who still services and aligns and balances turntables locally?

this is the REAL question. i too scared and afraid to do my own turntable maintenance. :oops:

my record collection is rather old and small

friend of mine has the limited edition evanescence Record collection on 180 gram vinyl.
bought it for her on her birthday.
dunno if she has anything to play it on thou.... :lol:

Zim

Postby Zim » June 14th, 2018, 9:22 pm

IHU, will keep an eye out 4 u, they're abundant online tho

TRM_deu

Postby TRM_deu » June 17th, 2018, 11:02 am

I actually been planning on building up a really retro stereo system and looking for some of those FM tuners and receivers from the 70s or earlier.

Anyone got some old electronics they looking to get rid of?

I'm also looking to find some of those old radio repair shops. I remember one on Piccadilly St. But I'm in central so that's a little out of the way for me.

TRM_deu

Postby TRM_deu » June 17th, 2018, 11:12 am

Sun-El Musician - Africa to the World
Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
Format: MP3
Release Date: April 20, 2018
Copyright:℗© Sun-EL Musician
Total Length: 1:06:54
Genre:Dance & DJ
ASIN:B07C3XC859

This one isn't available on Vinyl yet but having been to South and West Africa, the sounds from this album is uplifting and sounds like a very modern version of African Dance music.

Postby rspann » June 17th, 2018, 11:54 am

You all won't believe, my mom still has her Sylvania gram , in mint condition. She also has all my father's records, Jim Reeves, Brook Benton, Mahalia Jackson ,the works.

Postby meccalli » June 17th, 2018, 12:35 pm

hail_d.jpg
hail_c.jpg
hail_2.jpg
hail_1.jpg

Labels
Capitol Records - 7243 5 84543 1 4
Format
Vinyl LP Album Limited Edition 45 RPM 2 disc(s)
Genres
Electronic
Rock
Styles
Alternative Rock
Experimental
Tracks
A1 2 + 2 = 5 (The Lukewarm.)
A2 Sit Down. Stand Up. (Snakes & Ladders.)
A3 Sail To The Moon. (Brush The Cobwebs Out Of The Sky.)
B1 Backdrifts. (Honeymoon Is Over.)
B2 Go To Sleep. (Little Man Being Erased.)
B3 Where I End And You Begin. (The Sky Is Falling In.)
C1 We Suck Young Blood. (Your Time Is Up.)
C2 The Gloaming. (Softly Open Our Mouths In The Cold.)
C3 There There. (The Boney King Of Nowhere.)
C4 I Will. (No Man's Land.)
D1 A Punchup At A Wedding. (No No No No No No No No.)
D2 Myxomatosis. (Judge, Jury & Executioner.)
D3 Scatterbrain. (As Dead As Leaves.)
D4 A Wolf At The Door. (It Girl. Rag Doll.)