Recommend me a multimeter

richardxsingh

Postby richardxsingh » June 29th, 2018, 6:07 pm

Nothing pro level or expensive, just simple and accurate. Radioshack ones any good?

Re: Recommend me a multimeter

Postby maj. tom » June 29th, 2018, 6:34 pm

Radioshack will have stuff, but just check any electronics store. Shams in Macoya/Trincity ok. Mike's at Prince and Henry, POS. Steve's Electronics in San Juan. Gopaul's in Sando. Montrose electronics. You could get better advice there too on what you need, depending on who you ask. Some of the girls employed at these places eh even know what color wire does carry live current.

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 29th, 2018, 6:38 pm

natio?

Postby skylinechild » June 29th, 2018, 7:14 pm

richardxsingh wrote:Nothing pro level or expensive, just simple and accurate. Radioshack ones any good?

youre asking for accuracy but nothing pro level... :lol:

ok whats the intended use of the meter ?
what category of voltage will you be measuring?
what features you will want / need / are optional - and FYI accuracy and precision is two things eah.

reply back and then we'll know if you direct you to locally, online or the cheap chinee round d corner.

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 29th, 2018, 8:00 pm

Just stay away from nippon america/bk

I got a Uni-T from Sham's for $300 that can tell temperature with a probe (C/F) and has a back light.

Uni-T is a good brand, but this is their lower line (UT33C)... but it does the job for what it is.

Postby skylinechild » June 29th, 2018, 8:03 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:Just stay away from nippon america/bk

I got a Uni-T from Sham's for $300 that can tell temperature with a probe (C/F) and has a back light.

Uni-T is a good brand, but this is their lower line (UT33C)... but it does the job for what it is.

what do u use the meter for ??

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 29th, 2018, 8:26 pm

I bought an Amprobe which is a decent mid-line DMM and have never regretted it.
Uses from house electrical to car to toys/electronics

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 29th, 2018, 8:29 pm

I only know bout fluke...shrugs shoulders

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 29th, 2018, 9:08 pm

skylinechild wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:Just stay away from nippon america/bk

what do u use the meter for ??

Mostly 12VDC/120VAC work. On occasion I'll dabble in digital shenanigans

I didn't need something too dead on balls accurate to do these things ( ain't doing super precise stuff ).

But at the same I don't want something that would blow up/fall apart in my hand or be wildly off target. (but mostly the blowing up part) It has a rubber case on it to protect it from small falls so that's handy too.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » June 29th, 2018, 9:09 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I only know bout fluke...shrugs shoulders

Truth here. Fluke meters in my house and van since i know myself. Had a Greenlee once but it started giving wrong readings

eitech

Postby eitech » June 29th, 2018, 9:09 pm

Fluke 179

Postby nervewrecker » June 29th, 2018, 9:44 pm

Fluke or nothing.

Used a good craftsman already. Did basic stuff.

Postby nervewrecker » June 29th, 2018, 9:44 pm

Where can I get leads for the flukes btw?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » June 29th, 2018, 9:53 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Where can I get leads for the flukes btw?

Ramlagans in Couva i believe, or there is a place that specializes, calibrates and does minor repairs on flukes and other devices in Freeport, Arena Road side.. pm me during the day tomorrow to remind me if you want the name of the place, can't remember off hand

Edit: look they here

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » June 29th, 2018, 9:56 pm

Have this...
1530323764969.jpeg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 30th, 2018, 5:43 am

op amazon selling the most basic to the most advanced fluke....can't go wrong

Postby skylinechild » June 30th, 2018, 6:50 am

fluke is the best there is but keep in mind they need to be calibrated accordingly at specified intervals by their authorized centres.

i currently own a greenlee. works great. the auto mode is abit too fustrating so i mostly use the manual ranging mode

if i purchased a fluke with the same features as the green lee i currently own -i'd be spending close to $180 usd.

Postby pete » June 30th, 2018, 6:52 am

Bought a few amprobes on Amazon and I'm very happy with them.

Postby skylinechild » June 30th, 2018, 6:53 am

pete wrote:Bought a few amprobes on Amazon and I'm very happy with them.

what category meters are those pete ??
cat 2 or cat 3 ???

edit :

this is what i currently own - cost $78 USD - cost was 90 when i bought it.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B007ORQ7HW/re ... UTF8&psc=1

this is the Fluke equivalent - based on the features and Cat rating -cost 386 usd...

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0002YFD1K/ref=emc_b_5_t

Postby nervewrecker » June 30th, 2018, 8:28 am

nick639v2 wrote:

Ramlagans in Couva i believe, or there is a place that specializes, calibrates and does minor repairs on flukes and other devices in Freeport, Arena Road side.. pm me during the day tomorrow to remind me if you want the name of the place, can't remember off hand

Ent you does be south? Pick up a set for me and bring the reciept with it. I will let you demo the van when I come for it.

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2018, 8:32 am

Multimeters are highly commoditized devices now, often just a simple chip can do all the work
No like long ago when each company had complex circuitry in them

hindian

Postby hindian » June 30th, 2018, 8:49 am

I use a fluke 117 everyday. As someone said above, it does everything from house electrical to auto to electronics I'm satisfied with the unit. Worth checking out IMO.

Postby nervewrecker » June 30th, 2018, 8:58 am

325 for meImage

Postby adnj » June 30th, 2018, 9:13 am

pugboy wrote:Multimeters are highly commoditized devices now, often just a simple chip can do all the work
No like long ago when each company had complex circuitry in them
Agreed. I have owned Flukes, Greenlee, Mastech, Fluke, etc. They have all worked great for checking battery voltage, checking for live circuits, continuity testing, resistance of components, and diode polarity.

If you are doing microcircuitry, spend the money on a hand held oscilloscope.

If you're doing electrical panel installation or air conditioning, get an inductive meter.

If you're doing automotive, get a pen styled multimeter.

You'll want a display backlight, auto power-off and easily replaced batteries.

There are good, basic meters for $150 by companies like Innova. You can get a nice Fluke for $3000 with most of the bellsand whistles. All of them will survive a serious drop onto concrete. Any of them can fail due to battery leakage (NiMh can leak also.)

You have to decide how much you want to spend and go from there.

Daran

Postby Daran » June 30th, 2018, 9:50 am

I recommend you a multimeter

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » June 30th, 2018, 10:30 am

nick639v2 wrote:

Ent you does be south? Pick up a set for me and bring the reciept with it. I will let you demo the van when I come for it.

Yuh serious??

Dawg meem have yuh number. I in ramlagans now. Bottom left standard insulation u want? Msg me on 3331532 before 12 if yuh serious

Postby wagonrunner » June 30th, 2018, 12:15 pm

How inaccurate are these $100 meters?
Beating this one about 2 years with no issues.
20180630_120723.jpeg

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2018, 12:58 pm

I have one of those too, works well but screen start to turn black

they need to start making them with rechargeable battery instead of 9v which often leaks

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 30th, 2018, 1:25 pm

Not too accurate under 1 volt/amp/ohm.
Good for occasional automotive/household work though. One decimal place accuracy.

Don't trust it for high voltages though, not too good on the high voltage protection for the user. From the leads to the circuit board.

Postby skylinechild » June 30th, 2018, 1:28 pm

nervewrecker wrote:325 for meImage

thats a good clamp meter aka commercial electricians multi meter

regular multi meters can only test amps up to 2A for 10 secs.

your clamp meter can test amps up to 400 A. which makes it suitable for commercial use - amperage testing