WhatsApp Image 2018-07-14 at 12.57.03 PM.jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2018-07-14 at 12.57.03 PM(3).jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2018-07-14 at 12.57.03 PM(2).jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2018-07-14 at 12.57.03 PM(1).jpeg

ProtonPowder

Re: Revised speed limit for Trinidad & Tobago

Postby ProtonPowder » July 14th, 2018, 3:03 pm

I like how they didnt put in the south trunk road after the interchange for 80kmph

Absolute bullshiet, 50kmph is too slow for that road. It is more outside of a built up area and is wider than the rienzi kirton.

Postby K74T » July 14th, 2018, 3:21 pm

“Volkswagon Amorok”

Gzus Krys.

Postby wagonrunner » July 18th, 2018, 10:34 pm

cannot read this. too low a resolution, too blurry when magnified.

Postby redmanjp » July 19th, 2018, 8:54 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:I like how they didnt put in the south trunk road after the interchange for 80kmph

Absolute bullshiet, 50kmph is too slow for that road. It is more outside of a built up area and is wider than the rienzi kirton.

well u could start a petition just like the one for the highway

Postby toyolink » July 26th, 2018, 9:19 am

Well I got ticketed last evening with recorded speed of 109kph.
The learning here is, drivers need to stay alert and closely monitor speedometer.
In light of speed recording differences between on-board speedometer and police equipment, we may need to drive at least 10kph below limit.
The funny thing is last evening I was being particularly careful with observing speed limit.
…...Just be careful, it real easy to get a $1000 ticket.

Postby Ben_spanna » July 26th, 2018, 11:15 am

The Entire Savannah is now 50- and YES they charging you if youre going 51kms, you driving around the Savannah now and you feel as if some of those joggers going faster than you driving!

hindian

Postby hindian » July 26th, 2018, 12:03 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:The Entire Savannah is now 50- and YES they charging you if youre going 51kms, you driving around the Savannah now and you feel as if some of those joggers going faster than you driving!

i got got one there for going 53kmh a few weeks ago. me and about 20 other drivers were stopped close to the st Anns roundabout to collect lol.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » July 26th, 2018, 12:29 pm

toyolink wrote:Well I got ticketed last evening with recorded speed of 109kph.
The learning here is, drivers need to stay alert and closely monitor speedometer.
In light of speed recording differences between on-board speedometer and police equipment, we may need to drive at least 10kph below limit.
The funny thing is last evening I was being particularly careful with observing speed limit.
…...Just be careful, it real easy to get a $1000 ticket.

I got one this morning just after c3 heading south for doing 108km

Postby skylinechild » July 26th, 2018, 1:11 pm

damn guys..... thats hard... i dont even drive 100.... i soo cant handle that 1k deduction.

i drive 80 / 90Kms MAX.

Postby toyolink » July 26th, 2018, 1:20 pm

WOW!
All I can do is smile, the driving public really getting cleaned-up.
It looks like we should all put away $1000 just-in-case.
BTW, the ticketing officer in my experience did a proper job, the look on his face was the only real telltale indication that he wasn't a really happy camper ticketing for 5 and 9 kph over.

Postby skylinechild » July 26th, 2018, 1:35 pm

toyolink wrote:WOW!
All I can do is smile, the driving public really getting cleaned-up.
It looks like we should all put away $1000 just-in-case.
BTW, the ticketing officer in my experience did a proper job, the look on his face was the only real telltale indication that he wasn't a really happy camper ticketing for 5 and 9 kph over.

if its me you referring to.. not really i does drive slow....
cyah afford more repairs to meh rust bucket nor risk it falling apart. :lol:

and tbh if i driving 90 k and men zoomin past me like i standing still. i'd say alot more still needs to be done

the ticketing officer not happy about ticketing 5 and 9kms over the limit however in this instances his hands are tied.

for far to long "up to the discretion of the officer" was used as a scape goat.

what can be done if we wish to implement "the discretion of the officer " in this case we can

1. institute a verbal warning and also add on a 1/4 point addition to the drivers permit demerit system.
that way if you get caught speeding again 10 seconds / mins / hrs later there would be some record showing you were given a chance and then you would be fined. no questions asked.

too many 1/4 points add on can also disqualify you from driving.

2. institute an increase speed / penalty system.
say the limit is 100 kmh. the absolute max is 110kmh you get clocked doing anywhere from 100 to 110 above clause comes into effect

from lets say 110kmh to 120kmh add on an additional $300 plus one point
from 120-150kmh add on an additional $600 plus one and a half points.
from 150 to 180 add on an additional $1000 plus two points. - caveat here driver MUST also submit to a mandatory breathalyzer and can be charged of refusing.

from 180kmh and up additional $1500

just my $0.02 cents

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » July 26th, 2018, 2:01 pm

Interesting ... All this revenue collecting and the crime rate is out of control ... will have to get that mobile phone mount with wireless charging quick and have waze up every trip the way these guys carrying on.

Postby skylinechild » July 26th, 2018, 2:22 pm

timothymcdavid wrote:Interesting ... All this revenue collecting and the crime rate is out of control ... will have to get that mobile phone mount with wireless charging quick and have waze up every trip the way these guys carrying on.

why you doing all that for ??

why not let good common sense and sound judgement prevail. ?

drive slowly maintain your car properly plan your routes effectively and be kind to other motorists / road users ??

SLVR1

Postby SLVR1 » July 26th, 2018, 2:46 pm

Some roads need to 35kmph others 50, 60, 65 etc. and ticket accordingly for the violation. For eg. when climbing the Lady Young Rd. 55 is good for the flats but at the point of ascent from the walkover to just before the lookout the speed can be increased to say 65 and then reduced again to 55 once the ascent is done. I see this in countries I have visited. Of course proper signage is needed. School areas DURING active times should be say 25kmph.

Postby skylinechild » July 26th, 2018, 3:06 pm

SLVR1 wrote:Some roads need to 35kmph others 50, 60, 65 etc. and ticket accordingly for the violation. For eg. when climbing the Lady Young Rd. 55 is good for the flats but at the point of ascent from the walkover to just before the lookout the speed can be increased to say 65 and then reduced again to 55 once the ascent is done. I see this in countries I have visited. Of course proper signage is needed. School areas DURING active times should be say 25kmph.

time to petition your MP bro... remember he works for u & not the other way around.