SkyBox Fraud ?

Postby RedVEVO » July 27th, 2018, 6:01 am

“Over a three-week period in July, we received feedback from some of the affected customers indicating that their debit cards had apparently been cloned and used for fraudulent transactions,” Web Source said.

https://newsday.co.tt/2018/07/25/websou ... customers/

Re: SkyBox Fraud ?

Postby RedVEVO » July 27th, 2018, 7:24 am

Slowly Trinidad will revert to a cash based system ..

Too much tax and too much fraud .

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » July 27th, 2018, 12:43 pm

RedVEVO wrote:“Over a three-week period in July, we received feedback from some of the affected customers indicating that their debit cards had apparently been cloned and used for fraudulent transactions,” Web Source said.

https://newsday.co.tt/2018/07/25/websou ... customers/

i wouldn't blame the company for this as it was the delivery person who perpetrated the fraud. its a shame though as they were trying to make it easier to pay for your packages with the mobile linx machine. people does ruin everything hoss.

Postby RedVEVO » July 27th, 2018, 12:48 pm

So if a Bank does not invest in security for it's customers and an employee steals your money or credit card ?

The Bank is NOT responsible ?

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » July 27th, 2018, 2:26 pm

RedVEVO wrote:^^^

So if a Bank does not invest in security for it's customers and an employee steals your money or credit card ?

what measures would you suggest that would help against something like this?

Postby RedVEVO » July 27th, 2018, 3:39 pm

cueball1990 wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:^^^

what measures would you suggest that would help against something like this?

Invest more in technology ..

Do you know that a lot of information from credit cards etc., are "leaked" to criminal gangs ?

Also your other information.

Postby maj. tom » July 27th, 2018, 4:22 pm

A good start would be that all debit and credit cards should be Chip & PIN technology. Where are the bank's continual increased rates going if they can't provide this one technology to customers in TT that is basic everywhere else?

Good read on what security EMV offers:
https://squareup.com/townsquare/why-are ... ripe-cards

Postby RedVEVO » July 27th, 2018, 5:12 pm

Most business do not care about security ..
Just the money they are extract from your credit card etc.

Hence limited security .

Or none.

skygod

Postby skygod » July 29th, 2018, 9:07 pm

Use local products or
Do without outside brands
For instance don't buy anything online
Eat local only
And make what you have do
The system is designed to make you want what you cannot have

Why pay for items you don't need

Where your experience with online purchase will lead to an additive buying and irrelevant spending

Postby wagonrunner » July 29th, 2018, 9:12 pm

skygod wrote:Use local products or
Eat local only

Where your experience with online purchase will lead to an additive buying and irrelevant spending

is the device you typed this on MADE (not assembled) here?
is the server you posted this on located in T&T?
is it difficult to practice what you preach?

skygod

Postby skygod » July 29th, 2018, 9:23 pm

Use local products or
Eat local only

Postby RedVEVO » July 30th, 2018, 4:59 am

If we " cloning " debit cards in Trinidad ..

We in big trouble :roll:

But maybe Tuners do not have debit cards or credit cards :lol:

Or maybe just a few.

Postby stev » July 30th, 2018, 1:21 pm

It's only a matter of time before all cards are chip + pin in Trinidad.

banks are testing at the moment (with LINX at least)...roll out should start soon. ECU as well is going chip + pin in a few weeks (before the banks).

Card users too reckless and lazy....it's very easy to protect yourself from skimming. ALL debit and credit card issuers will educate you for free if u ask.

cryotec

Postby cryotec » July 30th, 2018, 2:16 pm

stev wrote:It's only a matter of time before all cards are chip + pin in Trinidad.

banks are testing at the moment (with LINX at least)...roll out should start soon. ECU as well is going chip + pin in a few weeks (before the banks).

Card users too reckless and lazy....it's very easy to protect yourself from skimming. ALL debit and credit card issuers will educate you for free if u ask.

actually, one of the people who was a victim of this used a chip and pin CC.

Postby stev » July 30th, 2018, 2:21 pm

cryotec wrote:
stev wrote:It's only a matter of time before all cards are chip + pin in Trinidad.

oh lawd... :shock:

I know it is possible to skim a chip + pin ('shimming' i think its called) but i didnt know this method is already being practiced in T&T.

hadda be extra careful these days.

Postby RedVEVO » July 30th, 2018, 4:11 pm

stev wrote:
cryotec wrote:

oh lawd... :shock:

I know it is possible to skim a chip + pin ('shimming' i think its called) but i didnt know this method is already being practiced in T&T.

hadda be extra careful these days.

It's Credit card skimming ..

Shimming comes from the word "Shim"

Shim are Tuners like matrix, Japan, maj tom, randull, 88, sometimes K742T etc.

skygod

Postby skygod » July 30th, 2018, 5:03 pm

Waste not want not
I would not waste a brain cell on you opinion
Because at the end of the day it really does not matter

Postby RedVEVO » July 30th, 2018, 5:17 pm

skygod wrote:Waste not want not
I would not waste a brain cell on you opinion
Because at the end of the day it really does not matter

Ok :wink:

Go with Thanos :wink:

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » July 31st, 2018, 1:58 pm

skygod wrote:Use local products or
Eat local only

I wont lie. This has to be the most stupid, baseless, foolish, archaic and irrelevant statement I have EVER heard in a while.
I have no many questions, but they say don't argue with fools.

skygod

Postby skygod » July 31st, 2018, 3:26 pm

Don't hate me when it's the system that your forefathers create

skygod

Postby skygod » July 31st, 2018, 3:28 pm

You should look for some sour chennet and suck every last one on this eve of emancipation holiday and reflect where you went wrong in your thinking may be you lick too many lolly pops as a child .sir

skygod

Postby skygod » July 31st, 2018, 3:31 pm

You should look for some sour chennet and suck every last one on this eve of emancipation holiday and reflect where you went wrong in your thinking may be you lick too many lolly pops as a child .sir